DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification many different components of the device as reference number 70. For example – “device 70 may also be referred to as a chip removal device…The device 70 provides a chip cart bay 72 (indicated by dashed lines in FIG. 2) for a chip cart” [0066], “When the door 76 is open, the device 70 is accessible” [0071]. What is device 70? It appears chip removal device 70 is an area/region (dashed area shown in fig. 2) in the manufacturing system 60 and is not a device or 70 is directed to all the components of chip cart 90? Presumably the device 70 is the chip cart and components of the chip cart. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “70” has been used to designate both a chip removal device, chip cart 90, and a chip cart bay 72. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool (claim 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term/phrase “a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool” in claim 18 is a relative term/phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The term/phrase “projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification only mentions this feature in the background/summary section and is not found in the detailed descriptions section with a reference number to indicate what the features “projection” and “outline of the working space” are directed to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merello (US 11890737 B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 17-18, Merello discloses a manufacturing system (Overhead Drill and Anchor Press, fig. 1) for machining workpieces, comprising: - at least one machine tool (430/434, laser 413, fig. 1), which is configured for multi-axis machining (telescopic mast 3 and moveable in 3 different axis via cart 1 with chassis framing 101 with wheels 2) and which has a tool holder (drill carriers 432) and a workpiece holder (top of the turret assembly contains a pilot tip 423 and/or cart chassis framing 101 can hold a workpiece) which can be moved relative to one another in at least three axes in a working space of the machine tool (432 can move relative to turret) and a chip removal device (450, fig. 1) for the machine tool (430/434, figs. 1-7), comprising:
- a movable chip cart (455/456) having a receptacle (opening shown, fig. 19) for a chip basket (457), - a chip cart bay (lower side of 3/4/439) for the chip cart, and
- a connector piece (451) between an opening of the chip basket (457) and a chip re-moval opening (452) of a working space of the machine tool for removing chips from the working space, wherein the chip basket (455) is removable from the chip cart (457), wherein the chip cart bay (3/4/439) is arranged in an enclosure (102) of the machine tool, and wherein the connector piece is displaceable between a release position in which the chip cart is movable out of the chip cart bay and an operating position in which the connector piece and the chip cart are coupled for chip transfer from the working space into the chip cart (connector piece 451 is capable of being displaced and released); wherein the chip removal device (450) is arranged at least substantially below the working space (lower side of 3/4/439) of the machine tool and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool (col. 4, lines 27-67, col. 5, lines 1-67, col. 7, lines 1-67, figs. 1-7 and 18-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Koike et al. (US 20130322979 A1) in view of SUN (WO 2021022697 A1) and further in view of Hiramoto et al. (US 20050031426 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 17-18, Koike et al. discloses a manufacturing system (10, figs. 1 and 4) for machining workpieces, comprising: - at least one machine tool (spindle 26 and/or tool magazine 48 [0053]), which is configured for multi-axis machining (lifter 21/22, left-right movement member 23, front-rear movement member 24 [0042-0051]) and which has a tool holder (25) and a workpiece holder (15/16) which can be moved relative to one another in at least three axes in a working space of the machine tool (spindle 26 moves via 21/23/24 and table 15 rotates [0051]) and a chip removal device (12) for the machine tool (10), comprising:
- a movable chip cart (chip receiver 56 and bed body 13/12 moves via leveling blocks 11 or can be moved if desired) having a receptacle (area of fluid receiver 52), - a chip cart bay (opening 57/69, bed body 13/12) for the chip cart (chip receiver 56), and
- a connector piece (51) between an opening of a chip re-moval opening (69) of a working space of the machine tool for removing chips from the working space,
wherein the chip cart bay (opening 57/69, bed body 13/12) is arranged in an enclosure (62) of the machine tool, and wherein the chip removal device (12) is arranged at least substantially below the working space of the machine tool and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool ([0039-0067], figs. 1-4). Koike et al. also teaches having cavity 51 of bed body 13 with a fluid tank 54 under chip receiver 56 and/or that chip receiver 56 could be replaced with a belt conveyor to transfer chips ([0068-0069], fig. 5).
Koike et al. fails to disclose having a chip basket, wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart and wherein the connector piece is displaceable between a release position in which the chip cart is movable out of the chip cart bay and an operating position in which the connector piece and the chip cart are coupled for chip transfer from the working space into the chip cart.
SUN teaches a cutting machine tool (10) having a chip removal device having a cart/storage tank 11 with rollers 14 and bracket 21 cart with rollers 212 having a filter cartridge assembly (22) with a chip cart (2231), a chip basket (2232),wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart (2231) and wherein a connector piece (cover body 222) is displaceable between a release position in which the chip cart (2231) is movable out of a chip cart bay (211/2211) and an operating position in which the connector piece (222) and the chip cart (2231) are coupled for chip transfer from a working space (2213) into the chip cart (2231) and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool (pages 3-7, figs. 1-4).
