DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, FIGs. 2A-3 and claims 1-5, 8-10 and 18-25 in the reply filed on 07/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the variations of the different embodiments are not independent or distinct inventions. This is not found persuasive because the different embodiments have different and exclusive structures and or characteristics. These different and exclusive structures as claimed in different claims (i.e., withdrawn claims) require further search and consideration, which is a serious burden on the examiner. Claims 6, 7 and 11-17 are withdrawn.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “each one of the first power device chip and the second power device chip has at least one pin electrically connected to the transformer pack via the top substrate” as recited in claim 1, the “each one of the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding has two ends extended out of the bottom surface of the transformer pack” as claimed in claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2024/0313667 A1, hereinafter “Zhao”) in view of Yan et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0407729 A1, hereinafter “Yan”).
With respect to claim 1, Zhao teaches a power module 200 (FIGs. 2-4), comprising:
a transformer pack 208 having a top surface (upper surface) and a bottom surface (lower surface);
a top substrate 206 mounted on the top surface of the transformer pack; and
a first power device chip 222-226 and a second power device chip 228-232 mounted on a top surface of the top substrate, wherein each one of the first power device chip and the second power device chip has at least one pin (not expressly shown) electrically connected to the transformer pack via the top substrate; wherein
the transformer pack comprises:
a magnetic core 370 and 334;
a first primary winding 304 and a second primary winding 304;
a first secondary winding 340 and a second secondary winding 342; and
wherein
each one of the first primary winding and the second primary winding passes through the magnetic core (paras. [0028], [0030]-[0037]).
Zhao does not expressly teach
the transformer pack comprises:
a first magnetic core part and a second magnetic core part; and
wherein
the first secondary winding is close to the first primary winding with the first magnetic core part in between, and the second secondary winding is close to the second primary winding with the second magnetic core part in between.
Yan teaches a transformer pack 350 (annotated FIG. 29), wherein
the transformer pack comprises:
a first magnetic core part 222 and a second magnetic core part 222; and
wherein
the first secondary winding 160a is close to the first primary winding 152a with the first magnetic core part 222 in between, and the second secondary winding 160b is close to the second primary winding 152b with the second magnetic core part 222 in between (paras. [0065], [0079] and [0093]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic core part between the primary and secondar windings as taught by Yan to the power module of Zhao to provide the desired magnetic coupling between the primary and secondary winding to meet design requirements (para. [0079]).
With respect to claim 2, Zhao in view of Yan teaches the power module of claim 1, further comprising a bottom substrate 202 mounted on the bottom surface of the transformer pack (Zhao, para. [0030]).
With respect to claim 3, Zhao in view of Yan teaches the power module of claim 1, wherein:
each one of the first primary winding and the second primary winding passes through the magnetic core from the top surface to the bottom surface of the transformer pack; and
each one of the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding has two ends (ends 380 and 382, and ends 384 and 386, etc.) extended out of the bottom surface of the transformer pack (Zhao, paras. [0030] and [0032]).
With respect to claim 4, Zhao in view of Yan teaches the power module of claim 1, wherein:
each one of the first primary winding and the second primary winding has a segment passing through the magnetic core straightly and perpendicular to the top surface and the bottom surface of the magnetic core; and
each one of the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding has an upside-down "U" shape with two legs and a middle part connecting the two legs, wherein one of the legs of the first secondary winding is close to and parallel to the first primary winding, and one of the legs of the second secondary winding is close to and parallel to the second primary winding (Yan, para. [0079]).
With respect to claim 5, Zhao in view of Yan teaches the power module of claim 4, wherein the transformer pack further comprises:
a third magnetic core part 120a half surrounded by the first secondary winding; and a fourth magnetic core part 120b half surrounded by the second secondary winding (Yan, para. [0093]).
