DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Remarks, filed June 25th, 2026, has been fully considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 23-42 are pending in the case. Claims 23 and 25 were amended. Claims 23, 30, and 37 are the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramos et al. (US 2019/0244113 A1) in view of Williams et al. (US 2015/0254555 A1), further in view of Kwant et al. (US 10,452,956 B2), further in view of Debilde et al. (US 2017/0006261 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Ramos teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
obtaining, at a cloud computing environment, a request to initiate an interactive labeling session for at least a portion of machine learning data set comprising images of items, wherein the interactive labeling session presents the images of the items, and generates labels for the items, via one or more programmatic interfaces (see Ramos, Figures 1-3, Paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0036], [0038], “Upon selection of a data item 108 in the exploration pane 100, the user may, for instance, be allowed to view the contents of the data item and/or its associated prediction score and (if existent) label, and to assign a label to an unlabeled data item or correct a label of an already labeled data item. … The method 200 involves setting up a learning algorithm and defining a feature set to be used in the classification (operation 202). The data items within a dataset 204 provided as input to the method 200 can then be “featurized,” i.e., their respective feature values can be computed (operation 206). Further, to form a training dataset, a subset of the data items in dataset 204 are labeled, e.g., by manually classifying them (in the case of a binary classifier, as either positive or negative for the target concept) (operation 208).” [A user feedback session maybe be initiated to label the data items.]);
However, Ramos does not explicitly teach:
obtaining, at a cloud computing environment, a request to initiate an interactive labeling session for at least a portion of machine learning data set comprising images of items, wherein the interactive labeling session presents the images of the items, and generates labels for the items, via one or more programmatic interfaces;
Williams teaches:
obtaining, at a cloud computing environment, a request to initiate an interactive labeling session for at least a portion of machine learning data set comprising images of items, wherein the interactive labeling session presents the images of the items, and generates labels for the items, via one or more programmatic interfaces (see Williams, Paragraphs [0046], [0223], [0230], “classification server computer 116, and data sensor computer 118, and enterprise server computer 120 may be implemented using one or more cloud instances in one or more cloud networks. … The Training Corpus 508 and Testing Corpus 510 may be populated using digital photographs of the types and specific brands of goods that are likely to be sold by a group of sellers using the system. … The system may also record and present uncertain matches for a Domain Expert to administratively review through User Interface 532, independently of the review by sellers. Domain Expert decision and data adjustments may be recorded and incorporated into Training Corpus 508 or the item database, whichever is appropriate.” [A cloud network (i.e., cloud computing environment) is incorporated. The training corpus (i.e., machine learning data set) may include digital photographs (i.e., images of items). The system may present the uncertain matches in order to label them.]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ramos (teaching interactive semantic data exploration for error discovery) in view of Williams (teaching classifying data with deep learning neural records incrementally refined through expert input), and arrived at a method that incorporates a cloud computing environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purposes of improving classifying of data with a deep learning neural network (see Williams, Paragraph [0003]). In addition, both the references (Ramos and Williams) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as machine learning. The close relation between both the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
However, the combination of Ramos, and Williams do not explicitly teach:
generating, based at least in part on one or more machine learning algorithms, one or more machine-generated labels for at least a first item of the portion of the machine learning data set;
Kwant teaches:
generating, based at least in part on one or more machine learning algorithms, one or more machine-generated labels for at least a first item of the portion of the machine learning data set (see Kwant, [Column 6, Lines 26-31], “the system 100 uses the manually trained feature detector 103 on the manually labeled training data set (e.g., the training images) to generate automatically marked labels for the data items or images in the training data set.” [The feature detector (i.e., machine learning algorithm) may generate labels for data items in the training data dataset.]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ramos (teaching interactive semantic data exploration for error discovery) in view of Williams (teaching classifying data with deep learning neural records incrementally refined through expert input), further in view of Kwant (teaching method, apparatus, and system for providing quality assurance for training a feature prediction model), and arrived at a method that incorporates machine-generated labels. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purposes of reducing computing, bandwidth, and memory resources (see Kwant, [Column 10, Lines 13-23]). In addition, the references (Ramos, Williams, and Kwant) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as machine learning. The close relation between the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
