DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment/Request for Reconsideration, received on 08/31/2026. No claims have been amended or cancelled. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/31/2026, see pgs. 13-16, with respect to the rejection of independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 (Di Mambro in view of Tuo), have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative asserts, “The above-mentioned rejections are traversed for the following reasons.
With reference to the figures as an example, claim 1 sets forth a method for authenticating users comprising the steps of: capturing (S1), by an electronic device, audio data of a pass phrase spoken by a user; obtaining (S1) record audio data of the pass phrase spoken by the user; creating (S2) a first activation sequence from the captured audio data and a second activation sequence from the record audio data, the first and second activation sequences having a different number of vectors; aligning the first activation sequence and the second activation sequence to have a same number of vectors; stacking the aligned first and second activation sequences to create (S3) a tensor; calculating (S4) a first weighted activation sequence and a second weighted activation sequence using the tensor; calculating (S5) an embedding for the first weighted activation sequence and an embedding for the second weighted activation sequence; calculating (S6) a similarity score between the calculated embeddings; and in response to determining (S7) the similarity score satisfies a threshold score, simultaneously successfully authenticating (S8) the user and the pass phrase spoken by the user.
In contrast to the invention recited in claim 1, DiMambro does not disclose creating a first activation sequence from the captured audio data and a second activation sequence from the record audio data, the first and second activation sequences having a different number of vectors.
Instead, DiMambro describes that in practice, a user can present a spoken utterance corresponding to a pass phrase that was used during voice enrollment; that is when the user registered their biometric voice print with a voice authorization server. For example, during enrollment, a user pronounces the same pass phrase three times. A feature matrix is calculated for each recording of the pass phrase. The feature matrix is a matrix of numeric values that represent features of the speaker's voice. In this case, three feature matrices are used to create the biometric voice print (see para. [0050]). However, DiMambro does not describe the number of numeric values in the enrollment or verification matrices or whether the number of vectors in each matrix is the same or different.
DiMambro also describes that with reference to the enumerated voice print listed in Table 1, various features including averages and bounds are used in the voice print. The features of claim 1 are used in conjunction with the three matrices to define the voice print (see para. [0050]).
Moreover, DiMambro describes that during verification, the user speaks the same spoken utterance corresponding to the pass phrase, and a biometric voice print is generated. The biometric voice print is compared against previously stored voice prints for identifying a match.
During the verification process, a feature matrix is also calculated from the spoken phrase using the voice authentication algorithm 800 as used in enrollment. This feature matrix is compared against one or more reference matrices stored in a voiceprint database (see para. [0051]). Table 1 defines ‘reference matrix’ as one of the feature matrices used for voiceprint calculation. Thus, for the example described in DiMambro, the verification feature matrix is compared against each of the three enrollment/reference matrices.
Furthermore, there is no disclosure or suggestion in DiMambro to create
enrolment/reference and verification feature matrices that have a different number of numeric values.
In other words, DiMambro does not disclose creating a first activation sequence from the captured audio data and a second activation sequence from the record audio data, the first and second activation sequences having a different number of vectors, as recited in claim 1.
On page 4 of the Office Action, the Examiner has taken the position that DiMambro teaches this feature in paragraph [0050]. Specifically, the Examiner asserted that ‘Considering there is one verification voiceprint (represented by one feature matrix) being compared to enrollment voice prints (represented by at least three feature matrices), this indicates at least a 3:1 vector ratio between enrollment and verification; therefore, respectfully asserts that DiMambro does disclose creation of feature matrices during enrolment and verification that have a different number of vectors.’
It appears that the Examiner is proposing to combine the 3 enrollment matrices of DiMambro into a single matrix. It also appears that the Examiner is asserting that the thus formed single matrix has more feature vectors than the verification feature matrix. However, DiMambro does not describe combining the 3 enrollment matrices into a single matrix and comparing the thus formed single matrix against the verification matrix. Rather, DiMambro describes comparing the verification feature matrix against the one or more reference matrices stored in a voiceprint database (See para. [0051]).
The Examiner's proposed modification of combining the 3 enrollment matrices into a single matrix renders DiMambro unsatisfactory for its intended purpose because the verification feature matrix described therein would not be compared against each of the 3 enrollment/reference feature matrices.
Moreover, it appears that the Examiner has relied upon the Applicants' disclosure (see paragraphs [0080] to [0090]) to teach that the first and second activation sequences have a different number of vectors, as recited in claim 1. It has been held that ‘any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper.’ In re McLaughlin 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971).
By relying on the Applicants' specification for disclosing the first and second activation sequences having a different number of vectors, the Examiner has included knowledge gleaned only from Applicants' disclosure. Accordingly, the Applicants respectfully submit that the Examiner's assertions are the result of impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Thus, it is clear that DiMambro fails to disclose or suggest the above-discussed distinctions for the method recited in claim 1.
The Applicants further respectfully note that because DiMambro fails to disclose the above-discussed distinctions, DiMambro also fails to provide advantages of claim 1, such as simultaneously successfully authenticating the identity of a user and authenticating a secret pass phrase spoken by the user during an authentication transaction. Thus, the time and costs of generating accurate and trustworthy authentication transaction results based on voice biometric data are facilitated to be reduced and the accuracy of the results is facilitated to be enhanced (See paragraph [0104] of the present specification).
Regarding the combination of DiMambro and Tuo, Tou is relied upon in the rejection as teaching ‘stacking the aligned first and second activation sequences to create a tensor; calculating a first weighted activation sequence and a second weighted activation sequence using the tensor; calculating an embedding for the first weighted activation sequence and an embedding for the second weighted activation sequence; calculating a similarity score between the calculated embeddings; and in response to determining the similarity score satisfies a threshold score, simultaneously successfully authenticating the user and the pass phrase spoken by the user.’ However, it is clear that Tuo also fails to disclose or suggest the above-discussed distinctions of the method recited in claim 1.”
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that, “DiMambro does not disclose creating a first activation sequence from the captured audio data and a second activation sequence from the record audio data, the first and second activation sequences having a different number of vectors, as recited in claim 1” (remarks, pg. 15).
Preliminarily, the examiner would like to note that “numeric values” are not claimed anywhere. The only comparison claimed with respect to activation sequences is the number of vectors that each sequence contains. The length and/or amount of data/features/values in these vectors is irrelevant to the operations as currently claimed. The examiner will be focusing their arguments around the number of vectors of the sequences.
With regard to enrollment, [0050] discloses “In this case, three feature matrices are used to create the biometric voice print”. Further still, “…the biometric voice print includes the three feature matrices (associated with the three repetitions of the phrase)” ([0066]); therefore, Applicant’s statement “Thus, for the example described in DiMambro, the verification feature matrix is compared against each of the three enrollment/reference matrices” (remarks, pg. 15), when the three matrices are stored together in one voiceprint as seen in [0066], appears to admit that Di Mambro discloses the verification and enrollment matrices are different sizes in the context of the voiceprint within which they are contained. Biometric voiceprints track to activation sequences as currently claimed. The feature matrices for each time the pass phase is spoken are contained within activation sequences; therefore, it is reasonable to assert the matrices to be a part of the activation sequences, wherein the overall structure of the activation sequence will be considered to be the biometric voiceprint for further analysis.
Considering that “during enrollment, a user pronounces the same pass phrase three times”, and “A feature matrix is calculated for each recording of the pass phrase” ([0050]), this indicates a biometric voiceprint, i.e. activation sequence, for record/enrollment having at least three matrices (in view of [0066]). Further, “The features of Table 1 are used in conjunction with the three matrices to define the voice print” ([0050]). This explicitly discloses three matrices (comprised of vectors) which form an activation sequence in view of the previously disclosed portion of [0066] “the biometric voice print includes the three feature matrices (associated with the three repetitions of the phrase)”.
Now, considering the verification stage (defined in [0051]), “the user speaks the same spoken utterance corresponding to the pass phrase, and a biometric voice print is generated”. Nowhere does this disclose, suggest, or even imply saying the pass phrase three times to result in the verification biometric voiceprint. Further, verification is described to use “a feature matrix (singularity emphasized)…calculated from the spoken phrase using the voice authentication algorithm 800 as used in enrollment…compared against one or more reference matrices store in a voiceprint database… A logarithmic distance can be calculated for each feature matrix of a biometric voice print” ([0051]). An enrollment voiceprint in a database will be comprised of the three matrices for each time the passphrase was spoke as previously disclosed. The verification pass phase is only spoken once, resulting in one matrix which represents a verification voiceprint compared to the three matrices which represent the enrollment voiceprint. There would be no need to calculate a distance “for each feature matrix” if there were only two matrices (one each for enrollment and verification) being compared.
