DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 1, the recitation “the rotational speed of the electric motor”, on lines 5-6. Should be changed to –a rotational speed of the electric motor--.
For claim 1, the recitation “a rotational speed of the electric motor”, on lines 6-7. Should be changed to –the rotational speed of the electric motor--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boldea et al. (hereinafter Boldea, “”Active Flux” DTFC-SVM Sensorless Control of IPMSM”, IEEE Transactions on energy conversion, IEEE service center, Piscataway, NJ, US. Vol. 24, no. 2, 1 June 2009, page 31-322, XP011257939, ISSN 0885-8969).
For claim 1, Boldea discloses an apparatus (Fig. 2 of Boldea discloses an apparatus – see Boldea, Fig. 2, page 315, col. 2, last second paragraph) comprising:
an electric motor (Fig. 2 of Boldea discloses an electric motor IPMSM);
an inverter for converting a direct current to a three-phase alternating current for driving the electric motor (Fig. 2 of Boldea discloses an inverter “PWM Inv.” for converting a direct current Vdc to a three-phase alternating current for driving the electric motor IPMSM);
a motor controller for determining a voltage drop across the inverter while maintaining the rotational speed of the electric motor at zero revolutions per second, for estimating a rotational position of the electric motor in response to the voltage drop and a flux based observer while increasing the rotational speed of the electric motor from zero revolutions per minute to a commanded rotational speed, and controlling a switching of the inverter in response to the rotational position (Fig. 2 of Boldea discloses sum, a PI anti windup, DTFC, State observers and SVM deadtime comp which altogether constitute a motor controller for determining a voltage drop
comp across the inverter “PWM Inv.” while maintaining the rotational speed of the electric motor IPMSM at zero revolutions per second, for estimating a rotational position of the electric motor in response to the voltage drop and a flux based observer while increasing the rotational speed of the electric motor from zero revolutions per minute to a commanded rotational speed (1400 r/min), and controlling a switching of the inverter ”PWM Inv.” in response to the rotational position – see Boldea, Fig. 2, page 314, right column, line 1 through page 315, right column, last line); and
a memory for storing a data indicative of a magnitude of the voltage drop (Memory is not shown. However, it is inherently to include a memory for storing the voltage drop calculated as disclosed in equation (7)).
For claim 4, Boldea discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the direct current has a variable magnitude during the characterization of the voltage drop in the inverter maintaining the rotational speed of the electric motor at zero revolutions per minute (see Boldea, Figs. 2 and 12a, page 314, right column, lines 1-13).
For claim 6, Boldea discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the voltage drop is a non-linear voltage drop (see Boldea, page 314, first column, second last paragraph) and wherein the rotational speed and a position of the electric motor is determined in response to a counter-electromotive force and the non-linear voltage drop (see Bolf, page 314, first column, second paragraph of section I. Introduction).
For claim 7, Boldea discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the motor controller is further operative to generate a switching control signal for switching a plurality of transistors within the inverter to control a frequency of the three-phase alternating current for driving the electric motor (Fig. 2 of Boldea discloses the motor controller is further operative to generate a switching control signal Sa, Sb, Sc for switching a plurality of transistors within the inverter “PWM Inv.” to control a frequency of the three-phase alternating current for driving the electric motor IPMSM – see Boldea, Figs. 2 and 7; page 316, first column, third and fourth paragraphs; and page 317, second paragraph of section V. Experimental Platform and Test Results).
For claim 8, Boldea discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the rotational speed and a position of the electric motor are determined in response to the voltage drop until the commanded operational rotational speed is reached (see Boldea, Figs. 2 and 12a, sections I. Introduction, II. Active Flux Concept, and V. Experimental Platform and Test Results).
Claim 10 is a method claim which is either same or similar to combination of “an apparatus” claim 1 and claim 6. The explanation is omitted.
For claim 11, Boldea discloses the method of claim 10 the voltage drop is determined while maintaining the rotational speed of the electric motor at zero revolutions per second (same as explanation in claim 4 above).
