DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 07/08/26. Claim(s) 1, 11, and 18 have been amended, no new claims have been added, and no claims have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a first dynamic force mechanism", "a second dynamic force mechanism", "an actuator mechanism", and "a resilient force element" in claim 1; and "dynamic force mechanism", "an actuator mechanism", and "a resilient force element" in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonutti (2019/0343705).
With respect to claim 1, Bonutti discloses an orthosis (10, fig 1) for increasing range of motion of a body joint (see [0002]) comprising a first dynamic force mechanism (12, fig 1) configured to apply dynamic stretch to a first body portion of the body joint (see [0040]); a second dynamic force mechanism (14, fig 1) configured to apply dynamic stretch to a second body portion of the body joint (see [0040]); an actuator mechanism (16, fig 1) operatively connected to the first and second dynamic force mechanisms (see fig 1 and [0041]) to selectively transmit a flexion force and an extension force to the respective first and second dynamic force mechanisms (see [0044]); a first body portion securement member (24, fig 2) coupled to the first dynamic force mechanism (see fig 2) and configured to couple the first body portion to the first dynamic force mechanism (see [0040]); and a second body portion securement member (26, fig 2) coupled to the second dynamic force mechanism (see fig 2) and configured to couple the second body portion to the second dynamic force mechanism (see [0040]), wherein each of the first and second dynamic force mechanisms includes a resilient force element (108, fig 8 and [0048]) configured to selectively: i) apply a dynamic extension force to the respective first and second body portions when the first and second body portions are coupled to the respective first and second body portion securement members and the actuator mechanism is operated in a first direction to transmit the extension force to the respective first and second dynamic force mechanisms; and ii) apply a dynamic flexion force to the respective first and second body portions when the first and second body portions are coupled to the respective first and second body portion securement members and the actuator mechanism is operated in a second direction, opposite the first direction, to transmit the flexion force to the respective first and second dynamic force mechanisms (see [0044,48, and 53] where the direction of the knob adjusts the flexion or extension of the device thus the force element moves in two directions).
With respect to claim 2, Bonutti discloses the actuator mechanism includes first and second bell cranks (76, fig 1; two instances) operatively connected to the respective first and second dynamic force mechanisms (see fig 2 and [0047]).
With respect to claim 3, Bonutti discloses each of the first and second dynamic force mechanism comprises a lever arm (104, fig 2) pivotably connected to a corresponding one of the first and second bell cranks (see [0047]), wherein the resilient force element of each of the first and second dynamic force mechanisms is configured to act on the respective lever arm to apply the dynamic extension force and the dynamic flexion force (see fig 8 and [0048]).
With respect to claim 4, Bonutti discloses each resilient force element comprises a torsion spring (see [0048]) including first (108a, fig 8) and second spring arms (108b, fig 8).
With respect to claim 5, Bonutti discloses the first spring arm is configured to apply the dynamic extension force (see [0048-49]; note the spring is capable of applying force in the extension direction since they apply a counter force), wherein the second spring arm is configured to apply the dynamic flexion force (see [0048-49]).
With respect to claim 6, Bonutti discloses the second spring arm is configured to act on the corresponding bell crank (see [0048]) when the first spring arm is applying the dynamic extension force, wherein the first spring arm is configured to act on the corresponding bell crank when the second spring arm is applying the dynamic flexion force (see [0048-49]).
With respect to claim 7, Bonutti discloses each of the first and second dynamic force mechanisms includes a force-applying actuator (131, fig 8) coupled to the corresponding lever arm (see figs 2 and 8 and [0050] note the connection is via 76), wherein the first and second spring arms are configured to engage the force-applying actuator (see [0048]).
With respect to claim 8, Bonutti discloses each force-applying actuator comprises a pin (shaft 131, fig 8) secured to the corresponding lever arm (secured via pin 106, fig 2 and 10).
With respect to claim 9, Bonutti discloses the actuator mechanism is configured to rotate the first and second body portion securement members (see fig 2 and [0044]; note knob 48 is part of the actuator mechanism 16).
