DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 15, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Reasons set forth below.
Applicant argues that Examiner has “combined disparate features from different, unrelated embodiments of Farag to reconstruct the claimed monitoring window”, (Remarks, pg. 7). Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Fig. 8 and Fig. 9 of Farag are not unrelated embodiments and Examiner has not combined “disparate features from different portions and embodiments of Farag” to “reconstruct” the monitoring window of the claimed invention. Fig. 8 and Fig. 9 of Farag are related to each other. Fig. 8 is used by Farag to describe a “contiguous partial sensing operation” that defines a monitoring window for a resource selection operation that is triggered in slot n. Fig. 9 is used by Farag to describe a “contiguous partial sensing operation” that defines two monitoring windows, one for resource selection/re-selection in slot n (which is the same as Fig. 8) and the other monitoring window for re-evaluation and/or pre-emption that is triggered in slot C. Thus, Fig. 9 comprises Fig. 8. Paragraph [0099] of Farag discloses “partial sensing can be contiguous partial sensing (CPS), wherein slots are sensed contiguously within a short time window before resource selection/reselection for an initial SL transmission or for a re-evaluation check or a preemption check.” Thus, regardless of whether the triggered operation is for initial resource selection/reselection or for a re-evaluation check or a preemption check, sensing must be performed in a monitoring window. Through both Fig. 8 and Fig. 9, and the associated paragraphs that describe them, Farag teaches that the start and end times of the monitoring window can be determined in terms of the familiar 3GPP terms, n, and m, regardless of whether the trigger in slot n is for an initial resource selection, as in Fig. 8 or for a resource re-evaluation/pre-emption check, as in Fig. 9. Thus, the reason for the trigger is irrelevant with respect to defining the start and end times of the monitoring window. Furthermore, claim 1 claims three separate embodiments when defining that the start of the monitoring window can start at either (n-31), (n - TSLproc,0 - 31), or (m-31). Thus, different embodiments must be cited in order to show how prior art teaches each embodiment. Examiner focused only on Fig. 8 and Fig. 9 of Farag and the associated paragraphs that describe the different examples used to determine the start and end of the monitoring window in terms of different parameters. After reading the paragraphs that describe Fig. 8 and Fig. 9 of Farag, one of ordinary skill in the art can see that Farag teaches a monitoring window that can be configurable or fixed based on 31 logical slots from a trigger “n”, regardless of whether the trigger was for an initial resource selection, as in Fig. 8 or for a resource re-evaluation/pre-emption check, as in Fig. 9. Also, in order to reject claim 1, Examiner only needs to show that Farag discloses a monitoring window with just one of the fixed starting points of claim 1, due to the “or” condition. In the rejection of claim1 of the previous office action dated April 15, 2026, the Examiner focused on showing how Farag teaches the start of the monitoring window begins at slot (n-31) and ends at slot (n- TSLproc,0).
In defining the start and end of the monitoring window of Fig. 8, Farag uses the standard 3GPP terminology that, as pointed out by Applicant in previous Arguments/Remarks dated February 12, 2026, “In particular, "n", "T0", "T3", "TSLproc,0", "m" each have well-known meanings in 5G new radio sidelink communication, and they are clearly defined and well recognized by those skilled in the art in the corresponding 3GPP technical specifications”. Farag also uses more generalized parameters, but always defines these in terms of the familiar, well known 3GPP parameters. For example, [0135] “contiguous partial sensing starts in slot A, wherein A=n−T.sub.0 , and ends on or before slot n−T.sub.B”, where T.sub.B <= TSLproc,0 as shown in Fig. 8, and [0136] In one example 0.1.1.1, T.sub.0 is determined by the extent of aperiodic resource reservation by sidelink control information (SCI), based on at least one of the following example. Farag goes on to explain eight different ways of determining T.sub.0 in paragraphs [0137] through [0144], so all of the examples are relevant to Fig. 8. The example that teaches the claimed monitoring window starts at slot (n-31), as shown in the rejection of the office action dated April 15, 2026, is in the previously cited paragraph [0137] which states, “ T.sub.0 corresponds to the physical duration of 31 logical slots before slot n”. This is shown in Fig. 8 by time duration Ex1:T0. This is due to the limitation of Release 16 where [0137] In one example 0.1.1.1.1, as in release 16, an SCI can indicate up to 2 future aperiodic reserved resources within 31 logical slots. Therefore, paragraph [0137] of Farag teaches that the start of the claimed monitoring window begins at n-31.
