DETAILED ACTION
In application filed on 08/07/2023, Claims 1-20 are pending. The claim set submitted on 08/07/2023 is considered because this is the most recent claim set. Claims 1-16 are considered in the current office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2024, 05/23/2025 and 04/03/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 03/17/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/17/2026.
Group I, Claims 1-16 are considered on the merits below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because certain reference characters in Figures 5 and 7-9 are not legible. Figures with improved resolution should be provided.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-9 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites the limitation “IVXF” in line 3. It appears that the limitation “IVXF” should be recited as “IVXM” as this might be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 8-9 recites “the measurement” in the Claims. It appears that this limitation should be recited as “a measurement”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “fff” in lines 2-3. It appears that the limitation “fff” might be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims have been analyzed for eligibility in accordance with their broadest reasonable interpretation. All claims are directed to statutory categories, i.e., a method (Claim 1) (Step 1: YES).
Analysis:
Claim 1: Ineligible.
Step 1:
The claim recites a series of steps or acts, including “monitoring a subject's risk of metabolic malnutrition inflammation syndrome”. Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A, Prong 1:
Claim 1 recites “(c) generating a metabolic vulnerability index (MVX) value from the at least two simultaneously measured biomarkers; (d) determining the subject's relative risk for premature death based on at least the MVX value; (e) repeating steps (a)-(d) at a later time point; and (f) evaluating the subject's relative risk for premature death and the MVX value over time”. Therefore, the claim is directed towards an abstract idea, and more specifically to the abstract idea group of a math or mental process since claim 1 relates to using a math or mental process to perform the steps reciting the abstract ideas.
In addition, it appears that limitation of Claim 1 further recites a law of nature because it describes the naturally occurring relationship between subject's relative risk for premature death and the MVX value, where in the MVX value is generated from the measurement of at least two biomarkers. (Step 2A, Prong 1: YES).
Step 2A, Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites ‘additional elements’ which are the steps performed before and after the recited abstract ideas. However, the steps before the abstract ideas are performed in order to gather data necessary to perform the determination step. Thus, these steps do not add a meaningful limitation since these steps are insignificant pre-solution activity.
It appears that the steps of “(a) obtaining a sample of blood, serum, or plasma from the subject; and (b) measuring at least two biomarkers simultaneously from the sample” are recited at a high level of generality that they amount to mere data gathering (insignificant extra-solution activity). See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Accordingly, these steps are ‘additional elements’ which do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application because they do not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas (Step 2A, Prong Two: NO).
Step 2B:
Furthermore, the courts have found that limitations adding insignificant extrasolution activity to the judicial exception, such as mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea, are limitations found not to be enough to qualify as ‘significantly more’ when recited in a claim with a judicial exception (see the 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility of the Federal Register dated December 16, 2014; and MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)). Note that mere data gathering is not significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Here, there are no additional elements which are significantly more than the abstract idea.
The steps of “(a) obtaining a sample of blood, serum, or plasma from the subject; and (b) measuring at least two biomarkers simultaneously from the sample” appear to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the field of clinical diagnostics as evidenced by Otvos et al. (US20190072572A1, submitted in IDS 11/07/2024 as US11156621B2).
Thus, the claims do not amount to significantly more (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, Claim 1 is ineligible.
Moreover, Claims 2-16 are rejected by virtue of dependency on Claim 1.
Claims 2-4: Ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong One and Prong Two: Claims 2-4 provides at least two biomarkers in the sample. The claims do not provide any practical application.
Step 2B: The claims do not recite any elements which are significantly more.
Claims 5, 9 and 15-16: Ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong One and Prong Two: Claims 5, 9 and 15-16 further define the data gathering steps which appear to be generic and WURC.
Step 2B: The claims do not recite any elements which are significantly more.
It is noted that these steps are insignificant. The steps appear to be more data gathering and are well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC)
Therefore, Claims 5, 9 and 15-16 are ineligible.
Claims 6-7 and 10-13: Ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong One: Claim recites equations of mathematical models (math step) is are abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Once the steps of “generating…”, “determining…”, “repeating…” and “evaluating…” (in claim 1) are done, No further action takes place, much less a particular practical application. Also the steps of “obtaining a sample of blood, serum, or plasma from the subject” and “measuring at least two biomarkers simultaneously from the sample” (in claim 1) are recited at a high level of generality that it amounts to mere data gathering (insignificant extra-solution activity). See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B: The claims do not recite any elements which are significantly more.
