DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kelley (US 9,097,609 B1) (hereinafter Kelley).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Kelley teaches a leak tester comprising a chamber used in the leak tester [testing chamber for hermetic seal leak detection] (see Abstract), the chamber comprising:
a main chamber [at least one variable size gas space test chamber enclosed in flexible housing 22] for housing a workpiece [object under test 10 placed into the flexible housing 22] (Col 6, lines 53-58, Col 7, lines 16-18, see Claim 1, Fig. 4a);
a sub-chamber [interior gas space of bellows 73 or 76] that communicates with the main chamber [operatively coupled with said variable size gas space test chamber] (see Claim 1, Fig. 4a); and
a volume changing mechanism for changing a volume of the sub-chamber [expandable and contractible bellows 73 and 76] (see Claim 1, Fig. 4a),
wherein the volume changing mechanism changes the volume of the sub-chamber such that a total volume of a space on the outside of the workpiece in the main chamber and the volume of the sub-chamber remains constant with respect to workpieces of different sizes [bellows control size of said variable size gas space chamber by movement of said bellows; structure taught by Kelley inherently capable of keeping the total volume on the outside of the workpiece in the main chamber and the volume of the sub-chamber (37a or 37b) constant with respect to devices under test of different sizes through adjustment of bellows 73 and/or 76] (see Claim 1, Figs. 4a-4d).
Regarding claim 3, Kelley as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the volume changing mechanism controls the volume of the sub-chamber on the basis of size data about the workpiece [bellows control size of said variable size gas space chamber by movement of said bellows; structure taught by Kelley inherently capable of controlling the volume of the sub-chamber on the basis of size data about the device under test] (see Claim 1, Figs. 4a-4d).
Regarding claim 4, Kelley as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the volume changing mechanism includes a piston that advances and retreats within the sub-chamber to adjust the volume of the sub-chamber [bellows may further include plungers, pistons] (Col 3, lines 55-56).
Regarding claim 8, Kelley as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising a positioning mechanism for positioning the workpiece within the main chamber [chamber cap 88] (see Fig. 4a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelley as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Kelley as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising an opening that communicates with a leak detector [pressure sensing instrument 50 having an opening in communication with gas space 37a and 37b] (see Fig. 4a). Kelley fails to teach wherein the opening is included in the sub-chamber. Kelley teaches wherein the leak detector [pressure sensing instrument] comprises an opening that opens into gas space 37a and/or 37b for sensing the pressure in that space for detecting a leak, wherein gas space 37a also includes the gas space in the bellows [sub-chamber] (see Fig. 4a). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Kelley such that the sub-chamber comprises the opening that communicates with a leak detector, for the predictable result of sensing the pressure of the gas space for leak testing.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelley as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Webler et al. (US 2007/0142818 A1) (hereinafter Webler).
Regarding claim 5, Kelley as applied to claim 4 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the volume changing mechanism includes a numerical value control actuator for controlling a position of the piston. Webler teaches a volume changing mechanism comprising a plunger, wherein a numerical value control actuator is utilized for controlling a position of the plunger (Para [0051]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Kelley with Webler such that the volume changing mechanism includes a numerical value control actuator for controlling a position of the piston, in order to precisely control the volume.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelley as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Kanematsu et al. (US 2007/0119237 A1) (hereinafter Kanematsu).
Regarding claim 6, Kelley as applied to claim 4 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the sub-chamber includes a tubular part, and wherein the piston is disposed in an airtight manner with respect to an inner peripheral surface of the tubular part, and advances and retreats in an axial direction of the tubular part. Kelley additionally teaches wherein the volume changing mechanism can include a piston (Col 3, lines 55-56). Kanematsu teaches a leak inspection device comprising a variable volume chamber having a volume changing mechanism that include a chamber having a tubular part with a piston disposed in an airtight manner with respect to an inner peripheral surface of the tubular part, and advances and retreats in an axial direction of the tubular part, in order to change the volume of the chamber (Para [0034], see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Kelley with Kanematsu such that wherein the sub-chamber includes a tubular part, and wherein the piston is disposed in an airtight manner with respect to an inner peripheral surface of the tubular part, and advances and retreats in an axial direction of the tubular part, in order to adjust the volume of the variable size gas space.
Regarding claim 7, Kelley as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the sub-chamber includes one or more chambers that communicate with the main chamber (see Kelley Fig. 4a). Kelley fails to wherein the volume changing mechanism includes one or more valves that control entry of a fluid into each of the one or more chambers, respectively. Kanematsu teaches a leak inspection device comprising a variable volume chamber comprising one or more valves that control entry of a fluid into the chamber (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Kelley with Kanematsu such that the volume changing mechanism includes one or more valves that control entry of a fluid into each of the one or more chambers, in order to fill the vacuum once a leak test has been completed.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelley.
Regarding claim 10, Kelley teaches a leak tester (see Abstract) comprising:
a chamber [testing chamber for hermetic seal leak detection] (see Abstract), the chamber including:
a main chamber [at least one variable size gas space test chamber enclosed in flexible housing 22] for housing a workpiece [object under test 10 placed into the flexible housing 22] (Col 6, lines 53-58, Col 7, lines 16-18, see Claim 1, Fig. 4a);
a sub-chamber [interior gas space of bellows 73 or 76] that communicates with the main chamber [operatively coupled with said variable size gas space test chamber] (see Claim 1, Fig. 4a); and
a volume changing mechanism for changing a volume of the sub-chamber [expandable and contractible bellows 73 and 76] (see Claim 1, Fig. 4a),
wherein the volume changing mechanism changes the volume of the sub-chamber such that a total volume of a space on the outside of the workpiece in the main chamber and the volume of the sub-chamber remains constant with respect to workpieces of different sizes [bellows control size of said variable size gas space chamber by movement of said bellows; structure taught by Kelley inherently capable of keeping the total volume on the outside of the workpiece in the main chamber and the volume of the sub-chamber (37a or 37b) constant with respect to devices under test of different sizes through adjustment of bellows 73 and/or 76] (see Claim 1, Figs. 4a-4d); and
a leak detector that communicates with the sub-chamber via an opening [pressure sensing instrument 50 having an opening in communication with gas space 37a and 37b] (see Fig. 4a).
Kelley fails to teach wherein the opening is in the sub-chamber. Kelley teaches wherein the leak detector [pressure sensing instrument] comprises an opening that opens into gas space 37a and/or 37b for sensing the pressure in that space for detecting a leak, wherein gas space 37a also includes the gas space in the bellows [sub-chamber] (see Fig. 4a). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Kelley such that the sub-chamber comprises the opening that communicates with a leak detector, for the predictable result of sensing the pressure of the gas space for leak testing.
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855