Applicant argues that paragraph [0135] of Farag does not disclose the three fixed starting points recited in claim 1, nor does it directly disclose that the ending slot must be (n- TSLproc,0) (Remarks pg. 8). Examiner never cited paragraph [0135] of Farag as teaching all three fixed starting points recited in claim 1 or that the ending slot must be (n- TSLproc,0). First, in order to reject claim 1, Farag only needs to teach one of the fixed starting points of claim 1, due to claim 1 being written in the alternative. For the rejection of claim 1, Examiner cited paragraph [0137] to reject the claimed fixed starting point of (n-31). Farag discloses the monitoring window of Fig. 8 can be configurable and/or can be fixed based on a pre-configured value of 31 logical slots to accommodate the scenario where [0137] “In one example 0.1.1.1.1, as in release 16, an SCI can indicate up to 2 future aperiodic reserved resources within 31 logical slots”, where “T.sub.0 corresponds to the physical duration of 31 logical slots before n”. This is shown in Fig. 8 by Ex1, where the start of the monitoring window is defined as n-T.sub.0. In this example T.sub.0 is fixed at 31 logical slots before slot n. Therefore, Farag discloses a fixed starting point of (n-31).
Applicant argues that the start and end of the claimed monitoring window are not exemplified as part of a re-evaluation and pre-emption checking procedure triggered in slot n (Remarks pg. 8). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Farag discloses [0090] “The re-evaluation check includes: (1) performing the first step of the SL resource selection procedure as determined in 3GPP standard specification (i.e., clause 8.1.4 of TS 38.214), which involves identifying (determining) a candidate (available) sidelink resource set in a resource selection window as previously described”. The first step of the SL resource selection procedure as determined in 3GPP is defined by Fig. 8. Examiner already showed above how Fig. 8 discloses the boundaries of the claimed monitoring window. Fig. 9 also teaches the 2nd sensing window can have the same boundaries as Fig. 8 in the context of a re-evaluation and/or pre-emption check triggered in slot C, where slot C of Fig. 9 is the same as slot n of the claimed invention, the triggering of the re-evaluation or pre-emption check. As shown in the rejection of claim 9, with respect to the triggering of a re-evaluation and/or pre-emption check, Farag teaches ([0161] In another example 0.1.2.1.6, slot A2 is determined based on slot C (slot n of the claimed invention), e.g., slot A2 is before slot C by time T.sub.AC, i.e., A2=C−T.sub.AC. In one example, the farthest aperiodic reservation that can be indicated in an SCI is after W logical slots from a slot of the SCI, T.sub.AC corresponds to the physical duration of W logical slots before slot C. Alternatively, T.sub.AC is in logical slots, and is equal to W. In one example, W is 31 logical slots”. Therefore, the monitoring window for a re-evaluation and/or pre-emption check starts from the slot (C-31), where C of Fig. 9 is the same as n of the claimed invention. Therefore, Farag discloses the fixed starting point of the monitoring window for a re-evaluation and pre-emption check is (n-31). Paragraph [0171] cited in the previous office action dated November 17, 2025 discloses how to determine the endpoint of the 2nd monitoring window of Fig. 9, in the context of a re-evaluation/pre-emption check, where B2=C−T.sub.BC, wherein, T.sub.BC=T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL. Specifically, same analysis as for the endpoint of the monitoring window of Fig. 8 for resource selection. This further shows that the start/end times for a monitoring window are independent of the type of trigger, whether it is for a selection/re-selection or re-evaluation/pre-emption check, since both Fig. 8 and Fig. 9 can be used to show the start/end times of the monitoring windows in terms of the slot that triggers the operation.
