DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2023 and 08/04/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “1002” has been used to designate both UE and capability retrieval from CN (see figure 10).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
“1022” (see figure 10);
“1404A”, “1404B” and “1404C” (see figure 14)
Specification
The disclosure filed on 08/04/2023 is accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “an offset value to define an offset between a reference synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) and a non-cell defining (NCD)-SSB”
As indicated by the PCT/US2022/049454, "International Search Report and Written Opinion", 24 April 2023, 13 pages filed in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Form (SB08) dated 08/07/2023, an offset should be defined between two quantities. Consequently, from the wording of claim 1 the definition of the offset is unclear.
Regarding claims 2-9, they are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 1 and claim 1 is rejected.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites “an offset value to define an offset between a cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) and a non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB)”
As indicated by the PCT/US2022/049454, "International Search Report and Written Opinion", 24 April 2023, 13 pages filed in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Form (SB08) dated 08/07/2023, an offset should be defined between two quantities. Consequently, from the wording of claim 10 the definition of the offset is unclear.
Regarding claims 11-16, they are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 10 and claim 10 is rejected.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites “an offset value for a non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB);”
As indicated by the PCT/US2022/049454, "International Search Report and Written Opinion", 24 April 2023, 13 pages filed in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Form (SB08) dated 08/07/2023, the offset between a signal and a physical block is unclear.
Regarding claims 18-20, they are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly from claim 17 and claim 17 is rejected.
Claims 1-20 are also rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA, present Application page 1 paragraph [0002]-[0003]) in view of Lei (US 20230379848 A1)
Regarding claim 1, AAPA discloses receive, from a base station, a configuration message that provides an offset value to define an offset between a reference synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) and a non-cell defining (NCD)-SSB (“The base stations transmit different reference signals for different UEs. In particular, the base stations transmit cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) for UEs with full capability and transmit non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) for reduced capability (RedCap) UEs. In legacy approaches, the CD-SSB have a maximum periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms). Further, the NCD-SSB are limited to offsets of 5 ms, 10 ms, or 15 ms from the CD-SSD.”). AAPA doesn’t specifically disclose
determine a period in which the NCD-SSB is to be transmitted based on the offset value and receive the NCD-SSB within the period. Lei discloses determine a period in which the NCD-SSB is to be transmitted based on the offset value and receive the NCD-SSB within the period (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB is no less than the periodicity of the CD-SSB set, which can be chosen from the range of {5, 10, 20, 40, 80, 160} ms. However, in some cases, NCD-SSB is not supported independent of an associated CD-SSB set outside of a RedCap UE context” … “In some aspects, the at least one NCD-SSB may include a plurality of NCD-SSB bursts and the CD-SSB set may include a plurality of CD-SSB bursts having a first CD-SSB burst associated with a reference system frame number (SFN) (e.g., an SFN #0). The NCD-SSB configuration may indicate a time offset between a first symbol of a first NCD-SSB burst transmitted on or after the reference system frame number and a first symbol of the first CD-SSB burst associated with the reference system frame number. In some aspects, the time offset may include a quantity of slots equivalent to a product of a constant time unit and a variable having a value that is equal to a selected integer. The selected integer may include an integer selected from a subset of a specified range of integers including negative values, positive values and zero. For example, the time duration of O slots may be equivalent to 5*k ms, where k is an integer in the range of [−32, 32]”).
AAPA and Lei are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA the periodicity disclosed by Lei. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to indicating one or more parameters corresponding to transmission (Lei abstract). See also KSR. In the KSR case, the Court stated that in certain circumstances what is obvious to try is also obvious, such as where "there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem, and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." Regarding hindsight, the Court found that "[r]igid preventive rules that deny fact finders recourse to common sense . . . are neither necessary under our case law nor consistent with it." The Court stated that "familiar items may have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes," analogizing an obvious invention to the fitting together of pieces to a puzzle. The Court in this regard further stated that the person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, and not "an automaton."
