DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The tables disclosed in paragraphs [0059], [0079]-[0080], and [0084] are blurry and difficult to read. Applicant’s cooperation is respectfully requested in identifying and replacing any other blurry tables/figures not listed above, along with a statement that any amendments contain no new matter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 10-11, 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qi et al. (US PGP 2005/0233235 A1).
Qi teaches a photoconductive member containing a substrate, a photogenerating layer, a charge transport layer, an optional hole blocking layer or undercoat layer, and a cured overcoat layer comprised of a crosslinked siloxane composite containing a caprolactone-siloxane copolymer group represented by Formula (I) below ([0007]):
In the crosslinked siloxane composite represented by Formula (I) above, R1 and R2 are taught to represent an aryl, an alkyl having 1 to 6 carbons, or a vinyl, and R” is taught to represent divalent linkage or a linking organic group. Divalent linkage examples of R” are taught to be selected from alkylenes having 1 to 30 carbon atoms and arylenes having from 6 to 30 carbon atoms ([0032], claim 3).
A specific example of the crosslinked siloxane composite is taught to be represented by Formula (II) below ([0033]):
The crosslinked siloxane composite represented by Formula (II) above reads on the resin (X) having a unit represented by Formula (X1) recited in instant claim 1.
The molecular weight of the block copolymer represented by Formula (II) is taught to be from about 5,700 to about 6,900 ([0035]) (which reads on the corresponding limitations recited in instant claim 3 and claim 4). Additionally, the content of the block copolymer represented by Formula (II) is taught to be present in an amount of from 0.1 to about 30 weight percent ([0048]) (which overlaps with the corresponding range recited in instant claim 7).
In embodiments, the overcoat layer is taught to further include a hole transport component represented by the following formula IV-a:
The hole transport component represented by formula IV-a above is a reactive group-containing charge transport material containing a reactive group (-OH) and a charge-transporting skeleton (triarylamine) in the same molecule (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 1).
The photoconductive member is taught to be used in methods of imaging and printing which involve the formation of an electrostatic latent image on the imaging member, followed by the developing of the image with a toner composition, transferring the image to a suitable substrate, and affixing the image thereto ([0064]) (which include the corresponding components recited in instant claim 8, claim 10, claim 11, claim 14, claim 15, claim 17 and claim 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi et al. (US PGP 2005/0233235 A1), in view of Kuroiwa et al. (US PGP 2020/0124996 A1).
The teachings of Qi are discussed above and incorporated herein. Qi appears to be silent to teach or suggest the use of a curing agent containing a guanamine compound or a melamine compound.
Kuroiwa teaches an electrophotographic photosensitive member including a surface layer being a cured film of a composition containing at least one compound selected from a guanamine compound and a melamine compound ([0068]). The use of the guanamine compound and/or the melamine compound as curing agent(s) is taught to impart appropriate hydrophobicity to the surface layer, promote crosslinking of the coating film, and improve solubility ([0071], [0088]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the guanamine compound and/or a melamine compound of Kuroiwa as the curing agent in Qi’s overcoat layer, in view of adjusting the hydrophobicity and improving the crosslinking of the overcoat layer.
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami et al. (US PGP 2015/0056547 A1), in view of Kuroiwa et al. (US PGP 2020/0124996 A1).
Murakami teaches a method of producing an electrophotographic photosensitive member including: preparing a solution including a charge transport substance and at least one compound selected from the group consisting of a fluorine-atom-containing polyacrylate, a fluorine-atom-containing polymethacrylate, a polycarbonate having a siloxane bond, a polyester having a siloxane bond, a polystyrene having a siloxane bond, a silicone oil, a polyolefin, an aliphatic acid, an aliphatic acid amide, and an aliphatic acid ester; dispersing the solution in water to prepare an emulsion; forming a coat for the charge transporting layer by using the emulsion; and heating the coat to form the charge transporting layer ([0018]).
The electrophotographic photosensitive member is taught to include a support, a charge generating layer, a charge transporting layer, and a protective layer (second charge transporting layer) ([0023]-[0024]). A process cartridge comprising the components recited in instant claim 8, claim 9, and claim 12, and an image forming apparatus comprising the components recited in instant claim 15, claim 16, and claim 19 are also discussed ([0137]-[0142]).
The charge transporting substance is taught to be a substance having a hole transporting ability and includes triarylamine compounds or hydrazone compounds ([0025]). Murakami teaches that the coat of the emulsion may be formed on the first charge transporting layer to form the second charge transporting layer, or both the first and second charge transporting layers may be formed using the emulsion ([0107]). In other words, the protective layer is formed using the emulsion described above.
Examples of the polystyrene having a siloxane bond are taught to include a polystyrene D having a repeating structural unit represented by the following formula (4-1) and a repeating structural unit represented by the following formula (4-2):
In the formula (4-1), m7 is taught to be an integer from 1 to 10 and m8 is taught to be an integer from 20 to 100 ([0064]). The repeating structural unit represented by formula (4-1) above reads on the formula (X1) recited in instant claim 1.
