DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election
1. Applicant’s election of claims 1-11, without traverse, in the reply filed on December 5, 2025, is acknowledged.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 5, 2023, and January 24, 2024, have been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 112
4. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 7, the phrase, “the coloring and/or structure of the carpets” is indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 4 does not recite a coloring.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/947158. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites similar subject matter as claims 1 of copending ‘158, as copending ‘158 encompasses all the limitations of the instantly claimed invention.
All of the remaining instant claims recite similar subject matter as claims 2, 9, 11 and 13-15 of copending '158.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itakura (JP 2010207530 A).
Itakura discloses a car floor mat having hooking means such as one side strip of a hook-and-loop fastener, on the back side, which provides an effective fixing state for securing both of fixation and easy attachment/detachment, where a linear body having linear projections made of elastic and rigid monofilaments, is used as the hooking means. The linear body is fixed so as to be exposed on one side of a substrate made of a nonwoven fabric or the like and the linear body is easily twisted or rotated has projections, so that the projections have different directions spontaneously or by very simple processing, and also may have a high hooking force (abstract). Figure 5 of Itakura shows first and second hook and loop elements:
. Itakura discloses a linear body may be fixed to the non-woven fabric to the mat body by an appropriate means such as a hot melt adhesive or thermocompression bonding (paragraph 42), as in claim 1.
In claim 1, the phrase, “configured to be fastened to the floor unit by a hook-and-loop connection between the first hook-and-loop element and the second hook-and-loop element” is an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Concerning claim 2, Itakura discloses a linear body may be fixed to the non-woven fabric to the mat body by an appropriate means such as a hot melt adhesive or thermocompression bonding (welded, paragraph 42). In claim 2, the phrase, “attached to the floor unit by a welded connection” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having hook-and-loop elements. The reference suggests such a product because Itakura discloses a car floor mat having hooking means such as one side strip of a hook-and-loop fastener, on the back side, which provides an effective fixing state for securing both of fixation and easy attachment/detachment, where a linear body having linear projections made of elastic and rigid monofilaments, is used as the hooking means. The linear body is fixed so as to be exposed on one side of a substrate made of a nonwoven fabric or the like and the linear body is easily twisted or rotated has projections, so that the projections have different directions spontaneously or by very simple processing, and also may have a high hooking force (abstract). Figure 5 of Itakura shows first and second hook and loop elements.
Concerning claim 3, Itakura discloses a car floor mat having hooking means such as one side strip of a hook-and-loop fastener, on the back side, which provides an effective fixing state for securing both of fixation and easy attachment/detachment, where a linear body having linear projections made of elastic and rigid monofilaments, is used as the hooking means. The linear body is fixed so as to be exposed on one side of a substrate made of a nonwoven fabric or the like and the linear body is easily twisted or rotated has projections, so that the projections have different directions spontaneously or by very simple processing, and also may have a high hooking force (abstract). Figure 5 of Itakura shows the floor element is bonded to the attachment.
.
Concerning claim 4, Figure 5 of Itakura shows the floor unit has upward pointing carpet material.
Concerning claim 5, Itakura discloses a linear body may be fixed to the non-woven fabric to the mat body by an appropriate means such as a hot melt adhesive or thermocompression bonding (welded, paragraph 42).
.
Concerning claim 6, Itakura discloses a car floor mat having hooking means such as one side strip of a hook-and-loop fastener, on the back side, which provides an effective fixing state for securing both of fixation and easy attachment/detachment, where a linear body having linear projections made of elastic and rigid monofilaments, is used as the hooking means. The linear body is fixed so as to be exposed on one side of a substrate made of a nonwoven fabric or the like and the linear body is easily twisted or rotated has projections, so that the projections have different directions spontaneously or by very simple processing, and also may have a high hooking force (abstract). Figure 5 of Itakura shows the first hook-and-loop element is directly fastened to the carpet, where the carpet is fastened to the floor element and the attachment is fastened to the carpet.
Concerning claim 8, Itakura discloses a car floor mat having hooking means such as one side strip of a hook-and-loop fastener, on the back side, which provides an effective fixing state for securing both of fixation and easy attachment/detachment, where a linear body having linear projections made of elastic and rigid monofilaments, is used as the hooking means. The linear body is fixed so as to be exposed on one side of a substrate made of a nonwoven fabric or the like and the linear body is easily twisted or rotated has projections, so that the projections have different directions spontaneously or by very simple processing, and also may have a high hooking force (abstract). Regarding the mushroom shaped elements, the court held that the configuration of the claimed apparatus was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed apparatus was significant In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo (KR 2002042044 Y1).
Ryoo discloses a floor mat for a vehicle having a floor unit, a first and second hook and loop element and a floor mat (abstract), as shown in Figure 3:
, as in claim 1.
In claim 1, the phrase, “configured to be fastened to the floor unit by a hook-and-loop connection between the first hook-and-loop element and the second hook-and-loop element” is an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
In claim 1, the phrase, “materially bonded to the floor unit” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having a hook and loop element for a floor mat. The reference suggests such a product because Ryoo discloses a floor mat for a vehicle having a floor unit, a first and second hook and loop element and a floor mat (abstract and Figure 3).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weber (KR DE 102010042284 A1).
Weber discloses a vehicle having an inlay mat secured at a bottom lining of a vehicle floor by a hook and loop fastener system. A lower side of the mat comprises a fastening element, of the fastener system and another fastening element of the fastener system fastened in or at the lining. The fastening element is arranged at the mat and connected with the lower side of the mat, and a resilient ring is fastened to an outer periphery of one of the fastening elements by welding operation at the fastening element. The coating pad includes polyamide fibers (abstract), as in claims 1-3.
In claim 1, the phrase, “configured to be fastened to the floor unit by a hook-and-loop connection between the first hook-and-loop element and the second hook-and-loop element” is an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Concerning claim 5, Figure 2 of Weber shows the hook and loop element directly fastened to the carpet.
Concerning claim 6, Figure 2 of Weber shows the floor unit has a floor element and attachment, where the attachment is fastened to the floor element and to the carpet, where the carpet is fastened to the floor element and the attachment is fastened to the carpet.
Concerning claim 8, Weber discloses a vehicle having an inlay mat secured at a bottom lining of a vehicle floor by a hook and loop fastener system. A lower side of the mat comprises a fastening element, of the fastener system and another fastening element of the fastener system fastened in or at the lining. The fastening element is arranged at the mat and connected with the lower side of the mat, and a resilient ring is fastened to an outer periphery of one of the fastening elements by welding operation at the fastening element. The coating pad includes polyamide fibers (abstract).
Regarding the mushroom shaped elements, the court held that the configuration of the claimed apparatus was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed apparatus was significant In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Concerning claims 10-11, Weber discloses a vehicle having an inlay mat secured at a bottom lining of a vehicle floor by a hook and loop fastener system. A lower side of the mat comprises a fastening element, of the fastener system and another fastening element of the fastener system fastened in or at the lining. The fastening element is arranged at the mat and connected with the lower side of the mat, and a resilient ring is fastened to an outer periphery of one of the fastening elements by welding operation at the fastening element. The coating pad includes polyamide fibers (abstract).
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781