Comparing the one feature matrix (corresponding to the one time the verification pass phrase is spoken) to one or more reference matrices, all contained within the same voiceprint, indicates an enrollment activation sequence (biometric voiceprint) which has more matrices (by at least a 3:1 ratio), and, therefore, vectors, than a verification activation sequence (biometric voiceprint). The examiner is not attempting to combine the three enrollment matrices into one enrollment matrix. The biometric voiceprint is a complex data structure comprised of a plurality of matrices and/or vectors. The voiceprint contains each matrix for each time the pass phrase is spoken; therefore, the enrollment voiceprint will necessarily contain more matrices (and vectors) than a verification voiceprint because of the amount of times the pass phrase is spoken in each step of the process.
Further, with regard to the combination of matrices rendering DiMambro unsatisfactory, Applicant notes “DiMambro describes comparing the verification feature matrix against the one or more reference matrices stored in a voiceprint database (See para. [0051])”. It is unclear to the examiner how the combination of enrollment matrices into a single matrix renders Di Mambro unsatisfactory for its intended purpose when Applicant has explicitly cited a 1-to-1 matrix comparison disclosed in Di Mambro, “one or more”. Further, the examiner is not attempting to combine the feature matrices, though these operations are supported in Table 1, see average vectors cited below.
With regard to Applicant’s assertions against impermissible hindsight reasoning, the examiner respectfully asserts that combining feature matrices into other vectors and/or matrices is explicitly taught by portions of Di Mambro, Table 1. Specifically, [0049] of Di Mambro discloses “The biometric voiceprint can include the features shown in Table 1.”, wherein the features of Table 1 include “1. A reference matrix. One of the feature matrixes used for voiceprint calculation… 4. Two mean average vectors that are calculated from three feature matrixes. 5. A mean vector calculated by adding and averaging matrix rows. 6. A mean feature variation vector. 7. A mean feature difference vector”.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant's arguments filed 08/31/2026, see pg. 17, with respect to the rejection of claims 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 (Di Mambro in have of Tuo) been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant representative asserts, “Claim 16 is allowable on its own merits. Claim 16 recites that the aligning step comprises creating a first activation sub-sequence from the first activation sequence and a second activation sub-sequence from the second activation sequence, the first and second activation sub- sequences having a same number of vectors. However, it is clear that none of the references cited by the Examiner disclose or suggest the above-discussed distinctions recited in the method of claim 16.
Claims 18 and 20 recite subject matter similar to claim 16 so are also allowable for the same reasons set forth above for claim 16.
Claim 17 is allowable on its own merits. Claim 17 recites said stacking step comprising stacking the aligned first and second activation sub-sequences to create the tensor. However, it is clear that none of the references cited by the Examiner disclose or suggest the above-discussed distinctions recited in the method of claim 17.
Claim 19 recites subject matter similar to claim 17 so is also allowable for the same reasons set forth above for claim 17.”
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/31/2026, see pgs. 17-18, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 6 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 (Di Mambro in view of Tuo) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In view of the above rationale explaining how the cited art maintains the rejections of the claims as currently amended, the examiner respectfully asserts that this rationale is extended to the device of claim 6 and the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 11 as the same claim elements are argued against for all independent claims; therefore, the rationale for maintaining the rejections is the same for all independent claims. See above rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11-13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Mambro et al. (US-20130018657-A1), hereinafter Di Mambro, in view of Tuo et al. (US-20220270611-A1), hereinafter Tuo.
Regarding claim 1, Di Mambro discloses: a method for authentication of users (Abstract, A method (700) and system (900) for authenticating a user), comprising the steps of:
capturing, by an electronic device ([0023] one or more mobile devices 102), audio data of a pass phrase spoken by a user ([0029] When the user speaks the pass phrase into the mobile device 102 [Indicating capture by the mobile device]);
obtaining record audio data of the pass phrase spoken by the user ([0050] a user can present a spoken utterance corresponding to a pass phrase that was used during voice enrollment… [0051] During verification, the user speaks the same spoken utterance corresponding to the pass phrase, and a biometric voice print is generated [Comparisons of voiceprints indicates a required retrieval/obtaining of the enrollment, i.e. record, voiceprint for comparison]); and,
creating a first activation sequence from the captured audio data ([0051] During the verification process, a feature matrix is also calculated from the spoken phrase, [0053] normalize the feature matrix over the one or more vocalized frames [Wherein a feature matrix represents features of the speaker’s voice, see [0050], in view of [0079] of the instant app which defines activation sequences as processed feature matrices indicating normalization is a processing step to feature matrices resulting in activation sequences. Further, the figures representing activation sequences in the instant app (Figs. 6, 7) have a y-axis of normalized values indicating this is the same processing as that performed in Di Mambro]) and a second activation sequence from the record audio data ([0050] during enrollment, a user pronounces the same pass phrase three times. A feature matrix is calculated for each recording of the pass phrase [In view of the feature matrix normalization previously disclosed of Di Mambro, indicating this same normalization could be applied to the enrollment feature matrix of Di Mambro without a change in functionality. Further, in view of the biometric voiceprint comparison ([0042]) of Di Mambro, indicating both matrices need to be normalized for an appropriate comparison]), the first and second activation sequences having a different number of vectors ([0050] three feature matrices are used to create the biometric voice print, [0053] calculate a feature matrix from the one or more feature vectors, [Generating a feature matrix, i.e. activation sequence, comprised of feature vectors indicates the activation sequence to be including vectors. Further, considering the previously cited three enrollment feature matrices, wherein each of the three enrollment matrices are used to create the biometric voiceprint to be compared to the verification voiceprint, indicates at least a 3:1 ratio of vectors from enrollment to verification represented through each time the pass phrase is spoken]); and,
aligning the first activation sequence and the second activation sequence to have a same number of vectors ([0051] The biometric voice print is compared against previously stored voice prints for identifying a match…using the voice authentication algorithm 800 as used in enrollment. This feature matrix is compared against one or more reference matrices store in a voiceprint database, [Comparing matrices together, wherein multiple feature matrices are gathered in enrollment, indicates one enrollment matrix being compared to one verification matrix at a time, i.e. an alignment of 1:1 in terms of matrices comprising the same spoken pass phrase, indicating the same amount of vectors within the matrices to represent the same amount of speech/feature data for an appropriate comparison. Considering the same matrix is used to represent each voiceprint, see Table 1, this indicates a matrix-to-matrix comparison will be aligned in terms of vectors representing the matrices]).
Di Mambro does not disclose:
stacking the aligned first and second activation sequences to create a tensor;
calculating a first weighted activation sequence and a second weighted activation sequence using the tensor;
calculating an embedding for the first weighted activation sequence and an embedding for the second weighted activation sequence;
calculating a similarity score between the calculated embeddings;
in response to determining the similarity score satisfies a threshold score, simultaneously successfully authenticating the user and the pass phrase spoken by the user.
Tuo discloses:
stacking the aligned first and second activation sequences to create a tensor ([0060] A tensor may be generated having dimensions based on the number of speakers N, the number of utterances M for each speaker, and a number of embedding dimensions, [Turning a plurality of speaker utterances M into a dimension related to a speaker N based on a number of embeddings P indicates the tensor comprising N*M*P dimensions to be stacked with regard to utterances, i.e. activation sequences, and/or the number of embeddings associated with each utterance in the N/M/P dimension]);
calculating a first weighted activation sequence and a second weighted activation sequence using the tensor ([0060] This tensor may be used to generate a similarity matrix based on a calculated similarity between each pair of utterances [In view of the definition of weighted activation sequences in the instant app, [0071] which only discloses generation of weighted sequences through the tensor, indicating a tensor generating a similarity matrix represents first and second weighted, i.e. in terms of similarity, activation sequences within the similarity matrix in view of the activation sequences of Di Mambro]);
calculating an embedding for the first weighted activation sequence and an embedding for the second weighted activation sequence ([0072] determine a distance between the embedding vector(s) associated with the received recording of the user utterance and predefined embedding vector(s) [Using vector embeddings, in view of the weighted activation sequence vectors, indicating embeddings are calculated for the first, i.e. received, and second, i.e. predefined, weighted activation sequences in view of the similarity matrix of Tuo which would be comprising embedding vectors]);
calculating a similarity score between the calculated embeddings ([0072] calculates, for each respective user of a plurality of users, a similarity score between embedding vectors associated with the respective user and the generated plurality of embedding vectors for the user utterance [Wherein embedding vectors associated with the respective user represent second, i.e. record, audio and embedding associated with a user utterance represent first, i.e. live, audio]);
in response to determining the similarity score satisfies a threshold score ([0030] compare the similarity scores generated for each of the plurality of users with a threshold similarity score), simultaneously successfully authenticating the user and the pass phrase spoken by the user ([0030] Scores that are below the threshold similarity score may be deemed to be associated with users that are highly unlikely to be the user from whom the incoming voice recording was received. Thus, the users associated with these scores, may be removed from the plurality of users [Removing user with scores below a threshold similarity indicates an awareness that certain scores also exceed the threshold, i.e. so the system knows not to discard these samples. In view of the pass-phrase used for authentication of Di Mambro]).
