DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6 line 3, it is unclear if the recitation “a longitudinal axis” is referencing the previously recited longitudinal axis (cl. 1 line 10), or another longitudinal axis.
Claim 7 is rejected due to its dependence upon claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3,564,688 to De Gain.
Re-claim 1, De Gain discloses a unit cell for vibration damping, the unit cell comprising: a plurality of rib elements (see figure 9, each corrugated section is interpreted as a rib element), at least one rib element of the plurality of rib elements comprising: three or more bendable solid hinge portions 71/72 oriented along at least two distinct planes of the respective rib element, the three or more bendable solid hinge portions form a Sarrus linkage within the respective rib element, each of the three or more bendable solid hinge portions is configured to absorb energy by converting the energy into linear motion along a longitudinal axis of the respective rib element to thereby dampen vibration within the three-dimensional lattice structure. Compression of the structure will absorb energy.
Re-claim 5, a surface area of the respective rib element is increased at a vertex 71 of the three or more bendable solid hinge portions relative to another portion of the respective rib element. Upon compression, the hinge will present a larger surface area, as is expected in the instant invention, which is not shown or clearly disclosed.
Re-claim 6, the respective rib element is configured to be compressed such that the three or more bendable solid hinge portions fold outward away from the longitudinal axis of the respective rib element responsive to a compressive loading.
Re-claim 7, the respective rib element is configured to be stretched such that the three or more bendable solid hinge portions fold inward toward a longitudinal axis of the respective rib element responsive to a tensile loading. Stretching or pulling the structure will result in a flattening of the bendable portions 72.
Re-claim 8, De Gain discloses a three-dimensional lattice structure for vibration damping, the three-dimensional lattice structure comprising a plurality of unit cells (see figure 2), each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells comprising: a plurality of rib elements (each corrugated portion), at least one rib element of the plurality of rib elements comprising: at least one Sarrus linkage having three or more bendable solid hinge portions 71 (that are additively manufactured, the process of manufacture does not define the invention, MPEP 2113) and oriented along at least two distinct planes of the respective rib element, the at least one Sarrus linkage is configured to absorb energy by converting the energy into linear motion along a longitudinal axis of the respective rib element to thereby dampen vibration within the three-dimensional lattice structure.
Re-claim 9, the additively manufactured 3D printing technique is seen as a product-by-process claim, see MPEP 2113. This type of manufacturing method is not interpreted as defining the apparatus claim.
Re-claim 11, at least one rib element of the plurality of rib elements comprises a hollow section (see portion 73) configured to reduce a weight of the three-dimensional lattice structure.
Re-claim 12, end portion 73 is seen as a non-bendable rib element.
Re-claim 13, at least a portion of the three-dimensional lattice structure is configured to surround a sensitive component to protect the sensitive component from shock. As shown in figure 2, a sensitive component can be placed within an area protected by the lattice structure.
Re-claim 14, the three-dimensional lattice structure comprises a stretch-dominated lattice structure.
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 108583483 A to Wei et al.
Re-claim 1, Wei et al. disclose a unit cell for vibration damping, the unit cell comprising: a plurality of rib elements (see figure 6), at least one rib element of the plurality of rib elements comprising: three or more bendable solid hinge portions 1020 oriented along at least two distinct planes of the respective rib element, the three or more bendable solid hinge portions form a Sarrus linkage within the respective rib element, each of the three or more bendable solid hinge portions is configured to absorb energy by converting the energy into linear motion along a longitudinal axis of the respective rib element to thereby dampen vibration within the three-dimensional lattice structure.
Re-claim 5, a surface area of the respective rib element is increased at a vertex 1020 of the three or more bendable solid hinge portions relative to another portion of the respective rib element. Upon compression, the hinge will present a larger surface area, as is expected in the instant invention, which is not shown or clearly disclosed.
Re-claim 6, the respective rib element is configured to be compressed such that the three or more bendable solid hinge portions fold outward away from the longitudinal axis of the respective rib element responsive to a compressive loading.
Re-claim 7, the respective rib element is configured to be stretched such that the three or more bendable solid hinge portions fold inward toward a longitudinal axis of the respective rib element responsive to a tensile loading. Stretching or pulling the structure will result in a flattening of the bendable portions 1020.
Re-claim 8, Wei et al. disclose a three-dimensional lattice structure for vibration damping, the three-dimensional lattice structure comprising a plurality of unit cells (see figure 6), each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells comprising: a plurality of rib elements (each unit 100), at least one rib element of the plurality of rib elements comprising: at least one Sarrus linkage having three or more bendable solid hinge portions 1020 (that are additively manufactured, the process of manufacture does not define the invention, MPEP 2113) and oriented along at least two distinct planes of the respective rib element, the at least one Sarrus linkage is configured to absorb energy by converting the energy into linear motion along a longitudinal axis of the respective rib element to thereby dampen vibration within the three-dimensional lattice structure.
Re-claim 9, the additively manufactured 3D printing technique is seen as a product-by-process claim, see MPEP 2113. This type of manufacturing method is not interpreted as defining the apparatus claim.
Re-claim 13, at least a portion of the three-dimensional lattice structure is configured to surround a sensitive component to protect the sensitive component from shock. As shown in figure 6, a sensitive component can be placed within an area protected by the lattice structure.
Re-claim 14, the three-dimensional lattice structure comprises a stretch-dominated lattice structure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 8, 11-15, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13-15, 19 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,761,503 to Rueger et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims recite three or more bendable solid hinge portions, which obviously covers the four or more bendable solid hinge portions recited in the patented claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 10 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. De Gain; Melton, Ohtani, Kang, Akiyama, Sissom, Cook, Berger Zhao, Delahousse and Swift each teach an energy absorbing feature having a Sarrus linkage.
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128. The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW
December 16, 2025
/THOMAS J WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616