Applicant argues that Farag does not disclose that t′.sub.n1.sup.SL is the smallest candidate resource slot index after (n+T3) and that Fig. 8 does not disclose the T3 based mechanism, (Remarks, pg. 9). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner is interpreting t′.sub.n1.sup.SL to be the slot for the first candidate resource of Fig. 8. Examiner would like to call to the applicant’s attention Ex3:T0 of Fig. 8 which shows the sensing window starts a time T0 from t′.sub.n1.sup.SL, “the smallest candidate resource slot index after (n+T3)”, where it has already been shown that T0 can be pre-configured to 31 logical slots and T3 of the claimed invention is equal to T1 of Fig. 8. T3 is, as pointed out by Applicant in previous Arguments/Remarks dated February 12, 2026, “In particular, "n", "T0", "T3", "TSLproc,0", "m" each have well-known meanings in 5G new radio sidelink communication, and they are clearly defined and well recognized by those skilled in the art in the corresponding 3GPP technical specifications”. T3 is defined by 3GPP as a processing time for resource selection. Also defined in paragraph [0090] of Farag, “For a pre-selected resource to be first-time signaled in slot m, the UE performs a re-evaluation check at least in slot m−T.sub.3, where T.sub.3=T.sub.proc,1.sup.SL as define in TS 38.214, clause 8.1.4. T.sub.3 is a resource selection processing time for re-evaluation check, which equals a resource selection processing time T.sub.proc,1.sup.SL. So T3 is well known in the art. In the context of Fig. 8, T.sub.1 is the same as T.sub.proc,1.sup.SL, the resource selection processing time. To further clarify, [0085] T.sub.1 is determined by the UE such that, 0≤T.sub.1≤T.sub.proc,1.sup.SL. Therefore, Farag discloses that t′.sub.n1.sup.SL is the smallest candidate resource slot index after (n+T3) and Fig. 8 disclose the T3 based mechanism.
Applicant argues that Farag does not disclose that the starting point of the monitoring window is (n - TSLproc,0 - 31), (Remarks, pg. 9). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0137] discloses a limitation of Release 16 where an SCI can indicate up to 2 future aperiodic reserved resources within 31 logical slots. A person of ordinary skill can easily conclude that it would make sense to make the monitoring window a fixed duration of 31 logical slots. Taking into account the processing time of the UE, which as remarked by the applicant is a well known, well defined term in the art, the end of the monitoring window would be no greater than n - TSLproc,0 . Therefore, the start of the monitoring window would be at (n - TSLproc,0 - 31). Therefore Farag teaches a fixed starting point of the monitoring window is at (n - TSLproc,0 - 31). As for Fig. 9 and the starting point of the monitoring window at (n - TSLproc,0 - 31) being related to a re-evaluation or pre-emption check, one of ordinary skill would understand that the Release 16 limitation of an SCI can indicate up to 2 future aperiodic reserved resources within 31 logical slots of paragraph [0137] applies to any sensing window, regardless of whether the trigger is for initial resource selection/re-selection/re-evaluation/pre-emption check.
Applicant argues that Farag does not disclose, in a single, direct, and clear embodiment, the monitoring window recited in claim 1, as part of the claimed re-evaluation and pre-emption checking procedure, which starts from (n-31), (m-31), or slot (n - TSLproc,0 - 31), and ends at ending slot (n- T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL) (Remarks, pg. 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner already showed above how the monitoring window as disclosed by Farag can be configurable or fixed based on a Release 16 limitation of 31 logical slots for an SCI to indicate future aperiodic reserved resources. Examiner also showed above that the starting and ending points of the monitoring window can be configured in the same manner regardless of the type of trigger, initial resource selection/re-selection/re-evaluation/pre-emption check. Examiner has shown how Fig. 8 and Fig. 9 are related and how both can be used to teach the fixed starting point of (n-31) and the ending point of (n - TSLproc,0). Thus several embodiments of Farag disclose the claimed fixed monitoring window with a starting point of (n-31) and an ending point of (n - TSLproc,0). Thus Farag anticipates claim 1.
