DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 16 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over the combination of KO (Of Record) in view of Yamamoto (Of Record), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant argues on (Pg. 14 of the remarks) that KO and YAMAMOTO do not disclose the claim feature in claim 1 of “receive a configuration associated with an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence”. However the examiner respectfully disagrees as Yamamoto discloses the claim feature of “receive a configuration associated with an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence” (see Para’s [0046-0048], [0096], & [0109])
The applicant also argues the claim feature in claim 1 of “wherein the OCC sequence is associated with a frequency domain OCC-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) multiplexing”, is not disclosed in KO. However the examiner respectfully disagrees as KO discloses in Para’s [0531] that the UL DMRS sequence may be designed using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC) and [0532] which discloses i.e., a base sequence and an OCC may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA.
KO further discloses that the PUSCH resources are mapped to frequency resources that are multiplexed (KO, see Para’s [0539] i.e., PUSCH resources are multiplexed frequency resources & [0541-0544] i.e., two sets of frequency resources (e.g., a set of even-numbered REs and (a set of) odd-numbered REs) may be used as physical resources for the DMRS in a PUSCH included in MsgA). Ko discloses in Para [0544] that the physical resources for the DMRS in a PUSCH included in MsgA are frequency resources in resource elements (RE’s). Ko also discloses in (Para’s [0457] & [0476-0477]) that the PUSCH resources are continuously or non-continuously mapped in the frequency domain for transmission of the PUSCH included in MsgA.
Therefore since the OCC is applied to a DMRS sequence of the PUSCH where the DMRS and PUSCH resources are mapped to the frequency domain, then this suggests a “frequency domain OCC-based PUSCH multiplexing” since the OCC (i.e., sequence) is applied to the DMRS sequence of the PUSCH mapped to frequency domain resources (i.e., REs) in the frequency domain.
In light of the applicants specification in (Para’s [0025] and [0080]), the OCC sequence associated with a frequency domain OCC-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) multiplexing refers to the OCC sequence being associated with a resource mapping to frequency domain subcarriers, or in other words a resource mapping to the frequency domain, (i.e., see for example Para’s [0025], [0075], [0080], & [0086] of applicants specification). As previously mentioned, KO discloses the OCC is applied to the DMRS sequence of the PUSCH includes in MsgA, where the PUSCH resources are mapped to the frequency domain (KO, see Para’s [0477], [0531-0532], & [0539-0544]), and therefore the OCC sequence is associated with “a frequency domain OCC-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) multiplexing”.
In regards to the applicants argument on (Pg. 15 of the remarks), that applying an OCC to a DMRS in a PUSCH and multiplexing of UEs into PUSCH resources, as described in KO, does not disclose or suggest that the OCC is “associated with a frequency domain OCC-based PUSCH multiplexing”. However the examiner notes that in light of the applicants specification in (Para’s [0025] & [0080]), “The frequency domain OCC-based PUSCH multiplexing may involve multiple PUSCH transmissions from multiple UEs”, (i.e., Para’s [0025] & [0080] of applicants specification). As previously mentioned, since the OCC is applied to the DMRS sequence of the PUSCH includes in MsgA, where the PUSCH resources are mapped to the frequency domain (KO, see Para’s [0477], [0531-0532], [0539-0544]), the OCC sequence is associated with “a frequency domain OCC-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) multiplexing”.
For the reasons explained KO discloses the claim feature in claim 1 of “wherein the OCC sequence is associated with a frequency domain OCC-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) multiplexing”. The same argument applies to independent claims 10, 16, and 25 which recite similar features. Therefore the rejection of claims 1, 10, 16, and 25 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over the combination of KO (Of Record) in view of Yamamoto (Of Record). The dependent claims remain rejected over the prior art (Of Record) based on their dependence to independent claims 1, 10, 16, and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 10-12, 16, 18-19, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO et al. US (2022/0150018) in view of Yamamoto et al. US (2017/0195096).
Regarding Claim 1, KO discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 34 & Para’s [0682-0683] i.e., user terminal), comprising: one or more memories (see Fig. 34 i.e., memory unit 130 & Para [0684]); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (see Fig. 34 i.e., control unit 120 & Para [0684]), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to: an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., multiplexing PUSCHs and/or mapping a DMRS in message A (MsgA) to support a 2-step RACH procedure, [0531] i.e., For example, a REL. 15 NR UL DMRS sequence may be designed by using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC) (i.e., “OCC sequence”), [0532] i.e., For example, a base sequence and an OCC (i.e., “OCC sequence”) may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA & [0541-0542] i.e., OCC may be applied to the DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA)
wherein the OCC sequence is associated with a frequency domain OCC-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) multiplexing; (see Para’s [0007] i.e., various embodiments of the present disclosure may provide a method and apparatus for multiplexing PUSCHs and/or mapping a DMRS in message A (MsgA), [0531] i.e., i.e., For example, a REL. 15 NR UL DMRS sequence may be designed by using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC), [0532] i.e., a base sequence and an OCC may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA, & [0537-0539] i.e., PUSCH frequency resources are multiplexed & [0541-0544] i.e., For example, when CDM is allowed for PUSCHs included in MsgA, it may be related to the utilization of DMRS resources and sequences…For example, it may be related to whether two sets of frequency resources (e.g., a set of even-numbered REs and a set of odd-numbered REs may be used as physical resources for the DMRS in a PUSCH included in MsgA)
and transmit a PUSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., method and apparatus for multiplexing PUSCHs and/or mapping a DM-RS in message A, [0531-0532] i.e., For example, a base sequence and an OCC may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA, [0537-0545] i.e., CDM is allowed for PUSCHs included in MsgA, & [0630])
wherein the OCC sequence is applied to one or more symbols associated with the PUSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0531] i.e., i.e., For example, a REL. 15 NR UL DMRS sequence may be designed by using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC) (i.e., “OCC sequence”), [0532] i.e., a base sequence and an OCC (i.e., “OCC sequence”) may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA, & [0537-0539] i.e., DMRS of the PUSCH…different frequency resource sets may be allocated as DMRS physical resources for each PUSCH resource, & [0537-0545] i.e., For example, when CDM is allowed for PUSCHs included in MsgA, it may be related to the utilization of DMRS resources and sequences…For example it may be related to whether an OCC may be applied to the DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA…For example, it may be related to whether two sets of frequency resources (e.g., a set of even-numbered REs (i.e., “symbols”) and a set of odd-numbered REs (i.e., “symbols”) may be used as physical resources for the DMRS in a PUSCH included in MsgA (i.e., the OCC sequence is applied to one or more symbols or resource elements (RE’s) of the DMRS included in the PUSCH transmission))
KO does not disclose the claim features of receive a configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence and transmit the PUSCH transmission based at least in part on the configuration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Yamamoto et al. US (2017/0195096).
