DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation/Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“selector”
“acceptor”
“acquirer”
“giver”
“calculator”
in claims 1-7 and 18-20.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. However, the instant specification does not specifically link these limitations to a particular corresponding hardware element in a way one of ordinary skill in the art would clearly understand. As such, claims 1-7 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter regarded as the invention. This is true for the following limitations:
“selector”
“acceptor”
“acquirer”
“giver”
“calculator”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Reasons for allowance will be provided in the event the application becomes in condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, 13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khang (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2024/0104454) in view of Nashif (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0158241)
Regarding claim 1, Khang (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2024/0104454) discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
a receiver configured to receive request information for requesting work from a work-from-a first employee to a second employee working in a business office (paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0046], [0047], [0049], gigs/requests can be uploaded to the system for workers to view and accept on the app);
a display controller configured to display, on a display, work indicated by the request information received by the receiver (paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0046], [0051]-[0053], the worker can view the posted gig jobs and decide whether or not to accept one on the app); and
a selector configured to receive a selection of work to be performed by the second employee among the work indicated by the request information received by the receiver (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], the gig worker accepts the job- or declines – and either way the decision is updated on the database)
Khang et al. does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the request is from a work-from-home employee to an office employee working in a business office
Nashif (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0158241) discloses:
wherein the request is from a remotely work employee to an office employee working in a business office (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], the supervisor is working remotely and assigns a task to the worker that is working in the workplace)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Nashif with the system of Khang such that the system would have been configured to have the request be from a remotely work employee to an office employee working in a business office as described in Nashif. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of avoiding a situation where “the worker may be unaware of the exact location where the task is to be performed” or where “the worker may not be able to remember the complete information pertaining to the task” (paragraph [0031] of the Nashif reference) but still assign tasks in a situation where the supervisor and the worker are not physically present together.
The combination of Khang and Nashif does not explicitly disclose whether the remote worker is specifically “working from home”, but Official Notice is taken that a remote worker is a workplace context is most often a worker working from home. It would be an obvious modification to make to the combination of Khang and Nashif, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the remote worker be working from home. The suggestion/motivation would be to extend the combination of Nashif/Khang to the most common remote work scenario of teleworking from home.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken disclose the apparatus of the parent claim (claim 1).
As previously noted, Nashif discloses:
wherein the request is from a remotely work employee to an office employee working in a business office (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], the supervisor is working remotely and assigns a task to the worker that is working in the workplace)
Khang additionally discloses:
an acceptor configured to receive a completion report of the work selected by the selector (paragraph [0067]-[0068], [0074]-[0075], a smart contract confirms that the freelancer has completed the work to the clients satisfaction); and
an acquirer configured to acquire an evaluation result obtained by evaluation performed by the first employee for the completion report received by the acceptor (paragraphs [0046]-[0047], claim 1, a rating of the freelancer can be provided for future employers to review)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken discloses the apparatus of the parent claim (claim 2).
Khang additionally discloses:
a giver configured to give, according to the evaluation result acquired by the acquirer, a profit to the office employee who completes the work (paragraph [0046], once the job is completed, a payment is made)
Regarding claim 8, the structural elements of apparatus claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 8. Thus, claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken discloses the method of the parent claim (claim 8).
As previously noted, Nashif additionally discloses:
wherein the request is from a remotely work employee to an office employee working in a business office (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], the supervisor is working remotely and assigns a task to the worker that is working in the workplace)
Khang additionally discloses:
completing the work by the second employee (paragraph [0067]-[0068], [0074]-[0075], a smart contract confirms that the freelancer has completed the work to the clients satisfaction);
transmitting the work to a server (paragraphs [0045]-[0046], [0058], [0062]-[0063], [0065], [0067]-[0068], OMM system, jobs (“work”) are created on the network (“servers”); work status is updated on the network upon completion);
approving, by the first employee, the completed work (paragraph [0067]-[0068], [0074]-[0075], a smart contract confirms that the freelancer has completed the work to the clients satisfaction); and
generating a reward for the second employee (paragraph [0067]-[0069], the payment is released for completion of the work)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken discloses the method of the parent claim (claim 8).