Regarding claim 10, AAPA discloses determining an offset value to define an offset between a cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) and a non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) (“The base stations transmit different reference signals for different UEs. In particular, the base stations transmit cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) for UEs with full capability and transmit non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) for reduced capability (RedCap) UEs. In legacy approaches, the CD-SSB have a maximum periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms). Further, the NCD-SSB are limited to offsets of 5 ms, 10 ms, or 15 ms from the CD-SSD.”). AAPA doesn’t specifically disclose the offset value larger than 15 milliseconds (ms) transmitting a configuration message that indicates the offset value; and transmitting the NCD-SSB within a period defined by the offset value. Lei discloses offset value larger than 15 milliseconds (ms) transmitting a configuration message that indicates the offset value; and transmitting the NCD-SSB within a period defined by the offset value (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB is no less than the periodicity of the CD-SSB set, which can be chosen from the range of {5, 10, 20, 40, 80, 160} ms. However, in some cases, NCD-SSB is not supported independent of an associated CD-SSB set outside of a RedCap UE context” … “In some aspects, the at least one NCD-SSB may include a plurality of NCD-SSB bursts and the CD-SSB set may include a plurality of CD-SSB bursts having a first CD-SSB burst associated with a reference system frame number (SFN) (e.g., an SFN #0). The NCD-SSB configuration may indicate a time offset between a first symbol of a first NCD-SSB burst transmitted on or after the reference system frame number and a first symbol of the first CD-SSB burst associated with the reference system frame number. In some aspects, the time offset may include a quantity of slots equivalent to a product of a constant time unit and a variable having a value that is equal to a selected integer. The selected integer may include an integer selected from a subset of a specified range of integers including negative values, positive values and zero. For example, the time duration of O slots may be equivalent to 5*k ms, where k is an integer in the range of [−32, 32]”). AAPA and Lei are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA the periodicity disclosed by Lei. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to indicating one or more parameters corresponding to transmission (Lei abstract). See also KSR above.
Regarding claim 17, AAPA discloses memory to store an offset value for a non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors to (“For example, base stations of the network can transmit synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to user equipments (UEs) of the network for synchronization operations” UE will include necessary inherently the memory and the processors) receive a configuration message that provides the offset value for the NCD-SSB; receive a cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) (“The base stations transmit different reference signals for different UEs. In particular, the base stations transmit cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) for UEs with full capability and transmit non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) for reduced capability (RedCap) UEs. In legacy approaches, the CD-SSB have a maximum periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms). Further, the NCD-SSB are limited to offsets of 5 ms, 10 ms, or 15 ms from the CD-SSD.”). AAPA doesn’t specifically disclose a system frame number (SFN) equal to zero and determine a period for reception of the NCD-SSB based on the CD-SSB and the offset value for the NCD-SSB; and receive the NCD-SSB within the period. Lei discloses a system frame number (SFN) equal to zero and determine a period for reception of the NCD-SSB based on the CD-SSB and the offset value for the NCD-SSB; and receive the NCD-SSB within the period. (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB is no less than the periodicity of the CD-SSB set, which can be chosen from the range of {5, 10, 20, 40, 80, 160} ms. However, in some cases, NCD-SSB is not supported independent of an associated CD-SSB set outside of a RedCap UE context” … “In some aspects, the at least one NCD-SSB may include a plurality of NCD-SSB bursts and the CD-SSB set may include a plurality of CD-SSB bursts having a first CD-SSB burst associated with a reference system frame number (SFN) (e.g., an SFN #0). The NCD-SSB configuration may indicate a time offset between a first symbol of a first NCD-SSB burst transmitted on or after the reference system frame number and a first symbol of the first CD-SSB burst associated with the reference system frame number. In some aspects, the time offset may include a quantity of slots equivalent to a product of a constant time unit and a variable having a value that is equal to a selected integer. The selected integer may include an integer selected from a subset of a specified range of integers including negative values, positive values and zero. For example, the time duration of O slots may be equivalent to 5*k ms, where k is an integer in the range of [−32, 32]”). AAPA and Lei are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA the periodicity disclosed by Lei. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to indicating one or more parameters corresponding to transmission (Lei abstract). See also KSR above.