Di Mambro and Tuo are considered analogous art within user speech authentication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Di Mambro to incorporate the teachings of Tuo, because of the novel way to compare received voice utterances to a plurality of utterances from a plurality of speakers and selecting a final speaker based on similarity scores, improving user identification and verification methodologies (Tuo, h).
Regarding claim 2, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the method according to claim 1.
Di Mambro further discloses:
said step of creating a first activation sequence and a second activation sequence comprising the steps of:
extracting features from the captured audio data and the record audio data ([0049] features extracted during the LPC/LSP analysis can be included in a feature matrix [In view of the previously disclosed first and record audio data of Di Mambro, indicating this operation could be applied to both signals]);
creating a first feature matrix using the features extracted from the captured audio data and a second feature matrix using the features extracted from the record audio data ([0050] A feature matrix is calculated for each recording of the pass phrase [In view of the previously disclosed enrollment, i.e. record, and verification, i.e. captured, audio of Di Mambro indicating this operation is applied to both signals (see [0051] which discloses generation of a feature matrix for verification audio)]); and,
creating the first activation sequence from the first feature matrix and the second activation sequence from the second feature matrix ([0053] normalize the feature matrix over the one or more vocalized frames [In view of the enrollment and verification feature matrices of Di Mambro, normalization tracks to a method of generating activation sequences, see [0079] of the instant app]).
Regarding claim 3, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the method according to claim 1.
Tuo further discloses:
said aligning step of comprising comparing the first activation sequence against the second activation sequence to determine a path that represents a best match between the first and second activation sequences ([0060] tensor may be used to generate a similarity matrix based on a calculated similarity between each pair of utterances selected from the data set, and a predictive vector may be generated from the generated similarity matrix. In some aspects, the predictive vector may include, for each entry in the similarity matrix, an indication of a speaker predicted to be associated with each of the utterances. The speaker predicted to be associated with each of the utterances may be identified by calculating a loss based on a cross-entropy between the predictive vector and a ground truth vector identifying a speaker associated with each of the utterances [generation of a similarity matrix indicates a comparison, in view of the first and second activation sequences of Di Mambro, wherein the similarity is determined between a generated, i.e. first, vector and a ground truth, i.e. second/record, vector indicating a path that represents a best match, i.e. highest predicted similarity, between the activation sequences]).
Regarding claim 6, Di Mambro discloses: an electronic device ([0023] one or more mobile devices 102) for authentication of users (Abstract, A method (700) and system (900) for authenticating a user) comprising:
a processor ([0052] voice processor 144); and,
a memory configured to store data ([Fig. 1, Database 140], [A database indicates memory for storage of data]), said electronic device being associated with a network ([Fig. 1, Internet 120]) and said memory being in communication with said processor ([Fig. 3, connection between mobile device 102, indicating a processor, and database server 130]) and having instructions stored thereon which, when read and executed by said processor, cause said electronic device to:
capture audio data of a pass phrase spoken by a user ([0029] When the user speaks the pass phrase into the mobile device 102 [Indicating capture by the mobile device]);
obtain record audio data of the pass phrase spoken by the user ([0050] a user can present a spoken utterance corresponding to a pass phrase that was used during voice enrollment… [0051] During verification, the user speaks the same spoken utterance corresponding to the pass phrase, and a biometric voice print is generated [Comparisons of voiceprints indicates a required retrieval/obtaining of the enrollment, i.e. record, voiceprint for comparison]); and,
create a first activation sequence from the captured audio data ([0051] During the verification process, a feature matrix is also calculated from the spoken phrase, [0053] normalize the feature matrix over the one or more vocalized frames [Wherein a feature matrix represents features of the speaker’s voice, see [0050], in view of [0079] of the instant app which defines activation sequences as processed feature matrices indicating normalization is a processing step to feature matrices resulting in activation sequences. Further, the figures representing activation sequences in the instant app (Figs. 6, 7) have a y-axis of normalized values indicating this is the same processing as that performed in Di Mambro]) and a second activation sequence from the record audio data ([0050] during enrollment, a user pronounces the same pass phrase three times. A feature matrix is calculated for each recording of the pass phrase [In view of the feature matrix normalization previously disclosed of Di Mambro, indicating this same normalization could be applied to the enrollment feature matrix of Di Mambro without a change in functionality. Further, in view of the biometric voiceprint comparison ([0042]) of Di Mambro, indicating both matrices need to be normalized for an appropriate comparison]), the first and second activation sequences having a different number of vectors ([0050] three feature matrices are used to create the biometric voice print, [0053] calculate a feature matrix from the one or more feature vectors, [Generating a feature matrix, i.e. activation sequence, comprised of feature vectors indicates the activation sequence to be including vectors. Further, considering the previously cited three enrollment feature matrices, wherein each of the three enrollment matrices are used to create the biometric voiceprint to be compared to the verification voiceprint, indicates at least a 3:1 ratio of vectors from enrollment to verification represented through each time the pass phrase is spoken]); and,
align the first activation sequence and the second activation sequence to have a same number of vectors ([0051] The biometric voice print is compared against previously stored voice prints for identifying a match…using the voice authentication algorithm 800 as used in enrollment. This feature matrix is compared against one or more reference matrices store in a voiceprint database, [Comparing matrices together, wherein multiple feature matrices are gathered in enrollment, indicates one enrollment matrix being compared to one verification matrix at a time, i.e. an alignment of 1:1 in terms of matrices comprising the same spoken pass phrase, indicating the same amount of vectors within the matrices to represent the same amount of speech/feature data for an appropriate comparison. Considering the same matrix is used to represent each voiceprint, see Table 1, this indicates a matrix-to-matrix comparison will be aligned in terms of vectors representing the matrices]).
Di Mambro does not disclose:
stack the aligned first and second activation sequences to create a tensor;
calculate a first weighted activation sequence and a second weighted activation sequence using the tensor;
calculate an embedding for the first weighted activation sequence and an embedding for the second weighted activation sequence;
calculate a similarity score between the calculated embeddings;
in response to determining the similarity score satisfies a threshold score, simultaneously successfully authenticate the user and the pass phrase spoken by the user.
Tuo discloses:
stack the aligned first and second activation sequences to create a tensor ([0060] A tensor may be generated having dimensions based on the number of speakers N, the number of utterances M for each speaker, and a number of embedding dimensions, [Turning a plurality of speaker utterances M into a dimension related to a speaker N based on a number of embeddings P indicates the tensor comprising N*M*P dimensions to be stacked with regard to utterances, i.e. activation sequences, and/or the number of embeddings associated with each utterance in the N/M/P dimension]);
calculate a first weighted activation sequence and a second weighted activation sequence using the tensor ([0060] This tensor may be used to generate a similarity matrix based on a calculated similarity between each pair of utterances [In view of the definition of weighted activation sequences in the instant app, [0071] which only discloses generation of weighted sequences through the tensor, indicating a tensor generating a similarity matrix represents first and second weighted, i.e. in terms of similarity, activation sequences within the similarity matrix in view of the activation sequences of Di Mambro]);
calculate an embedding for the first weighted activation sequence and an embedding for the second weighted activation sequence ([0072] determine a distance between the embedding vector(s) associated with the received recording of the user utterance and predefined embedding vector(s) [Using vector embeddings, in view of the weighted activation sequence vectors, indicating embeddings are calculated for the first, i.e. received, and second, i.e. predefined, weighted activation sequences in view of the similarity matrix of Tuo which would be comprising embedding vectors]);
calculate a similarity score between the calculated embeddings ([0072] calculates, for each respective user of a plurality of users, a similarity score between embedding vectors associated with the respective user and the generated plurality of embedding vectors for the user utterance [Wherein embedding vectors associated with the respective user represent second, i.e. record, audio and embedding associated with a user utterance represent first, i.e. live, audio]);
in response to determining the similarity score satisfies a threshold score ([0030] compare the similarity scores generated for each of the plurality of users with a threshold similarity score), simultaneously successfully authenticate the user and the pass phrase spoken by the user ([0030] Scores that are below the threshold similarity score may be deemed to be associated with users that are highly unlikely to be the user from whom the incoming voice recording was received. Thus, the users associated with these scores, may be removed from the plurality of users [Removing user with scores below a threshold similarity indicates an awareness that certain scores also exceed the threshold, i.e. so the system knows not to discard these samples. In view of the pass-phrase used for authentication of Di Mambro]).