Yamamoto discloses receive a configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence (see Figures 1-2, Figure 4, & Para’s [0047-0048] i.e., In the terminal 200 illustrated in Fig. 4, when transmission of an uplink signal PUSCH subjected to repetition is configured…a receiving unit 202 receives information indicating one of a plurality of code sequences orthogonal to one another (DCI) by using the field used for indicating a cyclic shift and an orthogonal sequence (OCC) used for the demodulation reference signal. A spreading unit 212 multiples the uplink signal including the demodulation reference signal and subjected to repetition across a plurality of subframes by the code sequence indicated by the received information, [0096] i.e., the base station uses the existing DCI field, which is used to indicate the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS, & [0109] i.e., the terminal 200 extracts the MSCI indicating the multiple-subframe spreading code sequence from the field of the received DCI for indicating the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH)
and transmit the PUSCH transmission based at least in part on the configuration (see Para’s [0046] i.e., the terminal 200 multiplies the signals each in one of a plurality of subframes by the components of one of a plurality of multiple-subframe spreading code sequences (i.e., OCC), [0047] i.e., one code sequence to be multiplied by an uplink signal (PUSCH) that includes a demodulation reference signal, [0048] i.e., A spreading unit 212 multiplies the uplink signal including the demodulation reference signal and subject to repetition across a plurality of subframes by the code sequence indicated by the received information (i.e., “configuration”), [0096] i.e., the base station uses the existing DCI field, which is used to indicate the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH, & [0109] i.e., the terminal 200 extracts the MSCI indicating the multiple-subframe spreading code sequence from the field of the received DCI for indicating the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH)
(Yamamoto suggests the configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence is used and applied by the UE for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH in order for the base station to detect the signal from the UE that is code multiplexed (see Para [0017]) and to perform dispreading using the spreading code for performing channel estimation on the basis of the DMRS extracted from the PUSCH in order to demodulate and decode the data symbols by using the obtained channel estimation value, (see Para’s [0005], [0047-0048], [0065-0070], [0096], & [0110])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which applies the OCC sequence used for the DMRS included in the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in KO to receive a configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence in order to transmit the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Yamamoto who discloses a UE receives a configuration associated with an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH, because the motivation lies in Yamamoto that the configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence is used and applied by the UE for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH in order for the base station to detect the signal from the UE that is code multiplexed and to perform dispreading using the spreading code for performing channel estimation on the basis of the DMRS extracted from the PUSCH in order to demodulate and decode the data symbols by using the obtained channel estimation value.
Regarding Claim 3, KO discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the OCC sequence is associated with a cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform (Ko, see Para’s [0016], [0183], [0531-0532], [0546], & [0549]) or a discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform (KO, see Para’s [0018], [0183], [0548], & [0550] i.e., when DFT-s-OFDM is set as the waveform of the MsgA PUSCH); or the configuration indicates a randomization pattern for selecting OCC sequences over a period of time, but does not disclose the configuration. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamamoto et al. US (2017/0195096).
Yamamoto discloses receive a configuration associated with an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence (see Figures 1-2, Figure 4, & Para’s [0047-0048] i.e., In the terminal 200 illustrated in Fig. 4, when transmission of an uplink signal PUSCH subjected to repetition is configured…a receiving unit 202 receives information indicating one of a plurality of code sequences orthogonal to one another (DCI) by using the field used for indicating a cyclic shift and an orthogonal sequence (OCC) used for the demodulation reference signal. A spreading unit 212 multiples the uplink signal including the demodulation reference signal and subjected to repetition across a plurality of subframes by the code sequence indicated by the received information, [0096] i.e., the base station uses the existing DCI field, which is used to indicate the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS, & [0109] i.e., the terminal 200 extracts the MSCI indicating the multiple-subframe spreading code sequence from the field of the received DCI for indicating the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH).
(Yamamoto suggests the configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence is used and applied by the UE for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH in order for the base station to detect the signal from the UE that is code multiplexed (see Para [0017]) and to perform dispreading using the spreading code for performing channel estimation on the basis of the DMRS extracted from the PUSCH in order to demodulate and decode the data symbols by using the obtained channel estimation value, (see Para’s [0005], [0047-0048], [0065-0070], [0096], & [0110])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the OCC sequence which is associated with a cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform or a discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform as disclosed in KO to be configured according to the configuration of an OCC sequence as disclosed in Yamamoto which results in the configuration being associated with a cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform or a discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform, because the motivation lies in Yamamoto that the configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence is used and applied by the UE for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH in order for the base station to detect the signal from the UE that is code multiplexed and to perform dispreading using the spreading code for performing channel estimation on the basis of the DMRS extracted from the PUSCH in order to demodulate and decode the data symbols by using the obtained channel estimation value.