Regarding claims 2 and 18, AAPA and Lei disclose claims 1 and 17, Lei also discloses offset value is larger than 15 milliseconds (ms) (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “In some aspects, the time offset may include a quantity of slots equivalent to a product of a constant time unit and a variable having a value that is equal to a selected integer. The selected integer may include an integer selected from a subset of a specified range of integers including negative values, positive values and zero. For example, the time duration of O slots may be equivalent to 5*k ms, where k is an integer in the range of [−32, 32]”)
Regarding claims 3 and 11, AAPA and Lei disclose claims 1 and 10, Lei also discloses a cell-defining (CD) SSB with a system frame number (SFN) equal to zero (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “In some aspects, the at least one NCD-SSB may include a plurality of NCD-SSB bursts and the CD-SSB set may include a plurality of CD-SSB bursts having a first CD-SSB burst associated with a reference system frame number (SFN) (e.g., an SFN #0)”).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, AAPA and Nokia disclose claims 1 and 17, Lei also discloses a periodicity of 40 milliseconds (ms) and the offset value is within a range of 5 ms to 35 ms; the reference SSB has a periodicity of 80 milliseconds (ms) and the offset value is within a range of 5 ms to 75 ms; or the reference SSB has a periodicity of 160 milliseconds (ms) and the offset value is within a range of 5 ms to 155 ms. (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB is no less than the periodicity of the CD-SSB set, which can be chosen from the range of {5, 10, 20, 40, 80, 160} ms. However, in some cases, NCD-SSB is not supported independent of an associated CD-SSB set outside of a RedCap UE context” … “In some aspects, the at least one NCD-SSB may include a plurality of NCD-SSB bursts and the CD-SSB set may include a plurality of CD-SSB bursts having a first CD-SSB burst associated with a reference system frame number (SFN) (e.g., an SFN #0). The NCD-SSB configuration may indicate a time offset between a first symbol of a first NCD-SSB burst transmitted on or after the reference system frame number and a first symbol of the first CD-SSB burst associated with the reference system frame number. In some aspects, the time offset may include a quantity of slots equivalent to a product of a constant time unit and a variable having a value that is equal to a selected integer. The selected integer may include an integer selected from a subset of a specified range of integers including negative values, positive values and zero. For example, the time duration of O slots may be equivalent to 5*k ms, where k is an integer in the range of [−32, 32]”)
Regarding claim 5, AAPA and Lei disclose claim 1, AAPA also discloses determine, based on configuration information associated with the reference SSB, a window having an assumed start of the reference SSB and apply the offset value to a first SSB in the window (In legacy approaches, the CD-SSB have a maximum periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms). Further, the NCD-SSB are limited to offsets of 5 ms, 10 ms, or 15 ms from the CD-SSD.) Lei also discloses determine, based on configuration information associated with the reference SSB, a window having an assumed start of the reference SSB; and apply the offset value to a first SSB in the window (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB is no less than the periodicity of the CD-SSB set, which can be chosen from the range of {5, 10, 20, 40, 80, 160} ms. However, in some cases, NCD-SSB is not supported independent of an associated CD-SSB set outside of a RedCap UE context”).
Regarding claim 6, AAPA and Lei disclose claim 5, Lei also discloses determine a start of the window based on explicit signaling of a system frame number or slot value or determine a start of the window based on a cell defining (CD)-SSB with a system frame number or slot value equal to zero (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “In some aspects, the at least one NCD-SSB may include a plurality of NCD-SSB bursts and the CD-SSB set may include a plurality of CD-SSB bursts having a first CD-SSB burst associated with a reference system frame number (SFN) (e.g., an SFN #0).”)
Regarding claim 7, AAPA and Lei disclose claim 5, Lei also discloses determine a first periodicity associated with the reference SSB; determine a second periodicity associated with the NCD-SSB; and determine a length of the window is equal to whichever value of the first periodicity or the second periodicity is larger (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB is no less than the periodicity of the CD-SSB set, which can be chosen from the range of {5, 10, 20, 40, 80, 160} ms. However, in some cases, NCD-SSB is not supported independent of an associated CD-SSB set outside of a RedCap UE context”)
