DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 9/4/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 3, 5, 8 and 10 remain withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4,6-7, 9 and 11have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman et al. (US 20040100773A1) in view of Lee Cheng Ping (US 7,265,981).
Hoffman discloses (figures 1-3) a heat dissipation structure adapted to dissipate heat from a heat generating component (114), the heat dissipation structure comprising a central housing, comprising a top portion (210) and a bottom portion (110) opposite to each other, an internal space (210) located between the top portion and the bottom portion, and a first opening communicating with the internal space, wherein the top portion comprises a plurality of through holes (214), and the bottom portion (110) is connected to the heat generating component; and a first wing housing (212), connected to the central housing and comprising a first entrance distant from the central housing and communicating with the first opening (see figure A), wherein, the first entrance has a larger dimension than the first opening (paragraph 29, the inlet 212 flanged outwardly to capture a greater volume of incoming air), and an air flow sequentially flowing through the first entrance, the first opening, the internal space and flowing out from the through holes (see paragraph 24, figures 2 and A). Regarding claim 1, Hoffman does not disclose that a heat generating component is located outside the internal space. Lee Chen Ping discloses (figures 4 and 6) a heat dissipation structure that is adapted to dissipate heat from a heat generating component (21,22), wherein the heat generating component (21,22) is attached on backside of a heat sink (3) so that the heat generating component is located outside the internal space that contains the heat sink (3) for a purpose of reducing noise and cooling a large area of the device. (column 1, line 32-39). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Lee Chen Ping’s teaching in Hoffman’s device for a purpose of reducing noise and cooling a large area of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Hoffman further discloses (figures 2, 3 and A) that the first wing housing (212) comprising a diverging area, the first opening is adjacent to a first side of the diverging area, the first entrance is formed on a second side of the diverging area, and the diverging area gradually expands from the first side towards the second side. Regarding claim 4, Hoffman discloses (figure A) that the first wing housing comprises a first wing portion and a second wing portion, one of the first wing portion and the second wing portion extends parallel to the central housing, the other of the first wing portion and the second wing portion comprises a connection connected to the central housing and an inclined section extending from the connection in a bent manner, and the inclined section is inclined in a direction away from the central housing. Regarding claim 11, Hoffman further discloses (figure 2-3 and ++paragraph 25) at least one heat dissipation fin (116), wherein the heat dissipation fin is located in the internal space and disposed on the top portion or/and the bottom portion.
Figure A: the modified figure corresponds to figure 2 with limitations shown.
Claims 6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman et al. (US 20040100773A1) and Lee Cheng Ping (US 7,265,981) in view of Unanoun (CN 112087928A). Hoffman and Lee substantially disclose all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that heat dissipation structure further comprising a second wing housing that includes the structural limitations of the first wing (as in claim 1, 2 and 4, wherein the second wing housing of claim 6 correspond to the first wing housing in claim 1, the second wing housing of claim 7 corresponds to the first wing housing in claim 2 and the second wing housing of claim 9 corresponds to the first wing housing in claim 4) but located on the opposite side with the first wing housing from the central housing. Unanoun discloses (figure 1 and paragraph 27) a heat dissipation structure comprises two identical enlarged wing housing (6) on opposite side of the central housing (8) for a purpose of increasing the amount of air to flow into the heat dissipation structure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Unanoun’s teaching of having the two identical wing housing on opposite side of the central housing in Hoffman’s device to obtain a second wing housing similar the first housing disclosed in Hoffman but on the other side of the central housing for a purpose of increasing the amount of air to flow into the heat dissipation structure, hence enhancing the heat dissipation performance of the heat dissipation structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bhopte et al. (US 10133321B1) discloses an isolated active cooling system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763