Di Mambro and Tuo are considered analogous art within user speech authentication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Di Mambro to incorporate the teachings of Tuo, because of the novel way to compare received voice utterances to a plurality of utterances from a plurality of speakers and selecting a final speaker based on similarity scores, improving user identification and verification methodologies (Tuo, [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the electronic device according to claim 6.
Di Mambro further discloses:
wherein the instructions when read and executed by said processor ([In view of the previously disclosed processor of Di Mambro]), cause said electronic device ([In view of the previously disclosed electronic device of Di Mambro]) to:
extract features from the captured audio data and the record audio data ([0049] features extracted during the LPC/LSP analysis can be included in a feature matrix [In view of the previously disclosed first and record audio data of Di Mambro, indicating this operation could be applied to both signals]);
create a first feature matrix using the features extracted from the captured audio data and a second feature matrix using the features extracted from the record audio data ([0050] A feature matrix is calculated for each recording of the pass phrase [In view of the previously disclosed enrollment, i.e. record, and verification, i.e. captured, audio of Di Mambro indicating this operation is applied to both signals (see [0051] which discloses generation of a feature matrix for verification audio)]); and,
create the first activation sequence from the first feature matrix and the second activation sequence from the second feature matrix ([0053] normalize the feature matrix over the one or more vocalized frames [In view of the enrollment and verification feature matrices of Di Mambro, normalization tracks to a method of generating activation sequences, see [0079] of the instant app]).
Regarding claim 8, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the electronic device according to claim 6.
Tuo further discloses:
wherein the instructions when read and executed by said processor ([In view of the previously disclosed processor of Di Mambro]), cause said electronic device ([In view of the previously disclosed electronic device of Di Mambro]) to:
compare the first activation sequence against the second activation sequence to determine a path that represents a best match between the first and second activation sequences ([0060] tensor may be used to generate a similarity matrix based on a calculated similarity between each pair of utterances selected from the data set, and a predictive vector may be generated from the generated similarity matrix. In some aspects, the predictive vector may include, for each entry in the similarity matrix, an indication of a speaker predicted to be associated with each of the utterances. The speaker predicted to be associated with each of the utterances may be identified by calculating a loss based on a cross-entropy between the predictive vector and a ground truth vector identifying a speaker associated with each of the utterances [generation of a similarity matrix indicates a comparison, in view of the first and second activation sequences of Di Mambro, wherein the similarity is determined between a generated, i.e. first, vector and a ground truth, i.e. second/record, vector indicating a path that represents a best match, i.e. highest predicted similarity, between the activation sequences]); and
create a first sub activation sequence and a second sub activation sequence wherein the first sub activation sequence includes a subset of vectors along the path from the first activation sequence ([0030] Scores that are below the threshold similarity score may be deemed to be associated with users that are highly unlikely to be the user from whom the incoming voice recording was received. Thus, the users associated with these scores, may be removed from the plurality of users… [0072] comparison metrics that may be used to determine a distance between the embedding vector(s) associated with the received recording of the user utterance and predefined embedding vector(s) [Removing users from a plurality of users indicates reducing the user dimension of a tensor, as defined in Tuo, further indicating a sub activation sequence as compared to the original activation sequence of Di Mambro, wherein the sub activation sequence is determined based on a distance, i.e. a path representing similarity/matching]), and
the second sub activation sequence includes a subset of vectors along the path from the second activation sequence ([Similar to the operation being performed in the above step, this operation could be applied to second activation sequences to generate a vector subset without a change in functionality, i.e. the comparison between sequences is a two-directional calculation, indicating the operation of determining the subset of vectors for a first activation sequence defining a minimum distance to a second activation sequence will be the same distance calculation as that of the second activation sequence back to the first.]).
Regarding claim 11, Di Mambro discloses: a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium ([0072] Portions of the present method and system may also be embedded in a computer program product) in an electronic device for authenticating users (Abstract, A method (700) and system (900) for authenticating a user [Wherein the system is comprising a smartphone 102, indicating the embedding is in the non-transitory storage of the mobile device, as traditionally included in smartphones]), the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing instructions which when executed by a hardware processor ([0053] voice processor 144) cause the non-transitory recording medium to perform steps comprising:
capturing audio data of a pass phrase spoken by a user ([0029] When the user speaks the pass phrase into the mobile device 102 [Indicating capture by the mobile device]);
obtaining record audio data of the pass phrase spoken by the user ([0050] a user can present a spoken utterance corresponding to a pass phrase that was used during voice enrollment… [0051] During verification, the user speaks the same spoken utterance corresponding to the pass phrase, and a biometric voice print is generated [Comparisons of voiceprints indicates a required retrieval/obtaining of the enrollment, i.e. record, voiceprint for comparison]); and,
creating a first activation sequence from the captured audio data ([0051] During the verification process, a feature matrix is also calculated from the spoken phrase, [0053] normalize the feature matrix over the one or more vocalized frames [Wherein a feature matrix represents features of the speaker’s voice, see [0050], in view of [0079] of the instant app which defines activation sequences as processed feature matrices indicating normalization is a processing step to feature matrices resulting in activation sequences. Further, the figures representing activation sequences in the instant app (Figs. 6, 7) have a y-axis of normalized values indicating this is the same processing as that performed in Di Mambro]) and a second activation sequence from the record audio data ([0050] during enrollment, a user pronounces the same pass phrase three times. A feature matrix is calculated for each recording of the pass phrase [In view of the feature matrix normalization previously disclosed of Di Mambro, indicating this same normalization could be applied to the enrollment feature matrix of Di Mambro without a change in functionality. Further, in view of the biometric voiceprint comparison ([0042]) of Di Mambro, indicating both matrices need to be normalized for an appropriate comparison]), the first and second activation sequences having a different number of vectors ([0050] three feature matrices are used to create the biometric voice print, [0053] calculate a feature matrix from the one or more feature vectors, [Generating a feature matrix, i.e. activation sequence, comprised of feature vectors indicates the activation sequence to be including vectors. Further, considering the previously cited three enrollment feature matrices, wherein each of the three enrollment matrices are used to create the biometric voiceprint to be compared to the verification voiceprint, indicates at least a 3:1 ratio of vectors from enrollment to verification represented through each time the pass phrase is spoken]); and,
aligning the first activation sequence and the second activation sequence to have a same number of vectors ([0051] The biometric voice print is compared against previously stored voice prints for identifying a match…using the voice authentication algorithm 800 as used in enrollment. This feature matrix is compared against one or more reference matrices store in a voiceprint database, [Comparing matrices together, wherein multiple feature matrices are gathered in enrollment, indicates one enrollment matrix being compared to one verification matrix at a time, i.e. an alignment of 1:1 in terms of matrices comprising the same spoken pass phrase, indicating the same amount of vectors within the matrices to represent the same amount of speech/feature data for an appropriate comparison. Considering the same matrix is used to represent each voiceprint, see Table 1, this indicates a matrix-to-matrix comparison will be aligned in terms of vectors representing the matrices]).
Di Mambro does not disclose:
stacking the aligned first and second activation sequences to create a tensor;
calculating a first weighted activation sequence and a second weighted activation sequence using the tensor;
calculating an embedding for the first weighted activation sequence and an embedding for the second weighted activation sequence;
calculating a similarity score between the calculated embeddings;
in response to determining the similarity score satisfies a threshold score, simultaneously successfully authenticating the user and the pass phrase spoken by the user.