Regarding Claim 4, KO discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the configuration is associated with an OCC configuration for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), and a same OCC multiplexing pattern or a same OCC sequence, in relation to the DMRS, is applied to the PUSCH transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yamamoto et al. US (2017/0195096).
Yamamoto discloses wherein the configuration is associated with an OCC configuration for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (see Para [0109] i.e., the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH), and a same OCC multiplexing pattern or a same OCC sequence, in relation to the DMRS, is applied to the PUSCH transmission (see Fig. 1 i.e., the OCC used for the DMRS is slot 1 may be applied to the DMRS in slot 2 of the subframe which is part of the PUSCH transmission as one example, Fig. 2 & Para’s [0005] i.e., DMRS in each slot of the subframe, [0045-0046] i.e., the terminal 200 multiples the signals each in one of a plurality of subframes by the components of one of a plurality of multi-subframe spreading code sequences which are orthogonal to one another (i.e., OCC sequence for DMRS may be applied to the PUSCH signal transmission in the other subframes as another example), [0109] i.e., the terminal performs PUSCH repetition transmission in accordance with the determined multiple-subframe spreading code (i.e., OCC sequence for DMRS may be applied to the PUSCH signal transmission in the other subframes as another example)).
(Yamamoto suggests the configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence is used and applied by the UE for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH in order for the base station to detect the signal from the UE that is code multiplexed (see Para [0017]) and to perform dispreading using the spreading code for performing channel estimation on the basis of the DMRS extracted from the PUSCH in order to demodulate and decode the data symbols by using the obtained channel estimation value, (see Para’s [0005], [0047-0048], [0065-0070], [0096], & [0110])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which applies the OCC sequence used for the DMRS included in the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in KO to also in relation to the DMRS, be applied to the PUSCH transmission based on the teachings of Yamamoto who discloses wherein the configuration is associated with an OCC configuration for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) including a same OCC sequence, in relation to a DMRS, can be applied to the PUSCH transmission, because the motivation lies in Yamamoto that the configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence is used and applied by the UE for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH in order for the base station to detect the signal from the UE that is code multiplexed and to perform dispreading using the spreading code for performing channel estimation on the basis of the DMRS extracted from the PUSCH in order to demodulate and decode the data symbols by using the obtained channel estimation value.
Regarding Claim 10, KO discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (see Fig. 31, Fig. 32 i.e., base station 200 & Para’s [0059-0060] i.e., base station & [0665]), comprising: one or more memories (see Fig. 32 i.e., memory 204 & Para [0667]); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (see Fig. 32 i.e., processor(s) 202 & Para [0667]), the one or more processors (see Para [0667]) individually or collectively configured to: an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., multiplexing PUSCHs and/or mapping a DMRS in message A (MsgA) to support a 2-step RACH procedure, [0531] i.e., For example, a REL. 15 NR UL DMRS sequence may be designed by using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC) (i.e., “OCC sequence”), [0532] i.e., For example, a base sequence and an OCC (i.e., “OCC sequence”) may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA & [0541-0542] i.e., OCC may be applied to the DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA)
wherein the OCC sequence is associated with a frequency domain OCC-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) multiplexing; (see Para’s [0007] i.e., various embodiments of the present disclosure may provide a method and apparatus for multiplexing PUSCHs and/or mapping a DMRS in message A (MsgA), [0531] i.e., i.e., For example, a REL. 15 NR UL DMRS sequence may be designed by using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC), [0532] i.e., a base sequence and an OCC may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA, & [0537-0539] i.e., PUSCH frequency resources are multiplexed & [0541-0544] i.e., For example, when CDM is allowed for PUSCHs included in MsgA, it may be related to the utilization of DMRS resources and sequences…For example, it may be related to whether two sets of frequency resources (e.g., a set of even-numbered REs and a set of odd-numbered REs may be used as physical resources for the DMRS in a PUSCH included in MsgA)
and receive a PUSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., method and apparatus for multiplexing PUSCHs and/or mapping a DM-RS in message A, [0531-0532] i.e., For example, a base sequence and an OCC may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA, [0537-0545] i.e., CDM is allowed for PUSCHs included in MsgA, & [0630])
wherein the OCC sequence is applied to one or more symbols associated with the PUSCH transmission. (see Para’s [0531] i.e., i.e., For example, a REL. 15 NR UL DMRS sequence may be designed by using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC) (i.e., “OCC sequence”), [0532] i.e., a base sequence and an OCC (i.e., “OCC sequence”) may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA, & [0537-0539] i.e., DMRS of the PUSCH…different frequency resource sets may be allocated as DMRS physical resources for each PUSCH resource, & [0537-0545] i.e., For example, when CDM is allowed for PUSCHs included in MsgA, it may be related to the utilization of DMRS resources and sequences…For example it may be related to whether an OCC may be applied to the DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA…For example, it may be related to whether two sets of frequency resources (e.g., a set of even-numbered REs (i.e., “symbols”) and a set of odd-numbered REs (i.e., “symbols”) may be used as physical resources for the DMRS in a PUSCH included in MsgA (i.e., the OCC sequence is applied to one or more symbols or resource elements (RE’s) of the DMRS included in the PUSCH transmission))
KO does not disclose the claim features of transmitting a configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence and receive the PUSCH transmission based at least in part on the configuration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Yamamoto et al. US (2017/0195096).
