DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 06/16/2026 containing remarks and claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks) with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 over Wang, in view of White have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Wang et al. (CN 106518601 A, cited in IDS dated 08/04/2023; see attached translation), in view of White (US 4,645,585), Al-Ghamdi et al. (US 10,894,926 B2), and Chen et al. (US 7,906,685 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 106518601 A, cited in IDS dated 08/04/2023; see attached translation), in view of White (US 4,645,585), Al-Ghamdi et al. (US 10,894,926 B2), and Chen et al. (US 7,906,685 B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Wang discloses a hydroalkylation process comprising:
introducing hydrogen gas into a benzene feed stream ([0009]; [0056]);
directing the benzene feed stream into a catalytic reaction zone comprising a catalyst ([0009]; [0056]); and
heating the benzene feed stream in the presence of the catalyst to form a product stream ([0056], “the reaction temperature is 170°C”); wherein the product stream comprises cyclohexylbenzene, cyclohexane, methylcyclopentylbenzene, and dicyclohexylbenzene (Table 1), which can correspond to a commodity fraction (e.g., cyclohexylbenzene) and bottoms containing diesel range aromatics (e.g., dicyclohexylbenzene, which has a boiling point of 365.8°C or 690.44°F).
Wang discloses that the catalyst comprises a noble metal active component comprising at least one of palladium, ruthenium, platinum, rhodium, or iridium, and a transition metal auxiliary active component comprising vanadium, chromium, manganese, and/or copper ([0015]-[0016]). The noble metal active component and the transition metal auxiliary active component correspond to the first active metal and the second active metal of claim 1, respectively.
Wang does not teach separating a reformate admixture from a catalytic reformer into a light reformate, a heart-cut reformate stream comprising benzene, and a heavy reformate, and employing the heart-cut reformate stream as the feedstock to the hydroalkylation process.
However, White teaches producing a BTX-rich liquid by catalytic reforming and subjecting all or part of the BTX product to a hydroalkylation process to produce non-fused double ring compounds (col. 14, lines 26-56). Thus, White teaches employing a reformate-derived BTX fraction as a feedstock for hydroalkylation.
White does not explicitly teach separating the reformate into a light reformate, a benzene-containing heart-cut reformate, and a heavy reformate. In this regard, Al-Ghamdi teaches passing a reformate stream to a reformate splitter (Fig. 16, 430) to obtain a light reformate fraction (432), a benzene-rich middle fraction (434), known as a “benzene heart cut,” and a heavy reformate fraction (436) (col. 30, line 51-col. 31, line 3). Al-Ghamdi discloses the benzene-rich middle fraction, or the benzene heart cut, comprises about 20-30 vol% benzene (col. 30, lines 59-62). Al-Ghamdi also refers elsewhere to “C6-C8 heart naphtha cut” (col. 66, line 31) and “a ‘heart cut’ of C6-C8” (col. 69, line 28). Although Al-Ghamdi does not expressly disclose that the heart cut contains toluene and xylene, the disclosures in Al-Ghamdi support the understanding that a heart cut reformate contains C6-C8 hydrocarbons. Since reforming of naphtha is known to produce BTX, the benzene heart cut reformate is interpreted to contain C6-C8 aromatics, i.e., BTX.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang to obtain the benzene feedstock for hydroalkylation by separating a reformate stream into a light reformate, a benzene-rich heart-cut reformate, and a heavy reformate, because White teaches that a reformate-derived BTX fraction is suitable as a feedstock for hydroalkylation and this involves application of a known source of feedstock to a known process to yield predictable results. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the reformate splitter taught by Al-Ghamdi, because it teaches a known method for isolating a BTX fraction from reformate.
Wang does not teach separating the hydroalkylated product stream into a naphtha fraction comprising cyclohexane and C6-C8 naphthenes, a commodity fraction comprising cyclohexylbenzene, and a bottoms fraction comprising diesel-range aromatics having a boiling point of 300°F to 750°F.