Regarding claim 8, AAPA and Lei disclose claim 1, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art transmit, to a network, an indication that the UE supports configuration of an NCD-SSB offset for CD-SSB configurations so the network knows which offset to use 5, 10, 15, 20, 25 etc (see Lei (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB is no less than the periodicity of the CD-SSB set, which can be chosen from the range of {5, 10, 20, 40, 80, 160} ms. However, in some cases, NCD-SSB is not supported independent of an associated CD-SSB set outside of a RedCap UE context”).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, AAPA and Nokia disclose claims 5 and 17, AAPA also discloses a reduced capability UE (“For example, base stations of the network can transmit synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to user equipments (UEs) of the network for synchronization operations. The base stations transmit different reference signals for different UEs. In particular, the base stations transmit cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) for UEs with full capability and transmit non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) for reduced capability (RedCap) UEs). Lei also discloses a reduced capability UE (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB is no less than the periodicity of the CD-SSB set, which can be chosen from the range of {5, 10, 20, 40, 80, 160} ms. However, in some cases, NCD-SSB is not supported independent of an associated CD-SSB set outside of a RedCap UE context”)
Regarding claim 12, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 10, Lei also discloses a periodicity of the CD-SSB is 40 ms and the offset value is less than or equal to 35 ms; a periodicity of the CD-SSB is 80 ms and the offset value is less than or equal to 75 ms; or a periodicity of the CD-SSB is 160 ms and the offset value is less than or equal to 155 ms (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB is no less than the periodicity of the CD-SSB set, which can be chosen from the range of {5, 10, 20, 40, 80, 160} ms. However, in some cases, NCD-SSB is not supported independent of an associated CD-SSB set outside of a RedCap UE context” … “In some aspects, the at least one NCD-SSB may include a plurality of NCD-SSB bursts and the CD-SSB set may include a plurality of CD-SSB bursts having a first CD-SSB burst associated with a reference system frame number (SFN) (e.g., an SFN #0). The NCD-SSB configuration may indicate a time offset between a first symbol of a first NCD-SSB burst transmitted on or after the reference system frame number and a first symbol of the first CD-SSB burst associated with the reference system frame number. In some aspects, the time offset may include a quantity of slots equivalent to a product of a constant time unit and a variable having a value that is equal to a selected integer. The selected integer may include an integer selected from a subset of a specified range of integers including negative values, positive values and zero. For example, the time duration of O slots may be equivalent to 5*k ms, where k is an integer in the range of [−32, 32]”)
Regarding claim 13, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 12, Lei also discloses the periodicity of the CD-SSB (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB is no less than the periodicity of the CD-SSB set, which can be chosen from the range of {5, 10, 20, 40, 80, 160} ms. However, in some cases, NCD-SSB is not supported independent of an associated CD-SSB set outside of a RedCap UE context”)
Regarding claim 14, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 10, Lei also discloses performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure to connect with a user equipment (UE) and determining that the UE supports configuration of the offset between the CD-SSB and the NCD-SSB, wherein base station transmits the configuration message that indicates the offset value to the UE based on the determination that the UE supports the offset between the CD-SSB and the NCD-SSB (paragraphs [0078]- [0095] “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB is no less than the periodicity of the CD-SSB set, which can be chosen from the range of {5, 10, 20, 40, 80, 160} ms. However, in some cases, NCD-SSB is not supported independent of an associated CD-SSB set outside of a RedCap UE context” … “In some aspects, the at least one NCD-SSB may include a plurality of NCD-SSB bursts and the CD-SSB set may include a plurality of CD-SSB bursts having a first CD-SSB burst associated with a reference system frame number (SFN) (e.g., an SFN #0). The NCD-SSB configuration may indicate a time offset between a first symbol of a first NCD-SSB burst transmitted on or after the reference system frame number and a first symbol of the first CD-SSB burst associated with the reference system frame number. In some aspects, the time offset may include a quantity of slots equivalent to a product of a constant time unit and a variable having a value that is equal to a selected integer. The selected integer may include an integer selected from a subset of a specified range of integers including negative values, positive values and zero. For example, the time duration of O slots may be equivalent to 5*k ms, where k is an integer in the range of [−32, 32]”)
Regarding claim 15, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 14, Lei also discloses receiving UE capability information from a core network that indicates that the UE supports configuration of the offset between the CD-SSB and the NCD-SSB (figures 5-7 paragraphs [0097]- [0108] “As shown in FIG. 6, in some aspects, process 600 may include receiving an NCD-SSB configuration indicating one or more parameters corresponding to transmission, via at least one NCD-SSB burst, of at least one NCD-SSB set associated with at least one cell, the at least one cell comprising at least one of a primary cell or a secondary cell (block 610). For example, the UE (e.g., using communication manager 808 and/or reception component 802, depicted in FIG. 8) may receive an NCD-SSB configuration indicating one or more parameters corresponding to transmission, via at least one NCD-SSB burst, of at least one NCD-SSB set associated with at least one cell, the at least one cell comprising at least one of a primary cell or a secondary cell, as described above.”)