Therefore, Claims 6-7 and 10-13 are ineligible.
Claim 14: Ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong One: Claim recites “the MVX value is sex-specific and is determined in a subject deemed to be at low-risk for a cardiovascular event or in a subject deemed to be at high- risk for a cardiovascular event” (math or mental step), which is the abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Once the steps of “generating…”, “determining…”, “repeating…” and “evaluating…” (in claim 1) are done, No further action takes place, much less a particular practical application. Also the steps of “obtaining a sample of blood, serum, or plasma from the subject” and “measuring at least two biomarkers simultaneously from the sample” (in claim 1) are recited at a high level of generality that it amounts to mere data gathering (insignificant extra-solution activity). See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B: The claims do not recite any elements which are significantly more.
Therefore, Claim 14 is ineligible.
As a result, Examiner submits that each of the dependent claims do not resolve the 101 issues of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-9 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Otvos et al. (US20190072572A1, submitted in IDS 11/07/2024 as US11156621B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Otvos teaches a method for monitoring a subject's risk of metabolic malnutrition inflammation syndrome comprising:
obtaining a sample of blood, serum, or plasma from the subject (See Para 0077…obtaining a sample from the subject; See Para 0051… “biosample” refers to in vitro blood, plasma, serum, CSF, saliva, lavage, sputum, or tissue samples of humans or animals; See Para 0157…a) obtaining a sample from the subject;);
(b) measuring at least two biomarkers simultaneously from the sample (See Para 0077…measuring GlycA, at least one high density lipoprotein particle (HDLP) subclass, at least one branched chain amino acid (BCAA), and at least one ketone body (KetoneBody) and optionally at least one of citrate (Citrate) and serum protein (Protein); See Para 0158…b) measuring GlycA, at least one high density lipoprotein particle (HDLP) subclass, at least one branched chain amino acid (BCAA), and at least one ketone body (KetoneBody) and optionally at least one of citrate (Citrate) and serum protein (Protein) in the sample);
(c) generating a metabolic vulnerability index (MVX) value from the at least two simultaneously measured biomarkers (See Para 0010…In some embodiments, the processor may be configured to calculate an MVX score based on the measurements of GlycA, at least one ketone body, at least one branched chain amino acid; See Para 0019…the system may be further configured to calculate a MVX score using a defined mathematical model of risk of all cause-mortality that uses the calculated measurements of GlycA, at least one ketone body, at least one branched chain amino acid, at least one of the HDLP subclass parameters, and optionally serum protein (Protein) and/or citrate (Citrate); See Para 0159…(c) determining a metabolic vulnerability index (MVX) value based on the measurements);
(d) determining the subject's relative risk for premature death based on at least the MVX value (See Para 0066… the metabolic vulnerability index can provide short (1 year) to long (12 year) term premature death risk assessments; See Para 0075…Generally stated, it is contemplated that MVX scores can be used to stratify relative risk for premature death. MVX scores can stratify premature death risk for patients having the same age, gender, blood pressure, and BMI independently of these clinical factors; See Para 0159….);
(e) repeating steps (a)-(d) at a later time point (See Para 0160…(d) repeating steps (a)-(c) at a later time point; See Para 0161…evaluating at least whether the MVX value has increased or decreased over time. Examiner under BRI submits that the determination of the change of the MVX value over time, thereby teaches “repeating step d” since he metabolic vulnerability index can provide short (1 year) to long (12 year) term premature death risk assessments, as disclosed in Para 0066); and
(f) evaluating the subject's relative risk for premature death and the MVX value over time (See Para 0066… the metabolic vulnerability index can provide short (1 year) to long (12 year) term premature death risk assessments).
Regarding Claim 2, Otvos teaches wherein the at least two biomarkers comprise two or more of GlycA, at least one of a high density lipoprotein particle (HDLP) subclass, citrate, and a branched chain amino acid (BCAA) (See Para 0077…measuring GlycA, at least one high density lipoprotein particle (HDLP) subclass, at least one branched chain amino acid (BCAA), and at least one ketone body (KetoneBody) and optionally at least one of citrate (Citrate) and serum protein (Protein); See Para 0079… As disclosed herein, the MVX model(s) can include at least two inflammatory markers, such as GlycA and S-HDLP and at least two metabolic malnutrition biomarkers, such as at least one ketone body and at least one BCAA).