Tuo discloses:
stacking the aligned first and second activation sequences to create a tensor ([0060] A tensor may be generated having dimensions based on the number of speakers N, the number of utterances M for each speaker, and a number of embedding dimensions, [Turning a plurality of speaker utterances M into a dimension related to a speaker N based on a number of embeddings P indicates the tensor comprising N*M*P dimensions to be stacked with regard to utterances, i.e. activation sequences, and/or the number of embeddings associated with each utterance in the N/M/P dimension]);
calculating a first weighted activation sequence and a second weighted activation sequence using the tensor ([0060] This tensor may be used to generate a similarity matrix based on a calculated similarity between each pair of utterances [In view of the definition of weighted activation sequences in the instant app, [0071] which only discloses generation of weighted sequences through the tensor, indicating a tensor generating a similarity matrix represents first and second weighted, i.e. in terms of similarity, activation sequences within the similarity matrix in view of the activation sequences of Di Mambro]);
calculating an embedding for the first weighted activation sequence and an embedding for the second weighted activation sequence ([0072] determine a distance between the embedding vector(s) associated with the received recording of the user utterance and predefined embedding vector(s) [Using vector embeddings, in view of the weighted activation sequence vectors, indicating embeddings are calculated for the first, i.e. received, and second, i.e. predefined, weighted activation sequences in view of the similarity matrix of Tuo which would be comprising embedding vectors]);
calculating a similarity score between the calculated embeddings ([0072] calculates, for each respective user of a plurality of users, a similarity score between embedding vectors associated with the respective user and the generated plurality of embedding vectors for the user utterance [Wherein embedding vectors associated with the respective user represent second, i.e. record, audio and embedding associated with a user utterance represent first, i.e. live, audio]);
in response to determining the similarity score satisfies a threshold score ([0030] compare the similarity scores generated for each of the plurality of users with a threshold similarity score), simultaneously successfully authenticating the user and the pass phrase spoken by the user ([0030] Scores that are below the threshold similarity score may be deemed to be associated with users that are highly unlikely to be the user from whom the incoming voice recording was received. Thus, the users associated with these scores, may be removed from the plurality of users [Removing user with scores below a threshold similarity indicates an awareness that certain scores also exceed the threshold, i.e. so the system knows not to discard these samples. In view of the pass-phrase used for authentication of Di Mambro]).
Di Mambro and Tuo are considered analogous art within user speech authentication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Di Mambro to incorporate the teachings of Tuo, because of the novel way to compare received voice utterances to a plurality of utterances from a plurality of speakers and selecting a final speaker based on similarity scores, improving user identification and verification methodologies (Tuo, [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11.
Di Mambro further discloses:
wherein the instructions when read and executed by said processor ([In view of the previously disclosed processor of Di Mambro]), cause said non-transitory computer-readable recording medium ([In view of the previously disclosed non-transitory computer-readable medium of Di Mambro]) to perform steps comprising:
extracting features from the captured audio data and the record audio data ([0049] features extracted during the LPC/LSP analysis can be included in a feature matrix [In view of the previously disclosed first and record audio data of Di Mambro, indicating this operation could be applied to both signals]);
creating a first feature matrix using the features extracted from the captured audio data and a second feature matrix using the features extracted from the record audio data ([0050] A feature matrix is calculated for each recording of the pass phrase [In view of the previously disclosed enrollment, i.e. record, and verification, i.e. captured, audio of Di Mambro indicating this operation is applied to both signals (see [0051] which discloses generation of a feature matrix for verification audio)]); and,
creating the first activation sequence from the first feature matrix and the second activation sequence from the second feature matrix ([0053] normalize the feature matrix over the one or more vocalized frames [In view of the enrollment and verification feature matrices of Di Mambro, normalization tracks to a method of generating activation sequences, see [0079] of the instant app]).
Regarding claim 13, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11.
Tuo further discloses:
wherein the instructions when read and executed by said processor ([In view of the previously disclosed processor of Di Mambro]), cause said non-transitory computer-readable recording medium ([In view of the previously disclosed non-transitory computer-readable medium of Di Mambro]) to perform steps comprising:
comparing the first activation sequence against the second activation sequence to determine a path that represents a best match between the first and second activation sequences ([0060] tensor may be used to generate a similarity matrix based on a calculated similarity between each pair of utterances selected from the data set, and a predictive vector may be generated from the generated similarity matrix. In some aspects, the predictive vector may include, for each entry in the similarity matrix, an indication of a speaker predicted to be associated with each of the utterances. The speaker predicted to be associated with each of the utterances may be identified by calculating a loss based on a cross-entropy between the predictive vector and a ground truth vector identifying a speaker associated with each of the utterances [generation of a similarity matrix indicates a comparison, in view of the first and second activation sequences of Di Mambro, wherein the similarity is determined between a generated, i.e. first, vector and a ground truth, i.e. second/record, vector indicating a path that represents a best match, i.e. highest predicted similarity, between the activation sequences]); and
creating a first sub activation sequence and a second sub activation sequence wherein the first sub activation sequence includes a subset of vectors along the path from the first activation sequence ([0030] Scores that are below the threshold similarity score may be deemed to be associated with users that are highly unlikely to be the user from whom the incoming voice recording was received. Thus, the users associated with these scores, may be removed from the plurality of users… [0072] comparison metrics that may be used to determine a distance between the embedding vector(s) associated with the received recording of the user utterance and predefined embedding vector(s) [Removing users from a plurality of users indicates reducing the user dimension of a tensor, as defined in Tuo, further indicating a sub activation sequence as compared to the original activation sequence of Di Mambro, wherein the sub activation sequence is determined based on a distance, i.e. a path representing similarity/matching]), and
the second sub activation sequence includes a subset of vectors along the path from the second activation sequence ([Similar to the operation being performed in the above step, this operation could be applied to second activation sequences to generate a vector subset without a change in functionality, i.e. the comparison between sequences is a two-directional calculation, indicating the operation of determining the subset of vectors for a first activation sequence defining a minimum distance to a second activation sequence will be the same distance calculation as that of the second activation sequence back to the first.]).
Regarding claim 16, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the method according to claim 1.
Di Mambro further discloses:
said aligning step comprising creating a first activation sub-sequence from the first activation sequence and a second activation sub-sequence from the second activation sequence, the first and second activation sub-sequences having a same number of vectors ([0050] during enrollment, a user pronounces the same pass phrase three times. A feature matrix is calculated for each recording of the pass phrase. The feature matrix is a matrix of numeric values that represent features of the speaker's voice. In this case, three feature matrices are used to create the biometric voice print, [0051] The biometric voice print is compared against previously stored voice prints for identifying a match…a feature matrix is also calculated from the spoken phrase…using the voice authentication algorithm 800 as used in enrollment. This feature matrix is compared against one or more reference matrices store in a voiceprint database, [Creation of a biometric voice print for comparison based on a feature matrix indicates the voiceprint to be a sub-sequence, i.e. one matrix, from the activation sequences, i.e. one or more matrices, wherein a comparison of one feature matrix to a reference matrix which are containing the same spoken information, i.e. voiced information pass phrase ([0063]), will necessarily have the same amount of vectors to represent the same amount of speech, i.e. the pass phrase, as the vector(s) comprising the matrix are gathered on a segment-level ([0063])]).
Regarding claim 17, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the method according to claim 16.
Tuo further discloses:
said stacking step comprising stacking the aligned first and second activation sub-sequences to create the tensor ([0060] A tensor may be generated having dimensions based on the number of speakers N, the number of utterances M for each speaker, and a number of embedding dimensions, [A tensor with an utterance and speaker dimension indicates each utterance, i.e. turned into voiceprint via Di Mambro, by the same speaker, i.e. considering the enrollment and verification audio of Di Mambro, to be stacked sub-sequences corresponding to each utterance by one speaker]).
Regarding claim 18, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the electronic device according to claim 6.
Di Mambro further discloses:
wherein the instructions when read and executed by said processor, cause said aligning step comprising creating a first activation sub-sequence from the first activation sequence and a second activation sub-sequence from the second activation sequence, the first and second activation sub-sequences having a same number of vectors ([0050] during enrollment, a user pronounces the same pass phrase three times. A feature matrix is calculated for each recording of the pass phrase. The feature matrix is a matrix of numeric values that represent features of the speaker's voice. In this case, three feature matrices are used to create the biometric voice print, [0051] The biometric voice print is compared against previously stored voice prints for identifying a match…a feature matrix is also calculated from the spoken phrase…using the voice authentication algorithm 800 as used in enrollment. This feature matrix is compared against one or more reference matrices store in a voiceprint database, [Creation of a biometric voice print for comparison based on a feature matrix indicates the voiceprint to be a sub-sequence, i.e. one matrix, from the activation sequences, i.e. plurality of matrices, wherein a comparison of one feature matrix to a reference matrix which are containing the same spoken information, i.e. voiced information pass phrase ([0063]), will necessarily have the same amount of vectors to represent the same amount of speech, i.e. the pass phrase, as the vector comprising the matrix are gathered on a segment-level ([0063])]).