Regarding the rejection of claims 18 and 19, claims 18 and 19 recite similar limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 18 and 19, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-17, and 20, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims, other than their dependency to claim 1 or 19. Therefor for at least the reasons presented above for claim 1, the dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-13, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Farag (US 20220312479 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Farag teaches a resource monitoring method in 5G new radio sidelink communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
sensing slots of a sidelink resource pool within a monitoring window ([0153] FIG. 9 illustrates yet another example of contiguous partial sensing operation 900. [0099] partial sensing can be contiguous partial sensing (CPS), wherein slots are sensed contiguously within a short time window before resource selection/reselection for an initial SL transmission or for a re-evaluation check or a preemption check.), wherein the monitoring window comprises at least a time interval (Fig. 8 sensing window), and the time interval starts from a slot (n - 31), a slot (m - 31), or a slot (n - TSLproc,0 - 31) ([0137] In one example 0.1.1.1.1, as in release 16, an SCI can indicate up to 2 future aperiodic reserved resources within 31 logical slots. In one example, T.sub.0 corresponds to the physical duration of 31 logical slots before slot n, and slot n is the physical slot number (n-31)) and ends in slot (n - TSLproc,0 ) (Fig. 8, shows the sensing window ends in slot n−T.sub.B, where T.sub.B<= T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL), where the UE is triggered to determine a subset of resources in a slot (n) as a part of a re-evaluation and pre-emption checking procedure (Fig. 6; [0116] As illustrated in FIG. 6, in step 601, a UE is (pre-)configured with a resource pool, and with one or more sensing modes (e.g., full sensing, partial sensing and/or random resource selection), as well as configuration parameters related to each sensing mode. [0122] In step 604, a UE determines the candidate resources as a result of partial sensing (or no sensing) in step 603 and performs SL resource selection within the candidate resources. [0154] a resource re-evaluation check can occur in slot C (slot (n))…and one or more second contiguous partial sensing windows occur for re-evaluation and/or pre-emption. ), and m is a smallest candidate resource slot index after slot (n + T3) ( [0137] Alternatively, the sensing window starts 31 logical slots before the start of the resource selection window, i.e., the sensing window starts in slot t′.sub.n1.sup.SL−31, wherein t′.sub.n1.sup.SL is the index of the first logical slot within the resource selection window (m), i.e., n−T.sub.0=t′.sub.n1.sup.SL−31. Fig. 8 shows n+T1 is the start of the selection window or “m”.)
Regarding claim 3, Farag teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the UE senses the slots of the sidelink resource pool by decoding a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and measuring a reference signal received power (RSRP) within the monitoring window except for slots in which its own transmissions occur ([0086] Therefore, sensing within a sensing window involves decoding the first stage SCI (PSCCH), and measuring the corresponding SL RSRP, wherein the SL RSRP can be based on PSCCH DMRS or PSSCH DMRS. Sensing is performed over slots where the UE doesn't transmit SL.).
Regarding claim 4, Farag teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a number of slots for TSLproc,0 is selected from a set of values [1, 1, 2, 4] depending on a configured subcarrier spacing (SCS) for a sidelink bandwidth part in which the sidelink resource pool is configured ([0145] in another example 0.1.1.2.3, T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL depends on the sub-carrier spacing of the SL bandwidth part (e.g., of the SL channels). For example, as shown in TABLE 2. For example, T.sub.proc, 0.sup.SL is as described in Table 8.1.4-1 of TS 38.214. Sidelink Sub-carrier spacing (μ.sub.SL) T.sub.proc, 0.sup.SL in slots 15 kHz (μ.sub.SL = 0).sup. 1, 30 kHz (μ.sub.SL = 1) 1, 60 kHz (μ.sub.SL = 2) 2, 120z (μ.sub.SL = 3) 4).
Regarding claim 5, Farag teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the sidelink resource pool is indicated by a higher layer to a physical layer when the higher layer requests and/or triggers the physical layer in the slot (n) to determine the subset of resources from which the higher layer selects resources for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)/PSCCH transmission as the part of the re-evaluation and pre- emption checking procedure ([0329] A resource pool can be configured with one or more periodic reservation periods given by higher layer parameter sl-ResourceReservationPeriodList. [0129] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of periodic-based partial sensing: (i) resource selection/re-selection is triggered by higher layers in slot n [0086] The resource (re-)selection is a two-step procedure: (1) the first step (e.g., performed in the physical layer) is to identify and determine the candidate resources within a resource selection window. (2) the second step (e.g., performed in the higher layers) is to select or re-select a resource from the identified (determined) candidate resources for PSSCH/PSCCH transmission. [0203] In another example 0.2.2, a first contiguous partial sensing window ends before slot C of re-evaluation check of the first SL transmission or would SL transmission as illustrated in FIG. 14 for SL transmission (resource selection/re-selection) triggered by higher layers in slot n. When re-evaluation and/or pre-emption check is enabled, one or more second contiguous partial sensing windows are used for re-evaluation check and/or pre-emption check for the next SL transmissions.).
Regarding claim 8, Farag teaches the method of claim 1, wherein for the time interval of the monitoring window, a maximum resource assignment/reservation in future time slots by a sidelink control information (SCI) is limited to 31 slots (Fig. 8 [0136] In one example 0.1.1.1, T.sub.0 is determined by the extent of aperiodic resource reservation by sidelink control information (SCI), based on at least one of the following example. [0137] In one example 0.1.1.1.1, as in release 16, an SCI can indicate up to 2 future aperiodic reserved resources within 31 logical slots).