However, Chen teaches recovering cyclohexylbenzene from a benzene hydrodealkylation effluent by a two-distillation column operation, in which the first column recovers unreacted benzene from the effluent and the bottoms from the first column are further distilled in a second column to separate the desired cyclohexylbenzene product from dicyclohexylbenzene and other heavier components (col. 6, lines 32-40).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to modify the Wang/White/Al-Ghamdi process by applying distillation to Wang’s hydroalkylation product stream to recover cyclohexylbenzene and separate lower-boiling components from higher-boiling reaction products, as taught by Chen, because Chen teaches that conventional distillation can be applied to recover cyclohexylbenzene from lower-boiling and higher-boiling products and this involves application of a known separation technique to yield predictable results.
Furthermore, Wang and the instant application are both drawn to a process of hydroalkylating benzene in the presence of a catalyst comprising essentially the same amounts of the identical components (i.e., a noble active metal, an auxiliary active metal, organosilicon microporous zeolite, and a binder), the process operating under the same or overlapping reaction temperature and pressure conditions (Wang: [0009]-[0021], [0056]; see also Spec.: [0028], [0035], [0037], [0056]-[0061], [0069]-[0070]). In view of Wang’s materially similar catalyst system and overlapping reaction conditions, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the resulting effluent to contain lower-boiling products including cyclohexane and C6-C8 naphthenes, and higher-boiling products including diesel-range aromatics having a boiling point of 300-750°F. Applying the distillation would separate components according to their boiling points and, therefore, the claimed naphtha and bottoms fractions would have been expected results of applying a distillation process to Wang’s hydroalkylation effluent.
Regarding claim 2, Al-Ghamdi discloses the benzene heart cut, comprises about 20-30 vol% benzene (col. 30, lines 59-62). The claimed range of 5-75 % overlaps the benzene content range taught by Al-Ghamdi and is considered prima facie obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05. I. Furthermore, Wang provides examples in which the benzene conversions are 41.64%, 46.53%, and 40.53% (Table 1 ), which read on the benzene conversion range of "at least 40%."
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses that the reaction conditions include a temperature of 100-300 °C ([0019]). The claimed temperature range of “about 100°C to about 250°C” falls within the temperature range taught by Wang and is considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses that the reaction conditions include a pressure of 0.5-5.0 MPa, i.e., about 72.5-725.2 psig ([0019]). The claimed pressure range of “about 50 psig to about 500 psig” overlaps the pressure range taught by Wang and is considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 6, Al-Ghamdi further teaches that the light reformate fraction and the heavy reformate fraction may be passed to product pools, such as gasoline pool (pg. 30, line 62 – col. 31, line 3).
Regarding claim 7, Al-Ghamdi discloses the benzene heart cut, comprises about 20-30 vol% benzene (col. 30, lines 59-62). The claimed range of 25-75 % overlaps the benzene content range taught by Al-Ghamdi and is considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the modified Wang process, in view of White, Al-Ghamdi, and Chen (“Wang/White/Al-Ghamdi/Chen”), does not explicitly teach: (i) the diesel fraction comprises dicyclohexylbenzene, dicyclohexylcyclohexane, and isomers thereof (claim 8) and (ii) the commodity fraction comprises cyclohexylbenzene, bicyclohexyl, and isomers thereof (claim 9). However, Wang and the instant application are both drawn to a process of hydroalkylating benzene in the presence of a catalyst comprising essentially the same amounts of the identical components (i.e., a noble active metal, an auxiliary active metal, organosilicon microporous zeolite, and a binder), the process operating under the same or overlapping reaction temperature and pressure conditions (Wang: [0009]-[0021], [0056]; see also Spec.: [0028], [0035], [0037], [0056]-[0061], [0069]-[0070]). In view of Wang’s materially similar catalyst system and overlapping reaction conditions, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the resulting effluent to contain (i) dicyclohexylbenzene, dicyclohexylcyclohexane, and isomers thereof, and (ii) cyclohexylbenzene, bicyclohexyl, and isomers thereof.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Wang process, in view of White, Al-Ghamdi, and Chen (“Wang/White/Al-Ghamdi/Chen”), does not disclose hydrotreating the naphtha fraction, the commodity fraction, and/or the bottoms fraction to improve diesel properties by increasing a diesel cetane number and/or density. However, Wang teaches that cyclohexylbenzene may be hydrogenated to produce bicyclohexyl which has high octane number and high smoke point and is useful in diesel and jet fuel blends (col. 7, lines 60-65; col. 15, lines 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify the Wang/White/Al-Ghamdi/Chen process by hydrogenating the cyclohexylbenzene fraction and use the hydrogenated stream in diesel blend to improve diesel properties.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Wang teaches a catalyst comprising:
(a) 0.05-5 wt% of a noble metal active component (“first active metal”), such as ruthenium, palladium, and/or platinum ([0009]-[0010], [0014]);
(b) 40-85 wt% of organosilicon microporous zeolite (Wang, [0012]); and
(c) 10-50 wt% of a binder, such as aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, zinc oxide, and/or zirconium oxide (Wang, [0013], [0020]).