Regarding claim 19, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the electronic device according to claim 18.
Tuo further discloses:
wherein the instructions when read and executed by said processor, cause said stacking step comprising stacking the aligned first and second activation sub-sequences to create the tensor ([0060] A tensor may be generated having dimensions based on the number of speakers N, the number of utterances M for each speaker, and a number of embedding dimensions, [A tensor with an utterance and speaker dimension indicates each utterance, i.e. turned into voiceprint via Di Mambro, by the same speaker, i.e. considering the enrollment and verification audio of Di Mambro, to be stacked sub-sequences corresponding to each utterance by one speaker]).
Regarding claim 20, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11.
Di Mambro further discloses:
wherein the instructions when read and executed by said processor, cause said non-transitory computer-readable medium to perform the step comprising creating a first activation sub-sequence from the first activation sequence and a second activation sub-sequence from the second activation sequence, the first and second activation sub-sequences having a same number of vectors ([0050] during enrollment, a user pronounces the same pass phrase three times. A feature matrix is calculated for each recording of the pass phrase. The feature matrix is a matrix of numeric values that represent features of the speaker's voice. In this case, three feature matrices are used to create the biometric voice print, [0051] The biometric voice print is compared against previously stored voice prints for identifying a match…a feature matrix is also calculated from the spoken phrase…using the voice authentication algorithm 800 as used in enrollment. This feature matrix is compared against one or more reference matrices store in a voiceprint database, [Creation of a biometric voice print for comparison based on a feature matrix indicates the voiceprint to be a sub-sequence, i.e. one matrix, from the activation sequences, i.e. plurality of matrices, wherein a comparison of one feature matrix to a reference matrix which are containing the same spoken information, i.e. voiced information pass phrase ([0063]), will necessarily have the same amount of vectors to represent the same amount of speech, i.e. the pass phrase, as the vector comprising the matrix are gathered on a segment-level ([0063])]).
Claim(s) 4-5, 9-10, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Mambro in view of Tuo, further in view of Gimenez et al. (US-20150088509-A1), hereinafter Gimenez.
Regarding claim 4, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the method according to claim 1.
Tuo further discloses:
said step of calculating an embedding for the first weighted activation sequence and an embedding for the second weighted activation sequence comprising the steps of:
calculating a unique weight vector from the tensor ([0039] This tensor may be transformed into a similarity matrix with dimensions N*M*N, which may allow for a similarity score to be generated for each pair of voice recordings and for each speaker [A similarity matrix, comprised of vectors for each audio input, indicates the matrix is comprising at least one weight, i.e. similarity, vector]);
calculating a first weighted activation sequence from the first activation sequence using the unique weight vector and a second weighted activation sequence from the second activation sequence using the unique weight vector ([0039] A predictive vector may be generated from the similarity matrix. The resulting predictive vector may have a size of N*M, and each entry in the predictive vector may include an indication of a speaker predicted to be associated with each of the N*M recordings [In view of the activation sequences, i.e. normalized feature vectors, of Di Mambro, determining a predictive vector based on the similarity matrix indicates the predictive vector is a first weighted activation function dependent upon the unique weight vector (contained within the similarity matrix). Further, this operation could be applied to the second activation sequence of Di Mambro without a change in functionality]).
Di Mambro in view of Tuo does not disclose:
calculating a mean and a covariance of the first and second weighted activation sequences;
concatenating the mean and the covariance of the first weighted activation sequence and of the second weighted activation sequence;
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the first weighted activation sequence;
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the second weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the second weighted activation sequence.
Gimenez discloses:
calculating a mean ([0036] average feature vectors of audio data may e.g. be calculated by calculating the mean) and a covariance ([Fig. 1D, [0019] The Gaussian classifier may be a full-covariance Gaussian classifier, e.g. a Gaussian classifier in which each Gaussian is described including a full covariance, [Determining a covariance classifier, wherein that classifier is used to compare audio data features, see Fig. 1D, in view of the record and obtained audio of Di Mambro]) of the first and second weighted activation sequences ([In view of the previously disclosed first and second weighted activation sequence of Di Mambro in view of Tuo which could be used as the audio data file and adaptation audio data file of Gimenez, respectively]);
concatenating the mean and the covariance of the first weighted activation sequence and of the second weighted activation sequence ([0101] a mean vector and a covariance matrix [Means in vector format and a covariance in matrix format indicates a required concatenation of means and covariances to develop the structure, in view of the first and second weighted activation sequences of Di Mambro in view of Tuo]);
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the first weighted activation sequence ([In view of the previous concatenation of mean and covariance for the first weighted activation sequence, it is unclear to the examiner what a further concatenation is achieving. There appears to be concatenation of two previously concatenated elements, indicating no operation to be performed. As such, the first concatenation should result in embeddings as defined in this step]);
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the second weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the second weighted activation sequence ([In view of the previous concatenation of mean and covariance for the second weighted activation sequence, it is unclear to the examiner what a further concatenation is achieving. There appears to be concatenation of two previously concatenated elements, indicating no operation is to be performed. As such, the first concatenation should result in embeddings as defined in this step.]).
Di Mambro, Tuo, and Gimenez are considered analogous art within audio signal authentication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Di Mambro in view of Tuo to incorporate the teachings of Gimenez, because of the novel way to compare audio signals based on mean and covariance parameters among the signals, improving a speaker recognition system's ability to detect (Gimenez, [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the method according to claim 1.
Tuo further discloses:
said step of calculating an embedding comprising the steps of:
calculating a first weight vector from the tensor and the first activation sequence ([0060] This tensor may be used to generate a similarity matrix based on a calculated similarity between each pair of utterances [In view of the definition of weighted activation sequences in the instant app, [0071], which only discloses generation of weighted sequences through the tensor, indicating a tensor generating a similarity matrix represents at least a first weight vector, i.e. in view of the record and obtained audio sequences and associated activation sequence of Di Mambro indicating at least two vectors which could be weighted based on a similarity determination]);
calculating a second weight vector from the tensor and the second activation sequence ([In view of the second activation sequence of Di Mambro, applying the method disclosed in Tuo (above element) to a second activation sequence does not change the functionality of the weight, i.e. similarity, determination, indicating a second weight vector calculation in view of the multiple input signals/activation sequences of Di Mambro]);
calculating a first weighted activation sequence from the first activation sequence and the first weight vector ([0060] a predictive vector may be generated from the generated similarity matrix [Generating a predictive vector from a similarity matrix comprised of vectors, i.e. weighted activation sequences, wherein the similarity matrix is determined based on a comparison of activation sequences, in view of the activation sequences of Di Mambro, indicates the predictive vector is calculated to represent a first weighted activation sequence]);
calculating a second weighted activation sequence from the second activation sequence and the second weight vector ([In view of the second activation sequence of Di Mambro and the similarity matrix containing at least a second weight vector of Tuo, performing the same predictive vector calculation as applied to the first activation sequence (see above claim element) could be applied using the second activation sequence and weight vector without a change in functionality]).
Di Mambro in view of Tuo does not disclose:
calculating a mean and a covariance of the first and second weighted activation sequences;
concatenating the mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence and of the second weighted activation sequence;
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the first weighted activation sequence;
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the second weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the second weighted activation sequence.
Gimenez discloses:
calculating a mean ([0036] average feature vectors of audio data may e.g. be calculated by calculating the mean) and a covariance ([Fig. 1D, [0019] The Gaussian classifier may be a full-covariance Gaussian classifier, e.g. a Gaussian classifier in which each Gaussian is described including a full covariance, [Determining a covariance classifier, wherein that classifier is used to compare audio data features, see Fig. 1D, in view of the record and obtained audio of Di Mambro]) of the first and second weighted activation sequences ([In view of the previously disclosed first and second weighted activation sequence of Di Mambro in view of Tuo which could be used as the audio data file and adaptation audio data file respectively]);
concatenating the mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence and of the second weighted activation sequence ([0101] a mean vector and a covariance matrix [Means in vector format and a covariance in matrix format indicates a required concatenation of means and covariances to develop the structure, in view of the first and second weighted activation sequences of Di Mambro in view of Tuo]);
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the first weighted activation sequence ([In view of the previous concatenation of mean and covariance for the first weighted activation sequence, it is unclear to the examiner what a further concatenation is achieving. There appears to be concatenation of two previously concatenated elements, indicating no operation to be performed. As such, the first concatenation should result in embeddings as defined in this step]);
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the second weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the second weighted activation sequence ([In view of the previous concatenation of mean and covariance for the second weighted activation sequence, it is unclear to the examiner what a further concatenation is achieving. There appears to be concatenation of two previously concatenated elements, indicating no operation is to be performed. As such, the first concatenation should result in embeddings as defined in this step.]).