Regarding claim 9, Farag teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the time interval starts from the slot (n - 31) when the UE selects an early resource selection window ([0161] In another example 0.1.2.1.6, slot A2 is determined based on slot C (n), e.g., slot A2 is before slot C by time T.sub.AC, i.e., A2=C−T.sub.AC). In one example, the farthest aperiodic reservation that can be indicated in an SCI is after W logical slots from a slot of the SCI, T.sub.AC corresponds to the physical duration of W logical slots before slot C. Alternatively, T.sub.AC is in logical slots, and is equal to W. In one example, W is 31 logical slots. Therefore, the time interval starts from the slot (n-31), where n is equal to C in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Farag teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the time interval starts from the slot (m - 31) when the UE needs to monitor up to 31 slots prior to a first sidelink candidate resource indicated for the re-evaluation and pre-emption checking procedure (Fig. 8; [0137] In one example 0.1.1.1.1, as in release 16, an SCI can indicate up to 2 future aperiodic reserved resources within 31 logical slots. Alternatively, the sensing window starts 31 logical slots before the start of the resource selection window, i.e., the sensing window starts in slot t′.sub.n1.sup.SL−31 (m-31), wherein t′.sub.n1.sup.SL is the index of the first logical slot within the resource selection window (m), i.e., n−T.sub.0=t′.sub.n1.sup.SL−31.).
Regarding claim 11, Farag teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the time interval starts from the slot (n - TSLproc,0 - 31) for a UE processing time for decoding a PSCCH and preparing the subset of resources to be reported to a higher layer in the slot (n) ([0087] During the first step of the resource (re-)selection procedure, a UE can monitor slots in a sensing window [n−T.sub.0, n−T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL), where the UE monitors slots belonging to a corresponding sidelink TX resource pool that are not used for the UE's own transmission. For example, T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL is the sensing processing latency time. [0145] In one example 0.1.1.2, T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL is latency for sensing from the end of the sensing window (or last slot be sensed) to slot n where resource selection/re-selection can occur, based on at least one of the following: (1) in one example 0.1.1.2.1, T.sub.B=T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL. Fig. 8 shows n−T.sub.B, where T.sub.B <= T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL. thus the start of the time interval is n - T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL - 31).
Regarding claim 12, Farag teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
including all available sensing results of the sidelink resource pool within a time interval for the re-evaluation and pre-emption checking procedure ([0090] and [0091] The re-evaluation and pre-emption checks both include: (1) performing the first step of the SL resource selection procedure as determined in 3GPP standard specification (i.e., clause 8.1.4 of TS 38.214), which involves identifying (determining) a candidate (available) sidelink resource set in a resource selection window as previously described), wherein the time interval is after n – T0 and/or before n - TSLproc,0 ([0135] In one example 0.1.1, as illustrated in FIG. 8, contiguous partial sensing starts in slot A, wherein A=n−T.sub.0, and ends before slot n−T.sub.B, [0145] in one example 0.1.1.2.1, T.sub.B=T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL. (before n - T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL)), where a number of slots for T0 is determined according to a configuration parameter ([0138] In another example 0.1.1.1.2, the farthest aperiodic reservation that can be indicated in an SCI is after W logical slots from the slot of the SCI, wherein W (configuration parameter) can be specified in the system specifications and/or pre-configured and/or configured and/or updated by RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling and/or L1 control signaling. In one example, T.sub.0 corresponds to the physical duration of W logical slots before slot n, and slot n is the physical slot number. Alternatively, slot n corresponds to a logical slot index within a resource pool and T.sub.0 is W logical slots within a resource pool.)
Regarding claim 13, Farag teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the configuration parameter indicates a start of the monitoring window ([0138] Alternatively, the sensing window starts W logical slots before the start of the resource selection window).
Regarding claim 15, Farag teaches the method of claim 13, wherein a value of the configuration parameter is dependent on whether the sidelink resource pool allows to reserve a sidelink resource for another transport block (TB) in an SCI ([0136] In one example 0.1.1.1, T.sub.0 (value of the configuration parameter) is determined by the extent of aperiodic resource reservation by sidelink control information (SCI), based on at least one of the following example. [0137] In one example 0.1.1.1.1, as in release 16, an SCI can indicate up to 2 future aperiodic reserved resources (resource for another TB) within 31 logical slots. In one example, T.sub.0 corresponds to the physical duration of 31 logical slots before slot n, and slot n is the physical slot number. [0138] In another example 0.1.1.1.2, the farthest aperiodic reservation that can be indicated in an SCI is after W logical slots from the slot of the SCI, wherein W can be specified in the system specifications and/or pre-configured and/or configured and/or updated by RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling and/or L1 control signaling. In one example, T.sub.0 corresponds to the physical duration of W logical slots before slot n, and slot n is the physical slot number.).