The combination of Ramos, Williams, and Kwant further teaches:
presenting, from the cloud computing environment, via one or more programmatic interfaces and subsequent to receiving the request: respective user-selectable images of at least the first and a second item, and a third item of the portion of the machine learning data set (see Ramos, Figures 1-3, Paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0036], [0038], “user access to individual data items may also be provided via the exploration pane 100. Upon selection of a data item 108 in the exploration pane 100, the user may, for instance, be allowed to view the contents of the data item and/or its associated prediction score and (if existent) label, and to assign a label to an unlabeled data item or correct a label of an already labeled data item.” [The exploration pane provides user access to individual data items (i.e., respective user-selectable images of at least the first and a second item, and a third item of the portion of the machine learning data set).]),
However, the combination of Ramos, Williams, and Kwant do not explicitly teach:
one or more first interface elements, individual ones of the one or more first interface elements being user-selectable to indicate selection of a respective one of the one or more machine-generated labels as a user-selected label,
Debilde teaches:
one or more first interface elements, individual ones of the one or more first interface elements being user-selectable to indicate selection of a respective one of the one or more machine-generated labels as a user-selected label (see Debilde, Paragraph [0045], “The machine-learning-algorithm can be applied in accordance with test-image-data and associated labels that have been manually selected by a user (as represented by user-selected-predetermined-label data).” Paragraph [0046], “The controller can then automatically cause the associated image data (which can be referred to as refinement-image-data) to be sent to a remote computer (for example wirelessly via a server on the “cloud”), such that a user of the remote computer can manually select labels for the received refinement-image-data.” [A user may select a label using a remote computer (i.e., one or more first interface elements).]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Ramos (teaching interactive semantic data exploration for error discovery) in view of Williams (teaching classifying data with deep learning neural records incrementally refined through expert input) in view of Kwant (teaching method, apparatus, and system for providing quality assurance for training a feature prediction model), further in view of Debilde (teaching controller for a working vehicle) and arrived at a method that incorporates selecting labels via an interface element. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purposes of increasing the labelling accuracy (see Debilde, Paragraph [0045]). In addition, the references (Ramos, Williams, Kwant, and Debilde) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as machine learning. The close relation between the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
The combination of Ramos, Williams, Kwant, and Debilde further teaches:
and a second interface element user-selectable to assign, via a single user action, one or more user-selected labels to a user-selected subset of two or more of the presented user-selectable images (see Ramos, Figures 1-3, Paragraphs [0035], “Upon selection of a data item 108 in the exploration pane 100, the user may, for instance, be allowed to view the contents of the data item and/or its associated prediction score and (if existent) label, and to assign a label to an unlabeled data item or correct a label of an already labeled data item.”[0046], “a labeling user-interface component that presents the contents of data items to the user and receives user-assigned labels” [A labeling user-interface (i.e., second interface element) receives user-assigned labels (i.e., user-selected label).] Also, see Kwant, [Column 10, Lines 13-23], “the feature detector 103 can select a subset of the data items or images in the training data set for automatic labeling.” [A plurality of data items may be selected for labeling.]),
receiving, via the one more programmatic interfaces: a first indication of selection, via the respective user-selectable images, of a user-selected subset comprising at least the second item and the third item (see Ramos, Figures 1-3, Paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0036], [0038], “user access to individual data items may also be provided via the exploration pane 100. Upon selection of a data item 108 in the exploration pane 100, the user may, for instance, be allowed to view the contents of the data item and/or its associated prediction score and (if existent) label, and to assign a label to an unlabeled data item or correct a label of an already labeled data item. Selection of a cluster of data items may allow the user to view a list of items within the cluster and/or the general composition of the cluster (which may be updated, e.g., in cluster composition field 114), or to navigate into the selected cluster within the star coordinate space 102.” [The exploration pane provides user access to select data items.]),
