DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments and amendments submitted do not clarify any of the 112 issues in the claim. Applicant has continued to define abstractions based upon the structure and has failed to adequately limit the structure. Applicant’s amendments do not clarify the structure and, in fact, only make the claim more confusing, overly verbose and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant’s claims define several reference planes which are not instructive and only create confusion. Furthermore, as stated in the previous office action, an edge is a line. When a line translates and rotates along a path/trajectory it will sweep out an area which consists of multiple paths/trajectories. The reference point is not sufficiently defined such that any single path/trajectory can be considered limiting. The claimed “projection” is not an actual physical entity, but is simply a mental abstraction. The projection has no actual relationship to the structure of the door or the hinge. The projection is not required to undergo any of the claimed translations and rotations along with the door opening because they are not actually connected. Applicant is claiming a hardware structure based on mental abstractions which are not required to behave the way Applicant claims.
Applicant is advised to view the structure of the claims set forth in the prior art and model any future claims in a similar format.
Claim Interpretation
The planes, projections and reference points are considered imaginary and non-limiting. Applicant’s claim provides instructions on what a user should visualize and these limitations are met when they are read by a user because the user must visualize the limitation as written.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squire, U.S. Patent 2,867,839.
Regarding Claim 1, insofar as the claim is understood, Squire teaches:
a case (12), defining a holding space; wherein the holding space has an opening (Figs. 2-
4);
a door (19), configured to block the opening; and
a hinge assembly (Title, Figs. 1-4), arranged on a pivot side of the case and pivotally connected to the door and the case (Figs. 1-4);
wherein the door has an outer edge (see below) and an inner edge (see below) on the pivot side; a first reference plane (see below) and a second reference plane (see below) are defined for the door; the first reference plane is parallel to a plane where the opening is located, and a contour of the inner edge is located on the first reference plane in a closed state (Fig. 1, see below); the second reference plane is perpendicular to the plane where the opening is located, and a contour of the outer edge is located on the second reference plane in the closed state (Fig. 1, see below); the first reference plane and the second reference plane remain stationary with respect to the case during a process of the door being opened relative to the case, and a projection plane is defined as a plane perpendicular to the first reference plane and the second reference plane…
…the hinge assembly comprises a first shaft (14) and a second shaft (15) arranged in the case, and a first slot (27) and a second slot (26) arranged in the door, the first slot and the first shaft engages with each other, and the second slot and the second shaft engages with each other
in process of the door being opened from the closed state to the third opening angle, the first slot and the second slot move together with the door such that at beginning of movement, the first shaft is located at first end of the first slot (Fig. 1), the second shaft is located at first end of the second slot (Fig. 1), at end of the movement, the first shaft is located at second end of the first slot (Fig. 4), the second shaft is located at second end of the second slot (Fig. 4), a position of the first shaft relative to the first slot changes from the first end of the first slot to the second end of the first slot, and a position of the second shaft relative to the second slot changes from the first end of the second slot to the second end of the second slot (see Figs. 1-4);
Squires does not explicitly teach:
During a process of the door, under an action of the hinge assembly, moving from the
closed state to an opened state at a first opening angle relative to the case, the outer edge moves toward the first reference plane along a first path; the first path has a radius of curvature greater than or equal to 5t, and a distance of the first path exceeding a side of the second reference plane back to the opening is less than or equal to a first predetermined distance;
during a process of the door, under the action of the hinge assembly, moving from the opened state at the first opening angle to an opened state at a second opening angle relative to the case, the outer edge moves along a second path toward the first reference plane; the second path has a radius of curvature greater than or equal to 5t, and a distance of the second path exceeding the side of the second reference plane back to the opening is less than or equal to the first predetermined distance; wherein the t is a thickness of the door;
during a process of the door, under the action of the hinge assembly, moving from the opened state at the second opening angle to an opened state at a third opening angle relative to the case, the outer edge moves along a third path toward a side of the second reference plane toward the opening; the third path is an arc having a radius of curvature of 0.45t-0.55t; a circle center of the third path is located in the door….
…wherein an outer reference point is defined for the door, and the outer reference point is located adjacent to the outer edge;
during the process of the door, under the action of the hinge assembly, moving from the closed state to the opened state at the first opening angle relative to the case, the outer reference point moves along a first outer-reference-point trajectory toward the first reference plane; the first outer-reference-point trajectory is a straight line;
during the process of the door, under the action of the hinge assembly, moving from the opened state at the first opening angle to the opened state at the second opening angle relative to the case, the outer reference point moves along a second outer-reference-point trajectory toward the first reference plane; the second outer-reference-point trajectory is a straight line (see Claim Interpretation above).