Yamamoto discloses transmitting a configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence (see Figures 1-2, Figure 4, & Para’s [0047-0048] i.e., In the terminal 200 illustrated in Fig. 4, when transmission of an uplink signal PUSCH subjected to repetition is configured…a receiving unit 202 receives information indicating one of a plurality of code sequences orthogonal to one another (DCI) by using the field used for indicating a cyclic shift and an orthogonal sequence (OCC) used for the demodulation reference signal. A spreading unit 212 multiples the uplink signal including the demodulation reference signal and subjected to repetition across a plurality of subframes by the code sequence indicated by the received information, [0096] i.e., the base station uses the existing DCI field, which is used to indicate the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS, & [0109] i.e., the terminal 200 extracts the MSCI indicating the multiple-subframe spreading code sequence from the field of the received DCI for indicating the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH)
and receive the PUSCH transmission based at least in part on the configuration (see Para’s [0046] i.e., the terminal 200 multiplies the signals each in one of a plurality of subframes by the components of one of a plurality of multiple-subframe spreading code sequences (i.e., OCC), [0047] i.e., one code sequence to be multiplied by an uplink signal (PUSCH) that includes a demodulation reference signal, [0048] i.e., A spreading unit 212 multiplies the uplink signal including the demodulation reference signal and subject to repetition across a plurality of subframes by the code sequence indicated by the received information (i.e., “configuration”), [0096] i.e., the base station uses the existing DCI field, which is used to indicate the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH, & [0109] i.e., the terminal 200 extracts the MSCI indicating the multiple-subframe spreading code sequence from the field of the received DCI for indicating the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH)
(Yamamoto suggests the configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence is used and applied by the UE for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH in order for the base station to detect the signal from the UE that is code multiplexed (see Para [0017]) and to perform dispreading using the spreading code for performing channel estimation on the basis of the DMRS extracted from the PUSCH in order to demodulate and decode the data symbols by using the obtained channel estimation value, (see Para’s [0005], [0047-0048], [0065-0070], [0096], & [0110])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which applies the OCC sequence used for the DMRS included in the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in KO to receive a configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence in order to transmit the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Yamamoto who discloses a UE receives a configuration associated with an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH, because the motivation lies in Yamamoto that the configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence is used and applied by the UE for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH in order for the base station to detect the signal from the UE that is code multiplexed and to perform dispreading using the spreading code for performing channel estimation on the basis of the DMRS extracted from the PUSCH in order to demodulate and decode the data symbols by using the obtained channel estimation value.
Regarding Claim 11, the claim is directed towards an apparatus which performs the same claim features as claim 3. Therefore claim 11 is rejected as obvious over the combination of KO in view of Yamamoto as in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is directed towards an apparatus which performs the same claim features as claim 4. Therefore claim 12 is rejected as obvious over the combination of KO in view of Yamamoto as in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 16, KO discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 34 & Para’s [0682-0683] i.e., user terminal), comprising: an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., multiplexing PUSCHs and/or mapping a DMRS in message A (MsgA) to support a 2-step RACH procedure, [0531] i.e., For example, a REL. 15 NR UL DMRS sequence may be designed by using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC) (i.e., “OCC sequence”), [0532] i.e., For example, a base sequence and an OCC (i.e., “OCC sequence”) may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA & [0541-0542] i.e., OCC may be applied to the DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA)
wherein the OCC sequence is associated with a frequency domain OCC-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) multiplexing; (see Para’s [0007] i.e., various embodiments of the present disclosure may provide a method and apparatus for multiplexing PUSCHs and/or mapping a DMRS in message A (MsgA), [0531] i.e., i.e., For example, a REL. 15 NR UL DMRS sequence may be designed by using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC), [0532] i.e., a base sequence and an OCC may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA, & [0537-0539] i.e., PUSCH frequency resources are multiplexed & [0541-0544] i.e., For example, when CDM is allowed for PUSCHs included in MsgA, it may be related to the utilization of DMRS resources and sequences…For example, it may be related to whether two sets of frequency resources (e.g., a set of even-numbered REs and a set of odd-numbered REs may be used as physical resources for the DMRS in a PUSCH included in MsgA)
and transmit a PUSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., method and apparatus for multiplexing PUSCHs and/or mapping a DM-RS in message A, [0531-0532] i.e., For example, a base sequence and an OCC may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA, [0537-0545] i.e., CDM is allowed for PUSCHs included in MsgA, & [0630])
wherein the OCC sequence is applied to one or more symbols associated with the PUSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0531] i.e., i.e., For example, a REL. 15 NR UL DMRS sequence may be designed by using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC) (i.e., “OCC sequence”), [0532] i.e., a base sequence and an OCC (i.e., “OCC sequence”) may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA, & [0537-0539] i.e., DMRS of the PUSCH…different frequency resource sets may be allocated as DMRS physical resources for each PUSCH resource, & [0537-0545] i.e., For example, when CDM is allowed for PUSCHs included in MsgA, it may be related to the utilization of DMRS resources and sequences…For example it may be related to whether an OCC may be applied to the DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA…For example, it may be related to whether two sets of frequency resources (e.g., a set of even-numbered REs (i.e., “symbols”) and a set of odd-numbered REs (i.e., “symbols”) may be used as physical resources for the DMRS in a PUSCH included in MsgA (i.e., the OCC sequence is applied to one or more symbols or resource elements (RE’s) of the DMRS included in the PUSCH transmission))
KO does not disclose the claim features of receive a configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence and transmit the PUSCH transmission based at least in part on the configuration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Yamamoto et al. US (2017/0195096).
