DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
It is unclear what it meant by the phrase “elastic member is configured to lock is correspondence with the cable”. For examination purposes, claim 9 will be interpreted as reading “elastic member is configured to lock in correspondence with the cable”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2016/036328 A1 (“Canayakin”).
Referring to Claim 13: Canayakin discloses an outlet apparatus comprising:
a multitap body (G1, F6) comprising faces respectively comprising electrical receptacles configured to mate with electrical connectors (Fig. 8), the multitap body having a shape matching the shape of a multitap receptacle (Fig. 15);
a housing body (F) comprising the multitap receptacle, wherein the multitap receptacle is configured to detachably house the multitap body (page 7, lines 17-21) (Fig. 15); and
a conductive cable (wound around cable reel A) connected to the multitap body and electrically connected with the electrical receptacles, wherein the outlet apparatus is configured to allow the conductive cable to extend out of the housing body in correspondence with extraction of the multitap body from the multitap receptacle (page 7, lines 17-21) (Fig. 15).
Referring to Claim 19: Canayakin discloses outlet apparatus of claim 13, wherein the outlet apparatus is configured to:
inhibit retraction of the electrical cable responsive to a first movement (pulling out of the receptacle) of the electrical cable, and
cause retraction of the electrical cable responsive to a second movement (pushing into the receptacle) of the electrical cable (page 7, lines 17-21) (Fig. 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canayakin in view of Woods (US 2012/0034816 A1).
Referring to Claim 1: Canayakin teaches an outlet apparatus for a wall, comprising:
an outlet body (F) installed inside a wall (abstract), the outlet body configured to house a multitap (F6) (Fig. 15);
the multitap detachably attached to, and housed within, the outlet body, and comprising power outlets formed to mate with electrical connectors (Fig. 15); and
a cable (wound around cable reel A) providing electrical connectivity between the multitap and a power source of the vehicle that is configured to supply power to the multitap via the cable, wherein the cable is configured to extend from the outlet body when the multitap is detached from the outlet body (page 7, lines 20-21).
Canayakin does not specifically teach that the outlet apparatus is installed inside a vehicle. However, Woods teaches vehicular retractable cable systems, wherein the outlet body (100) is installed in the console (14) wall of a vehicle (Fig. 1) (Para. [0017]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Canayakin to install the outlet body in the console wall of a vehicle, as taught by Woods, in order to provide vehicle passengers with a conveniently retractable power source outlet with a reasonable expectation of success.
Referring to Claim 2: Canayakin further teaches the outlet apparatus, wherein:
the multitap is formed in a cuboid shape (Fig. 8) (page 7, lines 20-21); and
outer surfaces of the multitap respectively comprise the outlets (Fig. 8).
Referring to Claim 8: Canayakin further teaches the outlet apparatus, wherein:
the cable is mechanically connected to an elastic member (A, B, C) and is wound around the elastic member (Figs. 6, 10, 12 and 15); and
the elastic member provides a rotational elastic force in a direction in which the cable is wound around the elastic member (page 7, lines 17-21).
Referring to Claim 9: Canayakin teaches a reel brake (D) but does not specifically teach the locking member claimed. However, However, Woods teaches vehicular retractable cable systems, wherein a locking member (134) engaged with the elastic member (128) is configured to lock in correspondence with the cable (160) being pulled outward from the outlet body (110), and when the locking member is locked the elastic member exerts a retraction force on the elastic member which thereby prevents retraction of the cable (Para. [0021]) (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Canayakin to use a locking member, as taught by Woods, to prevent retraction during use of the outlet with a reasonable expectation of success.
Referring to Claim 10: Canayakin teaches a reel brake (D) but does not specifically teach the locking member configured to unlock with retraction, as claimed. However, Woods teaches vehicular retractable cable systems, wherein the locking member (134) is configured to unlock in correspondence with a retraction of the cable (160) (Para. [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Canayakin to use a locking/unlocking member, as taught by Woods, to prevent retraction during use of the outlet, and otherwise conveniently allow automatic retraction, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Referring to Claim 11: Canayakin teaches a spring (C) (Figs. 11 and 12) but does not specifically teach a spiral spring, as claimed. However, Woods teaches vehicular retractable cable systems, wherein the elastic member comprises a spiral spring (128) (Fig. 2) (Para. [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Canayakin to use a locking member and spiral spring, as taught by Woods, to prevent retraction during use of the outlet, and otherwise conveniently allow automatic retraction, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Referring to Claim 12: Canayakin further teaches the outlet apparatus, wherein a shape of a recess in the outlet body (F) is the same as a shape of the multitap (F6) (Fig. 15).
Referring to Claim 14: Canayakin does not specifically teach that the outlet apparatus is comprised in the passenger compartment of a vehicle. However, Woods teaches vehicular retractable cable systems, wherein the outlet apparatus (100) is comprised in the passenger compartment of a vehicle (Fig. 1) (Para. [0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Canayakin to locate the outlet apparatus in the passenger compartment of a vehicle, as taught by Woods, in order to provide vehicle passengers with a conveniently retractable power source outlet with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canayakin in view of Woods and Tracey et al. (US 2013/0171866 A1).