Regarding Claim 3, Otvos teaches wherein the HDLP subclass is small HDLP (S-HDLP) (See Para 0009, In an embodiment, the HDLP subclass is small HDL particles (S-HDLP).
Regarding Claim 4, Otvos teaches wherein the BCAA is at least one of leucine, isoleucine, or valine (See Para 0065… In some embodiments, the BCAA may be at least one of leucine, isoleucine, or valine).
Regarding Claim 5, Otvos teaches wherein the MVX value is sex-specific (See Para 0080… The MVX mathematical models can consider other clinical parameters such as gender…; See Para 0091… In some embodiments, gender may be included as a factor in the MVX model; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for female participants and the MVX score for male participants) and comprises a sex- specific inflammation vulnerability index (IVX) (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising an inflammation index (INFX) value. Under BRI, IVX is viewed as INFX; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for female participants and the MVX score for male participants)) and a sex-specific metabolic malnutrition index (MMX) (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising a…a metabolic malnutrition index (MMX) value; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for female participants and the MVX score for male participants, thereby teaching “sex specific”)).
Regarding Claim 8, Otvos teaches wherein the measurement of the at least one of each BCAA and citrate (See Para 0015… In other embodiments, the measurements of at least one BCAA, at least one ketone body, citrate, and protein are used to generate an alternate MMX value), are used to generate the sex-specific metabolic malnutrition index (MMX) value (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising a…a metabolic malnutrition index (MMX) value; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for female participants and the MVX score for male participants, thereby teaching “sex specific”)).
Regarding Claim 9, Otvos teaches wherein the measurement of the at least one HDLP subclass and GlycA (See Para 0143…using the measurement of GlycA and the at least one HDLP subclass to generate an inflammation index (INFX) value) are used to generate the sex- specific inflammation vulnerability index (IVX) (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising an inflammation index (INFX) value. Under BRI, IVX is viewed as INFX; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for female participants and the MVX score for male participants)).
Regarding Claim 14, Otvos teaches wherein the MVX value is sex-specific (See Para 0030-0031… FIG. 8 Left Panel is a graph that shows cumulative mortality rates over 12 years of follow-up in female participants in the MESA… FIG. 8 Right Panel is a graph that shows cumulative mortality rates over 12 years of follow-up in male participants in the MESA study) and is determined in a subject deemed to be at low-risk for a cardiovascular event (See Para 0088… In some embodiments, it is contemplated that MVX can be used to stratify mortality risk among low risk populations, as seen in FIG. 8. FIG. 8 Left Panel is a graph that shows cumulative mortality rates over twelve years of follow-up in female participants in the MESA study stratified by quintile of the low risk MVX score (e.g., MVX1) according to embodiments of the present disclosure.). The claimed limitation “or in a subject deemed to be at high- risk for a cardiovascular event” is viewed as optional and thus not required by the claim.
Regarding Claim 15, Otvos teaches wherein the measuring is performed by Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectrometry (See Claims 25 and 31… wherein the measuring is performed by NMR; See Para 0140… wherein the measuring is performed by NMR).
Regarding Claim 16, Otvos teaches wherein the metabolic vulnerability index (MVX) can provide short (1 year) to long (12 year) term risk of premature death risk assessments (See Para 0056… The terms “mathematical model” and “model” are used interchangeably and when used with “MVX”, “metabolic vulnerability index”, or “risk”, refer to a statistical model of risk used to evaluate a subject's risk of premature mortality in the future, typically within 1-12 years; See Para 0066… The metabolic vulnerability index can provide short (1 year) to long (12 year) term premature death risk assessments), and wherein evaluating the subject over time comprises following up with the subject after 12 years, after 10 years (See Para 0030-0031… FIG. 8 Left Panel is a graph that shows cumulative mortality rates over 12 years of follow-up… FIG. 8 Right Panel is a graph that shows cumulative mortality rates over 12 years of follow-up, thereby teaching “after 10 years”). The claimed “after 12 years”; “and/or every 6 years, every 5 years, every 4 years, every 3 years, every 2 years, or every 1 years” is viewed as optional and thus not required by the Claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otvos et al. (US20190072572A1, submitted in IDS 11/07/2024 as US11156621B2).
Regarding Claim 6, Otvos teaches wherein the MVX value is sex-specific for females (See Para 0080… The MVX mathematical models can consider other clinical parameters such as gender…; See Para 0091… In some embodiments, gender may be included as a factor in the MVX model; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for female participants, thereby teaching “sex specific”).