Yamamoto discloses receive a configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence (see Figures 1-2, Figure 4, & Para’s [0047-0048] i.e., In the terminal 200 illustrated in Fig. 4, when transmission of an uplink signal PUSCH subjected to repetition is configured…a receiving unit 202 receives information indicating one of a plurality of code sequences orthogonal to one another (DCI) by using the field used for indicating a cyclic shift and an orthogonal sequence (OCC) used for the demodulation reference signal. A spreading unit 212 multiples the uplink signal including the demodulation reference signal and subjected to repetition across a plurality of subframes by the code sequence indicated by the received information, [0096] i.e., the base station uses the existing DCI field, which is used to indicate the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS, & [0109] i.e., the terminal 200 extracts the MSCI indicating the multiple-subframe spreading code sequence from the field of the received DCI for indicating the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH)
and transmit the PUSCH transmission based at least in part on the configuration (see Para’s [0046] i.e., the terminal 200 multiplies the signals each in one of a plurality of subframes by the components of one of a plurality of multiple-subframe spreading code sequences (i.e., OCC), [0047] i.e., one code sequence to be multiplied by an uplink signal (PUSCH) that includes a demodulation reference signal, [0048] i.e., A spreading unit 212 multiplies the uplink signal including the demodulation reference signal and subject to repetition across a plurality of subframes by the code sequence indicated by the received information (i.e., “configuration”), [0096] i.e., the base station uses the existing DCI field, which is used to indicate the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH, & [0109] i.e., the terminal 200 extracts the MSCI indicating the multiple-subframe spreading code sequence from the field of the received DCI for indicating the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH)
(Yamamoto suggests the configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence is used and applied by the UE for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH in order for the base station to detect the signal from the UE that is code multiplexed (see Para [0017]) and to perform dispreading using the spreading code for performing channel estimation on the basis of the DMRS extracted from the PUSCH in order to demodulate and decode the data symbols by using the obtained channel estimation value, (see Para’s [0005], [0047-0048], [0065-0070], [0096], & [0110])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which applies the OCC sequence used for the DMRS included in the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in KO to receive a configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence in order to transmit the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Yamamoto who discloses a UE receives a configuration associated with an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH, because the motivation lies in Yamamoto that the configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence is used and applied by the UE for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH in order for the base station to detect the signal from the UE that is code multiplexed and to perform dispreading using the spreading code for performing channel estimation on the basis of the DMRS extracted from the PUSCH in order to demodulate and decode the data symbols by using the obtained channel estimation value.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is directed towards an apparatus which performs the same claim features as claim 3. Therefore claim 18 is rejected as obvious over the combination of KO in view of Yamamoto as in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is directed towards an apparatus which performs the same claim features as claim 4. Therefore claim 19 is rejected as obvious over the combination of KO in view of Yamamoto as in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 25, KO discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node (see Fig. 31, Fig. 32 i.e., base station 200 & Para’s [0059-0060] i.e., base station & [0665]), comprising: an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., multiplexing PUSCHs and/or mapping a DMRS in message A (MsgA) to support a 2-step RACH procedure, [0531] i.e., For example, a REL. 15 NR UL DMRS sequence may be designed by using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC) (i.e., “OCC sequence”), [0532] i.e., For example, a base sequence and an OCC (i.e., “OCC sequence”) may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA & [0541-0542] i.e., OCC may be applied to the DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA)
wherein the OCC sequence is associated with a frequency domain OCC-based physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) multiplexing; (see Para’s [0007] i.e., various embodiments of the present disclosure may provide a method and apparatus for multiplexing PUSCHs and/or mapping a DMRS in message A (MsgA), [0531] i.e., i.e., For example, a REL. 15 NR UL DMRS sequence may be designed by using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC), [0532] i.e., a base sequence and an OCC may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA, & [0537-0539] i.e., PUSCH frequency resources are multiplexed & [0541-0544] i.e., For example, when CDM is allowed for PUSCHs included in MsgA, it may be related to the utilization of DMRS resources and sequences…For example, it may be related to whether two sets of frequency resources (e.g., a set of even-numbered REs and a set of odd-numbered REs may be used as physical resources for the DMRS in a PUSCH included in MsgA)
and receive a PUSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0007] i.e., method and apparatus for multiplexing PUSCHs and/or mapping a DM-RS in message A, [0531-0532] i.e., For example, a base sequence and an OCC may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA, [0537-0545] i.e., CDM is allowed for PUSCHs included in MsgA, & [0630])
wherein the OCC sequence is applied to one or more symbols associated with the PUSCH transmission. (see Para’s [0531] i.e., i.e., For example, a REL. 15 NR UL DMRS sequence may be designed by using a base sequence and an orthogonal cover code (OCC) (i.e., “OCC sequence”), [0532] i.e., a base sequence and an OCC (i.e., “OCC sequence”) may be applied to a DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA, & [0537-0539] i.e., DMRS of the PUSCH…different frequency resource sets may be allocated as DMRS physical resources for each PUSCH resource, & [0537-0545] i.e., For example, when CDM is allowed for PUSCHs included in MsgA, it may be related to the utilization of DMRS resources and sequences…For example it may be related to whether an OCC may be applied to the DMRS sequence of a PUSCH included in MsgA…For example, it may be related to whether two sets of frequency resources (e.g., a set of even-numbered REs (i.e., “symbols”) and a set of odd-numbered REs (i.e., “symbols”) may be used as physical resources for the DMRS in a PUSCH included in MsgA (i.e., the OCC sequence is applied to one or more symbols or resource elements (RE’s) of the DMRS included in the PUSCH transmission))
KO does not disclose the claim features of transmitting a configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence and receive the PUSCH transmission based at least in part on the configuration. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Yamamoto et al. US (2017/0195096).