With respect to claim 8, Zhao a transformer pack 208 (FIGs. 2 and 3), comprising:
a magnetic core 370 and 334 having a top surface (upper surface) and a bottom surface (lower surface);
a first primary winding 304 and a second primary winding 304 passing through the magnetic core from the top surface to the bottom surface;
a first secondary winding 340 and a second secondary winding 342, wherein the first secondary winding is placed close to the first primary winding, and the second secondary winding is placed close to the second primary winding (paras. [0030]-[0033]). Zhao does not expressly teach
a first magnetic core part and a second magnetic core part, wherein the first magnetic core part is placed in a gap between the first primary winding and the first secondary winding, and wherein the second magnetic core part is placed in a gap between the second primary winding and the second secondary winding.
a first magnetic core part and a second magnetic core part, wherein the first magnetic core part is placed in a gap between the first primary winding and the first secondary winding, and wherein the second magnetic core part is placed in a gap between the second primary winding and the second secondary winding.
Yan teaches a transformer pack 350 (annotated FIG. 29) comprising:
a first magnetic core part 222 and a second magnetic core part 222, wherein the first magnetic core part is placed in a gap (space) between the first primary winding 152a and the first secondary winding 160a, and wherein the second magnetic core part is placed in a gap (space) between the second primary winding 152b and the second secondary winding 160b (paras. [0065], [0079] and [0093]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic core part between the primary and secondar windings as taught by Yan to the transformer pack of Zhao to provide the desired magnetic coupling between the primary and secondary winding to meet design requirements (para. [0079]).
With respect to claim 9, Zhao in view of Yan teaches the transformer pack of claim 8, wherein each one of the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding has two ends (ends 380 and 382, and ends 384 and 386) extended out of the bottom surface of the magnetic core (Zhao, paras. [0030] and [0032]).
With respect to claim 10, Zhao in view of Yan teaches the transformer pack of claim 8, wherein:
each one the first primary winding and the second primary winding has a segment passing through the magnetic core straightly and perpendicular to the top surface and the bottom surface of the magnetic core; and
each one of the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding has an upside-down "U" shape with two legs and a middle part connecting the two legs, wherein one of the legs of the first secondary winding is close to and parallel to the first primary winding, and one of the legs of the second secondary winding is close to and parallel to the second primary winding (Yan, para. [0079]).
Claims 18, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2022/0216793 A1, hereinafter “Shao”) in view of Xiong et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0113058 A1, hereinafter “Xiong”).
With respect to claim 18, Shao teaches a power module 100 (FIG. 1), comprising:
a transformer pack (transformer pack formed by magnetic columns 11 and 12 the respective windings thereof) having a top surface (upper surface) and a bottom surface (lower surface);
a first power device chip (now expressly shown) and a second power device chip (not expressly shown); wherein each one of the first power device chip and the second power device chip comprises:
a switching pin (pin connection to terminal T2 (annotated FIG. 1);
a ground pin (pin for ground);
an input pin (“Vin”);
a driving pin (driver pin inside block 110-1);
a first power switch M1 having a first terminal (terminal connected to VIN) coupled to the input pin VIN, a second terminal T2 coupled to the switching pin, and a control terminal (terminal connected to “PWM signal driving the regulator block 110-1,” para. [0019]) configured to receive a first driving signal (signal from driver inside block 110-1);
a second power switch M2 having a first terminal (terminal connected to switching pin) coupled to the switching pin, a second terminal (ground connection) coupled to the ground pin, and a control terminal (terminal connected to “PWM signal driving the regulator block 110-1,”) configured to receive a second driving signal (signal from driver inside block 110-1); and
a driver (driver inside block 110-1) coupled to the driving pin to receive a phase control signal (“PWI signal” para. [0019]), and to provide the first driving signal and the second driving signal based on the phase control signal (paras. [0014], [0015] and [0019]).
Shao does not expressly teach
a top substrate mounted on the top surface of the transformer pack;
a bottom substrate mounted on the bottom surface of the transformer pack; and
a first power device chip and a second power device chip mounted on a top surface of the top substrate; and
wherein the switching pin is electrically coupled to the transformer pack via the top substrate
Xiong teaches a power module (FIGs. 2A and 2B), comprising:
a top substrate 101 mounted on the top surface of the transformer pack 102;
a bottom substrate 103 mounted on the bottom surface of the transformer pack; and
a first power device chip 10 and a second power device chip 10 mounted on a top surface of the top substrate;
wherein the switching pin (not expressly shown) is electrically coupled to the transformer pack (magnetic columns 11 and 12 and the respective windings thereof) via the top substrate (paras. [0022] and [0023]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the substrates as taught by Xiong to the power module of Shao to improve ease of assembly.