Claim 12 is a method claim which is either same or similar to combination of “an apparatus” claim 6 and claim 8. The explanation is omitted.
For claim 14, Boldea discloses the method of claim 10 wherein the inverter is configured to convert a direct current to a three-phase alternating current for driving the electric motor (Fig. 2 of Boldea discloses the inverter “PWM Inv.” Which is configured to convert a direct current Vdc to a three-phase alternating current for driving the electric motor IPMSM -- see Boldea, Figs. 2 and 7, page 317, second paragraph of section V. Experimental Platform and Test Results).
For claim 15, Boldea discloses the method of claim 10 wherein the electric motor is a permanent magnet synchronous motor (Fig. 2 of Boldea discloses the electric motor IMPSM is a permanent magnet synchronous motor – see Boldea, Fig. 2, page 314, abstract and Index Terms).
For claim 16, Boldea discloses the method of claim 10 wherein the voltage drop is determined while at zero revolutions per second (see Boldea, page 314, second column, first and second paragraphs).
For claim 17, Boldea discloses the method of claim 10 wherein the rotational speed of the electric motor is controlled in response to a switching signal applied to the inverter (see Boldea, Figs. 2 and 7, page 317, second column, second paragraph of section V. Experimental Platform and Test Results).
For claim 18, Boldea discloses the method of claim 10 wherein a variable direct current is applied to the inverter while maintaining zero rotational speed of the electric motor (FIgs. 1-2 of Boldea disclose a variable direct current is applied to the inverter “PWM Inv.” via “SVM dead time comp.” while maintaining zero rotational speed (veryu low speed including zero rotational speed) of the electric motor IPMSM – see Boldea, Figs. 1-2, page 314, section I. Introduction and pages 315-316, section III. DTFC-SVM Sensorless Control System).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boldea et al. (hereinafter Boldea, “”Active Flux” DTFC-SVM Sensorless Control of IPMSM”, IEEE Transactions on energy conversion, IEEE service center, Piscataway, NJ, US. Vol. 24, no. 2, 1 June 2009, page 31-322, XP011257939, ISSN 0885-8969) in view of You et ai. (hereinafter You, US 11,463,035 B2).
For claim 2, Boldea discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the rotational speed of the electric motor is maintained at zero revolutions per second during the determination of the voltage drop (see Boldea, Fig. 2 and Fig. 12a, page 314, right column, lines 1-13). Boldea discloses DTFC-SVM sensorless control of motor which is silent to disclose a sensorless motor of an air compressor. However, You discloses a sensorless motor of an air compressor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Bolda to incorporate teaching of You to include controlling a sensorless motor of an air compressor wherein the voltage drop across the inverter as disclosed by Boldea is determined during an initialization of a compressor for purpose of controlling an air compressor efficiently.
For claim 3, Boldea discloses all limitation as applied in claim 1 above. Boldea discloses the electric motor which is silent for driving a centrifugal compressor for use in a hydrogen fuel cell propulsion system. However, You discloses the electric motor which drives a centrifugal compressor for use in a hydrogen fuel cell propulsion system (see You, Figs. 1 and 8, col. 5, lines 19-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Bolda to incorporate teaching of You for purpose of controlling an air compressor efficiently.
For claim 5, Boldea discloses all limitation as applied in claim 1 above. Boldea discloses the commanded rotational speed which is silent to be an operational rotational speed for a centrifugal compressor. However, You discloses the commanded rotational speed is an operational rotational speed for a centrifugal compressor (see You, Figs. 1 and 8, col. 5, lines 19-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Bolda to incorporate teaching of You for purpose of improving the motor drive efficiency.