Yamamoto discloses transmitting a configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence (see Figures 1-2, Figure 4, & Para’s [0047-0048] i.e., In the terminal 200 illustrated in Fig. 4, when transmission of an uplink signal PUSCH subjected to repetition is configured…a receiving unit 202 receives information indicating one of a plurality of code sequences orthogonal to one another (DCI) by using the field used for indicating a cyclic shift and an orthogonal sequence (OCC) used for the demodulation reference signal. A spreading unit 212 multiples the uplink signal including the demodulation reference signal and subjected to repetition across a plurality of subframes by the code sequence indicated by the received information, [0096] i.e., the base station uses the existing DCI field, which is used to indicate the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS, & [0109] i.e., the terminal 200 extracts the MSCI indicating the multiple-subframe spreading code sequence from the field of the received DCI for indicating the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH)
and receive the PUSCH transmission based at least in part on the configuration (see Para’s [0046] i.e., the terminal 200 multiplies the signals each in one of a plurality of subframes by the components of one of a plurality of multiple-subframe spreading code sequences (i.e., OCC), [0047] i.e., one code sequence to be multiplied by an uplink signal (PUSCH) that includes a demodulation reference signal, [0048] i.e., A spreading unit 212 multiplies the uplink signal including the demodulation reference signal and subject to repetition across a plurality of subframes by the code sequence indicated by the received information (i.e., “configuration”), [0096] i.e., the base station uses the existing DCI field, which is used to indicate the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH, & [0109] i.e., the terminal 200 extracts the MSCI indicating the multiple-subframe spreading code sequence from the field of the received DCI for indicating the cyclic shift and the OCC used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH)
(Yamamoto suggests the configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence is used and applied by the UE for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH in order for the base station to detect the signal from the UE that is code multiplexed (see Para [0017]) and to perform dispreading using the spreading code for performing channel estimation on the basis of the DMRS extracted from the PUSCH in order to demodulate and decode the data symbols by using the obtained channel estimation value, (see Para’s [0005], [0047-0048], [0065-0070], [0096], & [0110])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which applies the OCC sequence used for the DMRS included in the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in KO to receive a configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence in order to transmit the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Yamamoto who discloses a UE receives a configuration associated with an orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence used for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH, because the motivation lies in Yamamoto that the configuration associated with the orthogonal cover code (OCC) sequence is used and applied by the UE for the DMRS transmitted on the PUSCH in order for the base station to detect the signal from the UE that is code multiplexed and to perform dispreading using the spreading code for performing channel estimation on the basis of the DMRS extracted from the PUSCH in order to demodulate and decode the data symbols by using the obtained channel estimation value.
Regarding Claim 26, the claim is directed towards an apparatus which performs the same claim features as claim 3. Therefore claim 26 is rejected as obvious over the combination of KO in view of Yamamoto as in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 27, the claim is directed towards an apparatus which performs the same claim features as claim 4. Therefore claim 27 is rejected as obvious over the combination of KO in view of Yamamoto as in claim 4.
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO et al. US (2022/0150018) in view of Yamamoto et al. US (2017/0195096) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Xiong et al. US (2022/0116252).
Regarding Claims 2 and 17, the combination of KO in view of Yamamoto discloses the apparatus and method of claims 1 and 16, but does not disclose wherein: the OCC sequence is a Hadamard sequence; the OCC sequence is associated with a vector of a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) matrix; the OCC sequence is a Zadoff-Chu sequence; or the OCC sequence is a computer-generated sequence, or a cyclic shifted version of the computer-generated sequence. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Xiong et al. US (2022/0116252).
Xiong discloses wherein: the OCC sequence is a Zadoff-Chu sequence or the OCC sequence is a computer-generated sequence (see Para’s [0003], [0006], [0054], [0062], [0083-0084] i.e., an OCC can be applied to the DMRS sequence, [0088], & [0279] i.e., generate a DM-RS sequence associated with a PUSCH based on a computer generated sequence (CGS) or a Zadoff-Chu sequence).
(Xiong suggests the OCC sequence is applied to a DMRS sequence associated with a PUSCH based on a computer generated sequence (CGS) or a Zadoff-Chu sequence which results in reduced PAPR by using a DFT-s-OFDM based waveform, (see Para’s [0050], [0061-0062], & [0090-0093])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the OCC sequence used for the DMRS included in the PUSCH transmission as disclosed in KO in view of Yamamoto to be a Zadoff-Chu sequence or a computer-generated sequence as disclosed in the teachings of Xiong, because the motivation lies in Xiong that the OCC sequence is applied to a DMRS sequence associated with a PUSCH based on a computer generated sequence (CGS) or a Zadoff-Chu sequence which results in reduced PAPR by using a DFT-s-OFDM based waveform.
Claims 5-8, 13-14, 20-23, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO et al. US (2022/0150018) in view of Yamamoto et al. US (2017/0195096) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. US (2020/0083986).
Regarding Claims 5, 13, 20, and 28 the combination of KO in view of Yamamoto discloses the apparatus of claims 1, 10, 16, and 25 and suggests resource mapping for the OCC sequence is a tone-based resource mapping (KO, see Para’s [0531-0532], [0539], & [0544]), but does not disclose the claim features of wherein a resource mapping for the OCC sequence is a tone-based resource mapping, a new sequence is generated for a given sequence of symbols where each symbol is repeated a quantity of times consecutively, the quantity corresponds to an OCC length, and the new sequence is mapped to time-frequency resources. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang et al. US (2020/0083986).