With respect to claim 10, Bonutti discloses the first and second dynamic force mechanisms are configured to rotate the respective first and second body portion securement members independently from the rotation of the first and second body portion securement members by the actuator mechanism (see [0055] by the anti-back off mechanism this action is achieved).
With respect to claim 11, Bonutti discloses an orthosis (10, fig 1) for increasing range of motion of a body joint (see [0002]) comprising a dynamic force mechanism (12, fig 1) configured to apply dynamic stretch to a body portion of the body joint (see [0040]); an actuator mechanism (16, fig 1) operatively connected to the dynamic force mechanism (see fig 1 and [0041]) to selectively transmit a flexion force and an extension force to the dynamic force mechanism (see [0044]); and a body portion securement member (24, fig 2) coupled to the dynamic force mechanism (see fig 2) and configured to couple the body portion to the dynamic force mechanism (see [0040]), wherein the dynamic force mechanism includes a resilient force element (108, fig 8 and [0048]) configured to selectively: i) apply a dynamic extension force to the body portion when the body portion is coupled to the body portion securement member and the actuator mechanism is operated in a first direction, to transmit the extension force to the dynamic force mechanism; and ii) apply a dynamic flexion force to the body portion when the body portion is coupled to the body portion securement member and the actuator mechanism is operated in a second direction, opposite the first direction, to transmit the flexion force to the dynamic force mechanism (see [0048 and 53]).
With respect to claim 12, Bonutti discloses the actuator mechanism includes a bell crank (76, fig 1) operatively connected to the dynamic force mechanism (see fig 2 and [0047]).
With respect to claim 13, Bonutti discloses the dynamic force mechanism comprises a lever arm (104, fig 2) pivotably connected to the bell crank (see [0047]), wherein the resilient force element is configured to act on the lever arm to selectively apply the dynamic extension force and the dynamic flexion force (see fig 8 and [0048]).
With respect to claim 14, Bonutti discloses the resilient force element comprises a torsion spring (see [0048]) including first (108a, fig 8) and second spring arms (108b, fig 8).
With respect to claim 15, Bonutti discloses the first spring arm is configured to apply the dynamic extension force (see [0048-49]; note the spring is capable of applying force in the extension direction since they apply a counter force), wherein the second spring arm is configured to apply the dynamic flexion force (see [0048-49]).
With respect to claim 16, Bonutti discloses the second spring arm is configured to act on the corresponding bell crank (see [0048]) when the first spring arm is applying the dynamic extension force, wherein the first spring arm is configured to act on the corresponding bell crank when the second spring arm is applying the dynamic flexion force (see [0048-49]).
With respect to claim 17, Bonutti discloses the dynamic force mechanism includes a force-applying actuator (131, fig 8) coupled to the corresponding lever arm (see figs 2 and 8 and [0050] note the connection is via 76), wherein the first and second spring arms are configured to engage the force-applying actuator (see [0048]).
With respect to claim 18, Bonutti discloses the force-applying actuator comprises a pin (shaft 131, fig 8) secured to the lever arm (secured via pin 106, fig 2 and 10).
With respect to claim 19, Bonutti discloses the actuator mechanism is configured to rotate the body portion securement member (see figs 12-15 and [0046]).
With respect to claim 20, Bonutti discloses dynamic force mechanisms are configured to rotate the respective first and second body portion securement members independently from the rotation of the first and second body portion securement members by the actuator mechanism (see [0055] by the anti-back off mechanism this action is achieved).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pg. 7 of the remarks that "In fact, Bonutti does not disclose any mechanism by which the torsion spring 108 could selectively apply either an extension force or a flexion force based on operating the actuator mechanism in opposite directions." This is not persuasive since Bonutti clearly states in paragraph 44 that the knob 48 is moved one direction for flexion and the opposite direction for extension, which means the force element moves in two directions as well to move the cuffs respectively. Thus, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E BALLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785