DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The claims submitted 08/07/2023 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-8 are pending and examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0138716 A1 (“Iwama”) in view of JP 2013-168317 A1 (“Minamigata” – machine translation of record in parent application 17/171,142 dated 05/10/2023 cited herein).
Regarding claim 1, Iwama discloses a battery comprising an electrode body 30 (Abstract; Figs. 1, 2). The electrode body 30 comprises a cathode 10, an anode 20, and an electrolyte layer 32 (Abstract; Figs. 1, 2). The anode 20 comprises an anode current collector 22 made of a metal such as nickel ([0027]) and an anode active material layer 23 (Figs. 3A, 3B).
The anode current collector 22 has a covering region 22A (“laminate surface”) which contacts the anode active material layer 23, and an exposed region 22S (“connection surface”) as a flat and smooth region in which the anode active material layer 23 does not exist and the anode current collector 22 is exposed (Figs. 3A, 3B; [0025]).
The surface roughness of the anode current collector 22 in the exposed region 22S is smaller than the surface roughness (ten point height of roughness profile Rz) of the covering region 22A ([0026]).
Iwama does not disclose the battery comprises a plurality of electrode bodies, wherein one of the electrode bodies and another of the electrode bodies are connected via a conductive material.
Minamigata discloses a secondary battery comprising an electrode body 25 of multi-layer structure, wherein a plurality of electrode leads are joined together (Abstract). The electrode body 25 comprises repeated stacks of positive electrode sheets 21, negative electrode sheets, and sheet-type separators sandwiched therebetween (Abstract) and is therefore considered to contain a plurality of electrode bodies as claimed. The positive and negative electrodes current collector terminals are joined to the respective electrode leads with a conductive epoxy resin 33 (Abstract; Figs. 5, 8A; [0036]). The structure improves the volume energy density and weight energy density ([0043]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the structure of Minamigata to improve the volume and weight energy density of the battery.
Regarding claim 2, modified Iwama discloses the battery of claim 1. Iwama discloses the surface roughness Rz of the exposed region in Example 3-1 is 0.8 µm (Table 3). See also the discussion in [0026].
Regarding claim 3, modified Iwama discloses the battery of claim 1. Minamigata further discloses that solder can be used instead of the conductive epoxy resin ([0059]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Iwama discloses the battery of claim 1. Minamigata further discloses the current collectors have electrode leads 21a, 21b (“tabs”). In the combination, the electrode leads have the connection surface.
Regarding claim 5, modified Iwama discloses the battery of claim 1. Iwama discloses the cathode current collector 12 is made of a metal material such as aluminum, nickel, and stainless ([0022]). While Iwama does not expressly disclose the combination of aluminum and nickel as claimed, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a combination of two of the disclosed elements of the group because, as shown by Iwama, they are known in the art for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 7, modified Iwama discloses the battery of claim 1. As shown in Figs. 1 of Minamigata, the positive electrode leads 21a are joined and the negative electrode leads 22a are joined. Therefore, the electrode bodies are connected in parallel.
Regarding claim 8, modified Iwama discloses the battery of claim 1. As shown in Fig. 2 of Minamigata, a separator 23 is disposed between each electrode body. The separator is made of an insulating material ([0025]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0138716 A1 (“Iwama”) in view of JP 2013-168317 A1 (“Minamigata” – machine translation of record in parent application 17/171,142 dated 05/10/2023 cited herein) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2015/0255827 A1 (“Matsushita”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Iwama discloses the battery of claim 1. Modified Iwama does not expressly disclose one of the electrode bodies another of the electrode bodies are connected in series via the conductive material.
Matsushita discloses a battery including a plurality of electrode bodies (Abstract). Matsushita discloses that the stacked unit batteries C1 to C4 are connected to one another in series and/or in parallel to form one combined battery ([0103]). As a person having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize, connecting battery units in series increases the voltage and connecting battery units in parallel increases the capacity. Tt would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect at least on the electrode bodies with another of the electrode bodies in series depending on the voltage requirements of the system.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,764,445 in view of US 2008/0138716 A1 (“Iwama”). The instant claims differ from the claims of the Patent in the recitation of at least one of the metal current collectors connected via the conductive material contains Ni. However, this feature is obvious over Iwama. Iwama discloses nickel is a known material for cathode current collectors ([0022]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use nickel as material of the current collector as it amounts selection of a known material for the same purpose.
Contact Information
Robert Scott Carrico
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/Robert S Carrico/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727