DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments filed on 02/05/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to at least claims 1, 17 and 30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejections.
Response to Amendment
The 112 2nd paragraph rejection pertaining to claim 18 is hereby withdrawn due to the amendments filed on 02/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 16-17, 19 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouzieli et al. (US 2019/0200278 A1-hereinafter Ouzieli) and in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0067457 A1-hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Ouzieli discloses an apparatus for wireless communications (at least figure 1, element 102, AP), comprising:
at least one transceiver (at least figure 5, element 510, [0079], transceiver);
at least one memory comprising instructions (at least figures 1 & 5, [0036][0078]-[0080], i.e. memory); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus (at least figures 1 & 5, [0036][0078]-[0080], i.e.: processor) to:
generate a frame comprising an identifier (ID) of a security key and an integrity check (at least figure 1, [0047]-[0053], frame includes key ID field/ integrity group key (IGK), and management integrity check (MIC)), wherein:
the integrity check is generated based on one or more portions of the frame, and the generation comprises computing the integrity check based at least on the security key (at least [0025]-[0026][0048][0049], the MIC is generated based on the IGK and/or other information included in body of the frame (integrity group key value is used to determine management integrity check (MIC))); and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the frame (at least figure 1, [0019][0027], frame is output for transmission to user equipment (UE/STA)).
Ouzieli does not explicitly disclose the frame is a control frame and that the frame comprising a packet number (PN).
However, Wang discloses a control frame and the control frame comprising a packet number (at least [0012][0127], control frame includes packet number).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ouzieli to include the teaching of Wang to provide security protection to different types of frames being transmitted.
Regarding claim 2, Ouzieli and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Ouzieli also discloses at least one of:
the security key comprises at least one of: an IGTK, a pairwise temporal key (PTK), or a control integrity temporal key (CIGTK) (at least [0049], IGK).
Regarding claim 16, Ouzieli and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Ouzieli also discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to operate as a station or access point (at least figures 1 & 5, [0072][0078], user device or AP).
Regarding claim 17, Ouzieli discloses an apparatus for wireless communications, comprising:
at least one transceiver (at least figure 5, [0079], transceiver);
at least one memory comprising instructions (at least figures 1 & 5, [0036][0078]-[0080], i.e. memory storing instructions); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions (at least figures 1 & 5, [0036][0078]-[0080], i.e.: processor) and cause the apparatus to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, a frame comprising an identifier (ID) of a security key and an integrity check (at least figure 1, [0047]-[0053], frame obtained includes key ID field, and management integrity check (MIC)); and
verify validity of the frame, based on a comparison of the integrity check and another integrity check, wherein the other integrity check is based on at least the security key and one or more portions of the frame (at least [0072]-[0076], MIC is checked against an expected MIC value, wherein the MIC checked is based on BME and key).
Ouzieli does not explicitly disclose the frame is a control frame and that the frame comprising a packet number (PN).
However, Wang discloses a control frame and the control frame comprising a packet number (at least [0012][0127], control frame includes packet number).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ouzieli to include the teaching of Wang to provide security protection to different types of frames being transmitted.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Claim 29 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 16 above.
Claim 30 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 17.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouzieli, Wang and further in view of Patil et al. (US 2021/0321410 A1-hereinafter Patil).
Regarding claim 3, Ouzieli and Alfred disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Ouzieli and Alfred do not explicitly disclose the control frame comprises a trigger frame comprising a user information list comprising user information fields; and the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: place the ID, the PN, and the integrity check after the user information list in the trigger frame or in a subset of the user information fields.
However, Patil discloses a trigger frame comprising a user information list comprising user information fields (at least [0081][0091], list of stations (STAs), comprising user-specific fields).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features discloses in Patil into the apparatus of Ouzieli and Wang and place the ID, the PD and the integrity after the user information list in the trigger frame or in a subset of the user information fields to allow access control checks to be performed immediately upon receiving the frame, which can deny unauthorized traffic quickly, preventing it from consuming resources or even reaching deeper into the network.
Regarding claim 4, Ouzieli, Wang and Patil disclose the apparatus of claim 3. Patil also discloses each of the user information fields of the subset comprises an association identifier (AID) field (at least [0071], AID is assigned to each STA); and
the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: place the ID, the PN, and the integrity check in the subset of the user information fields (Ouzieli-figure 1, at least [0047]-[0053]; key ID field, and management integrity check (MIC); Wang-at least [0012], PN; Patil-at least [0071]); and
set the AID field, of each user information field in the subset, to a reserved value that indicates a presence of the integrity check (Patil-at least [0071][0091], the AID is set to an identifier that helps AP track a STA that has been authenticated and associated with a communication link with the AP).
