Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 3/11/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the floss retention tooth on the at least one floss cleat must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Applicant’s disclosure describes floss retention teeth 42 and teeth 40c engage to retain floss therebetween; however, the teeth 42 are provided on the second housing 14 and the teeth 40c are provided on the floss anchor 40. No teeth are provided on the cleats 40a,40b.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations “tensioning component”, “guide feature”, “locking mechanism” and “cutting feature” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “component”, “feature” or “mechanism” coupled with functional language “tensioning”, “guide”, “locking” and “cutting” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 12, 14, 15 and 17 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The disclosure states the tensioning component is a slider/button having a flosser anchor to which the floss is coupled. The guide feature is a surface the floss contacts. The disclosure states the locking mechanism is a slide lock, rotary lock, push-pull mechanism, ball-spring plungers or button locks. The cutting feature is described as a floss cutter or a cutting blade.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the unit of flossing material" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not positively recite a unit of flossing material (“configured to at least partially receive a unit of flossing material”). If Applicant wishes to positively recite the unit of flossing material, claim 1 must be amended accordingly.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the spool of dental floss" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16 recites “the flossing device is configured to receive a spool of dental floss”, which is not a positive recitation of a spool of dental floss. If Applicant wishes to positively recite a spool of dental floss, claim 16 must be amended accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bushman (US 20210259816).
Regarding claim 1, Bushman discloses a flossing device, comprising: a first housing section (12), configured to at least partially receive a unit of flossing material; a second housing section (22); and a tensioning component (26,104,20); wherein at least one of the first housing section and the second housing section is further configured to at least partially receive the tensioning component therein and the other of the first housing section and the second housing section is configured to aid in retention of the tensioning component when the flossing device is in a closed configuration (Refer to Figures 1-28 and paragraphs 0057, 0072, 0074 and 0081). The reference characters vary between embodiments; however, similar components have similar numbering (e.g. 12, 1112, 1212, etc.) and the reference characters mentioned in the rejection are intended to cover similar structure in the different embodiments of Figures 1-28.
Regarding claim 2, Bushman discloses the tensioning component is configured to resist motion of a portion of flossing material of the unit of flossing material when the flossing device is in the closed configuration (Refer to paragraphs 0072, 0074 and 0081).
Regarding claim 3, Bushman discloses the unit of flossing material is a spool of dental floss and wherein the flossing device further comprises a spool cavity (32) defined by the first housing section, wherein the spool cavity is configured to receive at least a portion of the spool of dental floss therein (spool cavity 32 is configured to receive a spool of floss 16).
Regarding claim 4, Bushman discloses at least one floss cleat (78, 82 Refer to Figure 5, other embodiments have similar cleats with different reference characters Refer to Figures 6-18, 21 and 28) provided on the tensioning component.
Regarding claim 5, Bushman discloses at least one floss retention tooth (84, tooth forming 80, other embodiments have similar teeth on the cleats with different reference characters Refer to Figures 6-18, 21 and 28) on the at least one floss cleat.
Regarding claim 6, Bushman discloses at least one ratcheting tooth (teeth of 70 and/or 104) provided on the tensioning component.
Regarding claim 7, Bushman discloses the tensioning component is slidably connected to the first housing section (portion 70 of the tensioning component is slidably connected to the first housing section, a user slides the exposed portion of 70 to reduce tension, when sliding stops the floss is tensioned).
Regarding claim 8, Bushman discloses the tensioning component is at least partially exposed from a surface of the flossing device (exposed through 40) when the flossing device is in the closed configuration (Refer to Figures 1-28).
Regarding claim 10, Bushman discloses at least one prong (14,44,46) provided on at least one of the first housing section and the second housing section, wherein the at least one prong at least partially defines an at least partially open dental volume between the at least one prong and at least one surface of the at least one of the first housing section and the second housing section to enable flossing of teeth by a user (prongs are spaced apart such that a tooth or teeth may be inserted between the prongs).
Regarding claim 11, Bushman discloses a chassis component (120, 1820), wherein at least one of the first housing section and the second housing section is configured to receive the chassis component (Refer to Figures 1-28).
Regarding claim 13, Bushman discloses a mechanical hinge (94,34) connecting the first housing section and the second housing section to one another (Refer to Figures 1, 5, 19 and 20).
Regarding claim 14, Bushman discloses at least one locking feature (96,36) which is configured to aid in retention of the flossing device in the closed configured when the at least one locking feature is in a locked orientation (Refer to paragraph 0075 and Figures 1, 5, 19 and 20).
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kozak (US 20180140397).
Regarding claim 1, Kozak discloses a flossing device, comprising: a first housing section (upper half of 2, Refer to Figures 4A-4B), configured to at least partially receive a unit of flossing material; a second housing section (lower half of 2, Refer to Figures 4A-4B); and a tensioning component (1,401,402,403,407); wherein at least one of the first housing section and the second housing section is further configured to at least partially receive the tensioning component therein and the other of the first housing section and the second housing section is configured to aid in retention of the tensioning component when the flossing device is in a closed configuration (Refer to Figures 1-4B and paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 2, Kozak discloses the tensioning component is configured to resist motion of a portion of flossing material of the unit of flossing material when the flossing device is in the closed configuration (Refer to paragraphs 0050, 0051 and 0055).