While Otvos does not explicity teach that the MVX value is sex-specific for females is determined using the following model: MVXF = (IVXF * 2.27278) + (InMMXF * 12.13511) + (IVXF * InMMXF) * -1.09312.
Otvos teaches that the MVX value is sex-specific for females (See Para 0080… The MVX mathematical models can consider other clinical parameters such as gender…; See Para 0091… In some embodiments, gender may be included as a factor in the MVX model; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for female participants, thereby teaching “sex specific”) is determined using the following model: MVXF = (IVXF * 2.27278) + (InMMXF * 12.13511) + (IVXF * InMMXF) * -1.09312. (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising an inflammation index (INFX) value. Under BRI, IVX is viewed as INFX.
Further See Para 0017…Examiner submits that the metabolic vulnerability index may be generally described as: MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX.
For application to normal (i.e., low) risk patient populations (e.g., people who have not had a known CV event) the metabolic vulnerability index may be described as MVX1=βi*INFX+βm*MMX1 (wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model used). Conversely, for application to high-risk patient populations (e.g., people who have had a known CV event) the metabolic vulnerability index may be described as MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model used and MMX=β9*MMX1+β10*MMX2. In some cases βm is the same for both the low-risk and the high-risk models (see e.g., FIG. 16)).
Also, Otvos teaches that it is noted that throughout this disclosure, the empirical values for A and β1-βn may vary depending upon the model used. For example, β1 in the first above formula for MVX (i.e., the formula that does not include the term β3*(lnGlycA*lnS-HDLP)), will generally be a different value than β1 in the second above formula (i.e., the equation that does include that product term), respectively (Para 0011).
Further, MPEP § 2144.05, Part II, Subpart B holds that a particular parameter that is recognized as a result effective variable (“a variable that achieves a recognized result”) would be one, but not the only motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
In the calculation of INFX, MMX, and MVX, in a Cox proportional hazards prediction model for mortality, the predictive strengths (χ2) and statistical significance (p value) of parameters and the actual coefficients used (e.g., for MMX1, 34=−1.10056 and 135=0.2373) may vary depending upon the populations used and/or the analysis performed (Para 0137, 0026). Further, the MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model (Para 0017, Figs 5-6).
Also, Otvos teaches that it is noted that throughout this disclosure, the empirical values for A and β1-βn may vary depending upon the model used (Para 0011).
Thus, the numerical coefficients in the sex-specific MVX value are a result effective variables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provide MVX value that is sex-specific for females to be determined using the following model: MVXF = (IVXF * 2.27278) + (InMMXF * 12.13511) + (IVXF * InMMXF) * -1.09312 for the benefit of providing a method of determining the levels of markers associated with a person's risk of premature death (Otvos, Para 0010) which allows for the provision of risk calculators comprised of factors that can better predict or assess a person's risk of premature death from any cause as opposed to the risk of suffering a non-fatal event (Otvos, Para 0007).
Regarding Claim 7, Otvos teaches wherein the MVX value is sex-specific for males (See Para 0080… The MVX mathematical models can consider other clinical parameters such as gender…; See Para 0091… In some embodiments, gender may be included as a factor in the MVX model; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for male participants, thereby teaching “sex specific”).
While Otvos does not explicity teach that the MVX value is sex-specific for males is determined using the following model: MVXM= (IVXM * 3.54601) + (InMMXM * 14.414.28) + (IVXF * InMMXM) * -1.43438. (IVXF is viewed as IVXM in light of the objection (Supra))
Otvos teaches that the MVX value is sex-specific for males (See Para 0080… The MVX mathematical models can consider other clinical parameters such as gender…; See Para 0091… In some embodiments, gender may be included as a factor in the MVX model; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for male participants, thereby teaching “sex specific”) is determined using the following model: MVXM= (IVXM * 3.54601) + (InMMXM * 14.414.28) + (IVXF * InMMXM) * -1.43438. (IVXF is viewed as IVXM in light of the objection (Supra)) (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising an inflammation index (INFX) value. Under BRI, IVX is viewed as INFX.
Further See Para 0017…Examiner submits that the metabolic vulnerability index may be generally described as: MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX.
For application to normal (i.e., low) risk patient populations (e.g., people who have not had a known CV event) the metabolic vulnerability index may be described as MVX1=βi*INFX+βm*MMX1 (wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model used). Conversely, for application to high-risk patient populations (e.g., people who have had a known CV event) the metabolic vulnerability index may be described as MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model used and MMX=β9*MMX1+β10*MMX2. In some cases βm is the same for both the low-risk and the high-risk models (see e.g., FIG. 16)).