Hiramoto et al. also teaches a chip removal device (13) having a chip cart (2c) working in conjunction with a conveyor (47) and having a connector piece (receptor 48) is displaceable between a release position (48 moves into/out of bottomed recession 2c) in which the chip cart is movable out of a chip cart bay (fig. 6 shows 2c in a bay) and an operating position in which the connector piece and the chip cart are coupled for chip transfer from the working space into the chip cart and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool ([0024, 0040-0048], figs. 1-6).
Given the teachings of Koike et al. to have a removable chip cart in an enclosure/bay area, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the chip cart to include a chip basket, wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart and wherein a connector piece is displaceable between a release position in which the chip cart is movable out of the chip cart bay and an operating position in which the connector piece and the chip cart are coupled for chip transfer from the working space into the chip cart to have a basket filtering basket/filtering system (filtering chips- separate chips from coolant), provide a sealing connector to keep chips/debris from escaping the cart, and/or for easier removal and distribution of the cart/cart chips purposes as taught by SUN and Hiramoto et al.
Regarding claims 2, 4, and 6, Koike et al. discloses the chip cart bay (opening 57/69, bed body 13/12) is arranged below the working space of the machine tool so that a free, gravity-assisted chip transfer towards the chip basket along a chip removal path is enabled, wherein the chip removal path extends substantially vertically between the working space and the cart (chip receiver 56 [0039-0067], figs. 1-4). Koike et al. also teaches having cavity 51 of bed body 13 with a fluid tank 54 under chip receiver 56 and/or that chip receiver 56 could be replaced with a belt conveyor to transfer chips ([0068-0069], fig. 5).
Koike et al. fails to disclose having a chip basket.
SUN teaches a cutting machine tool (10) having a chip removal device having a cart/storage tank 11 with rollers 14 and bracket 21 cart with rollers 212 having a filter cartridge assembly (22) with a chip cart (2231), a chip basket (2232),wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart (2231) and wherein a connector piece (cover body 222) is displaceable between a release position in which the chip cart (2231) is movable out of a chip cart bay (211/2211) and an operating position in which the connector piece (222) and the chip cart (2231) are coupled for chip transfer from a working space (2213) into the chip cart (2231) and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool (pages 3-7, figs. 1-4).
Hiramoto et al. also teaches a chip removal device (13) having a chip cart (2c) working in conjunction with a conveyor (47) and having a connector piece (receptor 48) is displaceable between a release position (48 moves into/out of bottomed recession 2c) in which the chip cart is movable out of a chip cart bay (fig. 6 shows 2c in a bay) and an operating position in which the connector piece and the chip cart are coupled for chip transfer from the working space into the chip cart and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool ([0024, 0040-0048], figs. 1-6).
Given the teachings of Koike et al. to have a removable chip cart in an enclosure/bay area, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the chip cart to include a chip basket to have a basket filtering basket/filtering system (filtering chips- separate chips from coolant), provide a sealing connector to keep chips/debris from escaping the cart, and/or for easier removal and distribution of the cart/cart chips purposes as taught by SUN and Hiramoto et al.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 8-9 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over PENG (CN 110170669 B) in view of SUN (WO 2021022697 A1) and further in view of ORT (DE 102016205234 B4).
Regarding claims 1 and 17-18, PENG discloses a chip removal device (fig. 1) for a machine tool (lathe frame 10, fig. 1), comprising:
- a movable chip cart (15) having a receptacle for a chip basket (has a receptacle with filter screen 1), - a chip cart bay (parking area for cart 15) for the chip cart, and
- a connector piece (132) between an opening (152) of the chip cart (15) and a chip re-moval opening (111) of a working space of the machine tool for removing chips from the working space (figs. 1-2), wherein the chip cart bay (parking area for cart 15) is arranged in an enclosure (integrated into the enclosure, groove 152) of the machine tool, and wherein the connector piece (132) is displaceable between a release position in which the chip cart (15) is movable out of the chip cart bay and an operating position in which the connector piece (curved pipe 132 is inserted into the connecting through groove 152 sealed with elastic piece 153) and the chip cart are coupled for chip transfer from the working space into the chip cart (top end of the waste bending pipe 132 communicates with the middle scrap passage groove 131);
wherein the chip removal device is arranged at least substantially below the working space and wherein the chip removal device (12) is arranged at least substantially below the working space of the machine tool and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool (11 is moved into position for cart 15 and cart 15 is below 11, pages 1-4, figs. 1-2).
PENG fails to disclose having a chip basket, wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart and a manufacturing system for machining workpieces, comprising: - at least one machine tool, which is configured for multi-axis machining and which has a tool holder and a workpiece holder which can be moved relative to one another in at least three axes in a working space of the machine tool.
ORT also teaches a chip removal device having a chip cart (7) with chip basket (5/6/13), wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart ([0026-0035], claim 1, figs. 1-2) and teaches a manufacturing system (lathe 1) for machining workpieces, comprising: - at least one machine tool (spindle 4/chuck 3), which is configured for multi-axis machining (sled 2) and which has a tool holder (chuck 3) and a workpiece holder (bed 1) which can be moved relative to one another in at least three axes in a working space of the machine tool (bed 1 tilts and chuck 3 slides via sled 2) and wherein the chip removal device is arranged at least substantially below the working space of the machine tool and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool ([0026-0035], claim 1, figs. 1-2).
