DETAILED ACTION
In a communication received on 18 June 2026, the applicants amended claims 1, 3, 9, and 11.
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, the applicant arguments pertain to whether the cited prior art discloses the amended language pertaining to token-derived classification, action mapping, and differentiated security enforcement. The applicant argues that the cited prior art discloses the concepts separately and not as an integrated methodology. The examiner respectfully traverses because the cited combination suggests the token user information, roles, scopes, action policy and packet enforcement in a constrained ship environment as a whole.
As best understood by the examiner, user class encompasses roles, groups, levels while a management table encompasses mapping of categories to actions. Additionally, applicant interpretation of the cited prior art is piecemeal and does not address the combination of the prior art teachings as a whole. More specifically, Sondhi supplies the placing of user attributes in an access token used for policy decisions (Sondhi, ¶0094). Lander further incorporates role-based scope into access tokens (Lander, ¶0242-0243). Critically, Chen discusses the querying of a directory mapping the user group identity to corresponding security policy (Chen, ¶0081, ¶0084).
Furthermore, Lander extracts the access token and converts it into a runtime subject including user/client roles, then computes applicable scopes from roles (Lander, ¶0250; ¶0266).
Chen queries a corporate directory/policy server with user identity and receives a security policy that maps user or group identity to security/network traffic policy (Chen, ¶0080; ¶0081; ¶0083); determines the policy applicable to the user/group and that policy defines network actions such as allow/deny, QoS, queuing priority, rate limiting, forwarding, dropping, or packet modification (Chen, ¶0081; ¶0084; ¶0090); and applies the selected user-mapped security/network traffic policy to the application session’s packets, providing differentiated security/traffic service by access control, QoS, queue priority, routing, dropping, or modification (Chen, ¶0083; ¶0084; ¶0091).
Chen motivates the combination in multiple ways by disclosing improved enterprise security by associating identity and application session to apply security policy accordingly to application session (¶0011). Therefore, the cited prior art of record in combination teaches substantially the claimed limitations more so than the applicant's separate-reference reading of the cited prior art.
The examiner suggests an amendment pertaining to and reciting that access token response formatted as HTTP response having extended parameter comprising a user class field indicating a user classification and the action and priority corresponds to the class tag in the user class management table (applicants published specification, ¶0066-0068, ¶0073-0076). The cited prior art of record does not explicitly disclose the response carrying an access token in HTTP response parameter and using the parameter to lookup the corresponding tag in the class management table.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sondhi et al. (US 2015/0089622 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2016/0261642 A1) and Lander et al. (US 2017/0331832 A1), and further in view of Posner et al. (US 2019/0098598 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Sondhi discloses: a user authentication-based packet classification method for differentiated security services of a ship network, performed by a service provider including a processor (i.e., an authorization platform that comprises at least one Oauth authorization server in Sondhi, ¶0044), the method comprising:
receiving an authorization code request message from a user terminal including a client (i.e., resource server receives user request and provides authorization code in response in Sondhi, ¶0010, , ¶0047);
authenticating and authorizing a user of the client based on the authorization code request message (i.e., granting the client access by the user including the client as a trusted partner and has corresponding authorization code in Sondhi, ¶0011, ¶0047);
transmitting an authorization code response message to the user terminal in response to the authorization code request message (i.e., sending authorization code to the requesting client in Sondhi, ¶0010);
receiving an access token request message from the user terminal based on the authorization code response message (i.e., back channel call to the resource server to request an access token specifying the scope of the access in Sondhi, ¶0011); and
transmitting an access token response message including an access token to the user terminal in response to the access token request message (i.e., client receives the access token and receives specified access until the access token expires; the access is revocable in Sondhi, ¶0011).