Regarding claim 16, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 10, AAPA also discloses that the base station transmits the configuration message to a user equipment (UE), and wherein the UE is a reduced capability UE (“For example, base stations of the network can transmit synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to user equipments (UEs) of the network for synchronization operations. The base stations transmit different reference signals for different UEs. In particular, the base stations transmit cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) for UEs with full capability and transmit non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) for reduced capability (RedCap) UEs). Lei also discloses that the base station transmits the configuration message to a user equipment (UE), and wherein the UE is a reduced capability UE (figures 5-7 paragraphs [0109]-[0121] “As further shown in FIG. 7, in some aspects, process 700 may include transmitting, to a UE, the at least one NCD-SSB based at least in part on the NCD-SSB configuration (block 720). For example, the network node (e.g., using communication manager 908 and/or transmission component 904, depicted in FIG. 9) may transmit, to a UE, the at least one NCD-SSB based at least in part on the NCD-SSB configuration, as described above”)
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA, present Application page 1 paragraph [0002]-[0003]) in view of Nokia ("On timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB for RedCap", 3GPP DRAFT; R4-2209704, 25 April 2022 (2022-04-25),
Regarding claim 1, AAPA discloses receive, from a base station, a configuration message that provides an offset value to define an offset between a reference synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) and a non-cell defining (NCD)-SSB (“The base stations transmit different reference signals for different UEs. In particular, the base stations transmit cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) for UEs with full capability and transmit non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) for reduced capability (RedCap) UEs. In legacy approaches, the CD-SSB have a maximum periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms). Further, the NCD-SSB are limited to offsets of 5 ms, 10 ms, or 15 ms from the CD-SSD.”). AAPA doesn’t specifically disclose
determine a period in which the NCD-SSB is to be transmitted based on the offset value; and receive the NCD-SSB within the period. Nokia discloses determine a period in which the NCD-SSB is to be transmitted based on the offset value; and receive the NCD-SSB within the period (section 2.2 configuration of periodicity “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB transmission is signaled together with the timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB as part of the NCD-SSB measurement object for serving cell and configured neighbors’ cells”). AAPA and Nokia are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA the periodicity disclosed by Nokia. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to CD-SSB and NCD-SSB(s) may be transmitted at different times by configuring an offset. RAN2 would like to ask RAN4 and RAN1 whether such offset is feasible/needed (Nokia section 1, see also AAPA). See also KSR above.
Regarding claim 10, AAPA discloses determining an offset value to define an offset between a cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) and a non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) (“The base stations transmit different reference signals for different UEs. In particular, the base stations transmit cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) for UEs with full capability and transmit non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) for reduced capability (RedCap) UEs. In legacy approaches, the CD-SSB have a maximum periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms). Further, the NCD-SSB are limited to offsets of 5 ms, 10 ms, or 15 ms from the CD-SSD.”). AAPA doesn’t specifically disclose the offset value larger than 15 milliseconds (ms); transmitting a configuration message that indicates the offset value; and transmitting the NCD-SSB within a period defined by the offset value. Nokia discloses the offset value larger than 15 milliseconds (ms) transmitting a configuration message that indicates the offset value; and transmitting the NCD-SSB within a period defined by the offset value (section 2.2 configuration of periodicity “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB transmission is signaled together with the timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB as part of the NCD-SSB measurement object for serving cell and configured neighbors’ cells”…”The timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB should be configurable in number of half frames to ensure the QCL’ed condition.” So it is 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc. see also RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30) introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times. RAN2 agreed to specify the offset with the following value range {sf5, sf10, sf15, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1})”). AAPA and Nokia are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA the periodicity disclosed by Nokia. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to CD-SSB and NCD-SSB(s) may be transmitted at different times by configuring an offset (Nokia section 1, see also AAPA). See also KSR. In the KSR case above.
Regarding claim 2, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 1, Nokia also discloses offset value is larger than 15 milliseconds (ms) (Nokia discloses “The timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB should be configurable in number of half frames to ensure the QCL’ed condition.” So it is 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc. see also AAPA 5, 10, 15, see also RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30) introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times. RAN2 agreed to specify the offset with the following value range {sf5, sf10, sf15, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1})
Regarding claim 4, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 1, AAPA also discloses a periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms) the offset value is within a range of 5 ms to 35 ms; 5 ms to 75 ms; or 5 ms to 155 ms (In legacy approaches, the CD-SSB have a maximum periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms). Further, the NCD-SSB are limited to offsets of 5 ms, 10 ms, or 15 ms from the CD-SSD.) Nokia also discloses offset value is larger than 15 milliseconds (ms) (Nokia discloses “The timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB should be configurable in number of half frames to ensure the QCL’ed condition.” So it is 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc. see also AAPA 5, 10, 15, see also RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30) introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times. RAN2 agreed to specify the offset with the following value range {sf5, sf10, sf15, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1}). Because Nokia discloses offset configurable a number of half frames 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 with offset over 15, 20, 25 ms that force also to have a configurable number of periodicity 20, 40, 60, 80 ms to avoid collision.