a second indication of selection of one or more of the first interface elements corresponding to the one or more user-selected labels of the one or more machine-generated labels (see Debilde, Paragraph [0045], “The machine-learning-algorithm can be applied in accordance with test-image-data and associated labels that have been manually selected by a user (as represented by user-selected-predetermined-label data).” Paragraph [0046], “The controller can then automatically cause the associated image data (which can be referred to as refinement-image-data) to be sent to a remote computer (for example wirelessly via a server on the “cloud”), such that a user of the remote computer can manually select labels for the received refinement-image-data.” [A user may select a label using a remote computer (i.e., one or more first interface elements).]),
and a third indication of selection of the second interface element, to assign the one or more user-selected labels to the user-selected subset comprising at least the second item and the third item (see Ramos, Figures 1-3, Paragraphs [0035], “Upon selection of a data item 108 in the exploration pane 100, the user may, for instance, be allowed to view the contents of the data item and/or its associated prediction score and (if existent) label, and to assign a label to an unlabeled data item or correct a label of an already labeled data item.”[0046], “a labeling user-interface component that presents the contents of data items to the user and receives user-assigned labels” [A labeling user-interface (i.e., second interface element) may receive user-assigned labels (i.e., user-selected label).] Also, see Kwant, [Column 10, Lines 13-23], “the feature detector 103 can select a subset of the data items or images in the training data set for automatic labeling.” [A plurality of data items may be selected for labeling.]);
and storing, at the cloud computing environment and based at least in part on at least the third received indication, an indication of a relationship between the one or more user-selected labels and each of the first item, the second item, and the third item (see Ramos, Figure 1-3, Paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0036], [0038], “The method 200 may continue in a loop until the desired classifier performance is achieved.” [The method being continued in a loop indicates that the label associated with the data items are stored in order to achieve the desired classifier performance.] Also, see Kwant, [Column 10, Lines 13-23], “Alternatively, the feature detector 103 can select a subset of the data items or images in the training data set for automatic labeling. By selecting a representative subset, the feature detector 103 can advantageously reduce the number of data items or images it needs to process, thereby reducing the computing, bandwidth, memory, etc. resources associated with evaluating training data sets according to the various embodiments.” [The number of data items is reduced with evaluating training data sets (i.e., storing an indication of a relationship between the at least a first label and the at least first and second items).]).
Regarding claim 24, Ramos in view of Williams in view of Kwant, further in view of Debilde teaches all the limitations of claim 23. Ramos further teaches:
assigning respective ranks to a plurality of items of the portion of the machine learning data set, including the first item, based at least in part on estimated learning contributions of individual ones of the plurality of items to a training iteration of the machine learning model; and determining, based at least in part on a rank assigned to the first item, to present an indication of the first item via the one or more programmatic interfaces, wherein the indication comprises the image (see Ramos, Figure 1, Paragraphs [0002], [0028], [0034], [0036], [0042], “In association with the thumbnail images 152 or other representations of the individual data items, further information about the respective data items may be displayed; such information may include, e.g., the prediction scores assigned by the classifier (as shown as element 156) and/or associated confidence scores, the human-assigned labels (indicating whether an item is positive or negative for the target concept), anchor concepts to which the data items are attracted, and the like. The thumbnail images 152 or other representations of the data items may be ordered by the prediction score (as shown in FIG. 1B), or by some other parameter. … The user interface depicted in FIGS. 1A and 1B can be beneficial for data exploration in the context of interactively building a concept classifier. Given a set of features (i.e., functions that map data items onto scalar real values) to be used for a given classification task, a concept classifier generates classification predictions (e.g., for a binary classifier, in the form of prediction scores in conjunction with a decision boundary that demarcates positive and negative predictions for the target concept) for data items based on their associated feature values. In other words, a classifier is a function that maps sets of feature values onto respective prediction scores. … The confidence associated with a prediction, which can be quantified in a confidence score and generally increases the farther away a prediction score is from the decision boundary, can be a useful criterion.” [The data items may be ordered based on a prediction score assigned by a classifier model associated with a confidence score (i.e., respective rank based at least in part on estimated learning contributions). The data items may be presented as images.]).