Sondhi discloses policy engine to determine the scope of the access relative to the service; resources and scope registry define different scopes of access for clients (¶0052, ¶0082). Sondhi do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Chen, in order to improve processing of data packets of tied to specific user identities such that requestor can simply present their identification and their traffic is processed at packet level (¶0088), discloses:
a user authentication-based packet classification method for differentiated security services of a ship network (i.e., user identity and other parameters of group identity tied with security actions including bandwidth rate limiting, quality of service, or packet based queueing, priority, or forwarding path in Chen, ¶0081, ¶0084);
refer to a user class management table in which actions corresponding to user classes are defined (i.e., queries a corporate directory/policy server with user identity and receives a security policy that maps user or group identity to security/network traffic policy in Chen, ¶0080; ¶0081; ¶0083);
determine an action corresponding to the determined user class (i.e., determines the policy applicable to the user/group and that policy defines network actions such as allow/deny, QoS, queuing priority, rate limiting, forwarding, dropping, or packet modification in Chen, ¶0081; ¶0084; ¶0090); and
provide a differentiated security service according to the determined action. (i.e., applies the selected user-mapped security/network traffic policy to the application session’s packets, providing differentiated security/traffic service by access control, QoS, queue priority, routing, dropping, or modification in Chen, ¶0083; ¶0084; ¶0091)
Based on Sondhi in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chen to improve upon those of Sondhi in order to improve processing of data packets of tied to specific user identities such that requestor can simply present their identification and their traffic is processed at packet level.
Sondhi discloses policy engine to determine the scope of the access relative to the service; resources and scope registry define different scopes of access for clients (¶0052, ¶0082). Sondhi and Chen do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Lander, in order to secure access to cloud-based application corresponding to device and user type (¶0003), discloses:
wherein the access token includes information indicating whether to be provided with differentiated security services (i.e., token includes computed scopes and privileges embedded in access tokens; differentiated authorization in the tokens linked based on both user and application role in Lander, ¶0242, ¶0243, ¶0225), and
whether to be allowed to access constrained resources based on a user classification (i.e., scope is allowed actions corresponding to the client access token; access is evaluated and permitted based on allowed scopes in Lander, ¶0220, ¶0242, ¶0304)
determine a user class based on the information included in the access token (i.e., extracts the access token and converts it into a runtime subject including user/client roles, then computes applicable scopes from roles in Lander, ¶0250; ¶0266).
Based on Sondhi in view of Chen, and further in view of Lander, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Lander to improve upon those of Sondhi in order to secure access to cloud-based application corresponding to device and user type.
Sondhi discloses policy engine to determine the scope of the access relative to the service; resources and scope registry define different scopes of access for clients (¶0052, ¶0082). Sondhi, Chen, and Lander do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Posner, in order to manage satellite bandwidth that is limited and expensive by managing on-ship communication and ship-to-shore communications (¶0011), discloses: in a resource-constrained ship network environment (i.e., differentiated logic in processing on-board/local in a ship; reducing limited satellite connection; sorting ship-to-shore traffic in Posner, ¶0011, ¶0012, ¶0013).
Based on Sondhi in view of Chen and Lander, and further in view of Posner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Posner to improve upon those of Sondhi in order to manage satellite bandwidth that is limited and expensive by managing on-ship communication and ship-to-shore communications.
With respect to claim 2, Sondhi discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a resource request message including the access token from the user terminal (i.e., clients present authorization tokens to the servers which can obtain the respective scopes of access for the specific token-client in Sondhi, ¶0083); and
transmitting a resource response message including resources or information indicating the resources to the user terminal in response to the resource request message (i.e., client presents access token that can specify the scope of the access that may permit contents to an album for example in Sondhi, ¶0011).
With respect to claim 3, Sondhi discloses policy engine to determine the scope of the access relative to the service; resources and scope registry define different scopes of access for clients (¶0052, ¶0082). Sondhi do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Chen, in order to improve processing of data packets of tied to specific user identities such that requestor can simply present their identification and their traffic is processed at packet level (¶0088), discloses: the method of claim 2, further comprising:
applying a differentiated security service to a packet of the user terminal based on an action corresponding to the user class defined in the user class management table (i.e., user identity parameters trigger security gateway to process traffic for packets accordingly to policy corresponding to user identity in Chen, ¶0081, ¶0082, ¶0084).
Based on Sondhi in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chen to improve upon those of Sondhi in order to improve processing of data packets of tied to specific user identities such that requestor can simply present their identification and their traffic is processed at packet level.
