DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 7, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency to a rejected base claim.
Claims 19, discloses that the second wrench is formed as “an adjustable crescent wrench”. However, the applicant previously disclosed “an adjustable crescent wrench” in claim 18. Did the applicant mean to disclose that the second wrench is formed as an adjustable pipe wrench? Further clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (6961973).
In reference to claims 1 and 17, Smith discloses a dual-sided wrench device (Figure 3) comprising:
a first end (i.e. the lower end in Figure 3) comprised of a first wrench (i.e. crescent wrench 3);
a second end (i.e. the upper end in Figure 3) comprised of a second wrench (i.e. pipe wrench 2); and
a handle (17) connected to the first end and the second end (Figure 3).
In reference to claim 3, Smith discloses that the handle is comprised of a grip area (at 17 in Figure 3). The examiner notes the method claim 17 merely discloses the normal operation of the device of claim 1 and therefore the same reasoning as previously discussed above for claim 1 applies mutatis mutandis to the subject matter of claim 17.
In reference to claim 3, Smith discloses that the handle is comprised of a grip area (17, Figure 3).
In reference to claim 4, Smith discloses that the grip area is comprised of a non-slip material (i.e. formed as rubber finger grips 17, see Column 5, Lines 6-9, which meet the non-slip “rubber” material, as described in paragraph 30 of applicant’s Specification).
In reference to claim 5, Smith discloses that the non-slip material is comprised of a raised texture or a recessed texture (see figure below).
[AltContent: textbox (Recessed texture)][AltContent: textbox (Raised texture)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
In reference to claim 6, Smith discloses that the type of wrench of the first wrench differs from the type of wrench of the second wrench, because one is a crescent wrench (3) and the other is a pipe wrench (2, Figure 3).
In reference to claim 18, Smith discloses that the first wrench is comprised of an adjustable crescent wrench (3, Figure 3).
In reference to claim 19, As Best Understood, the examiner notes that claim 17 does not define the ends (i.e. the first end or the second end) in combination with the wrench as previously defined in claim 1. Thus, the adjustable crescent wrench (3), of Smith, meets the limitation of being the second wrench in claim 19. The, examiner believes that claim 19 should actually disclose an adjustable pipe wrench, which Smith also discloses at (2, Figure 3).
In reference to claim 20, Smith discloses that the handle connects the first wrench to the second wrench (Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (6961973) in view of Streater et al. (8464615).
In reference to claim 2, Smith discloses the claimed invention as previously mentioned above, but lacks,
handle including an opening.
However, Streater et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a handle (33) with an opening (49, Figure 3 and Column 2, Lines 55-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the handle, of Smith, with the known technique of providing a handle with the opening, as taught by Streater et al., and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device having a reduced weight (Column 2, Lines 55-57).
In reference to claim 7, Smith discloses a dual-sided wrench device (Figure 3) comprising:
a first end (i.e. the lower end in Figure 3) comprised of a first adjustable crescent wrench (3);
a second end (i.e. the upper end in Figure 3) comprised of a second adjustable pipe wrench (2); and
a handle (17) connected to the first end and the second end (Figure 3).
Smith lacks,
the handle including an opening.
However, Streater et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a handle (33) with an opening (49, Figure 3 and Column 2, Lines 55-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the handle, of Smith, with the known technique of providing a handle with the opening, as taught by Streater et al., and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device having a reduced weight (Column 2, Lines 55-57).
In reference to claim 8, Smith discloses that the adjustable crescent wrench is comprised of a worm screw (at 13 in Figure 2 and is similarly provided in Figure 3).
In reference to claim 9, Smith discloses that the adjustable crescent wrench is comprised of a fixed jaw (at 12 in Figure 2 and is similarly provided in Figure 3).
In reference to claim 10, Smith discloses that the adjustable crescent wrench is comprised of an adjustable jaw (at 11 in Figure 2 and is similarly provided in Figure 3).
In reference to claim 11, Smith discloses that the adjustable crescent wrench is comprised of a seat (shown at 16 in Figure 2 and is similarly provided in Figure 3).
In reference to claim 12, Smith discloses that the adjustable pipe wrench is comprised of a hook jaw (at 5/5A in Figure 3).
In reference to claim 13, Smith discloses that the hook jaw is comprised of a serrated surface (at 5A, in Figure 3 also see Column 3, Lines 60-62).
In reference to claim 14, Smith discloses that the adjustable pipe wrench is comprised of a heel jaw (at 6/6A, in Figure 3).
In reference to claim 15, Smith discloses that the heel jaw is comprised of a serrated surface (at 6A, in Figure 3 also see Column 3, Lines 60-62).
In reference to claim 16, Smith discloses that the adjustable pipe wrench is comprised of an adjustment nut (at 9 in Figure 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saunders (2003/0172782) shows a dual wrench (Figure 7) and also shows various embodiments that the wrench heads could be formed (Figures 1-85).
Nammoto (2018/0021928) also shows that it is known to provide a dual wrench (Figure 20).
/ROBERT J SCRUGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723