CTNF 18/366,504 CTNF 101325 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 05/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 7 has been withdrawn. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2023 and 01/30/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takatsu et al. (US-20210098182-A1), hereinafter Takatsu . Regarding Claim 1 , Takatsu teaches an inductor ( 1 , Fig. 1) comprising: a base body ( 10 ) including a coil conductor ( 30 ) and a core (magnetic portion 20 ) in which the coil conductor is embedded, the coil conductor including a band-shaped conductive wire ( 31, Par [0043]) that is wound, the core containing magnetic particles ( 21 ) and a resin ( 22 ) (Par [0050]), wherein the band-shaped conductive wire has a cross-sectional shape including a pair of principal faces ( 30A and 30B ) that are parallel to each other and a pair of end faces ( 30C, both ends are labeled 30C ) that connect the principal faces to each other (Par [0049-0050]; Figure 1), wherein the coil conductor is configured by winding the band-shaped conductive wire ( 31 ) having a covering layer including an insulating layer ( 32 ) and a fusion layer ( 33 , Par [0050-0051]), the insulating layer covering a surface of the band-shaped conductive wire, the fusion layer covering the insulating layer (Par [0051; 0060]), and a recess (not numbered, gaps between adjacent ends of conductive wire 31; Par [0052, 0131]; Fig. 3) defined by the insulating layer is in an end face ( 30C ; Par [0049]) of a wound section, in which the band-shaped conductive wire is wound, in an axial direction, and the recess is at least partially filled with a resin ( 41 ) of the fusion layer ( Takatsu states "the first resin portion 41 can be provided by applying resin to at least one of the surface of the conductive wire 31 or the gap between the adjacent ends of the conductive wire 31 .") (Par [0049-0053, 0061]; Fig. 1-3) Regarding Claim 2 , Takatsu teaches the inductor ( 1 , Fig. 1) according to Claim 1, wherein the end faces ( 30C ) of the band-shaped conductive wire are curved faces that are convex in the axial direction ( see Fig. 1 where end faces 30C are curved inward ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takatsu as applied to claim 2 above, in further view of Araki et al. (US-20210098183-A1), hereinafter Araki . Regarding Claim 3 , Takatsu teaches the inductor ( 1 , Fig. 1) according to Claim 2, but does not explicitly teach wherein an apex of the insulating layer ( 18 ) covering each end face is at a height of 8 μm or more from a reference plane of the band-shaped conductive wire, the reference plane being a plane passing through boundary points between the end face and the principal faces and orthogonal to the principal faces. Araki teaches an inductor wherein an apex of the insulating layer covering each end face is at a height of 8 μm or more from a reference plane of the band-shaped conductive wire, the reference plane being a plane passing through boundary points between the end face and the principal faces and orthogonal to the principal faces (Par [0061]; The insulating layer ranges from 2 to 10μm) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inductor of Takatsu with the teachings of Araki by including an insulating layer that has a height of 8μm or more at the apex in order to provide sufficient insulation between the coil portions and the end faces of the device. Regarding Claim 6 , Takatsu in view of Araki teaches the inductor ( 1 , Fig. 1) according to Claim 3; however, fails to teach wherein in a cross section of the base body, the resin of the fusion layer occupies an area that is 30% or more of a cross-sectional area of the recess. Takatsu does not expressly teach the claimed limitations, though the drawings appear to show such features such as in Figure 3 . Accordingly, it would be within the skill of a person with ordinary skill in the art to fill the resin of the fusion layer in the recess as claimed to get desired mechanical characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to fill the resin of the fusion layer in the recess as claimed to improve bonding and adhesion between the base body and the coil . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takatsu as applied to claim 1 above . Regarding Claim 4, Takatsu teaches the inductor ( 1 , Fig. 1) according to Claim 1; however, fails to teach wherein in a cross section of the base body, the resin of the fusion layer occupies an area that is 30% or more of a cross-sectional area of the recess. Takatsu does not expressly teach the claimed limitations, though the drawings appear to show such features such as in Figure 3 . Accordingly, it would be within the skill of a person with ordinary skill in the art to fill the resin of the fusion layer in the recess as claimed to get desired mechanical characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to fill the resin of the fusion layer in the recess as claimed to improve bonding and adhesion between the base body and the coil. Regarding Claim 5 , Takatsu teaches the inductor ( 1 , Fig. 1) according to Claim 1; however, fails to teach wherein in a cross section of the base body, the resin of the fusion layer occupies an area that is 30% or more of a cross-sectional area of the recess. Takatsu does not expressly teach the claimed limitations, though the drawings appear to show such features such as in Figure 3 . Accordingly, it would be within the skill of a person with ordinary skill in the art to fill the resin of the fusion layer in the recess as claimed to get desired mechanical characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to fill the resin of the fusion layer in the recess as claimed to improve bonding and adhesion between the base body and the coil . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be viewed in form PTO-892 Notice of References. The references are considered relevant as they are directed to inductors with band-shaped wires and magnetic particles contained in resin . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AISLIN WEST whose telephone number is (571)272-0552. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Shawki S Ismail can be reached at (571)-272-3985. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AISLIN M WEST/Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/366,504 Page 2 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/366,504 Page 3 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/366,504 Page 4 Art Unit: 2837