Regarding claim 5, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 1, AAPA also discloses determine, based on configuration information associated with the reference SSB, a window having an assumed start of the reference SSB and apply the offset value to a first SSB in the window (In legacy approaches, the CD-SSB have a maximum periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms). Further, the NCD-SSB are limited to offsets of 5 ms, 10 ms, or 15 ms from the CD-SSD.) Nokia also discloses determine, based on configuration information associated with the reference SSB, a window having an assumed start of the reference SSB; and apply the offset value to a first SSB in the window (Nokia discloses “The timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB should be configurable in number of half frames to ensure the QCL’ed condition.” So it is 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc. see also AAPA 5, 10, 15, see also RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30) introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times. RAN2 agreed to specify the offset with the following value range {sf5, sf10, sf15, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1}).
Regarding claim 7, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 5, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art determine a first periodicity associated with the reference SSB; determine a second periodicity associated with the NCD-SSB; and determine a length of the window is equal to whichever value of the first periodicity or the second periodicity is larger (see Nokia discloses “The timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB should be configurable in number of half frames to ensure the QCL’ed condition.” So it is 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc. see also AAPA 5, 10, 15, see also RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30) introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times. RAN2 agreed to specify the offset with the following value range {sf5, sf10, sf15, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1}). Because Nokia discloses offset configurable a number of half frames 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 with offset over 15, 20, 25 ms that force also to have a configurable number of periodicity 20, 40, 60, 80 ms it would be necessary obvious to determine a first periodicity associated with the reference SSB; determine a second periodicity associated with the NCD-SSB; and determine a length of the window is equal to whichever value of the first periodicity or the second periodicity is larger, to avoid collision.
Regarding claim 8, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 1, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art transmit, to a network, an indication that the UE supports configuration of an NCD-SSB offset for CD-SSB configurations so the network knows which offset to use 5, 10, 15, 20, 25 etc (see Nokia discloses “The timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB should be configurable in number of half frames to ensure the QCL’ed condition.” So it is 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc. see also AAPA 5, 10, 15, see also RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30) introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times. RAN2 agreed to specify the offset with the following value range {sf5, sf10, sf15, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1}).
Regarding claim 9, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 5, AAPA also discloses a reduced capability UE (“For example, base stations of the network can transmit synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to user equipments (UEs) of the network for synchronization operations. The base stations transmit different reference signals for different UEs. In particular, the base stations transmit cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) for UEs with full capability and transmit non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) for reduced capability (RedCap) UEs)
Regarding claim 12, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 10, AAPA also discloses a periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms) the offset value less that 35 ms; 75 ms; or 155 ms (In legacy approaches, the CD-SSB have a maximum periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms). Further, the NCD-SSB are limited to offsets of 5 ms, 10 ms, or 15 ms from the CD-SSD.) Nokia also discloses offset value is larger than 15 milliseconds (ms) (Nokia discloses “The timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB should be configurable in number of half frames to ensure the QCL’ed condition.” So it is 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc. see also AAPA 5, 10, 15, see also RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30) introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times. RAN2 agreed to specify the offset with the following value range {sf5, sf10, sf15, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1}). Because Nokia discloses offset configurable a number of half frames 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 with offset over 15, 20, 25 ms that force also to have a configurable number of periodicity 20, 40, 60, 80 ms to avoid collision.
Regarding claim 13, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 12, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art indicates the periodicity of the CD-SSB (see Nokia discloses “The timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB should be configurable in number of half frames to ensure the QCL’ed condition.” So it is 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc. see also AAPA 5, 10, 15, see also RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30) introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times. RAN2 agreed to specify the offset with the following value range {sf5, sf10, sf15, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1}). Because Nokia discloses offset configurable a number of half frames 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 with offset over 15, 20, 25 ms that force also to have a configurable number of periodicity 20, 40, 60, 80 ms it would be necessary obvious to determine a first periodicity associated with the reference SSB; determine a second periodicity associated with the NCD-SSB; and determine a length of the window is equal to whichever value of the first periodicity or the second periodicity is larger, to avoid collision.