Zhang discloses wherein a resource mapping for the OCC sequence is a tone-based resource mapping, (see Fig. 3B & Para’s [0059] RBs 210 may span 12 contiguous subcarriers, [0068], [0070] i.e., The pre-DFT-OCC spreading based on symbol repetitions in time and spreading by the OCC 320…the sequence of spread symbols spread by the OCC 320 and DFT is applied across the sequence of spread symbols…the output of the DFT 340 is mapped to RBs 210 (i.e., RBs includes REs or tones) & [0076] i.e., the DFT output may include tones or resource elements (REs) (e.g., the subcarriers 212) that carry useful signals from two or more UEs, & [0087])
a new sequence is generated for a given sequence of symbols (see Fig. 3B i.e., symbols 330 & Para [0070]) where each symbol is repeated a quantity of times consecutively, (see Fig. 3B i.e., each symbol 330 i.e., D0, D1, and D2 are repeated four times & Para’s [0059] i.e., RBs 210 may span 12 contiguous subcarriers, [0068] i.e., the scheme 300 performs pre-DFT-OCC spreading based on symbol repetitions, [0070] i.e., The pre-DFT-OCC spreading based on symbol repetitions in time and spreading by the OCC 320…the sequence of spread symbols spread by the OCC 320 (i.e., “new sequence”) and DFT is applied across the sequence of spread symbols…the output of the DFT 340 is mapped to RBs 210 (i.e., RBs includes REs or tones) & [0076] i.e., the DFT output may include tones or resource elements (REs) (e.g., the subcarriers 212) that carry useful signals from two or more UEs, & [0087])
the quantity corresponds to an OCC length, (see Fig. 3B i.e., OCC 320 is a length of 4 and each symbol 330 i.e., D0, D1, and D2 are repeated four times & Para’s [0067-0068] & [0070])
and the new sequence is mapped to time-frequency resources (see Fig. 3B & Para’s [0059] RBs 210 may span 12 contiguous subcarriers, [0068] i.e., the scheme 300 performs pre-DFT-OCC spreading based on symbol repetitions, [0070] i.e., The pre-DFT-OCC spreading based on symbol repetitions in time and spreading by the OCC 320…the sequence of spread symbols spread by the OCC 320 (i.e., “new sequence”) and DFT is applied across the sequence of spread symbols…the output of the DFT 340 is mapped to RBs 210 (i.e., RBs includes REs or tones) & [0076] i.e., the DFT output may include tones or resource elements (REs) (e.g., the subcarriers 212) that carry useful signals from two or more UEs, & [0087])
(Zhang suggests assigning different UEs with different OCCs results in improving user multiplexing with DFT precoded frequency interlaces and preventing transmissions from different UEs not interfering with each other, (Para’s [0037] & [0065])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the resource mapping for the OCC sequence as disclosed in the teachings of KO in view of Yamamoto to include performing a tone-based resource mapping, where a new sequence is generated for a given sequence of symbols where each symbol is repeated a quantity of times consecutively, the quantity corresponds to an OCC length, and the new sequence is mapped to time-frequency resources as disclosed in the teachings of Zhang, because the motivation lies in Zhang for assigning different UEs with different OCCs which results in improving user multiplexing with DFT precoded frequency interlaces and preventing transmissions from different UEs not interfering with each other.
Regarding Claims 6 and 21, the combination of KO in view of Yamamoto discloses the apparatus and method of claims 1 and 16, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein a resource mapping for the OCC sequence is a chunk-based resource mapping, a new sequence is generated for a given sequence of symbols where a chunk of symbols are repeated a first quantity of times consecutively, the first quantity is based at least in part on a second quantity associated with a number of subcarriers in a frequency domain resource assignment and a third quantity associated with an OCC length, and the new sequence is mapped to time-frequency resources. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang et al. US (2020/0083986).
Zhang discloses wherein a resource mapping for the OCC sequence is a chunk-based resource mapping (see Fig. 4B & Para’s [0073] & [0075] i.e., the pre-DFT-OCC spreading based on block repetitions (i.e., block of symbols D0, D1,D2 may be a chunk) and spreading by the OCC 320… the DFT 340 is applied across the sequence of spread symbols and the output of the DFT 340 is mapped to RBs 210 (i.e., RBs includes REs or tones)), a new sequence is generated for a given sequence of symbols where a chunk of symbols are repeated a first quantity of times consecutively, (see Fig. 4B i.e., 430 chunk of symbols D0, D1, D2 are repeated four times and OCC is applied to each chunk of symbols & Para’s [0075] i.e., After the spreading by the OCC 320, the DFT 340 is applied to the sequence of spread symbols (i.e., “new sequence”))
the first quantity is based at least in part on a second quantity associated with a number of subcarriers in a frequency domain resource assignment (see Para’s [0059] i.e., RBs 210 may span 12 contiguous subcarriers & [0075]) and a third quantity associated with an OCC length, (see Fig. 4B i.e., 430 chunk of symbols D0, D1, D2 are repeated four times and OCC of length-4 is applied to each chunk of symbols & Para’s [0071] i.e., length-4 OCC 320 & [0075]).
and the new sequence is mapped to time-frequency resources (see Fig. 4B & Para’s [0059] i.e., RBs 210 may span 12 contiguous subcarriers, [0075] i.e., the pre-DFT-OCC spreading based on block repetitions (i.e., block of symbols D0, D1,D2 may be a chunk) and spreading by the OCC 320, the DFT 340 is applied to the sequence of spread symbols and the output of the DFT 340 is mapped to RBs (i.e., RBs includes REs or tones) & [0076] i.e., the DFT output may include tones or resource elements (REs) (e.g., the subcarriers 212) that carry useful signals from two or more UEs, & [0087])
(Zhang suggests assigning different UEs with different OCCs results in improving user multiplexing with DFT precoded frequency interlaces and preventing transmissions from different UEs not interfering with each other, (Para’s [0037] & [0065])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the resource mapping for the OCC sequence as disclosed in the teachings of KO in view of Yamamoto to include performing a chunk-based resource mapping, in which a new sequence is generated for a given sequence of symbols where a chunk of symbols are repeated a first quantity of times consecutively, the first quantity is based at least in part on a second quantity associated with a number of subcarriers in a frequency domain resource assignment and a third quantity associated with an OCC length, and the new sequence is mapped to time-frequency resources as disclosed in the teachings of Zhang, because the motivation lies in Zhang for assigning different UEs with different OCCs which results in improving user multiplexing with DFT precoded frequency interlaces and preventing transmissions from different UEs not interfering with each other.
Regarding Claims 7, 14, 22, and 29 the combination of KO in view of Yamamoto discloses the apparatus and method of claims 1, 10, 16, and 25 but does not disclose the claim features of wherein a resource mapping for the OCC sequence is based at least in part on a chunk-based spreading, a new sequence is generated for a given sequence of symbols where a chunk of symbols are repeated a first quantity of times consecutively, the first quantity is based at least in part on a second quantity associated with a size of a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) of a DFT spreader and a third quantity associated with an OCC length, and the new sequence is inputted to the DFT spreader. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang et al. US (2020/0083986).