Insofar as the limitations not taught by Squire can be understood, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Squire with the claimed radii of curvature of the first, second and third paths swept by the inner and outer edge with the values claimed (5t, 5t, 0.45t-0.55t, respectively) because Squire broadly teaches the claimed door path (and associated door elements) and it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 2, these claim limitations set forth further dimensional requirements for the first opening angle (25°-31°), second opening angle (57°-60°) and third angle (122°-132°) of the structure. These limitations rejected because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 3, it is inherent that the first path has an end point on the second reference plane, see drawing selection above. It is considered further obvious to provide the distance between the end point of the first path and the second reference plane being less than or equal to 0.135t because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 4, Squire is interpreted to inherently teach a first path, a second path and a third path, but is silent with regard to the specific radii of curvature of these trajectories. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Squire with the claimed radii of curvature of the first, second and third paths in the first, second and third opening angles, respectively, because Squire broadly teaches the claimed trajectories (see Figs. 1-4 compared with Applicant’s fig. 10) and it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 5, it is inherent that an end point of the first track is located on the first reference plane, see drawing selection above.
Regarding Claim 6, these claims set forth further dimensional requirements for the first predetermined distance (0mm-4mm) and the second predetermined distance (0mm-2mm). These limitations rejected because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 7, Since the track and path are not explicitly defined it is arbitrary to designate the first track and first path such that the ratio of the length of the path to the track is 3.5 to 4.5 because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 8, since the “track” and the “path” are not explicitly defined and are available to be chosen from within the area swept by the edges, it is arbitrary to defined the radii of curvature between the third track and third path to be 1.22 because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 9, since the limitation “t” is a variable that is undefined it is considered well within the ordinary skill of those in the art to provide the distance from the circle to the first reference plane as 0.6t and the distance to the second reference plane as 0.5t because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 10, Squire is interpreted to inherently teach an outer reference point having a first outer-reference-point trajectory and a second-outer-reference-point trajectory, but is silent with regard to the specific dimensions of these trajectories. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Squire with the claimed dimensions of the first and second outer-reference-point trajectories because Squire broadly teaches the claimed trajectories (see Figs. 1-4 compared with Applicant’s fig. 10) and it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 11, Squire is interpreted to inherently teach an outer reference point having a first inner-reference-point trajectory and a second inner-reference-point trajectory, but is silent with regard to the specific dimensions of these trajectories. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Squire with the claimed dimensions of the first and second inner-reference-point trajectories because Zhang broadly teaches the claimed trajectories (see Figs. 1-4 compared with Applicant’s fig. 10) and it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 12, since the limitation “t” is a variable that is undefined it is considered well within the ordinary skill of those in the art to provide the perpendicular distances claimed as being 0.1t because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 13, since the reference points are abstractions it is arbitrary to designate the outer reference point on the outer edge and the inner reference point on the inner edge.
Regarding Claim 14, since the trajectories claimed in this limitation are not exclusively parallel to the claimed references planes it is considered inherent that the reference points of the prior art would have a component parallel to each reference plane and are therefore interpreted to meet the limitations.
Regarding Claim 15, since the reference points can be chosen at different locations on the inner and outer edge it is arbitrary to designate the first inner and outer reference points such that the first inner reference point trajectory is greater than a length of the first outer reference point trajectory and the ratio of these lengths being 3.5 to 4.5 because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 16, Squire teaches:
A case (12), defining a holding space; wherein the holding space has an opening (Figs. 2-
4);
a door (19), configured to block the opening; and
a hinge assembly (Title, Figs. 1-4), arranged on a pivot side of the case and pivotally connected to the door and the case (Figs. 1-4);
wherein the door has an outer edge (see below) and an inner edge (see below) on the pivot side; in condition of the door being in a closed state relative to the case, the inner edge is closer to the case compared to the outer edge; a first reference plane (see below) and a second reference plane (see below) are defined for the door; the first reference plane is parallel to a plane where the opening is located, and a contour of the inner edge is located on the first reference plane in the closed state (see below); the second reference plane is perpendicular to the plane where the opening is located, and a contour of the outer edge is located on the second reference plane in the closed state (see below);
during a process of the door, under an action of the hinge assembly, moving from the closed state to an opened state at a first opening angle relative to the case, the outer edge moves toward the first reference plane along a first path, and the inner edge moves toward a side of the second reference plane toward the opening along a first track (see below, see figs. 1-4);…
…the hinge assembly comprises a first shaft (14) and a second shaft (15) arranged in the case, and a first slot (27) and a second slot (26) arranged in the door, the first slot and the first shaft engages with each other, and the second slot and the second shaft engages with each other;
in process of the door being opened from the closed state to a third opening angle, the first slot and the second slot move together with the door such that at beginning of movement, the first shaft is located at first end of the first slot (Fig. 1), the second shaft is located at first end of the second slot (Fig. 1), at end of the movement, the first shaft is located at second end of the first slot (Fig. 4), the second shaft is located at second end of the second slot (Fig. 4), a position of the first shaft relative to the first slot changes from the first end of the first slot to the second end of the first slot, and a position of the second shaft relative to the second slot changes from the first end of the second slot to the second end of the second slot (Figs. 1-4).