Regarding claim 25, Ramos in view of Williams in view of Kwant, further in view of Debilde teaches all the limitations of claim 23. Ramos further teaches:
storing a second label, received via the one or more programmatic interfaces, for a third item of the portion of the machine learning data set, wherein the second label corresponds to as second class of the plurality of classes (see Ramos, Figure 1-3, Paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0036], [0038], “Further, to form a training dataset, a subset of the data items in dataset 204 are labeled, e.g., by manually classifying them (in the case of a binary classifier, as either positive or negative for the target concept) (operation 208). … To improve the performance of the classifier model and correct discovered errors, the human model developer can add labeled data items to the training set and/or features to the feature set. The method 200 may continue in a loop until the desired classifier performance is achieved.” [The labeled data items may be labeled (i.e., wherein the second label corresponds to as second class of the plurality of classes).]);
and presenting, from the cloud computing environment via the one or more programmatic interfaces, prior to receiving the second label, an indication of a correlation between an attribute of the third item and membership of the third item in a particular class of the plurality of classes (see Ramos, Paragraphs [0038], [0045], “The trained concept classifier model can be used to make classification predictions for unlabeled as well as labeled data items (operation 212), and the results can be inspected by a human model developer to discover actual and potential prediction errors (operation 214); the user interface of FIGS. 1A and 1B may serve visual data exploration for this purpose. To improve the performance of the classifier model and correct discovered errors, the human model developer can add labeled data items to the training set and/or features to the feature set.” [Figure 1A shows different data items that are associated with different labels (i.e., classes).]).
Regarding claim 26, Ramos in view of Williams in view of Kwant, further in view of Debilde teaches all the limitations of claim 23. Ramos further teaches:
storing a second label, received via the one or more programmatic interfaces, for a third item of the portion of the machine learning data set (see Ramos, Figure 1-3, Paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0036], [0038], “The method 200 may continue in a loop until the desired classifier performance is achieved.” Also, see Kwant, [Column 10, Lines 13-23], “Alternatively, the feature detector 103 can select a subset of the data items or images in the training data set for automatic labeling. By selecting a representative subset, the feature detector 103 can advantageously reduce the number of data items or images it needs to process, thereby reducing the computing, bandwidth, memory, etc. resources associated with evaluating training data sets according to the various embodiments.” [The process of labeling and storing may be repeated.]);
and receiving, at the cloud computing environment via the one or more programmatic interfaces, an indication of a justification for the second label (see Ramos, Figures 1A, 1B, Paragraph [0043], “The concept classifier is then retrained based on the expanded training dataset and/or modified feature set, and the visual attributes of the visual representations of the data items are updated to reflect updated classification predications and/or labels (operation 318). The user may continue the process of manipulating anchors (operation 306), inspecting data in the aggregate and individually (operations 310, 312), and providing feedback to the concept classifier (operations 314, 316) in, generally, any order to explore the dataset and improve the concept classifier.” [The labeled feedback may be visualized (i.e., indication of a justification).]).
Regarding claim 27, Ramos in view of Williams in view of Kwant, further in view of Debilde teaches all the limitations of claim 26. Ramos further teaches:
presenting, from the cloud computing environment via the one or more programmatic interfaces, the indication of the justification (see Ramos, Figures 1A, 1B, Paragraph [0043], “The concept classifier is then retrained based on the expanded training dataset and/or modified feature set, and the visual attributes of the visual representations of the data items are updated to reflect updated classification predications and/or labels (operation 318). The user may continue the process of manipulating anchors (operation 306), inspecting data in the aggregate and individually (operations 310, 312), and providing feedback to the concept classifier (operations 314, 316) in, generally, any order to explore the dataset and improve the concept classifier.” [The labeled feedback may be visualized (i.e., indication of a justification).]).