Also, Otvos teaches that it is noted that throughout this disclosure, the empirical values for A and β1-βn may vary depending upon the model used. For example, β1 in the first above formula for MVX (i.e., the formula that does not include the term β3*(lnGlycA*lnS-HDLP)), will generally be a different value than β1 in the second above formula (i.e., the equation that does include that product term), respectively (Para 0011).
Further, MPEP § 2144.05, Part II, Subpart B holds that a particular parameter that is recognized as a result effective variable (“a variable that achieves a recognized result”) would be one, but not the only motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
In the calculation of INFX, MMX, and MVX, in a Cox proportional hazards prediction model for mortality, the predictive strengths (χ2) and statistical significance (p value) of parameters and the actual coefficients used (e.g., for MMX1, 34=−1.10056 and 135=0.2373) may vary depending upon the populations used and/or the analysis performed (Para 0137, 0026). Further, the MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model (Para 0017, Figs 5-6).
Also, Otvos teaches that it is noted that throughout this disclosure, the empirical values for A and β1-βn may vary depending upon the model used (Para 0011).
Thus, the numerical coefficients in the sex-specific MVX value are a result effective variables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provide MVX value that is sex-specific for females to be determined using the following model: MVXM= (IVXM * 3.54601) + (InMMXM * 14.414.28) + (IVXF * InMMXM) * -1.43438 for the benefit of providing a method of determining the levels of markers associated with a person's risk of premature death (Otvos, Para 0010) which allows for the provision of risk calculators comprised of factors that can better predict or assess a person's risk of premature death from any cause as opposed to the risk of suffering a non-fatal event (Otvos, Para 0007).
Regarding Claim 10, Otvos teaches the sex-specific MMX value for females (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising a…a metabolic malnutrition index (MMX) value; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for female participants, thereby teaching “sex specific”))
While Otvos does not explicity teach that MMX is determined using the following model:
MMXF = ((4 + (Leu * -0.03142) + (Leu2* 0.0000893)) * 0.353) + ((7 + (Val * -0.03362) + (Val2* 0.0000689)) * 0.684) + (Ileu * 0.00332) + ((1 + (Citr * -0.0072) + (Citr2* 0.0000573)) * 0.7135).
Otvos teaches that MMXF (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising a…a metabolic malnutrition index (MMX) value; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for female participants, thereby teaching “sex specific”)) is determined using the following model:
MMXF = ((4 + (Leu * -0.03142) + (Leu2* 0.0000893)) * 0.353) + ((7 + (Val * -0.03362) + (Val2* 0.0000689)) * 0.684) + (Ileu * 0.00332) + ((1 + (Citr * -0.0072) + (Citr2* 0.0000573)) * 0.7135) (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising a…a metabolic malnutrition index (MMX) value; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for female participants, thereby teaching “sex specific”)).
Otvos further teaches MMX=β4*lnBCAA+β5*lnKetoneBody+β6*lnCitrate+β7*lnProtein. Or, the MMX value may be determined using the following model: MMX=β4*lnBCAA+β5*lnKetoneBody+β6*lnCitrate+β7*lnProtein+β8*(lnCitrate*lnProtein). In such embodiments, MMX may be described as follows: MMX=β9*MMX1+β10*MMX2, where MMX1 is as described above, and MMX2=β6*lnCitrate+β7*lnProtein+β8*(lnCitrate*lnProtein) (Para 0015).
Otvos teaches The MVX models may include one or more BCAAs including one or more of isoleucine, leucine, and valine (as discussed herein). In some embodiments, one or more of the set of three BCAAs (valine, leucine, and isoleucine) can be quantified by NMR (Para 0102).
For application to normal (i.e., low) risk patient populations (e.g., people who have not had a known CV event) the metabolic vulnerability index may be described as MVX1=βi*INFX+βm*MMX1 (wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model used). Conversely, for application to high-risk patient populations (e.g., people who have had a known CV event) the metabolic vulnerability index may be described as MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model used and MMX=β9*MMX1+β10*MMX2. In some cases βm is the same for both the low-risk and the high-risk models (see e.g., FIG. 16)).
Also, Otvos teaches that it is noted that throughout this disclosure, the empirical values for A and β1-βn may vary depending upon the model used. For example, β1 in the first above formula for MVX (i.e., the formula that does not include the term β3*(lnGlycA*lnS-HDLP)), will generally be a different value than β1 in the second above formula (i.e., the equation that does include that product term), respectively (Para 0011).