For claim 9, Boldea discloses all limitation as applied in claim 1 above. Boldea discloses the electric motor which is silent for rotating a centrifugal compressor for compressing air for introduction into a hydrogen fuel cell. However, You discloses the electric motor which rotates a centrifugal compressor for compressing air for introduction into a hydrogen fuel cell (see You, Figs. 1 and 8, col. 1, lines 38-57). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Boldea to incorporate teaching of You for purpose of improving the vehicle fuel efficiency.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et ai. (hereinafter You, US 11,463,035 B2) in view of Boldea et al. (hereinafter Boldea, “”Active Flux” DTFC-SVM Sensorless Control of IPMSM”, IEEE Transactions on energy conversion, IEEE service center, Piscataway, NJ, US. Vol. 24, no. 2, 1 June 2009, page 31-322, XP011257939, ISSN 0885-8969).
For claim 19, You discloses a system for compressing a fluid (Fig. 1 of You discloses a system for compressing a fluid – see You, Fig. 1, col. 1, lines 26-39) comprising;
a centrifugal compressor for receiving the fluid via an intake, for increasing a pressure of the fluid using an impeller to generate a compressed fluid, and for outputting the compressed fluid to a fuel cell (Fig. 1 of You disclose a centrifugal compressor 23 for receiving the fluid (air) via an intake (air inlet), for increasing a pressure of the fluid using an impeller to generate a compressed fluid, and for outputting the compressed fluid to a fuel cell 1 – see You, Fig. 1, col. 1, lines 38-57);
an electric motor for driving the impeller within the centrifugal compressor in response to a three- phase alternating current (Figs. 1 and 8 of You disclose an electric motor 121 for driving the impeller within the centrifugal compressor 23 in response to a three-phase alternating current from inverter 111 – see You, Figs. 1 and 8, col. 9, line 38 through col. 10, line 1);
an inverter (Fig. 8 of You discloses an inverter 111 – see You, Fig. 8, col. 9, line 65 through col. 10, line 1); and
a motor controller for generating the switching control signal (Fig. 8 of You discloses a motor controller 110 for generating the switching control signal – see You, Figs. 8-9, col. 9, line 38 through col. 10, line 18).
You discloses the inverter which is silent for generating the three phase alternating current in response to a switching control signal and a direct current, and the motor controller which is silent for measuring a voltage drop in the inverter while maintaining the rotational speed of the electric motor at zero revolutions per second, and for estimating the rotational speed and a position of the electric motor in response to a counter-electromotive force and the voltage drop during an increasing of the rotational speed of the electric motor from zero revolutions per second to a steady state rotational speed.
However, Boldea discloses the inverter for generating the three phase alternating current in response to a switching control signal and a direct current (Fig. 2 of Boldea discloses the inverter “PWM inv.” for generating the three phase alternating current in response to a switching control signal Sa, Sb, Sc and a direct current Vdc – see Boldea, Fig.2, page 316, the last third paragraph of section III. DTFC-SVM Sensorless Control System and first paragraph of section IV. State Observers), and the motor controller for measuring a voltage drop in the inverter while maintaining the rotational speed of the electric motor at zero revolutions per second, and for estimating the rotational speed and a position of the electric motor in response to a counter-electromotive force and the voltage drop during an increasing of the rotational speed of the electric motor from zero revolutions per second to a steady state rotational speed (Fig. 2 of Boldea discloses sum, a PI anti windup, DTFC, State observers and SVM deadtime comp which altogether constitute a motor controller for determining a voltage drop
comp across the inverter “PWM Inv.” while maintaining the rotational speed of the electric motor IPMSM at zero revolutions per second, and for estimating a rotational speed and a position of the electric motor in response to a counter-electromotive force and the voltage drop during an increasing of the rotational speed of the electric motor from zero revolutions per second to a steady state rotational speed (1400 r/min), and controlling a switching of the inverter ”PWM Inv.” in response to the rotational position – see Boldea, Fig. 2, page 314, first column, second paragraph of section I. Introduction ; and page 314, right column, line 1 through page 315, right column, last line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of You to incorporate teaching of Boldea for purpose of controlling speed of motor control system accurately.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THAI T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846