Regarding claim 16, Farag teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the UE initializes a set of candidate resources within a selection window and excludes resources that have been reserved by others in a received SCI format and its measured RSRP is higher than a corresponding threshold ([0092] The pre-emption check includes: (1) performing the first step of the SL resource selection procedure as determined in 3GPP standard specification (i.e., clause 8.1.4 of TS 38.214), which involves identifying (determining) candidate (available) sidelink resource set in a resource selection window as previously described; (2) if the pre-selected and reserved resource is available in the candidate sidelink resource set, the resource is used/signaled for sidelink transmission; (3) else, the pre-selected and reserved resource is NOT available in the candidate sidelink resource set. The resource is excluded from the candidate resource set due to an SCI, associated with a priority value P.sub.RX, having an RSRP exceeding a threshold.).
Regarding claim 18, Farag teaches a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3; UE 116) for 5G new radio sidelink communication, comprising:
a memory (Fig. 3; memory 360);
a transceiver (Fig. 3; RF transceiver 310); and
a processor (Fig. 3; processor 340) coupled to the memory and the transceiver;
wherein the UE is configured to:
sense slots of a sidelink resource pool within a monitoring window ([0153] FIG. 9 illustrates yet another example of contiguous partial sensing operation 900. [0099] partial sensing can be contiguous partial sensing (CPS), wherein slots are sensed contiguously within a short time window before resource selection/reselection for an initial SL transmission or for a re-evaluation check or a preemption check.), wherein the monitoring window comprises at least a time interval (Fig. 8 sensing window), and the time interval starts from a slot (n - 31), a slot (m - 31), or a slot (n - TSLproc,0 - 31) ([0137] In one example 0.1.1.1.1, as in release 16, an SCI can indicate up to 2 future aperiodic reserved resources within 31 logical slots. In one example, T.sub.0 corresponds to the physical duration of 31 logical slots before slot n, and slot n is the physical slot number (n-31)) and ends in slot (n - TSLproc,0 ) (Fig. 8, shows the sensing window ends in slot n−T.sub.B, where T.sub.B<= T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL), where the UE is triggered to determine a subset of resources in a slot (n) as a part of a re-evaluation and pre-emption checking procedure (Fig. 6; [0116] As illustrated in FIG. 6, in step 601, a UE is (pre-)configured with a resource pool, and with one or more sensing modes (e.g., full sensing, partial sensing and/or random resource selection), as well as configuration parameters related to each sensing mode. [0122] In step 604, a UE determines the candidate resources as a result of partial sensing (or no sensing) in step 603 and performs SL resource selection within the candidate resources. [0154] a resource re-evaluation check can occur in slot C (slot (n))…and one or more second contiguous partial sensing windows occur for re-evaluation and/or pre-emption. ), and m is a smallest candidate resource slot index after slot (n + T3) ( [0137] Alternatively, the sensing window starts 31 logical slots before the start of the resource selection window, i.e., the sensing window starts in slot t′.sub.n1.sup.SL−31, wherein t′.sub.n1.sup.SL is the index of the first logical slot within the resource selection window (m), i.e., n−T.sub.0=t′.sub.n1.sup.SL−31. Fig. 8 shows n+T1 is the start of the selection window or “m”.)