Further, MPEP § 2144.05, Part II, Subpart B holds that a particular parameter that is recognized as a result effective variable (“a variable that achieves a recognized result”) would be one, but not the only motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
In the calculation of INFX, MMX, and MVX, in a Cox proportional hazards prediction model for mortality, the predictive strengths (χ2) and statistical significance (p value) of parameters and the actual coefficients used (e.g., for MMX1, 34=−1.10056 and 135=0.2373) may vary depending upon the populations used and/or the analysis performed (Para 0137, 0026). Further, the MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model (Para 0017, Figs 5-6).
Also, Otvos teaches that it is noted that throughout this disclosure, the empirical values for A and β1-βn may vary depending upon the model used (Para 0011).
Thus, the numerical coefficients in the sex-specific MMX value are a result effective variables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provide MMXF value that is sex-specific for females to be determined using the following model: MMXF = ((4 + (Leu * -0.03142) + (Leu2* 0.0000893)) * 0.353) + ((7 + (Val * -0.03362) + (Val2* 0.0000689)) * 0.684) + (Ileu * 0.00332) + ((1 + (Citr * -0.0072) + (Citr2* 0.0000573)) * 0.7135) for the benefit of providing a method of determining the levels of markers associated with a person's risk of premature death (Otvos, Para 0010) which allows for the provision of risk calculators comprised of factors that can better predict or assess a person's risk of premature death from any cause as opposed to the risk of suffering a non-fatal event (Otvos, Para 0007).
Regarding Claim 11, Otvos teaches the sex-specific MMX value for males (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising a…a metabolic malnutrition index (MMX) value; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for male participants, thereby teaching “sex specific”))
While Otvos does not explicitly teach that MMX is determined using the following model:
MMXM = ((4 + (Leu * -0.01594) + (Leu2 * 0.0000291)) * 1.076) + ((7 + (Val * -0.0239) + (Val2 * 0.00005)) * 0.414) + (Ileu * 0.01265) + ((1 + (Citr * 0.00906) + (Citr2 * -0.0000126)) * 0.5881).
Otvos teaches that MMXM (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising a…a metabolic malnutrition index (MMX) value; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for male participants, thereby teaching “sex specific”)) is determined using the following model:
MMXM = ((4 + (Leu * -0.01594) + (Leu2 * 0.0000291)) * 1.076) + ((7 + (Val * -0.0239) + (Val2 * 0.00005)) * 0.414) + (Ileu * 0.01265) + ((1 + (Citr * 0.00906) + (Citr2 * -0.0000126)) * 0.5881). (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising a…a metabolic malnutrition index (MMX) value; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for male participants, thereby teaching “sex specific”)).
Otvos further teaches MMX=β4*lnBCAA+β5*lnKetoneBody+β6*lnCitrate+β7*lnProtein. Or, the MMX value may be determined using the following model: MMX=β4*lnBCAA+β5*lnKetoneBody+β6*lnCitrate+β7*lnProtein+β8*(lnCitrate*lnProtein). In such embodiments, MMX may be described as follows: MMX=β9*MMX1+β10*MMX2, where MMX1 is as described above, and MMX2=β6*lnCitrate+β7*lnProtein+β8*(lnCitrate*lnProtein) (Para 0015).
Otvos teaches The MVX models may include one or more BCAAs including one or more of isoleucine, leucine, and valine (as discussed herein). In some embodiments, one or more of the set of three BCAAs (valine, leucine, and isoleucine) can be quantified by NMR (Para 0102).
For application to normal (i.e., low) risk patient populations (e.g., people who have not had a known CV event) the metabolic vulnerability index may be described as MVX1=βi*INFX+βm*MMX1 (wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model used). Conversely, for application to high-risk patient populations (e.g., people who have had a known CV event) the metabolic vulnerability index may be described as MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model used and MMX=β9*MMX1+β10*MMX2. In some cases βm is the same for both the low-risk and the high-risk models (see e.g., FIG. 16)).
Also, Otvos teaches that it is noted that throughout this disclosure, the empirical values for A and β1-βn may vary depending upon the model used. For example, β1 in the first above formula for MVX (i.e., the formula that does not include the term β3*(lnGlycA*lnS-HDLP)), will generally be a different value than β1 in the second above formula (i.e., the equation that does include that product term), respectively (Para 0011).
