DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on August 9, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 2022-11040438.3 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “combined and separated transmission device” (claim 3); “transmission part” (claim 5) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: release plate 306A (page 4, line 13).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 4, the description of the drawings refers to the drawings as depicting “this patent” or “the patent”. Such statements are consistent with the description of what is depicted within the drawings. Additionally, this is application is not a patent. Examiner suggests restating what the Figures actually depict without the use of “patent”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 24, Examiner suggests -- and power-off and --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a) an electric drive mechanism…is used to drive the illumination arm…in claim 1
b) the combined and separated transmission device…to swing…in claim 3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim recites “the connecting part” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand “a connecting part”.
As to claim 1, the claim recites “the electric swing” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand “an electric swing”.
Claims 2-6 are rejected as dependent upon claim 1.
As to claim 2, the claim recites “the manual swing”, which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand “a manual swing”.
As to claim 2, the claim recites “the electric illumination arm mechanism realizes the manual swing of the illumination arm” which is a function that does not follow from the recited structure of the claim (MPEP 2173.05(g)). Specifically, it is unclear what structure allows for such manual swing, or if such feature is merely a recitation of the operation of the device of claim 1. For example is this a human manually operates some power switch to drive the illumination arm? A human physically moves the slit lamp? Other? The metes and bounds are unclear since whether some other structure is required to manually swing or if such limitations are a recitation of any human interaction with the electric illumination arm mechanism. For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will understand that so long as the art teaches claim 1 and a slit lamp, such manual swing is necessarily present.
As to claim 3, the claim recites “the connecting end” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand “a connecting end”.
As to claim 4, the claim recites “the output end” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand “an output end”.
As to claim 5, the claim recites “the combination and separation transmission device” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand “the combined and separated transmission device”.
As to claim 5, the claim recites “the transmission part” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand “the transmission device”.
As to claim 5, the claim recites “through power-on and power-off…when the combined and separated transmission device is powered on….wherein the combined and separated transmission device is powered off” which is unclear how the function of power-on and power-off are provided since the claim fails to include any particular structure for powering-on/off (MPEP 2173.05(g)). The metes and bounds are unclear since the function of powering does not follow from the recited structure of the claim.
Examiner will understand the claim to implicitly provide some power source.
As to claim 5, the claim recites “combination and separation device is used to manually control” which is a product and method of step of using the product in the same claim and thus indefinite (MPEP 2173.05(p)). The metes and bounds are unclear since those of ordinary skill in the art would not understand whether infringement happens when the device is used, or when the device created.
Examiner will understand the claim such that so long as the art teaches the claimed structure, such use will be implicit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1),(a2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2022/0400949 - Lin).
As to claim 1, Lin teaches an electric illumination arm mechanism based on slit lamp microscope (Lin Fig. 6 - 72, 80; para. [0056], [0084]; Fig. 39), which is characterized in that the electric illumination arm comprising a lifting arm (Lin Fig. 39 - 550; Fig. 22 - 550), an illumination arm (Lin Fig. 39 - 552; Fig. 22 - 552), and an electric drive mechanism (Lin Fig. 22 - 744, 1506, 1520, 1514, 1508; para. [0141]-[0143]);
the electric drive mechanism is fixed on the connecting part of the lifting arm (Lin Fig. 22 - 744, 550, 552), which is used to drive the illumination arm to swing and realize the electric swing of the illumination arm (Lin Fig. 22 - 744, 745; ; Fig. 39 - 72; para. [0141]-[0143] - as discussed, the motor (744) operates to rotate the illumination arm (72, 80) about axis (745)).
As to claim 2 (as understood), Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Lin further teaches the electric illumination arm mechanism realize the manual swing of the illumination arm (Lin Fig. 6 - 72, 80; Fig. 39; para. [0084]).
As to claim 3, Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Lin further teaches the electric drive mechanism is a motor-driven combined and separated transmission device (Lin Fig. 22 - 744, 1520, 1508, 1514), which drives the illumination arm at the connected end of the combined and separated transmission device to swing (Lin Fig. 22 - 744, 1508, 1514; para. [0141]-[0143]).
As to claim 4, Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Lin further teaches the electric drive mechanism comprises a bracket (Lin Fig. 22 - 1512), a motor (Lin Fig. 22 - 1506), a combined and separated transmission device (Lin Fig. 22 - 1520), a driving gear (Lin Fig. 22 - 1508), and a driven gear (Lin Fig. 22 - 1514), the motor is installed on the bracket (Lin Fig. 22 - 1506, 1512), the combined and separated transmission device is installed on the output end of the motor (Lin Fig. 22 - 1520), and the driving gear is installed on the combined and separated transmission device (Lin Fig. 22 - driving gear (1508) installed on the transmission device (1520)) and the driven gear is installed on the illumination arm (Lin Fig. 22 - 1514, 72).
As to claim 6, Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Lin further teaches the electric driving mechanism is a gear drive mechanism, a chain drive mechanism, a belt drive mechanism, a cam drive mechanism, a connecting rod drive mechanism, or a worm gear and worm drive mechanism (Lin Fig. 22 - 1506, 1508, 1514; para. [0141]-[0143]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Meznaric et al. (CH 709563; text references made to the English machine translation).
As to claim 5, Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and but doesn’t specify he combination and separation transmission device controls the combination and separation of the transmission part through power-on and power-of and when the combined and separated transmission device is powered on, the transmission part is combined, and the motor drives the illumination arm to swing and when the combined and separated transmission device is powered off, the transmission part is separated, and the 8 illumination arm swings manually and combination and separation transmission device is used to manually control the combination and separation of transmission parts.
In the same field of endeavor Meznaric teaches a slit lamp and electric drive mechanism employing a combination and separation transmission device (electromagnetic (EM) clutch) (Meznaric Figs. 1a-2b - 240; para. [0062]) whereby the EM clutch controls combination and separation of the transmission part through power-on and power-off (Meznaric Figs. 1a-2b - 240; para. [0063], [0066]) and when the combined and separated transmission device is powered on, the transmission part is combined and the motor drives the illumination arm to swing (Meznaric Figs. 2a-2b - 240; para. [0066]) and when the combined and separated transmission device is powered off, the transmission part is separated (Meznaric Figs. 1a-1b - 240; para. [0062]), and the illumination arm swings manually (Meznaric para. [0062]) and combination and separation transmission is used to manually control the combination and separation of transmission parts (Meznaric para. [0062], [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide an EM clutch (combination and separation transmission device) since, as taught by Meznaric, such devices allow for switching between motorized and manual control of slit lamps (Meznaric Figs. 1a-2b; para. [0009]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Berestka et al. (US 10,687,703; 2019/0053703); Sander (US 7,724,429); Ulbers et al. (US 6,474,815); Daly et al. (US 4,638,801); Tagnon (US 4,554,917); McGrann et al. (US 3,830,562); Ulbers (US 2004/0135971); Ruedel (DE 3151837); Haag-Streit (GB 852,964); Battaglia (WO 99/56611) are cited as additional examples of slit lamps with motorized control.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 August 14, 2025