DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 13th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues, regarding independent claim 1, 10, and 18, that the prior art does not teach “wherein the protrusions follow a contour of the one or more grooves…”.
Respectfully, the examiner disagrees with regard to claim 1. The language of claim 1 is broader in nature, and simply limit the cover being moved based on the protrusions and grooves. As seen in Yoo, the protrusion (screw/bolt 140) is capable of rotating within the groove (109), which a person of ordinary skill within the art would recognize as reading upon the claims.
However, the examiner further acknowledges that independent claims 10 and 18 provide further limiting language, describing the protrusions following a contour of a groove in order to guide the movement of the cover. The examiner agrees that this amendment overcomes the prior art and the rejection of claims 10, 18, and their dependent claims are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webb et al. (US 7173571 B2), herein referred to as Webb and further in view of Yoo et al. (US 12021294 B2), herein referred to as Yoo.
Regarding claim 1, Webb discloses a wireless receiver (Fig. 1), comprising: a receiver body (100) encompassing one or more antenna elements (102); a cover (101) removably (col. 6, lines 17-19 states cover 101 removed) coupled to the receiver body (100); and a mounting bracket (103) removably coupled (see fig. 1 for close up of brackets and release knobs 112, 113) to the receiver body (100), wherein at least one of the one or more antenna elements (102), the cover (101), or the mounting bracket (103) is movable (col. 5, lines 55-59) with respect to the receiver body in order to align the wireless receiver with a signal path in a radio access network (Col 5, lines 55-59).
Webb does not disclose wherein the receiver body includes an outer casing with one or more grooves, wherein the cover includes one or more protrusions, and wherein the cover is moved in a direction based on the one or more protrusions and one or more grooves.
However, Yoo discloses a similar device for antennas (see fig. 4), wherein the receiver body (fig. 4) includes an outer casing (100) with one or more grooves (109), wherein the cover includes one or more protrusions (140) which extend inward from an interior surface of the cover (see fig. 4, 140 extends inward from 100), and wherein the cover is moved in a direction based on the one or more protrusions and one or more grooves (col. 8 lines 15-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the receiver of Webb wherein the receiver body includes an outer casing with one or more grooves, wherein the cover includes one or more protrusions, and wherein the cover is moved in a direction based on protrusions and grooves, as taught by Yoo, in order to guide the tilting motion (col. 8 line 14).
Regarding claim 2, Webb and Yoo render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Webb also discloses wherein the cover (101) includes a closed end (bottom) and an opposing open (top) end configured to removably receive the receiver body therethrough (see fig. 1), and wherein, to align the wireless receiver with the signal path (col. 5, lines 55-59), the cover is movable between: a first position, in which the cover is coupled to the receiver body such that the closed end of the cover is disposed proximate to a signal-facing surface of the receiver body (when the positioner 103 is lowered fully), and a second position, in which the cover is coupled to the receiver body such that the open end of the cover is disposed proximate to the signal-facing surface of the receiver body (when the positioner 103 is raised/positioned fully).
Regarding claim 3, Webb and Yoo render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Webb also discloses wherein the one or more antenna elements (102) are mounted within the wireless receiver via a pivot mechanism (331), and wherein, to align the wireless receiver with the signal path, the one or more antenna elements are configured to rotate about an axis via the pivot mechanism (col. 6 lines 29-32).
Regarding claim 4, Webb and Yoo render obvious all limitations of base claim 3.
Webb also discloses wherein, to align the wireless receiver with the signal path, the one or more antenna elements (102) are configured to automatically rotate about the axis upon the wireless receiver being powered up (col.2 lines 55-58).
Regarding claim 6, Webb and Yoo render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Webb also discloses wherein, to align the wireless receiver with the signal path, the mounting bracket (103) is movable between: a first position, in which the mounting bracket is coupled to the receiver body such that the mounting bracket is disposed proximate to a signal-facing surface of the receiver body, and a second position, in which the mounting bracket is coupled to the receiver body such that the mounting bracket is disposed proximate to a surface of the receiver body opposite from the signal-facing surface (when the antenna is lowered and when the antenna is extended fully) .
Regarding claim 7, Webb and Yoo render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Webb also discloses wherein the mounting bracket (103) includes a rotating mechanism (331) such that the receiver body is rotatable with respect to the mounting bracket (further see fig. 9 for an alternatively shaped device for a better visualization).
Regarding claim 8, Webb and Yoo render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Webb also discloses wherein; to align the wireless receiver with the signal path, the mounting bracket (103) includes a wedge mechanism such that the receiver body is tiltable with respect to a mounting surface (see fig. 4, 109 and 110 acts as a wedge to tilt the antenna).
Regarding claim 9, Webb and Yoo render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Webb also discloses further comprising an Ethernet port (604, 605) configured to supply power to the one or more antenna elements (col. 8, lines 8-28).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webb and Yoo and further in view of Fried et al. (US 20200119457 A1), herein referred to as Fried.
Regarding claim 5, Webb and Yoo render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Webb does not disclose wherein the one or more antenna elements include at least: a first antenna element associated with a long term evolution frequency band, a second antenna element associated with a C-band frequency band, and a third antenna element associated with a millimeter wave frequency band.
However, Fried discloses a device in which multiple antenna elements include at least: a first antenna element associated with a long term evolution frequency band, a second antenna element associated with a C-band frequency band, and a third antenna element associated with a millimeter wave frequency band (para. 0014, all listed bands fall within these given parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified receiver of Webb wherein multiple antenna elements include at least: a first antenna element associated with a long term evolution frequency band, a second antenna element associated with a C-band frequency band, and a third antenna element associated with a millimeter wave frequency band, as taught by Fried, to operate in a plurality of desired frequencies (para. 0014).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-20 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 10 and claim 18, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combination with other claimed limitations, wherein the one or more protrusions follow a contour of the one or more grooves to guide movement of the removable cover relative to the receiver body.
Conclusion
/BRANDON SEAN WOODS/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845