Regarding claim 19, Farag teaches t user equipment (UE) for 5G new radio sidelink communication, comprising:
a memory (Fig. 3; memory 360);
a transceiver (Fig. 3; RF transceiver 310); and
a processor (Fig. 3; processor 340) coupled to the memory and the transceiver;
wherein the UE is configured to:
include all available sensing results of a sidelink resource pool within a time interval for a re-evaluation and pre-emption checking procedure ([0090] and [0091] The re-evaluation and pre-emption checks both include: (1) performing the first step of the SL resource selection procedure as determined in 3GPP standard specification (i.e., clause 8.1.4 of TS 38.214), which involves identifying (determining) a candidate (available) sidelink resource set in a resource selection window as previously described), wherein the time interval is after n – T0 and/or before n - TSLproc,0 ([0135] In one example 0.1.1, as illustrated in FIG. 8, contiguous partial sensing starts in slot A, wherein A=n−T.sub.0, and ends before slot n−T.sub.B, [0145] in one example 0.1.1.2.1, T.sub.B=T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL. (before n - T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL)), where a number of slots for T0 is determined according to a configuration parameter ([0138] In another example 0.1.1.1.2, the farthest aperiodic reservation that can be indicated in an SCI is after W logical slots from the slot of the SCI, wherein W (configuration parameter) can be specified in the system specifications and/or pre-configured and/or configured and/or updated by RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling and/or L1 control signaling. In one example, T.sub.0 corresponds to the physical duration of W logical slots before slot n, and slot n is the physical slot number. Alternatively, slot n corresponds to a logical slot index within a resource pool and T.sub.0 is W logical slots within a resource pool.)
Regarding claim 20, Farag teaches the UE according to claim 19, wherein the processor is further caused to: sense slots of the sidelink resource pool within a monitoring window ([0153] FIG. 9 illustrates yet another example of contiguous partial sensing operation 900. [0099] partial sensing can be contiguous partial sensing (CPS), wherein slots are sensed contiguously within a short time window before resource selection/reselection for an initial SL transmission or for a re-evaluation check or a preemption check.), wherein the monitoring window comprises at least a time interval (Fig. 8 sensing window), and the time interval starts from a slot (n - 31), a slot (m - 31), or a slot (n - TSLproc,0 - 31) ([0137] In one example 0.1.1.1.1, as in release 16, an SCI can indicate up to 2 future aperiodic reserved resources within 31 logical slots. In one example, T.sub.0 corresponds to the physical duration of 31 logical slots before slot n, and slot n is the physical slot number (n-31)) and ends in slot (n - TSLproc,0 ) (Fig. 8, shows the sensing window ends in slot n−T.sub.B, where T.sub.B<= T.sub.proc,0.sup.SL), where the UE is triggered to determine a subset of resources in a slot (n) as a part of a re-evaluation and pre-emption checking procedure (Fig. 6; [0116] As illustrated in FIG. 6, in step 601, a UE is (pre-)configured with a resource pool, and with one or more sensing modes (e.g., full sensing, partial sensing and/or random resource selection), as well as configuration parameters related to each sensing mode. [0122] In step 604, a UE determines the candidate resources as a result of partial sensing (or no sensing) in step 603 and performs SL resource selection within the candidate resources. [0154] a resource re-evaluation check can occur in slot C (slot (n))…and one or more second contiguous partial sensing windows occur for re-evaluation and/or pre-emption. ), and m is a smallest candidate resource slot index after slot (n + T3) ( [0137] Alternatively, the sensing window starts 31 logical slots before the start of the resource selection window, i.e., the sensing window starts in slot t′.sub.n1.sup.SL−31, wherein t′.sub.n1.sup.SL is the index of the first logical slot within the resource selection window (m), i.e., n−T.sub.0=t′.sub.n1.sup.SL−31. Fig. 8 shows n+T1 is the start of the selection window or “m”.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 7, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag (US 20220312479 A1) in view of Li (US 20220086803 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Farag teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein a number of slots for T3 is selected from a set of values [3, 5, 9, 17] depending on a configured subcarrier spacing (SCS) for a sidelink bandwidth part in which the sidelink resource pool is configured.
However, Li in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication teaches wherein a number of slots for T3 is selected from a set of values [3, 5, 9, 17] depending on a configured subcarrier spacing (SCS) for a sidelink bandwidth part in which the sidelink resource pool is configured ([0096] selection of T.sub.1 is up to UE implementation under 0≤T.sub.1≤T.sub.proc,1.sup.SL, where T.sub.proc,1.sup.SL (T3) is defined in slots in Table 8.1.4-2 where μ.sub.SL is the SCS configuration of the SL BWP. [Table 8.1.4-2 of 3GPP TS 38.214 V16.2.0, Entitled “T.sub.proc,1.sup.SL Depending on Sub-Carrier Spacing”, is Reproduced as FIG. 6]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing operations for sidelink communications of Farag to include the teachings of Li. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance reliability and reduce latency for NR SL mode 2 (Li; [0416]).