Di Mambro, Tuo, and Gimenez are considered analogous art within audio signal authentication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Di Mambro in view of Tuo to incorporate the teachings of Gimenez, because of the novel way to compare audio (Gimenez, [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the electronic device according to claim 6.
Tuo further discloses:
wherein the instructions when read and executed by said processor ([In view of the previously disclosed processor of Di Mambro]), cause said electronic device ([In view of the previously disclosed electronic device of Di Mambro]) to:
calculate a unique weight vector from the tensor ([0039] This tensor may be transformed into a similarity matrix with dimensions N*M*N, which may allow for a similarity score to be generated for each pair of voice recordings and for each speaker [A similarity matrix, comprised of vectors for each audio input, indicates the matrix is comprising at least one weight, i.e. similarity, vector]);
calculate a first weighted activation sequence from the first activation sequence using the unique weight vector and a second weighted activation sequence from the second activation sequence using the unique weight vector ([0039] A predictive vector may be generated from the similarity matrix. The resulting predictive vector may have a size of N*M, and each entry in the predictive vector may include an indication of a speaker predicted to be associated with each of the N*M recordings [In view of the activation sequences, i.e. normalized feature vectors, of Di Mambro, determining a predictive vector based on the similarity matrix indicates the predictive vector is a first weighted activation function dependent upon the unique weight vector (contained within the similarity matrix). Further, this operation could be applied to the second activation sequence of Di Mambro without a change in functionality]).
Di Mambro in view of Tuo does not disclose:
calculate a mean and a covariance of the first and second weighted activation sequences;
concatenate the mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence and of the second weighted activation sequence;
concatenate the concatenated mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the first weighted activation sequence;
concatenate the concatenated mean and covariance of the second weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the second weighted activation sequence.
Gimenez discloses:
calculate a mean ([0036] average feature vectors of audio data may e.g. be calculated by calculating the mean) and covariance ([Fig. 1D, [0019] The Gaussian classifier may be a full-covariance Gaussian classifier, e.g. a Gaussian classifier in which each Gaussian is described including a full covariance, [Determining a covariance classifier, wherein that classifier is used to compare audio data features, see Fig. 1D, in view of the record and obtained audio of Di Mambro]) of the first and second weighted activation sequences ([In view of the previously disclosed first and second weighted activation sequence of Di Mambro in view of Tuo which could be used as the audio data file and adaptation audio data file of Gimenez, respectively]);
concatenate the mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence and of the second weighted activation sequence ([0101] a mean vector and a covariance matrix [Means in vector format and a covariance in matrix format indicates a required concatenation of means and covariances to develop the structure, in view of the first and second weighted activation sequences of Di Mambro in view of Tuo]);
concatenate the concatenated mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the first weighted activation sequence ([In view of the previous concatenation of mean and covariance for the first weighted activation sequence, it is unclear to the examiner what a further concatenation is achieving. There appears to be concatenation of two previously concatenated elements, indicating no operation to be performed. As such, the first concatenation should result in embeddings as defined in this step]);
concatenate the concatenated mean and covariance of the second weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the second weighted activation sequence ([In view of the previous concatenation of mean and covariance for the second weighted activation sequence, it is unclear to the examiner what a further concatenation is achieving. There appears to be concatenation of two previously concatenated elements, indicating no operation is to be performed. As such, the first concatenation should result in embeddings as defined in this step.]).
Di Mambro, Tuo, and Gimenez are considered analogous art within audio signal authentication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Di Mambro in view of Tuo to incorporate the teachings of Gimenez, because of the novel way to compare audio signals based on mean and covariance parameters among the signals, improving a speaker recognition system's ability to detect (Gimenez, [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the electronic device according to claim 6.
Tuo further discloses:
wherein the instructions when read and executed by said processor ([In view of the previously disclosed processor of Di Mambro]), cause said electronic device ([In view of the previously disclosed electronic device of Di Mambro]) to:
calculate a first weight vector from the tensor and the first activation sequence ([0060] This tensor may be used to generate a similarity matrix based on a calculated similarity between each pair of utterances [In view of the definition of weighted activation sequences in the instant app, [0071], which only discloses generation of weighted sequences through the tensor, indicating a tensor generating a similarity matrix represents at least a first weight vector, i.e. in view of the record and obtained audio sequences and associated activation sequence of Di Mambro indicating at least two vectors which could be weighted based on a similarity determination]);
calculate a second weight vector from the tensor and the second activation sequence ([In view of the second activation sequence of Di Mambro, applying the method disclosed in Tuo (above element) to a second activation sequence does not change the functionality of the weight, i.e. similarity, determination, indicating a second weight vector calculation in view of the multiple input signals/activation sequences of Di Mambro]);
calculate a first weighted activation sequence from the first activation sequence and the first weight vector ([0060] a predictive vector may be generated from the generated similarity matrix [Generating a predictive vector from a similarity matrix comprised of vectors, i.e. weighted activation sequences, wherein the similarity matrix is determined based on a comparison of activation sequences, in view of the activation sequences of Di Mambro, indicates the predictive vector is calculated to represent a first weighted activation sequence]);
calculate a second weighted activation sequence from the second activation sequence and the second weight vector ([In view of the second activation sequence of Di Mambro and the similarity matrix containing at least a second weight vector of Tuo, performing the same predictive vector calculation as applied to the first activation sequence (see above claim element) could be applied using the second activation sequence and weight vector without a change in functionality]).
Di Mambro in view of Tuo does not disclose:
calculate a mean and a covariance of the first and second weighted activation sequences;
concatenate the mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence and of the second weighted activation sequence;
concatenate the concatenated mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the first weighted activation sequence;
concatenate the concatenated mean and covariance of the second weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the second weighted activation sequence.
Gimenez discloses:
calculate a mean ([0036] average feature vectors of audio data may e.g. be calculated by calculating the mean) and covariance ([Fig. 1D, [0019] The Gaussian classifier may be a full-covariance Gaussian classifier, e.g. a Gaussian classifier in which each Gaussian is described including a full covariance, [Determining a covariance classifier, wherein that classifier is used to compare audio data features, see Fig. 1D, in view of the record and obtained audio of Di Mambro]) of the first and second weighted activation sequences ([In view of the previously disclosed first and second weighted activation sequence of Di Mambro in view of Tuo which could be used as the audio data file and adaptation audio data file respectively]);
concatenate the mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence and of the second weighted activation sequence ([0101] a mean vector and a covariance matrix [Means in vector format and a covariance in matrix format indicates a required concatenation of means and covariances to develop the structure, in view of the first and second weighted activation sequences of Di Mambro in view of Tuo]);
concatenate the concatenated mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the first weighted activation sequence ([In view of the previous concatenation of mean and covariance for the first weighted activation sequence, it is unclear to the examiner what a further concatenation is achieving. There appears to be concatenation of two previously concatenated elements, indicating no operation to be performed. As such, the first concatenation should result in embeddings as defined in this step]);
concatenate the concatenated mean and covariance of the second weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the second weighted activation sequence ([In view of the previous concatenation of mean and covariance for the second weighted activation sequence, it is unclear to the examiner what a further concatenation is achieving. There appears to be concatenation of two previously concatenated elements, indicating no operation is to be performed. As such, the first concatenation should result in embeddings as defined in this step.]).
Di Mambro, Tuo, and Gimenez are considered analogous art within audio signal authentication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Di Mambro in view of Tuo to incorporate the teachings of Gimenez, because of the novel way to compare audio signals based on mean and covariance parameters among the signals, improving a speaker recognition system's ability to detect (Gimenez, [0004]).
Regarding claim 14, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11.
Tuo further discloses:
wherein the instructions when read and executed by said processor ([In view of the previously disclosed processor of Di Mambro]), cause said non-transitory computer-readable recording medium ([In view of the previously disclosed non-transitory computer-readable medium of Di Mambro]) to perform steps comprising:
calculating a unique weight vector from the tensor ([0039] This tensor may be transformed into a similarity matrix with dimensions N*M*N, which may allow for a similarity score to be generated for each pair of voice recordings and for each speaker [A similarity matrix, comprised of vectors for each audio input, indicates the matrix is comprising at least one weight, i.e. similarity, vector]);
calculating a first weighted activation sequence from the first activation sequence using the unique weight vector and a second weighted activation sequence from the second activation sequence using the unique weight vector ([0039] A predictive vector may be generated from the similarity matrix. The resulting predictive vector may have a size of N*M, and each entry in the predictive vector may include an indication of a speaker predicted to be associated with each of the N*M recordings [In view of the activation sequences, i.e. normalized feature vectors, of Di Mambro, determining a predictive vector based on the similarity matrix indicates the predictive vector is a first weighted activation function dependent upon the unique weight vector (contained within the similarity matrix). Further, this operation could be applied to the second activation sequence of Di Mambro without a change in functionality]).
