DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by WO2022082293. WO2022082293. Regarding claim 1, WO2022082293 discloses a rollable two-sided die*, comprising: a first piece (102, 202, 302, 402, 502, 602, 702, 802, 902, figures 1A-9C) and a second piece (104, 204, 304, 404, 504, 604, 704, 804, 904, figures 1-9C), bonded, molded, or shaped together (first and second pieces are integrally shaped together, see paragraph numbers 23 and 72-73), wherein the first and second pieces have a similar shape to one another(figures 1-9C); and wherein said first and second piece are connected in parallel to one another (figures 1A, 1B, 4 and 5), and overlap at least in part in a lengthwise direction (figures 1A-9C).
*NOTE: The text in bold in the preamble is not limiting. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation ‘a rollable two-sided die” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Regarding claim 2, the rollable two-sided die of claim 1, wherein the first and second pieces are comprised of wood or composite material (see para. # 13, first and second pieces are made of fiberglass which is a composite material).
Regarding claim 3, the rollable two-sided die of claim 1, wherein the first and second pieces are cylindrical in shape (figures 1A-9C).
Regarding claim 4, the rollable two-sided die of claim 1, wherein the first and second pieces are conical in shape (figures 1A-9C).
Regarding claim 8, the rollable two-sided die of claim 1, wherein *construction methods comprise molding, chiseling, whittling or printing.
*NOTE: The text in bold is a product by process claim and not given any patentable weight.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0210101, hereafter referred to as ‘Hawkins ‘101’. Regarding claim 1, Hawkins ‘101 discloses a rollable two-sided die (figures 1A-1D), comprising: a first piece 110 and a second piece 120, bonded, molded, or shaped together (first and second pieces are connected together (via 112 & 122 or 130 & 140, and thus are shaped together, see paragraph numbers 51-52), wherein the first and second pieces have a similar shape to one another (figures 1A-1D); and wherein said first and second piece are connected in parallel to one another (figures 1A-1D), and overlap at least in part in a lengthwise direction (figures 1A-1D).
Regarding claim 8, the rollable two-sided die of claim 1, wherein *construction methods comprise molding, chiseling, whittling or printing.
*NOTE: The text in bold is a product by process claim and not given any patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022/082293. WO2022/082293 discloses the claimed invention except for the teaching that the weight of the first and second pieces differ, to allow for bounce against a flat surface.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the first and second pieces of WO2022/082293 so that the weight of the first and second pieces differ since such a modification would have merely been an obvious engineering design choice yielding the predictable results of making the riding surfaces different sizes and weights in order to provide different riding experiences for the user. Furthermore, the recitation of “to allow for bounce against a flat surface” is an intended use recitation and given very little patentable weight since the device of WO2022/082293, based on the material it is made, would bounce when dropped from a distance onto a flat surface, this limitation is met by the WO2022/082293 reference.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022/082293. WO2022/082293 discloses the claimed invention except for the teaching that the second piece is smaller than the first piece, in both diameter and length.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the first and second pieces of WO2022/082293 so that the second piece is smaller than the first piece, in both diameter and length since such a modification would have merely been an obvious engineering design choice yielding the predictable results of making the riding surfaces different dimensions, sizes and weights in order to provide different riding experiences for the user.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022/082293. WO2022/082293 discloses the claimed invention except for the teaching that the first and second piece comprises Acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), Polylactic acid (PLA), Polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), High-density polyethylene (HDPE), Nylon, Polyethylene terephthalate (PETT), Wood Filament, Metal Filament, Carbon Fiber, Plexi, or Wood.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the first and second pieces of WO2022/082293 so that they are made of Acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), Polylactic acid (PLA), Polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), High-density polyethylene (HDPE), Nylon, Polyethylene terephthalate (PETT), Wood Filament, Metal Filament, Carbon Fiber, Plexi, or Wood since such a modification would have merely been an obvious engineering design choice yielding the predictable results of using different materials to make the device of WO2022/082293 based on factors, such as strength, durability, cost etc. for optimally manufacturing the device of WO2022/082293.
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins ‘101. Hawkins ‘101 discloses the claimed invention except for the teaching that the first and second pieces are comprised of wood or composite material and/or comprised of Acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), Polylactic acid (PLA), Polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), High-density polyethylene (HDPE), Nylon, Polyethylene terephthalate (PETT), Wood Filament, Metal Filament, Carbon Fiber, Plexi, or Wood.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the first and second pieces of WO2022/082293 so that they are made of wood or composite material or Acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), Polylactic acid (PLA), Polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), High-density polyethylene (HDPE), Nylon, Polyethylene terephthalate (PETT), Wood Filament, Metal Filament, Carbon Fiber, or Plexi since such a modification would have merely been an obvious engineering design choice yielding the predictable results of using different materials to make the die of Hawkins ‘101 based on factors, such as strength, durability, cost etc. for optimally manufacturing the die of Hawkins ‘101.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Velich ‘237 discloses a cylindrical shaped die which is similar to applicant’s invention.
/THOMAS M SEMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875