Further, MPEP § 2144.05, Part II, Subpart B holds that a particular parameter that is recognized as a result effective variable (“a variable that achieves a recognized result”) would be one, but not the only motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
In the calculation of INFX, MMX, and MVX, in a Cox proportional hazards prediction model for mortality, the predictive strengths (χ2) and statistical significance (p value) of parameters and the actual coefficients used (e.g., for MMX1, 34=−1.10056 and 135=0.2373) may vary depending upon the populations used and/or the analysis performed (Para 0137, 0026). Further, the MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model (Para 0017, Figs 5-6).
Also, Otvos teaches that it is noted that throughout this disclosure, the empirical values for A and β1-βn may vary depending upon the model used (Para 0011).
Thus, the numerical coefficients in the sex-specific MMX value are a result effective variables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provide MMXM value that is sex-specific for males to be determined using the following model: MMXM = ((4 + (Leu * -0.01594) + (Leu2 * 0.0000291)) * 1.076) + ((7 + (Val * -0.0239) + (Val2 * 0.00005)) * 0.414) + (Ileu * 0.01265) + ((1 + (Citr * 0.00906) + (Citr2 * -0.0000126)) * 0.5881) for the benefit of providing a method of determining the levels of markers associated with a person's risk of premature death (Otvos, Para 0010) which allows for the provision of risk calculators comprised of factors that can better predict or assess a person's risk of premature death from any cause as opposed to the risk of suffering a non-fatal event (Otvos, Para 0007).
Regarding Claim 12, Otvos teaches wherein the sex-specific IVX value for females (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising an inflammation index (INFX) value. Under BRI, IVX is viewed as INFX; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for female participants)) is determined using the following model:
IVXF = 9 + (GlycA * -0.000187) + (S-HDLP * -0.3585) + ((GlycA * S-HDLP) * 0.000348).
While Otvos does not explicitly teach that IVXF is determined using the following model: IVXF = 9 + (GlycA * -0.000187) + (S-HDLP * -0.3585) + ((GlycA * S-HDLP) * 0.000348).
Otvos teaches that IVXF (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising an inflammation index (INFX) value. Under BRI, IVX is viewed as INFX; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for female participants)) is determined using the following model:
IVXF = 9 + (GlycA * -0.000187) + (S-HDLP * -0.3585) + ((GlycA * S-HDLP) * 0.000348).
Otvos teaches that an INFX value using the following model: INFX=β1*lnGlycA+β2*lnS-HDLP+β3*(lnGlycA*lnS-HDLP). (Para 0114). Further Otvos teaches that the INFX value is determined using the following model: INFX=β1*lnGlycA+β2*lnS-HDLP+β3*(lnGlycA*lnS-HDLP) (Para 0140). In addition, the INFX value is determined using the following model: INFX=β1*lnGlycA+β2*lnS-HDLP+β3*(lnGlycA*lnS-HDLP) (Para 0145).
For application to normal (i.e., low) risk patient populations (e.g., people who have not had a known CV event) the metabolic vulnerability index may be described as MVX1=βi*INFX+βm*MMX1 (wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model used). Conversely, for application to high-risk patient populations (e.g., people who have had a known CV event) the metabolic vulnerability index may be described as MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model used and MMX=β9*MMX1+β10*MMX2. In some cases βm is the same for both the low-risk and the high-risk models (see e.g., FIG. 16)).
Also, Otvos teaches that it is noted that throughout this disclosure, the empirical values for A and β1-βn may vary depending upon the model used. For example, β1 in the first above formula for MVX (i.e., the formula that does not include the term β3*(lnGlycA*lnS-HDLP)), will generally be a different value than β1 in the second above formula (i.e., the equation that does include that product term), respectively (Para 0011).
Further, MPEP § 2144.05, Part II, Subpart B holds that a particular parameter that is recognized as a result effective variable (“a variable that achieves a recognized result”) would be one, but not the only motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
In the calculation of INFX, MMX, and MVX, in a Cox proportional hazards prediction model for mortality, the predictive strengths (χ2) and statistical significance (p value) of parameters and the actual coefficients used (e.g., for MMX1, 34=−1.10056 and 135=0.2373) may vary depending upon the populations used and/or the analysis performed (Para 0137, 0026). Further, the MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model (Para 0017, Figs 5-6).
Also, Otvos teaches that it is noted that throughout this disclosure, the empirical values for A and β1-βn may vary depending upon the model used (Para 0011).