The concentrations of the first active metal, the organosilicon microporous zeolite, and the binder taught by Wang overlap and render obvious the following claimed ranges: “about 0.1 wt% to about 10 wt% of the first active metal,” “about 40 wt% to about 90 wt% of an organosilicon microporous zeolite” and “about 10 wt% to about 60 wt% of a binder,” respectively.
Regarding claims 14-16, Wang teaches a catalyst comprising:
(a) 0.05-5 wt% of a noble metal active component (“first active metal”), such as ruthenium, palladium, and/or platinum ([0009]-[0010], [0014]);
(b) 40-85 wt% of organosilicon microporous zeolite (Wang, [0012]); and
(c) 10-50 wt% of a binder, such as aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, zinc oxide, and/or zirconium oxide (Wang, [0013], [0020]).
The concentrations of the first active metal, the organosilicon microporous zeolite, and the binder taught by Wang overlap and render obvious the following claimed ranges: “about 0.1 wt% to about 10 wt% of the first active metal,” “about 40 wt% to about 90 wt% of an organosilicon microporous zeolite” and “about 10 wt% to about 60 wt% of a binder,” respectively.
Wang does not explicitly teach that the catalyst additionally comprises “about 1 wt% to about 20 wt% of a total of a rare earth metal oxide and/or zirconium oxide.” However, Wang discloses that the binder can be a mixture of alumina, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, and zirconium oxide ([0020]). Therefore, the binder of Wang, which is in an amount of 10-50 wt% and which may include zirconium oxide in mixture with other binder materials, encompasses and renders obvious the claimed limitation of “about 1 wt% to about 20 wt%” of zirconium oxide.
Wang does not disclose that the catalyst comprises is cerium oxide and/or lanthanum oxide as a rare earth metal oxide component, as recited in claim 16. However, claim 16 merely further limits one of the alternative limitations recited in claim 15: “a rare earth metal oxide and/or zirconium oxide.” Since Wang teaches the zirconium oxide alternative, the entire genus of claim 15 is rendered unpatentable. Where a claim recites a Markush group, the entire claim is unpatentable if any one of the alternatives is taught or suggested by the prior art. Therefore, claim 16, which only narrows the rare earth metal oxide element of the alternative limitations, is not considered inventive. If Applicant intends to distinguish the recitation of claim 16 over Wang, it is suggested that claim 16 be amended such that catalyst does require a rare earth oxide.
Regarding claims 17-19, Wang teaches a catalyst comprising:
(a) 0.05-5 wt% of a noble metal active component (“first active metal”), such as ruthenium and/or palladium ([0009]-[0010], [0014]);
(b) 0.05-10 wt% of an auxiliary metal active component (“second active metal”), such as copper ([0011], [0015]);
(b) 40-85 wt% of organosilicon microporous zeolite (Wang, [0012]); and
(c) 10-50 wt% of a binder (Wang, [0013], [0020]).
The concentrations of the first active metal, the second active metal, the organosilicon microporous zeolite, and the binder taught by Wang correspond to or render obvious the following claimed ranges: “about 0.5 wt% to about 10 wt% of the first active metal,” “about 0.05 wt% to about 10 wt% of the second active metal,” “about 40 wt% to about 85 wt% of an organosilicon microporous zeolite” and “about 10 wt% to about 60 wt% of a binder,” respectively.
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses that the organosilicon microporous zeolite has a formula of (1/n)Al2O3:SiO2:(m/n)R, where n=5-250, and R is at least one of an alkyl group or a phenyl group with 1-8 carbon atom ([0016]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The prior art of record does not provide adequate teaching or motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the commodity fraction and the bottoms fraction in the modified Wang process, as discussed above, and hydrotreating the combined stream to form a diesel fraction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON Y CHONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772