Referring to Claim 3: Canayakin further teaches the outlet apparatus, wherein the multitap (F6) comprises a front surface facing away from the outlet body (Fig. 15)
As noted by strikethrough above, Canayakin fails to teach a gripping groove configured to be gripped by fingers when detaching the multitap from the outlet body. However, Tracey teaches an electrical cord with wear ring, comprising a gripping groove (31) configured to be gripped by fingers when plugging and unplugging a plug into the multitap receptacle (24) (Para. [0042]) (Fig. 5A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Canayakin to provide a gripping groove, as taught by Tracey, in order to provide a convenient place for fingers to grip the multitap during operations with a reasonable expectation of success.
Referring to Claim 4: Canayakin fails to teach a gripping groove, wherein the gripping groove is formed in a corner position of the multitap. However, Tracey teaches an electrical cord with wear ring, comprising a gripping groove (31), wherein the gripping groove is formed in a corner position of the multitap (24) (Para. [0042]) (Fig. 5A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Canayakin to provide a gripping groove in a corner position of the multitap, as taught by Tracey, in order to provide a convenient place for fingers to grip the multitap during operations with a reasonable expectation of success.
Referring to Claim 5: Canayakin fails to teach a gripping groove, wherein the gripping groove comprises a curved shape and is recessed in a corner portion of the front surface of the multitap. However, Tracey teaches an electrical cord with wear ring, comprising a gripping groove (31), wherein the gripping groove comprises a curved shape and is recessed in a corner portion of the front surface of the multitap (24) (Para. [0042]) (Fig. 5A). Examiner notes that the surface of receptacle 24 of Tracey may be broadly interpreted as a “front surface” relative to the rear surface of wear ring 100 having cutout 33. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Canayakin to provide a gripping groove as a curved recess in a corner position of the front surface of the multitap, as taught by Tracey, in order to provide a convenient place for fingers to grip the multitap during operations with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canayakin in view of Woods and Mateski et al. (US 2014/0034382 A1).
Referring to Claim 6: Canayakin further teaches outlet apparatus, wherein:
the outlet body (F) comprises:
a seating receptacle recessed in the outlet body (Fig. 15); and
As noted by strikethrough above, Canayakin fails to teach a cover as claimed. However, Mateski teaches an electrical cable for the energy supply of vehicles, comprising a seating receptacle (36) recessed in the outlet body (Fig. 5); and
a cover (30) configured to open and close over the seating receptacle when the connector assembly (18) is attached to the outlet body within the seating receptacle (Para. [0075]) (Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Canayakin to provide a cover, as taught by Mateski, in order to close the receptacle and protect the device from contaminants when not in use with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canayakin in view of Woods, Mateski and Gronewoller et al. (US 2016/0173160 A1).
Referring to Claim 7: Canayakin fails to teach that the multitap and the seating receptacle are configured to provide a magnetic attraction force that attaches the multitap to the seating receptacle. However, Gronewoller teaches an electronic device case with peripheral storage, wherein “[e]ach of docking receptacles 1291 and 1292 may include a snap, a tab, a clip, a magnet, a flexible element, a spring, a twist lock feature, a threaded portion, a friction fit, an interference fit, a piece of compliant material, or another component which provides some kind of friction, stiction, adhesion, and/or retention function to removably retain earbuds 1281 and 1282, respectively.” (emphasis added) (Para. [0085]) (Fig. 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Canayakin to configure the multitap and seating receptacle with magnets, as suggested by Gronewoller, in order to easily seat the multitap within the receptacle with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canayakin in view of Vara (US 6,003,804)
Referring to Claim 15: Canayakin further teaches the outlet apparatus, wherein the shape of the multitap body (G1, F6) is cuboid (Fig. 8), and wherein one of the faces of the multitap body is an outer face that faces away from the housing body when the multitap body is within the multitap receptacle (Fig. 15),
As noted by strikethrough above, Canayakin fails to teach that the outer face comprises notches configured for finger placement therein. However, Vara teaches an enhanced storage system for electrical appliances, powercords and adapters, wherein the outer face (242) of the cord storage device (250) comprises notches (248) configured for finger placement therein (Figs. 9-11) (Col. 10, lines 10-29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Canayakin to provide notches in the outer face of the multitap, as suggested by Vara, in order to allow a user to easily grip and remove the multitap from the receptacle with their fingers with a reasonable expectation of success.
Referring to Claim 16: Canayakin further teaches the outlet apparatus, wherein the faces of the multitap body (G1, F6) include two side faces that face in opposite directions relative to each other (Fig. 8).
Referring to Claim 17: Canayakin further teaches the outlet apparatus, wherein the faces of the multitap body (G1, F6) include another side face that is perpendicular to the two side faces (Fig. 8).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canayakin in view of Mateski et al. (US 2014/0034382 A1).
Referring to Claim 18: Canayakin fails to teach a sliding door as claimed. However, Mateski teaches an electrical cable for the energy supply of vehicles, wherein the housing body (24) further comprises a sliding door (30) configured to slide in one direction to cover the multitap receptacle and in another direction to uncover the multitap receptacle (Para. [0076]) (Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Canayakin to provide a cover, as taught by Mateski, in order to close the receptacle and protect the device from contaminants when not in use with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The references made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because the references relate to retractable power cords: Salter et al. (US 2024/0025361 A1), Manda (US 6,250,578) Noorigian (US 4,378,473) and Murray (US 3,920,308).
/ZACHARY L KUHFUSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617