As previously noted, Nashif additionally discloses:
wherein the request is from a remotely work employee to an office employee working in a business office (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], the supervisor is working remotely and assigns a task to the worker that is working in the workplace)
Khang additionally discloses:
receiving status information regarding the work selected by the second employee (paragraphs [0058], [0062]-[0063], [0065], [0067]-[0068], jobs (“work”) are created on the network (“servers”); work status is updated on the network upon completion);
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken discloses the method of the parent claim (claim 8).
As previously noted, Nashif additionally discloses:
wherein the request is from a remotely work employee to an office employee working in a business office (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], the supervisor is working remotely and assigns a task to the worker that is working in the workplace)
Khang additionally discloses:
receiving a completion report once the work has been completed by the second employee (paragraph [0067]-[0068], [0074]-[0075], a smart contract confirms that the freelancer has completed the work to the clients satisfaction); and
transmitting the completion report to a server (paragraphs [0058], [0062]-[0063], [0065], [0067]-[0068], jobs (“work”) are created on the network (“servers”); work status is updated on the network upon completion)
Regarding claim 18, Khang disclsoes:
A employee support system comprising:
a mobile terminal (see, for example, claim 19) configured to:
transmit request information for requesting work from a first employee to an second employee working in a business office (paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0046], [0047], [0049], gigs/requests can be uploaded to the system for workers to view and accept on the app);
an image forming apparatus comprising:
a receiver configured to receive request information, a display controller configured to display, on a display, work indicated by the request information received by the receiver (paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0046], [0051]-[0053], the worker can view the posted gig jobs and decide whether or not to accept one on the app – this indicates both a receiver and a display controller); and
a selector configured to cause the second employee to select work to be performed by the second employee among the work indicated by the request information received by the receiver (paragraphs [0051]-[0052], the gig worker accepts the job- or declines – and either way the decision is updated on the database); and
a request management server communicably coupled to each of the mobile terminal and the image forming apparatus (see for example, claim 19, paragraphs [0017]-[0018], [0045]-[0047], [0062], OMM system)
Khang et al. does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the request is from a work-from-home employee to an office employee working in a business office
Nashif (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0158241) discloses:
wherein the request is from a remotely work employee to an office employee working in a business office (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], the supervisor is working remotely and assigns a task to the worker that is working in the workplace)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Nashif with the system of Khang such that the system would have been configured to have the the request be from a remotely work employee to an office employee working in a business office as described in Nashif. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of avoiding a situation where “the worker may be unaware of the exact location where the task is to be performed” or where “the worker may not be able to remember the complete information pertaining to the task” (paragraph [0031] of the Nashif reference) but still assign tasks in a situation where the supervisor and the worker are not physically present together.
The combination of Khang and Nashif does not explicitly disclose whether the remote worker is specifically “working from home”, but Official Notice is taken that a remote worker is a workplace context is most often a worker working from home. It would be an obvious modification to make to the combination of Khang and Nashif, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the remote worker be working from home. The suggestion/motivation would be to extend the combination of Nashif/Khang to the most common remote work scenario of teleworking from home.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken discloses the system of the parent claim (claim 18).
As previously noted, Nashif additionally discloses:
wherein the request is from a remotely work employee to an office employee working in a business office (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], the supervisor is working remotely and assigns a task to the worker that is working in the workplace)
Khang additionally discloses:
receiving a completion report once the work has been completed by the second employee (paragraph [0067]-[0068], [0074]-[0075], a smart contract confirms that the freelancer has completed the work to the clients satisfaction); and
transmitting the completion report to the mobile terminal (see claim 19, paragraphs [0017], [0044], [0058], [0062]-[0063], [0065], [0067]-[0068], jobs (“work”) are created on the network (“servers”); work status is updated on the network upon completion)
Claim(s) 4, 5, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken, in further view of Barela et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0209671).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken discloses the apparatus of the parent claim (claim 2).
The combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the completion report includes an image showing a photograph of an aspect in which the work is performed
Barela (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0209671) discloses:
wherein the completion report includes an image showing a photograph of an aspect in which the work is performed (paragraph [0042], a photograph confirming delivery of the product is included to indicate completion)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Barela with the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken such that the system would have been configured to have the completion report include an image showing a photograph of an aspect in which the work is performed as described in Barela. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “facilitat[ing] the accurate delivery of ordered products” (paragraph [0043] of the Barela reference).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice and Barela discloses the apparatus of the parent claim (claim 4).
Barela additionally discloses:
wherein the image is uploaded via at least one of USB, Bluetooth, or scanning (paragraph [0042], the information can be sent via Bluetooth)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Barela with the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken such that the system would have been configured to have the completion report include an image showing a photograph of an aspect in which the work is performed transmitted over Bluetooth as described in Barela. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “facilitat[ing] the accurate delivery of ordered products” (paragraph [0043] of the Barela reference).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice and Barela discloses the method of the parent claim (claim 13).
The combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken does not explicitly disclose:
receiving an image of the completed work uploaded by the office employee; and
storing the image in the completion report.
Barela discloses:
receiving an image of the completed work uploaded by the office employee; and storing the image in the completion report (paragraph [0042], a photograph confirming delivery of the product is included to indicate completion)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Barela with the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken such that the system would have been configured to have the completion report include an image showing a photograph of an aspect in which the work is performed as described in Barela. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “facilitat[ing] the accurate delivery of ordered products” (paragraph [0043] of the Barela reference).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice and Barela discloses the method of the parent claim (claim 14).
Barela additionally discloses:
wherein the image is uploaded via at least one of USB, Bluetooth, or scanning (paragraph [0042], the information can be sent via Bluetooth)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Barela with the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken such that the system would have been configured to have the completion report include an image showing a photograph of an aspect in which the work is performed transmitted over Bluetooth as described in Barela. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “facilitat[ing] the accurate delivery of ordered products” (paragraph [0043] of the Barela reference).
Claim(s) 6, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken, in further view of Takahashi et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2004/0190057).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Khang and Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken discloses the apparatus of the parent claim (claim 1).
Khang additionally discloses:
obtain a calculation result (paragraph [0020], the appropriate payment is calculated)
The combination of Khang and Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken does not explicitly disclose:
cause the image forming apparatus to print the request information;
Takahashi et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2004/0190057) discloses:
cause the image forming apparatus to print the request information (paragraph [0107], the print requests image data sent to the hot folder is to be printed)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Takahashi with the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice such that the system would cause the image forming apparatus to print the request information as described. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of promoting “an efficient operation order” (paragraph [0009] of the Takahashi reference) in regard to an accepted job tasked by a user/customer.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Khang and Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken discloses the method of the parent claim (claim 8).
The combination of Khang and Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken does not explicitly disclose:
determining if the request information needs to be printed; in response to determining the request information needs to be printed, setting a flag
printing, by the printer, the request information
Takahashi discloses:
determining if the request information needs to be printed; in response to determining the request information needs to be printed, setting a flag (paragraph [0107], the print requests image data sent to the hot folder is to be printed; this implies a flag for printing); and
printing, by the printer, the request information (paragraph [0107], the request is printed).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Takahashi with the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice such that the system would cause the image forming apparatus to print the request information as described. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of promoting “an efficient operation order” (paragraph [0009] of the Takahashi reference) in regard to an accepted job tasked by a user/customer.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken discloses the system of the parent claim (claim 18).
Khang additionally discloses:
wherein the request management server comprises a calculator configured to:
obtain a calculation result (paragraph [0020], the appropriate payment is calculated)
The combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken does not explicitly disclose:
Causing the image forming apparatus to print the request information;
Takahashi et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2004/0190057) discloses:
Causing the image forming apparatus to print the request information (paragraph [0107], the print requests image data sent to the hot folder is to be printed)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Takahashi with the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice such that the system would cause the image forming apparatus to print the request information as described. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of promoting “an efficient operation order” (paragraph [0009] of the Takahashi reference) in regard to an accepted job tasked by a user/customer.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken, in further view of Barela et al. and in further view of Takahashi et al.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Khang and Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken discloses the apparatus of the parent claim (claim 1).