Zhang discloses wherein a resource mapping for the OCC sequence is based at least in part on a chunk-based spreading, (see Fig. 4B & Para’s [0073] & [0075] i.e., the pre-DFT-OCC spreading based on block repetitions (i.e., block of symbols D0, D1,D2 may be a chunk) and spreading by the OCC 320 (i.e., “chunk-based spreading”)… After the spreading by the OCC 320, the DFT 340 is applied across the sequence of spread symbols and the output of the DFT 340 is mapped to RBs 210 (i.e., RBs includes REs or tones)),
a new sequence is generated for a given sequence of symbols where a chunk of symbols are repeated a first quantity of times consecutively, (see Fig. 4B i.e., 430 chunk of symbols D0, D1, D2 are repeated four times and OCC is applied to each chunk of symbols & Para’s [0075] i.e., After the spreading by the OCC 320, the DFT 340 is applied to the sequence of spread symbols (i.e., “new sequence”))
the first quantity is based at least in part on a second quantity associated with a size of a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) of a DFT spreader (see Fig. 4B i.e., DFT 340 & Para’s [0075] & [0111] i.e., DFT size) and a third quantity associated with an OCC length, (see Fig. 4B i.e., 430 chunk of symbols D0, D1, D2 are repeated four times and OCC of length-4 is applied to each chunk of symbols & Para’s [0071] i.e., length-4 OCC 320 & [0075]).
and the new sequence is inputted to the DFT spreader. (see Fig. 4B i.e., DFT 340 & Para’s [0073] & [0075] i.e., After the spreading by the OCC 320, the DFT 340 is applied to the sequence of spread symbols (i.e., “new sequence”)).
(Zhang suggests assigning different UEs with different OCCs results in improving user multiplexing with DFT precoded frequency interlaces and preventing transmissions from different UEs not interfering with each other, (Para’s [0037] & [0065])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the resource mapping for the OCC sequence as disclosed in the teachings of KO in view of Yamamoto to include performing a chunk-based spreading, in which a new sequence is generated for a given sequence of symbols where a chunk of symbols are repeated a first quantity of times consecutively, the first quantity is based at least in part on a second quantity associated with a size of a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) of a DFT spreader and a third quantity associated with an OCC length, and the new sequence is inputted to the DFT spreader as disclosed in the teachings of Zhang, because the motivation lies in Zhang for assigning different UEs with different OCCs which results in improving user multiplexing with DFT precoded frequency interlaces and preventing transmissions from different UEs not interfering with each other.
Regarding Claims 8 and 23, the combination of KO in view of Yamamoto discloses the apparatus and method of claims 1 and 16, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein a resource mapping for the OCC sequence is based at least in part on a sample-based spreading, a new sequence is generated for a given sequence of symbols where each symbol is repeated a quantity of times consecutively, the quantity corresponds to an OCC length, and the new sequence is inputted to a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spreader. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang et al. US (2020/0083986).
Zhang discloses wherein a resource mapping for the OCC sequence is based at least in part on a sample-based spreading, (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0112] & Fig. 9, sample-based spreading refers to e.g., transmitting the symbols according to OCC with DFT-s-OFDM, see applicants specification Para [0112]…Zhang, see Fig. 3B i.e., repeated symbols D0, D1, D2 (i.e., “samples”) are transmitted using OCC sequence 320 and DFT 340 & Para’s [0059], [0068], [0070] i.e., As shown in Fig. 3B, pre DFT-OCC spreading can be applied to information symbols 310 including D0, D1, D2, D3, D4, and D5. The pre-DFT-OCC spreading based on symbol repetitions in time and spreading by the OCC 320 can be applied to the information symbols 310. After the spreading by the OCC 320, the DFT 340 is applied to the sequence of spread symbols & [0087])
a new sequence is generated for a given sequence of symbols where each symbol is repeated a quantity of times consecutively, (see Fig. 3B i.e., each symbol 330 i.e., D0, D1, and D2 are repeated four times & Para’s [0059] i.e., RBs 210 may span 12 contiguous subcarriers, [0068] i.e., the scheme 300 performs pre-DFT-OCC spreading based on symbol repetitions, [0070] i.e., The pre-DFT-OCC spreading based on symbol repetitions in time and spreading by the OCC 320…the sequence of spread symbols spread by the OCC 320 (i.e., “new sequence”) and DFT is applied across the sequence of spread symbols…the output of the DFT 340 is mapped to RBs 210 (i.e., RBs includes REs or tones) & [0076] i.e., the DFT output may include tones or resource elements (REs) (e.g., the subcarriers 212) that carry useful signals from two or more UEs, & [0087])
the quantity corresponds to an OCC length, (see Fig. 3B i.e., OCC 320 is a length of 4 and each symbol 330 i.e., D0, D1, and D2 are repeated four times & Para’s [0067-0068] & [0070])
and the new sequence is inputted to a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spreader (see Fig. 3B i.e., DFT 340 & Para’s [0068] i.e., the sequence of spread symbols 330 can be further spread by a DFT 340 & [0070] i.e., DFT 340 is applied across the sequence of spread symbols)
(Zhang suggests assigning different UEs with different OCCs results in improving user multiplexing with DFT precoded frequency interlaces and preventing transmissions from different UEs not interfering with each other, (Para’s [0037] & [0065])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the resource mapping for the OCC sequence as disclosed in the teachings of KO in view of Yamamoto to include performing a sample-based spreading, in which a new sequence is generated for a given sequence of symbols where each symbol is repeated a quantity of times consecutively, the quantity corresponds to an OCC length, and the new sequence is inputted to a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) spreader as disclosed in the teachings of Zhang, because the motivation lies in Zhang for assigning different UEs with different OCCs which results in improving user multiplexing with DFT precoded frequency interlaces and preventing transmissions from different UEs not interfering with each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 15, 24, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461