Claims 5-6 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouzieli, Wang and further in view of Vermani et al. (US 2021/0321410 A1-hereinafter Vermani).
Regarding claim 5, Ouzieli and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Ouzieli and Wang do not explicitly disclose the frame comprises a null data packet (NDP) announcement frame comprising station (STA) information fields; and the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: place the ID, the PN, and the integrity check either: after the STA information fields in the NDP announcement frame, or in a subset of the STA information fields.
However, Vermani discloses a null data packet (NDP) announcement frame comprising station (STA) information fields (at least [0007], null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame, comprising a first wireless station (STA) information field).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features discloses in Vermani into the apparatus of Ouzieli and Wang and place the ID, the PD and the integrity check after the STA information field in the NDP or in a subset of the STA information fields to allow a receiving device to allocate necessary resources and prepare its radio interface to receive the NDPs efficiently.
Regarding claim 6, Ouzieli, Wang and Vermani disclose the apparatus of claim 5. Ouzieli, Wang and Vermani also obviously discloses each STA information field comprises an association identifier (AID) field (Vermani-at least [0008][0012][0044], each information field of the first STA includes a unique AID); and
the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: place the ID, the PN, and the integrity check in the subset of the STA information fields; and set the AID field, of each STA information field in the subset, to a reserved value that indicates a presence of the integrity check (Ouzieli-at least figure 1, [0047]-[0053], key ID field, and management integrity check (MIC); Wang-[0012], PN; Vermani-at least [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features discloses in Vermani into the apparatus of Ouzieli and Wang and place the ID, the PD and the integrity check after the STA information field in the NDP or in a subset of the STA information fields to allow for efficient data delivery.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 5 above.
Claims 7-8 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouzieli, Wang, Vermani and further in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US 2020/0221385 A1-hereinafter Aster).
Regarding claim 7, Ouzieli and Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Ouzieli and Wang do not explicitly disclose the control frame comprises a multi-station block acknowledgment (M-BA) frame comprising association identifier (AID) traffic identifier (TID) information fields; and the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: place the ID, the PN, and the integrity check in a subset of the AID TID information fields.
However, Vermani discloses association ID (Vermani-at least [0008][0012] [0044], each information field of the first STA includes a unique AID).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features discloses in Vermani into the apparatus of Ouzieli and Wang and place the ID, the PD and the integrity check after the STA information field in the NDP or in a subset of the STA information fields to allow for efficient data delivery.
Aster discloses a frame comprises a multi-station acknowledgement frame (M-BA) comprising traffic identifier information fields (at least [0094]-[0096], traffic identifier (TID)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features discloses in Aster into the apparatus of Ouzieli, Wang and Vermani and to place the ID, the PD and the integrity check in a subset of the AID TID information fields to allow for a more efficient packet classification and handling.
Regarding claim 8, Ouzieli, Wang, Vermani and Aster disclose the apparatus of claim 7. Ouzieli, Alfred, Vermani and Aster also disclose each of the AID TID information fields of the subset comprises an AID field (Vermani-[0008][0012] [0044]); and the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: set the AID field, of each AID TID information field of the subset, to a reserved value that indicates a presence of the integrity check (Ouzieli- figure 1, [0047]-[0053], frame includes key ID field, and management integrity check (MIC); Vermani-[0008][0012] [0044]).
Claim 21 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 7 above.
Claim 22 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 8 above.
Claims 9-10 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouzieli, Wang, Vermani, Aster and further in view of Merlin et al. (US 2016/ 0183253 A1-hereinafter Merlin).
Regarding claim 9, Ouzieli, Wang, Vermani and Aster disclose the apparatus of claim 7. Ouzieli, Wang, Vermani and Aster do not disclose include padding in the frame after the subset, wherein a quantity of the padding is based on the quantity of symbols between an end of the subset and an end of the frame.
However, Merlin discloses padding in a frame after the subset, wherein a quantity of the padding is based on a number of symbols between the an end of the subset and an end of the control frame (at least [0047][0073]-[0074][0080]-[0085], frame is padded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features discloses in Merlin into the apparatus of Ouzieli, Wang, Vermani and Aster to address processing time constraints.
Regarding claim 10, Ouzieli, Alfred, Vermani, Aster and Merlin disclose the apparatus of claim 9. Merlin also discloses receive, via at least one transceiver an indication of a requested period between the end of the subset and the end of the control frame (at least [0066][0070][0095], i.e.: response period); and determine the number of symbols based on the requested period (at least [0100]-[0102], number of symbols).