Squire does not explicitly teach:
Wherein the first path has a radius of curvature greater than or equal to 5t, and a
distance of the first path exceeding a side of the second reference plane back to the opening is less than or equal to a first predetermined distance; the first track has a radius of curvature greater than or equal to 100t, and a distance of the first track exceeding a side of the first reference plane toward the opening is less than or equal to a second predetermined distance; wherein the t is a thickness of the door…
wherein an outer reference point is defined for the door, and the outer reference point is located adjacent to the outer edge;
during the process of the door, under the action of the hinge assembly, moving from the closed state to the opened state at the first opening angle relative to the case, the outer reference point moves along a first outer-reference-point trajectory toward the first reference plane; the first outer-reference-point trajectory is a straight line;
during the process of the door, under the action of the hinge assembly, moving from the opened state at the first opening angle to the opened state at the second opening angle relative to the case, the outer reference point moves along a second outer-reference-point trajectory toward the first reference plane; the second outer-reference-point trajectory is a straight line.
Insofar as the limitations not taught by Squire can be understood, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Squire with the claimed radius of curvature of the first track and the claimed distance of the first track because Squire broadly teaches the claimed door path (and associated door elements) and it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 17, these claim limitations set forth further dimensional requirements for the first opening angle (25°-31°) and the first predetermined distance (3mm) and the second predetermined distance (1.5mm). These limitations are rejected because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 18, it is considered inherent that the end point of the first path is located on the second reference plane.
Regarding Claim 19, Squire teaches wherein during a process of the door, under the action of the hinge assembly, moving from the opened state at the first opening angle to an opened state at a second opening angle relative to the case, the outer edge moves along a second path toward the first reference plane, and the inner edge moves along a second track toward the side of the second reference plane toward the opening and a side of the first reference plane back to the opening (see drawing selection above, see Figs. 1-4).
Squire does not explicitly teach
the second path has a radius of curvature greater than or equal to 5t, and a distance of the second path exceeding the side of the second reference plane back to the opening is less than or equal to the first predetermined distance; a radius of curvature of the second track gradually decreases.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the claimed dimensions and gradually decreasing radius of curvature because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Regarding Claim 20, Squire teaches:
a case (12), defining a holding space; wherein the holding space has an opening (Figs. 2-
4);
a door (19), configured to block the opening; and
a hinge assembly (Title, Figs. 1-4), arranged on a pivot side of the case and pivotally connected to the door and the case (Figs. 1-4);
wherein the door has an outer edge (see below) and an inner edge (see below) on the pivot side; a first reference plane (see below) and a second reference plane (see below) are defined for the door; the first reference plane is parallel to a plane where the opening is located, and a contour of the inner edge is located on the first reference plane in a closed state (Fig. 1, see below); the second reference plane is perpendicular to the plane where the opening is located, and a contour of the outer edge is located on the second reference plane in the closed state (Fig. 1, see below); the first reference plane and the second reference plane remain stationary with respect to the case during a process of the door being opened relative to the case, and a projection plane is defined as a plane perpendicular to the first reference plane and the second reference plane…
…the hinge assembly comprises a first shaft (14) and a second shaft (15) arranged in the case, and a first slot (27) and a second slot (26) arranged in the door, the first slot and the first shaft engages with each other, and the second slot and the second shaft engages with each other
in process of the door being opened from the closed state to the third opening angle, the first slot and the second slot move together with the door such that at beginning of movement, the first shaft is located at first end of the first slot (Fig. 1), the second shaft is located at first end of the second slot (Fig. 1), at end of the movement, the first shaft is located at second end of the first slot (Fig. 4), the second shaft is located at second end of the second slot (Fig. 4), a position of the first shaft relative to the first slot changes from the first end of the first slot to the second end of the first slot, and a position of the second shaft relative to the second slot changes from the first end of the second slot to the second end of the second slot (see Figs. 1-4).
Squire does not explicitly teach:
During a process…located in the door… (Claim lines 13-32)…
…wherein an outer…a straight line (Claim lines 44-53).
Insofar as the limitations not taught by Squire can be understood, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Squire with the claimed radius of curvature (5t), the distance of the second path exceeding the side of the second reference plane by the claimed amount and the third path being an arc with a radius of curvature of 0.45t-0.55t because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]. Additionally, Applicant has not provided any unforeseen result or criticality stemming from the use of the claimed dimensions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677