Examples of the polyolefin are taught to include aliphatic hydrocarbons ([0073]). Specific examples of the polyolefin are taught to include those represented by formulae (6-1) through (6-7), shown below:
The repeating structural unit of the polyolefin represented by, for example, formula (6-1) reads on the formula (X2) recited in instant claim 1.
The polystyrene having a siloxane bond including the repeating structural unit represented by formula (4-1) and the polyolefin represented by formula (6-1) are taught to be used in combination by mixing ([0084]). In other words, the resin formed in the coating liquid for the protective layer includes both a unit corresponding to the claimed formula (X1) and a unit corresponding to the claimed formula (X2) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 5).
Murakami appears to be silent to teach that the charge transporting substance includes materials containing a reactive group. Murakami also appears to be silent to teach or suggest the use of a curing agent containing a guanamine compound or a melamine compound.
Kuroiwa teaches an electrophotographic photosensitive member including a surface layer being a cured film of a composition containing at least one compound selected from a guanamine compound and a melamine compound, and a charge transport material having at least one substituent selected from -OH, -OCH3, -NH2, -SH, and -COOH ([0068]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 1). The use of the guanamine compound and/or the melamine compound as curing agent(s) is taught to impart appropriate hydrophobicity to the surface layer, promote crosslinking of the coating film, and improve solubility ([0071], [0088]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 2).
The charge transport material is taught to include reactive group(s) in view of increasing the crosslinking density of the film, thereby improving the strength of the coating layer. This reduces the rotation torque of the electrophotographic photosensitive member and reduces damage to the cleaning blade, thus promoting the longevity of the photosensitive member ([0092]). Examples of suitable charge transport materials are taught to include triarylamine compounds ([0093]-[0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the guanamine compound and/or a melamine compound of Kuroiwa in the coating liquid of Murakama’s protective layer, in view of adjusting the hydrophobicity and improving the crosslinking of the protective layer. It would have also been obvious to have used a charge transport compound having a reactive group, such as one of the triarylamine compounds taught by Kuroiwa, in view of improving the strength and longevity of the photosensitive member.
Claims 1-2, 7-9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US PGP 2014/0205940 A1), in view of Kuroiwa et al. (US PGP 2020/0124996 A1).
Tanaka teaches an electrophotographic photosensitive member including a support, a charge generating layer, a charge transporting layer, and a surface layer containing a specific resin (β) being at least one resin selected from the group consisting of a polycarbonate resin having a siloxane structure at the end and an acrylic resin having a siloxane structure at the end, and a specific compound (γ) being at least one compound selected from the group consisting of propylene carbonate, γ-butyrolactone, δ-valerolactone, and ε-caprolactone ([0010]).
A process cartridge comprising the components recited in instant claim 8, claim 9, and claim 14, and an image forming apparatus comprising the components recited in instant claim 15 and claim 16 are also discussed ([0114], [0128]).
The acrylic resin having a siloxane structure at the end is taught to be an acrylic resin F having a structural unit represented by the following formula (F-1) and a structural unit represented by the following formula (F-3) ([0056]):
The structural unit represented by formula (F-1) above reads on the claimed unit represented by formula (X1), and the structural unit represented by formula (F-3) above is sufficiently similar to the claimed unit represented by formula (X2)1 recited in instant claim 1.
The content of the specific resin (β) is taught to be 0.1% by mass or more and 50% by mass or less, from the viewpoints of reduction in initial friction coefficient and suppression of the variation in bright portion potential due to repeated use ([0064]) (which overlaps with the corresponding range recited in instant claim 7).
Tanaka appears to be silent to teach that the charge transporting substance includes materials containing a reactive group. Tanaka also appears to be silent to teach or suggest the use of a curing agent containing a guanamine compound or a melamine compound.
Kuroiwa teaches an electrophotographic photosensitive member including a surface layer being a cured film of a composition containing at least one compound selected from a guanamine compound and a melamine compound, and a charge transport material having at least one substituent selected from -OH, -OCH3, -NH2, -SH, and -COOH ([0068]). The use of the guanamine compound and/or the melamine compound as curing agent(s) is taught to impart appropriate hydrophobicity to the surface layer, promote crosslinking of the coating film, and improve solubility ([0071], [0088]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 2).
The charge transport material is taught to include reactive group(s) in view of increasing the crosslinking density of the film, thereby improving the strength of the coating layer. This reduces the rotation torque of the electrophotographic photosensitive member and reduces damage to the cleaning blade, thus promoting the longevity of the photosensitive member ([0092]). Examples of suitable charge transport materials are taught to include triarylamine compounds ([0093]-[0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the guanamine compound and/or a melamine compound of Kuroiwa in the coating liquid of Tanaka’s protective layer, in view of adjusting the hydrophobicity and improving the crosslinking of the protective layer. It would have also been obvious to have used a charge transport compound having a reactive group, such as one of the triarylamine compounds taught by Kuroiwa, in view of improving the strength and longevity of the photosensitive member.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BOONE ALEXANDER EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
03/18/2026
1 Tanaka’s formula (F-3) differs from the claimed formula (X2) in that e in formula (F-3) represents 0 or 1 whereas R204 in formula (X2) represents an alkyl group having 6 or more and 30 or less carbon atoms.