Thus, the numerical coefficients in the sex-specific IVX (viewed as INFX) value are a result effective variables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provide IVXF value that is sex-specific for females to be determined using the following model: IVXF = 9 + (GlycA * -0.000187) + (S-HDLP * -0.3585) + ((GlycA * S-HDLP) * 0.000348) for the benefit of providing a method of determining the levels of markers associated with a person's risk of premature death (Otvos, Para 0010) which allows for the provision of risk calculators comprised of factors that can better predict or assess a person's risk of premature death from any cause as opposed to the risk of suffering a non-fatal event (Otvos, Para 0007).
Regarding Claim 13, Otvos teaches wherein the sex-specific IVX value for males (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising an inflammation index (INFX) value. Under BRI, IVX is viewed as INFX; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for male participants)) is determined using the following model:
IVXM = 9 + (GlycA * -0.00437) + (S-HDLP * -0.52307) + ((GlycA * S- HDLP) * 0.000817).
While Otvos does not explicitly teach that IVXM is determined using the following model: IVXM = 9 + (GlycA * -0.00437) + (S-HDLP * -0.52307) + ((GlycA * S- HDLP) * 0.000817).
Otvos teaches that IVXM (See Para 0013… the MVX value is defined as comprising an inflammation index (INFX) value. Under BRI, IVX is viewed as INFX; See Para 0031-0031 for the MVX score for male participants)) is determined using the following model:
IVXM = 9 + (GlycA * -0.00437) + (S-HDLP * -0.52307) + ((GlycA * S- HDLP) * 0.000817).
Otvos teaches that an INFX value using the following model: INFX=β1*lnGlycA+β2*lnS-HDLP+β3*(lnGlycA*lnS-HDLP). (Para 0114). Further Otvos teaches that the INFX value is determined using the following model: INFX=β1*lnGlycA+β2*lnS-HDLP+β3*(lnGlycA*lnS-HDLP) (Para 0140). In addition, the INFX value is determined using the following model: INFX=β1*lnGlycA+β2*lnS-HDLP+β3*(lnGlycA*lnS-HDLP) (Para 0145).
For application to normal (i.e., low) risk patient populations (e.g., people who have not had a known CV event) the metabolic vulnerability index may be described as MVX1=βi*INFX+βm*MMX1 (wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model used). Conversely, for application to high-risk patient populations (e.g., people who have had a known CV event) the metabolic vulnerability index may be described as MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model used and MMX=β9*MMX1+β10*MMX2. In some cases βm is the same for both the low-risk and the high-risk models (see e.g., FIG. 16)).
Also, Otvos teaches that it is noted that throughout this disclosure, the empirical values for A and β1-βn may vary depending upon the model used. For example, β1 in the first above formula for MVX (i.e., the formula that does not include the term β3*(lnGlycA*lnS-HDLP)), will generally be a different value than β1 in the second above formula (i.e., the equation that does include that product term), respectively (Para 0011).
Further, MPEP § 2144.05, Part II, Subpart B holds that a particular parameter that is recognized as a result effective variable (“a variable that achieves a recognized result”) would be one, but not the only motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
In the calculation of INFX, MMX, and MVX, in a Cox proportional hazards prediction model for mortality, the predictive strengths (χ2) and statistical significance (p value) of parameters and the actual coefficients used (e.g., for MMX1, 34=−1.10056 and 135=0.2373) may vary depending upon the populations used and/or the analysis performed (Para 0137, 0026). Further, the MVX=βi*INFX+βm*MMX wherein βi and βm may have unique values depending upon the model (Para 0017, Figs 5-6).
Also, Otvos teaches that it is noted that throughout this disclosure, the empirical values for A and β1-βn may vary depending upon the model used (Para 0011).
Thus, the numerical coefficients in the sex-specific IVX (viewed as INFX) value are a result effective variables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provide IVXM value that is sex-specific for males to be determined using the following model: IVXM = 9 + (GlycA * -0.00437) + (S-HDLP * -0.52307) + ((GlycA * S- HDLP) * 0.000817) for the benefit of providing a method of determining the levels of markers associated with a person's risk of premature death (Otvos, Para 0010) which allows for the provision of risk calculators comprised of factors that can better predict or assess a person's risk of premature death from any cause as opposed to the risk of suffering a non-fatal event (Otvos, Para 0007).
Conclusion
/OYELEYE ALEXANDER ALABI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1797