Regarding claim 3, Kozak discloses the unit of flossing material is a spool of dental floss and wherein the flossing device further comprises a spool cavity (cavity of 2 which holds 421,422 and spool of floss 5) defined by the first housing section, wherein the spool cavity is configured to receive at least a portion of the spool of dental floss therein (Refer to Figures 2A, 2B, 4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 4, Kozak discloses at least one floss cleat (407 and/or teeth formed between notches of 403) provided on the tensioning component.
Regarding claim 6, Kozak discloses at least one ratcheting tooth (teeth of 402 and/or 401) provided on the tensioning component.
Regarding claim 7, Kozak discloses the tensioning component is slidably connected to the first housing section (1 of the tensioning component slides with respect to the first housing section, Refer to Figures 1-1C, and 4A-4B).
Regarding claim 8, Kozak discloses the tensioning component is at least partially exposed from a surface of the flossing device (1 is exposed) when the flossing device is in the closed configuration (Refer to Figures 1-28).
Regarding claim 9, Kozak discloses the second housing section comprises at least one motion retention tooth (206), configured to resist motion of the tensioning component in at least one direction when the flossing device is in the closed configuration (Refer to paragraphs 0050 and 0055).
Regarding claim 10, Kozak discloses at least one prong (8) provided on at least one of the first housing section and the second housing section, wherein the at least one prong at least partially defines an at least partially open dental volume between the at least one prong and at least one surface of the at least one of the first housing section and the second housing section to enable flossing of teeth by a user (prongs are spaced apart such that a tooth or teeth may be inserted between the prongs).
Regarding claim 11, Kozak discloses a chassis component (421,422 and portion of 4 between 421 and 407, or 404), wherein at least one of the first housing section and the second housing section is configured to receive the chassis component (Refer to Figures 1-4B).
Regarding claim 12, Kozak discloses at least one guide feature (412 or 409) provided on the chassis component, and wherein the at least one guide feature is configured to direct a length of flossing material out of the flossing device or into the flossing device (Refer to Figures 2A and 4A).
Regarding claim 13, Kozak discloses a mechanical hinge (214) connecting the first housing section and the second housing section to one another (Refer to Figures 4A and 4B).
Regarding claim 14, Kozak discloses at least one locking feature (201,202,203) which is configured to aid in retention of the flossing device in the closed configured when the at least one locking feature is in a locked orientation (Refer to paragraph 0054 and Figures 1 and 4B).
Regarding claim 15, Kozak discloses flossing device (Refer to Figures 1-4B), comprising: a first housing section (upper half of 2, Refer to Figures 4A-4B); a second housing section (bottom half of 2, Refer to Figure 4A); a tensioning component (1,403,401,402,407); a mechanical hinge (214) connecting the first housing section and second housing section to one another, wherein the first housing section and second housing section are movable relative to one another between a closed configuration and an open configuration; at least one locking mechanism (201,202,203) configured to aid in retention of the flossing device in the closed configuration (Refer to paragraph 0054); wherein the tensioning component is slidably connected to the first housing section and the tensioning component comprises two floss retention cleats (407 and/or teeth formed between notches of 403), wherein the two floss retention cleats are configured to resist motion of a length of dental floss when the length of dental floss is wrapped at least partially around and between the two floss retention cleats (floss extends over 407 and adjacent teeth of 403 and over to the other one of 407 and the other one of teeth 403; additionally; floss is capable of being wrapped completely about the exterior of the teeth of 403); and wherein the tensioning component further comprises at least one tensioning tooth (teeth of 401,402); at least one motion-resistance tooth (206) provided on one of the first housing section and the second housing section, wherein the at least one motion-resistance tooth is configured to resist motion of the tensioning component when the flossing device is in the closed configuration (Refer to paragraphs 0050 and 0055).
Regarding claim 16, Kozak discloses the flossing device is configured to receive a spool of dental floss therein, and wherein the spool of dental floss is fully enclosed by the first housing section and the second housing section when the flossing device is in the closed configuration (Refer to Figures 2A-2B and 4A-4B, the flossing device is configured with a space that is able to receive a spool of floss and is fully enclosed by the housing sections).
Regarding claim 17, Kozak discloses a floss cutting feature (blade of 3) provided on the flossing device, wherein the floss cutting feature is fully enclosed by the first housing section and the second housing section when the flossing device is in the closed configuration (flossing cutting feature (blade of 3) is disclosed as being on blade plate 205, Refer to Figures 4A, 4B and 1A, such that it is not exposed for the user’s safety, Refer to paragraph 0057).
Conclusion
/TATIANA L NOBREGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799