Regarding claim 28, Ramos in view of Williams in view of Kwant, further in view of Debilde teaches all the limitations of claim 23. Ramos further teaches:
obtaining, at the cloud computing environment from a first label provider via the one or more programmatic interfaces, a filter criterion to be used to select one or more additional items of the portion of the machine learning data set for which labels are to be obtained; and presenting, by the cloud computing environment to the first label provider via the one or more programmatic interfaces, a representation of a second item, wherein the second item is selected from the portion of the machine learning data set using the filter criterion (see Ramos, Figure 3, Paragraphs [0004], [0006], [0027], [0032]-[0033], [0043], [0044], “The dataset displayed in the user interface may generally include labeled data items (i.e., data items that have been manually classified as positive or negative for the target concept, which may include the training data used to train the classifier model) as well as unlabeled data items. … the user interface may include, alongside an “exploration pane” showing the dataset in the star coordinate space, an “items detail pane” that lists the data items visually represented in the star coordinate space, or a subset thereof, e.g., in the form of thumbnail images with associated prediction scores, and optionally ordered by prediction score. The user may select a data item from the list, or in the exploration pane, to view its contents and label the data item (if previously unlabeled, or to correct a previously assigned incorrect label). Upon assignment of a label, the respective data item may be added to the training dataset (or, in the case of a label correction, the new label may be substituted for the old label), and the concept classifier may be retrained based on the updated training set. The visual representations of the data items can then be updated to reflect updated predictions by the concept classifier.” [The data items may be selected, labeled as positive or negative (i.e., filter criterion), and added to the training set through the user interface.]).
Regarding claim 29, Ramos in view of Williams in view of Kwant, further in view of Debilde teaches all the limitations of claim 23. Ramos further teaches:
storing a second label, received via the one or more programmatic interfaces, for the first item of the portion of the machine learning data set (see Ramos, Figure 1-3, Paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0036], [0038], “The method 200 may continue in a loop until the desired classifier performance is achieved.” Also, see Kwant, [Column 10, Lines 13-23], “Alternatively, the feature detector 103 can select a subset of the data items or images in the training data set for automatic labeling. By selecting a representative subset, the feature detector 103 can advantageously reduce the number of data items or images it needs to process, thereby reducing the computing, bandwidth, memory, etc. resources associated with evaluating training data sets according to the various embodiments.” [The process of labeling and storing may be repeated.]);
and training, at the cloud computing environment, in one or more training iterations, the machine learning model using labeled versions of items of the portion of the machine learning data set, wherein a labeled version of the first item which includes the second label is used during a particular training iteration of the one or more training iterations, and wherein the second label is received at the cloud computing environment asynchronously with respect to the particular training iteration (see Ramos, Figure 3, Paragraphs [0004], [0006], [0027], [0032]-[0033], [0043], [0044], “The user may select a data item from the list, or in the exploration pane, to view its contents and label the data item (if previously unlabeled, or to correct a previously assigned incorrect label).” [The data items may be asynchronously selected, labeled, and added to the training set through the user interface.]).
Regarding claims 30-42, Ramos in view of Williams in view of Kwant, further in view of Debilde teaches all of the limitations of claims 23-29 in method form rather than in system and non-transitory computer-accessible storage media form. Ramos also discloses a system [0060], and a non-transitory computer-accessible storage media [0060]. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 23-29 applies equally as well to those elements of claims 30-42.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments, filed June 25th, 2026, have been fully considered, but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1.) Cheng et al. (US 2019/0197364 A1), which discloses functional image archiving.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUSAM TURKI SAMARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161