DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasan et al. (US Patent 6,214,502) in view JP 2019-211546.
Srinivasan teaches a photoreceptor comprising a conductive substrate, a charge generating layer and a charge transporting layer (Col. 3 ln. 31-41). Additionally, Srinivasan teaches dark decay values of the photoreceptors in Table 6. Several of the inventive photoreceptors taught in Table 6 have dark decay values above 100 V/sec. The charge transport layer of Srinivasan is further taught to have a thickness of 10 to 40 micrometers (Col. 7 ln. 47-49). Srivinivasan does not, however, teach a surface layer for the photoreceptor.
JP ‘546 teaches a photoreceptor comprising a conductive substrate, a charge generating layer, a charge transporting layer a surface protective layer (Abstract). Additionally, the relative thickness of the protective layer and the charge transport layer is taught to be result effective in preventing peeling while improving image sensitivity and abrasion resistance (Abstract, [0002]). JP ‘546 teaches that the film thickness of the protective layer and the charge transport layer should be in the range of 10 to 17 micrometers while the average film thickness should preferably be from 8 to 20 micrometers and the average thickness of the protective layer should preferably in the range of 1 to 7 micrometers ([0024], [0055], [0063-64]). In addition to the prevention of peeling these film thicknesses are taught to improve the electrophotographic characteristics of the photoreceptor. In Example 1 the charge transport layer is taught to have a thickness of 12 micrometers and the protective layer is taught to have a thickness of 3 micrometers for a ratio according to the limitations the Applicant’s pending claim 7 of 4 (see Example 1 [0080-81] of the provided translation). JP ‘546 further teaches a process cartridge and image forming apparatus ([0070-74]). As JP ‘546 teaches that the use of a protective layer and charge transport layer with optimized film thicknesses improves sensitivity, abrasion resistance and film peeling it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to have utilized the protective layer and film thicknesses taught by JP ‘546 in the photoreceptor of Srinivasan.
Claim(s) 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasan et al. (US Patent 6,214,502) in view JP 2019-211546 and further in view of Yoshida et al. (US PGP 2020/0096899).
The complete discussions of Srinivasan and JP ‘546 above are included herein. JP ‘546 teaches an image forming apparatus comprising all of the components recited by the Applicant in pending claims 13-20 but does not teach a DC voltage supplying contact charger.
Yoshida teaches an image forming apparatus comprising a contact charging roller and containing all of the elements recited by the Applicant in pending claims 13-20 (Abstract, [0011-43]). The charging roller is further taught to apply only a DC voltage to the photoreceptor (photosensitive drum; [0004]). Furthermore, Yoshida teaches that by utilizing such a charging roller imaging characteristics are improved such as the prevention of printing lateral stripes and production of uniform image density ([0036-43]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to have utilized the protective layer and film thicknesses taught by JP ‘546 in the photoreceptor of Srinivasan and to have used this modified photoreceptor in the image forming apparatus of Yoshida.
Conclusion
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 02/19/2026