Claim 23 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 9 above.
Claim 24 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 10 above.
Claims 11 & 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouzieli, Wang and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2022/0085910 A1-hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 11, Ouzieli and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Ouzieli and Wang do not explicitly disclose the control frame comprises a block acknowledgment request (BAR) frame comprising BAR information fields; and the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: place the ID, the PN, and the integrity check in a subset of the BAR information fields.
However, Sun discloses a block acknowledgement request (BAR) frame comprising BAR information fields (at least [0072]-[0073], BAR frames include information fields).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features discloses in Sun into the apparatus of Ouzieli and Wang and place the ID, the PD and the integrity in subset of the BAR information fields to enhance security and efficiency to the apparatus.
Claim 25 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 11 above.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouzieli, Wang, Sun and Merlin et al. (US 2017/0201343 A1-hereinafter Simone).
Regarding claim 12, Ouzieli, Wang and Sun disclose the apparatus of claim 11. Ouzieli, Wang and Sun do not explicitly disclose each of the BAR information fields of the subset comprises a Per traffic identifier (TID) info field; and the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: set a first bit of each Per TID info field.
However, Simone discloses a block acknowledgement frame comprises a per traffic identifier (TID) into field and set a first bit of each Per TID into field (at least figure 5, [0051], reserved bit into field).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features discloses in Simone into the apparatus of Ouzieli, Wang and Sun to effectively classify and assign traffic to different priority levels or classes of service.
Claims 13 & 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouzieli, Wang and Lee et al. (US 2016/0285834 A1-hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 13, Ouzieli and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Ouzieli and Wang do not explicitly disclose the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to generate the control frame comprises the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to: encrypt one or more bits included in a medium access control (MAC) header of the control frame, wherein the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the control frame comprises the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the MAC header including the encrypted one or more bits.
However, Lee discloses encrypt one or more bits included in a medium access control (MAC) header of a frame, and to output the MAC header including the encrypted one or more bits (at least [0050]-[0051], MAC header of a frame is encrypted).
IT would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Lee into the apparatus of Ouzieli and Wang to protect information of entities in communications.
Claim 26 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 13 above. In addition, Lee also discloses decrypting and verifying (at least [0019]-[0020])[0083]).
Claims 14-15 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouzieli, Wang, Lee and further in view of Patil et al. (US 2021/0160958 A1-hereinafter Pramod).
Regarding claim 14, Ouzieli, Wang and Lee disclose the apparatus of claim 13. Ouzieli, Wang and Lee do not disclose the PN is a first PN associated with a MAC protocol data unit (MPDU) of the control frame.
However, Pramod discloses a packet number (PN) is a first PD associated with a MPDU of a frame (at least figure 8, [0082], i.e.: PN1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to include the teaching of Pramod into the apparatus of Ouzieli, Wang and Lee to allow receiving entity to correctly reconstruct original data if multiple packets are fragmented and sent simultaneously.
Regarding claim 15, Ouzieli, Wang, Lee and Pramod disclose the apparatus of claim 14. Ouzieli, Wang, Lee and Pramod also disclose the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to encrypt the one or more bits comprises the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to encrypt the one or more bits based on the second PN associated with the MAC header and the second security key (Ouzieli-at least [0020], a second security key negotiated with AP after association; Lee-at least [0050]-[0051], MAC header of a frame is encrypted; Pramod-at least figure 8, [0082], i.e.: PN2); and the control frame further comprises a header protection field comprising: an indication of the second PN (Pramod-at least figure 8, [0082], i.e.: PN2); an ID of the second security key (Ouzieli-at least [0020][0047], key ID); and another integrity check based on the MAC header (at least [0074][0083], i.e.: frame check sequence).
Claim 27 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 14 above.
Claim 28 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 15 above.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouzieli, Wang and further in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US 2020/0015164 A1-hereinafter Aster).
Regarding claim 18, Ouzieli and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 17. Ouzieli and Wang do not disclose the PN comprises only a portion of a complete packet number for the frame; another portion of the complete packet number is stored locally; and the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: update the stored portion of the complete packet number based on an exchange of secure management frames.
However, Aster discloses a PN comprises only a portion of a complete packet number for the frame ([0019][0022], packet number);
another portion of the complete packet number is stored locally (at least [0019][0022][0044], base packet number stored at STA); and
the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: update the stored portion of the complete packet number based on an exchange of secure management frames (at least [0082], frame is updated/adjusted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to include the teachings of Aster into the apparatus of Ouzieli and Wang to provide another way to generate packet number.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHY ANH T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438