DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group (I) (claims 1-16 and 20) claims in the reply filed on 04/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 includes “Lifting means to raise or lower one or more storage disk” (see [0034]-[0035]) “holding means” ([0018][0020]; “driving means” which are interpreted under ([0032]-[0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noguchi et al. (US 9,263,079 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Noguchi et al. teach a lubricant station for applying lubricant to one or more storage disk platters (see abstract; Fig. 1 includes tank 1 with lubricant L for applying one or more lubricant to one or more storage disks 100) comprising:
a tub (1) for holding a process fluid comprising lubricant (Fig. 1, item L; see col 5 lines 5 to col 6 lines 65)); a caddy disposed in the tub (Fig 2 item 2), the caddy configured to receive the one or more storage disk platters (Fig 2 item 2 includes plurality of storage disk platters 100), the caddy comprising:
a mandrel configured to raise and lower the one or more storage disk platters into the tub (Fig 1 item 8-support pole that is raised or lowered with the one or more storage disk plates); one or more rotatable shafts configured to hold the one or more storage disk platters (Fig 1 item 10-lead screw that indirectly holds the one or more storage disk platter and rotates); and a drive mechanism for rotating the one or more rotatable shafts (Fig 1 item 11-driving motor for rotating the shaft – 10); and control circuitry configured to: lower, using the mandrel, the one or more storage disk platters onto the one or more rotatable shafts of the caddy; rotate, using the drive mechanism, the one or more rotatable shafts; and remove, using the mandrel, the one or more storage disk platters from the tub (the motor inherently includes circuity/programmed to perform the rotation, remove the mandrel, etc, see col 5 lines 45 to col 6 lines 65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claim(s) 2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi et al. (US 9,263,079 B2) in view of Ryabova (US 2012/0301671 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 5-6, Noguchi et al. teach all the limitations to the claim invention as discussed above, however, fail to teach wherein the one or more storage disk platters are in a vertical orientation when being raised and lowered into the tub; wherein the one or more rotatable shafts rotate a first platter of the one or more storage disk platters about 180 degrees while the first platter is submerged in the process fluid; wherein the one or more rotatable shafts rotate a first platter of the one or more storage disk platters about 180 + 360*n degrees (where n is a whole number) while the first platter is submerged in the process fluid as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to process and system for coating an object, Ryabova teaches wherein the one or more storage disk platters are in a vertical orientation when being raised and lowered into the tub (Fig 12-13 disk vertically orientable; [0119]-[0125]); wherein the one or more rotatable shafts rotate a first platter of the one or more storage disk platters about 180 degrees while the first platter is submerged in the process fluid (see [0119]-[0125] which discloses positioning the disk on spindle which rotates in a tank); wherein the one or more rotatable shafts rotate a first platter of the one or more storage disk platters about 180 + 360*n degrees (where n is a whole number) while the first platter is submerged in the process fluid as claimed (see Fig 12-13; [0120] discloses FIG. 13 is an enlargement of FIG. 12. Attached to the distal end of member 18 is spindle drive assembly 20 which comprises spin motor 22 which is attached to spindle 24. The spindle is attached to first gimbal 26. When spin motor 22 is activated, it rotates spindle 24, first gimbal 26 and object 28 around the vertical axis.).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the applicant’s invention was effectively filed to modify the system of lubricating disk as taught by Noguchi et al. with vertical stacking, and rotating, as taught by Ryabova, for the benefit of efficiently coating a disk, thereby improving its surface properties/strength.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art Noguchi et al. (US 9,263,079 B2), fails to teach
wherein the one or more storage disk platters are in a vertical orientation when being raised and lowered into the tub; wherein: a first platter of the one or more storage disk platters comprises a first edge and a second edge opposite the first edge; the first edge is positioned at a lowest point of the first platter in the vertical orientation; the second edge is positioned at a top point of the first platter in the vertical orientation; and the positions of the first edge and the second edge are reversed after the first platter is lowered into the tub, but before the first platter is removed from the tub; wherein: a first platter of the one or more storage disk platters comprises a first edge and a second edge opposite the first edge; the first edge enters the process fluid first, the first edge is rotated to a different position, and the first edge leaves the process fluid first; and the second edge touches the process fluid last, the second edge is rotated to a previous position of the first edge, and the second edge leaves the process fluid last; wherein the one or more rotatable shafts comprise: a first rotatable shaft with a first plurality of grooves configured to fit edges of one or more storage disk platters; and a second rotatable shaft with a second plurality of grooves configured to fit the edges of one or more storage disk platters, the second rotatable shaft spaced a distance to a side of the first rotatable shaft, the distance less than a width of a platter of the one or more storage disk platters.
Claims 11-16 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: regarding independent claim 11, the closest prior art Noguchi et al. (US 6,263,079 B2) teach a lubricant station for applying lubricant to one or more storage disk platters (see abstract; Fig. 1 includes tank 1 with lubricant L for applying one or more lubricant to one or more storage disks 100) comprising:
a tub (1) for holding a process fluid comprising lubricant (Fig. 1, item L; see col 5 lines 5 to col 6 lines 65)); a caddy disposed in the tub (Fig 2 item 2), the caddy configured to receive the one or more storage disk platters (Fig 2 item 2 includes plurality of storage disk platters 100), the caddy comprising:
a mandrel configured to raise and lower the one or more storage disk platters into the tub (Fig 1 item 8-support pole that is raised or lowered with the one or more storage disk plates); one or more rotatable shafts configured to hold the one or more storage disk platters (Fig 1 item 10-lead screw that indirectly holds the one or more storage disk platter and rotates); and a drive mechanism for rotating the one or more rotatable shafts (Fig 1 item 11-driving motor for rotating the shaft – 10); and control circuitry configured to: lower, using the mandrel, the one or more storage disk platters onto the one or more rotatable shafts of the caddy; rotate, using the drive mechanism, the one or more rotatable shafts; and remove, using the mandrel, the one or more storage disk platters from the tub (the motor inherently includes circuity/programmed to perform the rotation, remove the mandrel, etc, see col 5 lines 45 to col 6 lines 65).
However, Noguchi et al. fail to teach rotate the one or more storage disk platters on the one or more rotatable shafts; and remove, using the mandrel, the one or more storage disk platters from the one or more rotatable shafts; rotate the one or more storage disk platters on the holding means; and remove using the lifting means, the one or more storage disk platters from the process fluid.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2015/0125609 A1 -pertains to spray coating vertically stacked parts, a part hanger is rotatable about vertical axis while in the wash space and the spray space.
NAHIDA SULTANA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/NAHIDA SULTANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743