Regarding claim 14, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 10, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure to connect with a user equipment (UE) and determining that the UE supports configuration of the offset between the CD-SSB and the NCD-SSB, base station transmits the configuration message that indicates the offset value to the UE based on the determination that the UE supports the offset between the CD-SSB and the NCD-SSB (see Nokia discloses “The timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB should be configurable in number of half frames to ensure the QCL’ed condition.” So it is 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc. see also AAPA 5, 10, 15, see also RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30) introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times. RAN2 agreed to specify the offset with the following value range {sf5, sf10, sf15, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1}). Because Nokia discloses offset configurable a number of half frames 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 with offset over 15, 20, 25 ms that force also to have a configurable number of periodicity 20, 40, 60, 80 ms it would be necessary obvious to determine a first periodicity associated with the reference SSB; determine a second periodicity associated with the NCD-SSB; and determine a length of the window is equal to whichever value of the first periodicity or the second periodicity is larger, to avoid collision.
Regarding claim 15, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 14, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art receiving UE capability information from a core network that indicates that the UE supports configuration of the offset between the CD-SSB and the NCD-SSB (see Nokia discloses “The timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB should be configurable in number of half frames to ensure the QCL’ed condition.” So it is 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc. see also AAPA 5, 10, 15, see also RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30) introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times. RAN2 agreed to specify the offset with the following value range {sf5, sf10, sf15, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1}). Because Nokia discloses offset configurable a number of half frames 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 with offset over 15, 20, 25 ms that force also to have a configurable number of periodicity 20, 40, 60, 80 ms it would be necessary obvious to determine a first periodicity associated with the reference SSB; determine a second periodicity associated with the NCD-SSB; and determine a length of the window is equal to whichever value of the first periodicity or the second periodicity is larger, to avoid collision.
Regarding claim 16, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 10, AAPA also discloses that the base station transmits the configuration message to a user equipment (UE), and wherein the UE is a reduced capability UE (“For example, base stations of the network can transmit synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to user equipments (UEs) of the network for synchronization operations. The base stations transmit different reference signals for different UEs. In particular, the base stations transmit cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) for UEs with full capability and transmit non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) for reduced capability (RedCap) UEs)
Claims 3, 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA and Nokia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30)).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, AAPA and Nokia disclose claims 1 and 10, AAPA and Nokia don’t specifically disclose a cell-defining (CD) SSB with a system frame number (SFN) equal to zero. RAN2 discloses a cell-defining (CD) SSB with a system frame number (SFN) equal to zero (The time offset between CD-SSB of the serving cell and this Non-Cell Defining SSB. Value sf5 means the first burst of Non-Cell Defining SSB is transmitted 5ms later than the first burst of CD-SSB transmitted after the first symbol of SFN=0 of the serving cell). AAPA, Nokia and RAN2 are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA and Nokia the SFN=0 disclosed by RAN2. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to camply with others RAN1 and RAN4 groups (RAN2).
Regarding claim 6, AAPA and Nokia disclose claim 5, AAPA and Nokia don’t specifically disclose determine a start of the window based on explicit signaling of a system frame number or slot value; or determine a start of the window based on a cell defining (CD)-SSB with a system frame number or slot value equal to zero. RAN2 discloses determine a start of the window based on explicit signaling of a system frame number or slot value; or determine a start of the window based on a cell defining (CD)-SSB with a system frame number or slot value equal to zero (The time offset between CD-SSB of the serving cell and this Non-Cell Defining SSB. Value sf5 means the first burst of Non-Cell Defining SSB is transmitted 5ms later than the first burst of CD-SSB transmitted after the first symbol of SFN=0 of the serving cell). AAPA, Nokia and RAN2 are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA and Nokia the SFN=0 disclosed by RAN2. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to camply with others RAN1 and RAN4 groups (RAN2).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA, present Application page 1 paragraph [0002]-[0003]) in view of Nokia ("On timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB for RedCap", 3GPP DRAFT; R4-2209704, 25 April 2022 (2022-04-25) and further in view of RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30)).
