DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/7/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leppanen et al. US 2013/0242106.
Re claims 1, 8 and 14, Leppanen discloses a computer-implemented method for generating crowdsourced time-lapse videos, and a computer system for generating time-lapse videos, the computer system comprising a communication fabric (56-figure 3) and a storage device storing program instructions (mobile terminal 10 may be carried by attendees of an event to capture video and transfer it wirelessly to a server 35) (figure 1; paragraphs 31-35), the computer-implemented method comprising: guiding, by a computer (server 35), using an augmented reality device (an augmented reality view may be deployed on user interface 710 of mobile terminal) corresponding to a crowdsource user, the crowdsource user (terminals 10 include video cameras to capture images) to a position that is in alignment with a photographic image of a subject matter that was captured by a first camera to capture a subsequent photographic image of the subject matter at a time when to capture the subsequent photographic image; configuring, by the computer (35), a second camera (camera on terminal 10) wirelessly connected to the computer via a network to take the subsequent photographic image of the subject matter based on a configuration of the first camera, the second camera corresponds to the crowdsource user; and receiving, by the computer (35), the subsequent photographic image captured by the second camera at the time when to capture the subsequent photographic image via the network for inclusion in a new time-lapse video (an augmented reality view may be displayed on the user interface 710 of mobile terminal to capture media content at a desired location and composite media content server may transmit a request to a mobile terminal to move to a desired position corresponding to a target area to capture video data and composite media content is generated by combining video data from multiple mobile terminals)(figures 1-7; paragraphs 47-59).
Re claims 4, 11 and 17, Leppanen further discloses receiving, by the computer, the photographic image of the subject matter from the first camera wirelessly connected to the computer via the network, the photographic image includes a timestamp of when the photographic image was captured an a geo-tag corresponding to a geographic location where the photographic image was captured (server 35 and terminal 10 are wirelessly connected via a network and composite media data including location and time data are transmitted with image data) (paragraphs 47-49); and obtaining, by the computer, the configuration of the first camera via the network, the configuration of the first camera includes specifications, settings, angle, zoom and aperture (terminal 10 and camera settings including specifications, settings, angle, zoom, etc. indicating position and orientation are transmitted to the composite media content server) (figures 4A-7; paragraphs 50-58).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15-16 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re claims 2-3, 9-10 and 15-16, the prior art fails to teach or suggest, a computer-implemented method and a computer system for generating crowdsourced time-lapse videos having the specific configurations disclosed in claims 2-3, 9-10 and 15-16, wherein the computer-implemented method and system comprises: guiding, by a computer, using an augmented reality device corresponding to a crowdsource user, the crowdsource user to a position that is in alignment with a photographic image of a subject matter that was captured by a first camera to capture a subsequent photographic image of the subject matter at a time when to capture the subsequent photographic image; configuring, by the computer, a second camera wirelessly connected to the computer via a network to take the subsequent photographic image of the subject matter based on a configuration of the first camera, the second camera corresponds to the crowdsource user; and receiving, by the computer, the subsequent photographic image captured by the second camera at the time when to capture the subsequent photographic image via the network for inclusion in a new time-lapse video, further comprising: determining, by the computer, whether a next subsequent photographic image of the subject matter needs to be taken based on a time interval for capturing each of a plurality of subsequent photographic images for the new time-lapse video; responsive to the computer determining that the next subsequent photographic image of the subject matter does need to be taken based on the time interval for capturing each of the plurality of subsequent photographic images for the new time-lapse video, publishing, by the computer, a notification to a set of crowdsource users located in an area surrounding a geographic location where the photographic image of the subject matter was captured via a set of augmented reality devices wirelessly connected to the computer, the notification includes the photographic image and the time when to capture, the subsequent photographic image of the subject matter based on the time interval for capturing each of the plurality of subsequent photographic images; and receiving, by the computer, an indication from the crowdsource user of the set of crowdsource users who wants to participate in generating the new time-lapse video by capturing the subsequent photographic image of the subject matter for inclusion in the new time-lapse video via an augmented reality device corresponding to the crowdsource user. The prior art fails to specifically disclose a computer-implemented method and a computer system for generating crowdsourced time-lapse videos configured and arranged in the exact configuration disclosed in the specification and the claims.
Re claims 5-7, 12-13 and 18-20, the prior art fails to teach or suggest, a computer-implemented method and a computer system for generating crowdsourced time-lapse videos having the specific configurations disclosed in claims 5-7, 12-13 and 18-20, wherein the computer-implemented method and system comprises: guiding, by a computer, using an augmented reality device corresponding to a crowdsource user, the crowdsource user to a position that is in alignment with a photographic image of a subject matter that was captured by a first camera to capture a subsequent photographic image of the subject matter at a time when to capture the subsequent photographic image; configuring, by the computer, a second camera wirelessly connected to the computer via a network to take the subsequent photographic image of the subject matter based on a configuration of the first camera, the second camera corresponds to the crowdsource user; and receiving, by the computer, the subsequent photographic image captured by the second camera at the time when to capture the subsequent photographic image via the network for inclusion in a new time-lapse video, further comprising: accessing, by the computer, historic time-lapse video information recorded in a time-lapse video knowledge corpus; and determining, by the computer, whether the photographic image of the subject matter has potentiality for inclusion in generating the new time-lapse video based on the historic time-lapse video information recorded in the time-lapse video knowledge corpus. The prior art fails to specifically disclose a computer-implemented method and a computer system for generating crowdsourced time-lapse videos configured and arranged in the exact configuration disclosed in the specification and the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. US 2026/0094435 discloses a device for providing a guide using an augmented reality image.
Rakshit et al. US 2025/0039354 discloses a method for crowd sourced demand-based volumetric video creation.
Cashen et al. US 2017/0169612 discloses an augmented reality alignment system and method.
Golparvar-Ford et al. US 9,070,216 discloses four-dimensional augmented reality models for progress monitoring.
Eronen et al. US 2014/0063057 discloses a system for guiding users in crowd sourced video services.
Contacts
/KELLY L JERABEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699