Di Mambro in view of Tuo does not disclose:
calculating a mean and a covariance of the first and second weighted activation sequences;
concatenating the mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence and of the second weighted activation sequence;
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the first weighted activation sequence;
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the second weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the second weighted activation sequence.
Gimenez discloses:
calculating a mean ([0036] average feature vectors of audio data may e.g. be calculated by calculating the mean) and a covariance ([Fig. 1D, [0019] The Gaussian classifier may be a full-covariance Gaussian classifier, e.g. a Gaussian classifier in which each Gaussian is described including a full covariance, [Determining a covariance classifier, wherein that classifier is used to compare audio data features, see Fig. 1D, in view of the record and obtained audio of Di Mambro]) of the first and second weighted activation sequences ([In view of the previously disclosed first and second weighted activation sequence of Di Mambro in view of Tuo which could be used as the audio data file and adaptation audio data file of Gimenez, respectively]);
concatenating the mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence and of the second weighted activation sequence ([0101] a mean vector and a covariance matrix [Means in vector format and a covariance in matrix format indicates a required concatenation of means and covariances to develop the structure, in view of the first and second weighted activation sequences of Di Mambro in view of Tuo]);
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the first weighted activation sequence ([In view of the previous concatenation of mean and covariance for the first weighted activation sequence, it is unclear to the examiner what a further concatenation is achieving. There appears to be concatenation of two previously concatenated elements, indicating no operation to be performed. As such, the first concatenation should result in embeddings as defined in this step]);
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the second weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the second weighted activation sequence ([In view of the previous concatenation of mean and covariance for the second weighted activation sequence, it is unclear to the examiner what a further concatenation is achieving. There appears to be concatenation of two previously concatenated elements, indicating no operation is to be performed. As such, the first concatenation should result in embeddings as defined in this step.]).
Di Mambro, Tuo, and Gimenez are considered analogous art within audio signal authentication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Di Mambro in view of Tuo to incorporate the teachings of Gimenez, because of the novel way to compare audio signals based on mean and covariance parameters among the signals, improving a speaker recognition system's ability to detect (Gimenez, [0004]).
Regarding claim 15, Di Mambro in view of Tuo discloses: the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11.
Tuo further discloses:
wherein the instructions when read and executed by said processor ([In view of the previously disclosed processor of Di Mambro]), cause said non-transitory computer-readable recording medium ([In view of the previously disclosed non-transitory computer-readable medium of Di Mambro]) to perform steps comprising:
calculating a first weight vector from the tensor and the first activation sequence ([0060] This tensor may be used to generate a similarity matrix based on a calculated similarity between each pair of utterances [In view of the definition of weighted activation sequences in the instant app, [0071], which only discloses generation of weighted sequences through the tensor, indicating a tensor generating a similarity matrix represents at least a first weight vector, i.e. in view of the record and obtained audio sequences and associated activation sequence of Di Mambro indicating at least two vectors which could be weighted based on a similarity determination]);
calculating a second weight vector from the tensor and the second activation sequence ([In view of the second activation sequence of Di Mambro, applying the method disclosed in Tuo (above element) to a second activation sequence does not change the functionality of the weight, i.e. similarity, determination, indicating a second weight vector calculation in view of the multiple input signals/activation sequences of Di Mambro]);
calculating a first weighted activation sequence from the first activation sequence and the first weight vector ([0060] a predictive vector may be generated from the generated similarity matrix [Generating a predictive vector from a similarity matrix comprised of vectors, i.e. weighted activation sequences, wherein the similarity matrix is determined based on a comparison of activation sequences, in view of the activation sequences of Di Mambro, indicates the predictive vector is calculated to represent a first weighted activation sequence]);
calculating a second weighted activation sequence from the second activation sequence and the second weight vector ([In view of the second activation sequence of Di Mambro and the similarity matrix containing at least a second weight vector of Tuo, performing the same predictive vector calculation as applied to the first activation sequence (see above claim element) could be applied using the second activation sequence and weight vector without a change in functionality]).
Di Mambro in view of Tuo does not disclose:
calculating a mean and a covariance of the first and second weighted activation sequences;
concatenating the mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence and of the second weighted activation sequence;
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the first weighted activation sequence;
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the second weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the second weighted activation sequence.
Gimenez discloses:
calculating a mean ([0036] average feature vectors of audio data may e.g. be calculated by calculating the mean) and a covariance ([Fig. 1D, [0019] The Gaussian classifier may be a full-covariance Gaussian classifier, e.g. a Gaussian classifier in which each Gaussian is described including a full covariance, [Determining a covariance classifier, wherein that classifier is used to compare audio data features, see Fig. 1D, in view of the record and obtained audio of Di Mambro]) of the first and second weighted activation sequences ([In view of the previously disclosed first and second weighted activation sequence of Di Mambro in view of Tuo which could be used as the audio data file and adaptation audio data file respectively]);
concatenating the mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence and of the second weighted activation sequence ([0101] a mean vector and a covariance matrix [Means in vector format and a covariance in matrix format indicates a required concatenation of means and covariances to develop the structure, in view of the first and second weighted activation sequences of Di Mambro in view of Tuo]);
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the first weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the first weighted activation sequence ([In view of the previous concatenation of mean and covariance for the first weighted activation sequence, it is unclear to the examiner what a further concatenation is achieving. There appears to be concatenation of two previously concatenated elements, indicating no operation to be performed. As such, the first concatenation should result in embeddings as defined in this step]);
concatenating the concatenated mean and covariance of the second weighted activation sequence to calculate the embedding for the second weighted activation sequence ([In view of the previous concatenation of mean and covariance for the second weighted activation sequence, it is unclear to the examiner what a further concatenation is achieving. There appears to be concatenation of two previously concatenated elements, indicating no operation is to be performed. As such, the first concatenation should result in embeddings as defined in this step.]).
Di Mambro, Tuo, and Gimenez are considered analogous art within audio signal authentication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Di Mambro in view of Tuo to incorporate the teachings of Gimenez, because of the novel way to compare audio signals based on mean and covariance parameters among the signals, improving a speaker recognition system's ability to detect (Gimenez, [0004]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Simonchik et al. (US-20240071393-A1) discloses “Methods and devices identify a speaker by extracting speech features from at least one keyword. A speaker vector is produced by feeding the extracted speech features to a pre-trained neural network. The pre-trained neural network includes a convolutional neural network. The convolutional neural network serves as a backbone and provides a backbone embedding. The pre-trained neural network also includes a neural subnetwork. The produced speaker vector is compared with at least one of registered speaker vectors corresponding to known speakers to identify the speaker.” (abstract). See entire document.
Sly et al. (US-20210326422-A1) discloses “authenticating users using a plurality of non-deterministic registration biometric inputs. During registration, a plurality of non-deterministic biometric inputs are given as input to a trained machine learning model to generate sets of feature vectors. The non-deterministic biometric inputs can include a plurality of face images and a plurality of voice samples of a user. A characteristic identity vector for the user can be determined by averaging feature vectors. During authentication, a plurality of non-deterministic biometric inputs are given as input to a trained machine learning model to generate a set of authentication feature vectors. The sets of feature vectors are projected onto a surface of a hyper-sphere. The system can authenticate the user when a cosine distance between the authentication feature vector and a characteristic identity vector for the user is less than a pre-determined threshold.” (abstract). See entire document.
Xu et al. (US-20240013789-A1) discloses “a voice control method and apparatus, a wearable device, and a terminal. The method includes: obtaining voice information of a user; obtaining identity information of the user based on a first voiceprint recognition result of a first voice component of the voice information, a second voiceprint recognition result of a second voice component of the voice information, and a third voiceprint recognition result of a third voice component of the voice information, where the first voice component is captured by an in-ear voice sensor of a wearable device, the second voice component is captured by an out-of-ear voice sensor of the wearable device, and the third voice component is captured by a bone vibration sensor of the wearable device; and executing an operation instruction when the identity information of the user matches the preset identity information.” (abstract). See entire document.
/THEODORE WITHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2655 /ANDREW C FLANDERS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2655