Regarding claim 6, Farag teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the re-evaluation and pre-emption checking procedure comprises one or more of following parameters: a layer 1 (L1) priority of a PSSCH/PSCCH to be transmitted; a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) for the PSSCH/PSCCH transmission; and a number of sub-channels for the PSSCH/PSCCH transmission.
However, Li in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication teaches wherein the re-evaluation and pre-emption checking procedure comprises one or more of following parameters: a layer 1 (L1) priority of a PSSCH/PSCCH to be transmitted; a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) for the PSSCH/PSCCH transmission; and a number of sub-channels for the PSSCH/PSCCH transmission ([0079] In resource allocation mode 2, the higher layer can request the UE to determine a subset of resources from which the higher layer will select resources for PSSCH/PSCCH transmission. To trigger this procedure, in slot n, the higher layer provides the following parameters for this PSSCH/PSCCH transmission: [0080] the resource pool from which the resources are to be reported; [0081] L1 priority, prio.sub.TX; [0082] the remaining packet delay budget; [0083] the number of sub-channels to be used for the PSSCH/PSCCH transmission in a slot, L.sub.subCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing operations for sidelink communications of Farag to include the teachings of Li. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance reliability and reduce latency for NR SL mode 2 (Li; [0416]).
Regarding claim 7, Farag teaches the method of claim 5, but does not teach wherein the higher layer further provides a first set of one or more resources for re-evaluation and a second set of one or more resources for pre-emption checking.
However Li in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication teaches wherein the higher layer further provides a first set of one or more resources for re-evaluation and a second set of one or more resources for pre-emption checking ([0085] if the higher layer requests the UE to determine a subset of resources from which the higher layer will select resources for PSSCH/PSCCH transmission as part of re-evaluation or pre-emption procedure, the higher layer provides a set of resources (r.sub.0, r.sub.1, r.sub.2, . . . ) which may be subject to re-evaluation and a set of resources (r′.sub.0, r′.sub.1, r′.sub.2, . . . ) which may be subject to pre-emption).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing operations for sidelink communications of Farag to include the teachings of Li. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance reliability and reduce latency for NR SL mode 2 (Li; [0416]).
Regarding claim 14, Farag teaches the method of claim 13, but does not teach wherein the configuration parameter is defined as 1100 ms or 100 ms.
However, Li in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication teaches wherein the configuration parameter is defined as 1100 ms or 100 ms ([0278] Confirm that sensing window size parameter T0 is (pre)-configured between two values: 1100 ms and 100 ms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing operations for sidelink communications of Farag to include the teachings of Li. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance reliability and reduce latency for NR SL mode 2 (Li; [0416]).
Regarding claim 17, Farag teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the UE reports remaining candidate resource set to the higher layer along with the following:
any resource from a first set of one or more resources provided by the higher layer that is no longer part of the remaining candidate resource set as re-evaluation, and/or
any resource from a second set of one or more resources provided by the higher layer that is no longer part of the remaining candidate resource set as pre-emption.
However, Li in the same field of endeavor of sidelink communication teaches wherein the UE reports remaining candidate resource set to the higher layer along with the following ([0101] 4) The set S.sub.A is initialized to the set of all the candidate single-slot resources. [0102] 5) The UE shall exclude any candidate single-slot resource R.sub.x,y from the set S.sub.A if it meets all the following conditions outlined in paragraphs [0103] though [0108]. [0109] The UE shall report set S.sub.A to higher layers.):
any resource from a first set of one or more resources provided by the higher layer that is no longer part of the remaining candidate resource set as re-evaluation ([0109] If a resource r.sub.i from the set (r.sub.0, r.sub.1, r.sub.2, . . . ) is not a member of S.sub.A, then the UE shall report re-evaluation of the resource r.sub.i to higher layers.), and/or
any resource from a second set of one or more resources provided by the higher layer that is no longer part of the remaining candidate resource set as pre-emption ([0109] If a resource r′.sub.i from the set (r′.sub.0, r′.sub.1, r′.sub.2, . . . ) is not a member of S.sub.A due to exclusion in step 6 above by comparison with the RSRP measurement for the received SCI format 1-A with an associated priority prio.sub.RX, and prio.sub.RX<prio.sub.pre and prio.sub.TX>prio.sub.RX, then the UE shall report pre-emption of the resource r′.sub.i to higher layers.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing operations for sidelink communications of Farag to include the teachings of Li. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance reliability and reduce latency for NR SL mode 2 (Li; [0416]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465