Khang additionally discloses:
a communicator configured to communicate with at least one other device (paragraphs [0045]-[0046], [0058], [0062]-[0063], [0065], [0067]-[0068], OMM system involves devices communication with each other over a network); and
Khang does not explicitly disclose:
a printer configured to print the request information;
a scanner configured to scan an image of the completed work;
a controller configured to control each of the printer, the scanner, and the communicator.
Nashif discloses:
a printer (see for example, paragraph [0183]);
a scanner (see, for example, paragraph [0183])
a communicator configured to communicate with at least one other device (paragraph [0183] discloses a variety of communication configurations both explicit and implicit); and
a controller configured to control each of the printer, the scanner, and the communicator (paragraph [0183], the computer is operable to control all of the devices)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Nashif with the system of Khang such that the system would have been configured to include a printer, scanner, communicator, and controller as described in Nashif. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of having “communication be a predefined structure as with a conventional network or simply an ad communication” (paragraph [0183] of the Nashif reference) and thus increase the versatility of the system.
The combination of Khang and Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken does not explicitly disclose:
a printer configured to print the request information;
a scanner configured to scan an image of the completed work;
Barela (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2021/0209671) discloses:
a scanner configured to scan an image of the completed work (paragraph [0042], a photograph confirming delivery of the product is included)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Barela with the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken such that the system would have been configured to have a scanner configured to scan an image of the completed work as described in Barela. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “facilitat[ing] the accurate delivery of ordered products” (paragraph [0043] of the Barela reference).
The combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken, and Barela does not explicitly disclose:
printer configured to print the request information
Takahashi et al. discloses:
printer configured to print the request information (paragraph [0107], the print requests image data sent to the hot folder is to be printed)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Takahashi with the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice such that the system would cause the image forming apparatus to print the request information as described. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of promoting “an efficient operation order” (paragraph [0009] of the Takahashi reference) in regard to an accepted job tasked by a user/customer.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken, in further view of Rand (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2016/0036962)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken discloses the method of the parent claim (claim 8).
Khang additionally discloses:
further comprising in response to receiving request information, outputting a notification (paragraph [0044], the OMM app sends a notification)
The combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice does not explicitly disclose:
Wherein that notification causes a reception sound;
Rand (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2016/0036962) discloses:
Wherein that notification causes a reception sound (paragraph [0124], sounds for notifications for different apps occur – and can be set/volume adjusted)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Rand with the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice such that the app notification would cause a reception sound as described in Rand. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of allowing a user to “manually adjust amplification levels….[in accordance with what] the user may wish” (paragraph [0124] of the Rand reference).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken, further in view of Fiverr (“How to Use Fiverr For Your Marketplace”, copy provided, see PTO-892).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken discloses the method of the parent claim (claim 8).
As previously noted, Nashif additionally discloses:
wherein the request is from a remotely work employee to an office employee working in a business office (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], the supervisor is working remotely and assigns a task to the worker that is working in the workplace)
The combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice taken does not explicitly disclose:
determining if fail has been selected by the first employee in response to the completion of the work;
prompting the first employee to input a reason for selecting fail; and transmitting the input to a server.
Fiverr discloses:
determining if fail has been selected by the first employee in response to the completion of the work (pages 5-6, “Requesting a Revision”, the buyer indicates that they are not satisfied with the deliverable);
prompting the work-from-home employee to input a reason for selecting fail (pages 5-6, “Requesting a Revision”, the buyer specifies the reason they are not satisfied with the deliverable); and
transmitting the input to a server (pages 5-6, the decision is processed on Fiverr, an online gig employment platform run on servers)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Fiverr with the combination of Khang, Nashif in view of the Official Notice such that the system would determining if fail has been selected by the first employee in response to the completion of the work, prompting the work-from-home employee to input a reason for selecting fail, and transmitting the input to a server as described in Fiverr. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of addressing buyers that “are not satisfied with the deliverable” (page 5 of the Fiverr reference).
Conclusion
/JOHN R WALLACE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682