With respect to claim 24, Shao in view of Xiong teaches the power module of claim 18, further comprising:
a connector 104 configured to electrically connect pads on the top substrate and pads on the bottom substrate for passing signals between the top substrate and the bottom substrate (Xiong, para. [0023]).
With respect to claim 25, Shao in view of Xiong teaches the power module of claim 18, further comprising various discrete components (components around chip 10) mounted on the top surface of the top substrate (para. [0023]).
Claims 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao in view of Xiong, as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Yan.
With respect to claim 19, Shao in view of Xiong teaches the power module of claim 18. Shao in view of Xiong does not expressly teach the transformer pack comprises:
a magnetic core;
a first primary winding and a second primary winding;
a first secondary winding and a second secondary winding; and
a first magnetic core part and a second magnetic core part; wherein
each one of the first primary winding and the second primary winding passes through the magnetic core, the first secondary winding is arranged close to the first primary winding with the first magnetic core part in between, and the second secondary winding is arranged close to the second primary winding with the second magnetic core part in between.
Yan teaches a transformer pack 350 (annotated FIG. 29), comprising:
a magnetic core 180;
a first primary winding 152a and a second primary winding 152b;
a first secondary winding 160a and a second secondary winding 160b; and
a first magnetic core part 222 and a second magnetic core part 222; wherein
each one of the first primary winding and the second primary winding passes through the magnetic core, the first secondary winding is arranged close to the first primary winding with the first magnetic core part in between, and the second secondary winding is arranged close to the second primary winding with the second magnetic core part in between (paras. [0065], [0079] and [0093]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the magnetic core part between the primary and secondar windings as taught by Yan to the power module of Shao in view of Xiong to provide the desired magnetic coupling between the primary and secondary winding to meet design requirements (para. [0079]).
With respect to claim 20, Shao in view of Xiong and Yan teaches the power module of claim 19, wherein:
the first primary winding has a first end electrically coupled to a first plurality of output voltage pads on the bottom substrate, and a second end electrically coupled to the switching pin of the first power device chip via the top substrate; and
the second primary winding has a first end electrically coupled to a second plurality of output voltage pads on the bottom substrate, and a second end electrically coupled to the switching pin of the second power device chip via the top substrate (Xiong, paras. [0022] and [0023]).
With respect to claim 21, Shao in view of Xiong and Yan teaches the power module of claim 19, wherein the bottom substrate comprises a pad side surface having a pad array, and wherein the pad array comprises:
a first plurality of output voltage pads (not expressly shown), electrically coupled to a first end of the first primary winding;
a second plurality of output voltage pads (not expressly shown), electrically coupled to a first end of the second primary winding;
a plurality of ground pads (not expressly shown), electrically coupled to the ground pins of the first power device chip and the second power device chip;
a plurality of input voltage pads (not expressly shown), electrically coupled to the input pins of the first power device chip and the second power device chip; and
a plurality of signal pads (not expressly shown), respectively and electrically coupled to corresponding pins of the first power chip device and the second power chip device (Xiong, paras. [0022] and [0023]).
With respect to claim 22, Shao in view of Xiong teaches the power module of claim 21, wherein the plurality of signal pads are lined up to one side of the pad side surface of the bottom substrate (Xiong, paras. [0022] and [0023]).
With respect to claim 23, Shao in view of Xiong teaches the power module of claim 22, wherein:
the plurality of input voltage pads are distributed in a line between lines of the plurality of ground pads and the line of the plurality of signal pads;
the first plurality of output voltage pads and the second plurality of output voltage pads are distributed in three lines, with
the first plurality of output voltage pads at an upper side of the three lines and the second plurality of output voltage pads at a lower side of the three lines; and
the plurality of ground pads are distributed in the lines between lines of the first and second plurality of output voltage pads and the line of the plurality of input voltage pads (Xiong, paras. [0022] and [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837