Regarding claim 17, AAPA discloses memory to store an offset value for a non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors to (“For example, base stations of the network can transmit synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to user equipments (UEs) of the network for synchronization operations” UE will include necessary inherently the memory and the processors) receive a configuration message that provides the offset value for the NCD-SSB; receive a cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) (“The base stations transmit different reference signals for different UEs. In particular, the base stations transmit cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) for UEs with full capability and transmit non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) for reduced capability (RedCap) UEs. In legacy approaches, the CD-SSB have a maximum periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms). Further, the NCD-SSB are limited to offsets of 5 ms, 10 ms, or 15 ms from the CD-SSD.”). AAPA doesn’t specifically disclose a system frame number (SFN) equal to zero and determine a period for reception of the NCD-SSB based on the CD-SSB and the offset value for the NCD-SSB; and receive the NCD-SSB within the period. Nokia discloses determine a period for reception of the NCD-SSB based on the CD-SSB and the offset value for the NCD-SSB; and receive the NCD-SSB within the period (section 2.2 configuration of periodicity “The periodicity of the NCD-SSB transmission is signaled together with the timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB as part of the NCD-SSB measurement object for serving cell and configured neighbors’ cells”). AAPA and Nokia are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA the periodicity disclosed by Nokia. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to CD-SSB and NCD-SSB(s) may be transmitted at different times by configuring an offset. RAN2 would like to ask RAN4 and RAN1 whether such offset is feasible/needed (Nokia section 1, see also AAPA). RAN2 discloses a system frame number (SFN) equal to zero (The time offset between CD-SSB of the serving cell and this Non-Cell Defining SSB. Value sf5 means the first burst of Non-Cell Defining SSB is transmitted 5ms later than the first burst of CD-SSB transmitted after the first symbol of SFN=0 of the serving cell). AAPA, Nokia and RAN2 are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by AAPA and Nokia the SFN=0 disclosed by RAN2. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to camply with others RAN1 and RAN4 groups (RAN2). See also KSR above.
Regarding claim 18, AAPA, Nokia and PAN2 disclose claim 17, Nokia also discloses offset value is larger than 15 milliseconds (ms) (Nokia discloses “The timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB should be configurable in number of half frames to ensure the QCL’ed condition.” So it is 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc. see also AAPA 5, 10, 15, see also RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30) introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times. RAN2 agreed to specify the offset with the following value range {sf5, sf10, sf15, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1})
Regarding claim 19, AAPA, Nokia and RAN2 disclose claim 17, AAPA also discloses a periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms) the offset value is within a range of 5 ms to 35 ms; 5 ms to 75 ms; or 5 ms to 155 ms (In legacy approaches, the CD-SSB have a maximum periodicity of 20 milliseconds (ms). Further, the NCD-SSB are limited to offsets of 5 ms, 10 ms, or 15 ms from the CD-SSD.) Nokia also discloses offset value is larger than 15 milliseconds (ms) (Nokia discloses “The timing offset between CD-SSB and NCD-SSB should be configurable in number of half frames to ensure the QCL’ed condition.” So it is 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 etc. see also AAPA 5, 10, 15, see also RAN2 ("Reply LS on introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times") 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2205734, 30 June 2022 (2022-06-30) introduction of an offset to transmit CD-SSB and NCD-SSB at different times. RAN2 agreed to specify the offset with the following value range {sf5, sf10, sf15, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1}). Because Nokia discloses offset configurable a number of half frames 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 with offset over 15, 20, 25 ms that force also to have a configurable number of periodicity 20, 40, 60, 80 ms to avoid collision.
Regarding claim 20, AAPA, Nokia and RAN2 disclose claim 17, AAPA also discloses that the base station transmits the configuration message to a user equipment (UE), and wherein the UE is a reduced capability UE (“For example, base stations of the network can transmit synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to user equipments (UEs) of the network for synchronization operations. The base stations transmit different reference signals for different UEs. In particular, the base stations transmit cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) for UEs with full capability and transmit non-cell defining synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) for reduced capability (RedCap) UEs)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lei (US 20230276484 A1) discloses measurements and operations based on different types of synchronization signal blocks.
Xiong (US 20230224880 A1) discloses techniques for downlink and uplink resource mapping for full duplex and non-cell defining synchronization signal block.
Zhang (US 20230140232 A1) discloses method of transmitting/receiving a signal set and apparatus thereof.
/JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634