With respect to claim 4, Sondhi discloses policy engine to determine the scope of the access relative to the service; resources and scope registry define different scopes of access for clients (¶0052, ¶0082). Sondhi do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Chen, in order to improve processing of data packets of tied to specific user identities such that requestor can simply present their identification and their traffic is processed at packet level (¶0088), discloses: the method of claim 3, further comprising changing a processing order of packet data based on a priority queue corresponding to the user class (i.e., user identity and other parameters of group identity tied with security actions including bandwidth rate limiting, quality of service, or packet based queueing, priority, or forwarding path in Chen, ¶0081, ¶0084).
Based on Sondhi in view of Chen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chen to improve upon those of Sondhi in order to improve processing of data packets of tied to specific user identities such that requestor can simply present their identification and their traffic is processed at packet level.
With respect to claim 5, Sondhi discloses: the method of claim 3, wherein the user class management table comprises a class field, a priority field, and an action field (i.e., registered policies that can indicate different quota limits for different types of subscribers, gold/platinum level in Sondhi, ¶0062),
the class field representing a class tag defined by the service provider (i.e., indicate which user roles are permitted access to various services indicated service's administrator in Sondhi, ¶0062),
the action field defining a security service type to be executed on the corresponding traffic or a predetermined class-specific action (i.e., authorizes decisions to access by supplied token based on supplied token including user specific attributes like security level suggesting a security action for the user/group attributes in Sondhi, ¶0096).
With respect to claim 6, Sondhi discloses: the method of claim 3, wherein the extended parameter (i.e., user attributes can be inserted into token when submitting token with request in Sondhi, ¶0095) comprises a user class field defining the user class and priority (i.e., registered policies that can indicate different quota limits for different types of subscribers, gold/platinum level in Sondhi, ¶0062),
class information field indicating version information of the user class management table (i.e., indicate which user roles are permitted access to various services indicated service's administrator in Sondhi, ¶0062), and
a constraint field (i.e., inserting within the authorization token values for user attributes and scope of the access in Sondhi, ¶0096).
With respect to claim 7, Sondhi discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising defining an extended parameter designating a user class in a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) response corresponding to the access token response message of an authorization server of the service provider (i.e., extending the Oauth specification with user attribute values, browser-based HTTP interfacing with the authorization framework; attributes can specify a user role or department in Sondhi, ¶0062, ¶0093-0094, ¶0096, ¶0121).
With respect to claim 8, Sondhi discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving client service pre-registration from the client (i.e., registering the native applications with the server; trusted partner for resource server suggests pre-registered applications in Sondhi, ¶0126, ¶0130).
With respect to claim 9, the limitation(s) of claim 9 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1. Sondhi further discloses: a user authentication-based packet classification apparatus comprising:
a memory storing at least one instruction for classifying packets based on user authentication for differentiated security services in a ship network (i.e., storage medium for instructions of the embodied invention in Sondhi, ¶0193); and
a processor connected to the memory and executing the at least one instruction, (i.e., processor for executing instructions on storage medium in Sondhi, ¶0193).
With respect to claim 10, the limitation(s) of claim 10 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 11, the limitation(s) of claim 11 are similar to those of claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 3.
With respect to claim 12, the limitation(s) of claim 12 are similar to those of claim(s) 4. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 4.
With respect to claim 13, the limitation(s) of claim 13 are similar to those of claim(s) 5. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 5.
With respect to claim 14, the limitation(s) of claim 14 are similar to those of claim(s) 6. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 6.
With respect to claim 15, the limitation(s) of claim 15 are similar to those of claim(s) 8. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 8.
With respect to claim 16, the limitation(s) of claim 16 are similar to those of claim(s) 7. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ferdi et al. (WO 2018/013925 A1) discloses security tags specifying access scope carried in packet encapsulation; the tags assist with routing and chaining corresponding with authorization and processing specific packets (¶0155, ¶0156, ¶0159, ¶0267). The reference does not explicitly disclose an HTTP access token with explicit class, class info, constraint parameters corresponding to a class tag that determines both priority and class-specific security actions.
Sherman Lin
7/10/2026
/S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447