PHENAZINE DERIVATIVE-BASED ALKALINE BATTERY
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/366,641 Art Unit: 1727 June 11, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Response to Restriction filed on May 04, 2026 has been received. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species A1 and B2 in the reply filed on May 04, 2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 15-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 contains the trademark/trade name Ketjenblack. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe conductive particles and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (A phenazine anode for high-performance aqueous rechargeable batteries in a wide temperature range; as found in IDS dated 03/15/24).
As to Claims 1, 4, 6-8 and 10-11, Sun discloses an aqueous alkaline battery, comprising: a phenazine anode comprising a current collector, ketjenblack and PvDF binder; a cathode comprising a current collector, an active material, Super-P and PTFE binder; and an aqueous electrolyte comprising sodium hydroxide or 5M lithium hydroxide and water (Abstract; Introduction, second paragraph; pg. 677, 2.4; pg. 678, first full paragraph). In addition, the battery of Sun intrinsically comprises the claimed characteristics given that the structure and materials of the battery of Sun and the claimed invention are the same, see MPEP 2112.
As to Claims 2-3, the phenazine anode of Sun intrinsically comprises the claimed electron-donating groups given that the materials and structure of the claimed invention and the prior art are the same, see MPEP 2112.
As to Claims 13-14, the battery of Sun intrinsically comprises the claimed characteristics given that the structure and materials of the battery of Sun and the claimed invention are the same, see MPEP 2112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (A phenazine anode for high-performance aqueous rechargeable batteries in a wide temperature range; as found in IDS dated 03/15/24) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2008/0254366 A1).
A to Claim 5, Sun does not specifically disclose the claimed collectors.
However, Kobayashi teaches of an alkaline battery that comprises nickel foam plate collectors (reads on foil) (paragraphs [0041 and 0044]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the collectors of Sun to comprise nickel foil because Kobayashi teaches that suitable current collectors for alkaline batteries can be formed (paragraphs [0041 and 0044]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (A phenazine anode for high-performance aqueous rechargeable batteries in a wide temperature range; as found in IDS dated 03/15/24) in view of Sato et al. (JP 2017183204; using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claim 9, Sun does not specifically disclose the claimed cathode.
However, Sato teaches of a cathode for an alkaline battery, comprising nickel compounds such as oxygen and nickel hydroxide and Pt/C (paragraph [0032]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cathode of Sun to comprise nickel hydroxide and Pt/C because Sato taches that a suitable cathode for an alkaline battery is provided (paragraph [0032]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (A phenazine anode for high-performance aqueous rechargeable batteries in a wide temperature range; as found in IDS dated 03/15/24) in view of Yadav et al. (US 2020/0411846 A1).
As to Claim 12, Sun does not specifically disclose the claimed graphene oxide layer.
However, Yadav teaches of an alkaline battery, comprising a graphene oxide layer provided on the separator (paragraphs [0054]). There are a finite number of known options to place the graphene oxide layer (between the anode and the separator or between the cathode and the separator) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to try the known options with a reasonable expectation of success, see KSR, MPEP 2143, I, E. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Sun to comprise the claimed graphene oxide layer because Yadav teaches that an improved rechargeable alkaline battery can be provided (paragraph [0004]). In addition, the courts have held that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), see MPEP 2113, I.
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727