SUN also teaches a cutting machine tool (10) having a chip removal device having a cart/storage tank 11 with rollers 14 and bracket 21 cart with rollers 212 having a filter cartridge assembly (22) with a chip cart (2231), a chip basket (2232),wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart (2231) and wherein a connector piece (cover body 222) is displaceable between a release position in which the chip cart (2231) is movable out of a chip cart bay (211/2211) and an operating position in which the connector piece (222) and the chip cart (2231) are coupled for chip transfer from a working space (2213) into the chip cart (2231) and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool (pages 3-7, figs. 1-4).
Given the teachings of PENG to have a removable chip cart in an enclosure/bay area with a manufacturing lather, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the chip cart to include a chip basket, wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart and a chip basket, wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart and a manufacturing system for machining workpieces, comprising: - at least one machine tool, which is configured for multi-axis machining and which has a tool holder and a workpiece holder which can be moved relative to one another in at least three axes in a working space of the machine tool to have a basket filtering basket/filtering system (filtering chips- separate chips from coolant), provide a moveable lather and workpiece for adjustable manufacturing on a workpiece, and/or for easier removal and distribution of the cart/cart chips purposes as taught by ORT and SUN.
Regarding claims 8-9, PENG discloses the chip cart (15) has an edge, wherein the connector piece (132) has a seal (153), wherein the connector piece rests in the operating position with the seal on the edge of the chip cart (15), and wherein the connector piece has a mouth towards the chip basket (opens into basket 457), which in the operating position projects from above into the opening of the chip basket (458 is above basket 457), wherein the seal is a circumferential seal, and wherein the edge is a circumferential edge (col. 7, lines 1-67, figs. 18-19).
Regarding claims 2, 4, and 6, PENG discloses the chip cart bay (lower side of 3/4/439) is arranged below the working space of the machine tool so that a free, gravity-assisted chip transfer towards the chip basket along a chip removal path is enabled, wherein the chip removal path extends substantially vertically between the working space and the chip basket (below 430/434 see fig. 10 showing 430 raised above lower side of 3/4/439).
Claim(s) 1-6 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over ANDERSON et al. (DE 102005030397 A1) in view of Rasa Industries,Ltd. (JPS5717710U) and further in view of ORT (DE 102016205234 B4).
Regarding claims 1 and 17-18, ANDERSON et al. discloses a manufacturing system (12) for machining workpieces (workpiece 22), comprising: - at least one machine tool (cutting tool 28), which is configured for multi-axis machining (cutting tool 28 can rotate around a rotation axis, machine panel 18 position, move forward and retract and tool carrier 14 capable of being moved) and which has a tool holder (clamping device 24) and a workpiece holder (sled 26) which can be moved relative to one another in at least three axes in a working space of the machine tool (sled 26 moves) and a chip removal device (20) for the machine tool (28), comprising:
- a movable chip cart (particle container 20) having a receptacle (fig. 1), - a chip cart bay (access opening 56 in the front panel 42/connection housing section 50) for the chip cart (20), and
- a connector piece (84) between an opening of a chip re-moval opening (60) of a working space (64) of the machine tool for removing chips from the working space,
wherein the chip cart bay (access opening 56 in the front panel 42/connection housing section 50) is arranged in an enclosure (16) of the machine tool, and wherein the chip removal device (20) is arranged at least substantially below the working space of the machine tool (fig. 1) and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool ([0023-0035], fig. 1).
ANDERSON et al. fails to disclose having a chip basket, wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart and wherein the connector piece is displaceable between a release position in which the chip cart is movable out of the chip cart bay and an operating position in which the connector piece and the chip cart are coupled for chip transfer from the working space into the chip cart.
ORT also teaches a chip removal device having a chip cart (7) with chip basket (5/6/13), wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart ([0026-0035], claim 1, figs. 1-2) and teaches a manufacturing system (lathe 1) for machining workpieces, comprising: - at least one machine tool (spindle 4/chuck 3), which is configured for multi-axis machining (sled 2) and which has a tool holder (chuck 3) and a workpiece holder (bed 1) which can be moved relative to one another in at least three axes in a working space of the machine tool (bed 1 tilts and chuck 3 slides via sled 2) and wherein the chip removal device is arranged at least substantially below the working space of the machine tool and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool ([0026-0035], claim 1, figs. 1-2).
Rasa Industries,Ltd. also teaches a chip cart (3) having a chip basket (4/5) wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart (pages 1-5, claim 1, figs. 1-2).
Given the teachings of Koike et al. to have a removable chip cart in an enclosure/bay area, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the chip cart to include a chip basket, wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart and wherein a connector piece is displaceable between a release position in which the chip cart is movable out of the chip cart bay and an operating position in which the connector piece and the chip cart are coupled for chip transfer from the working space into the chip cart to have a basket filtering basket/filtering system (filtering chips- separate chips from coolant), provide a sealing connector to keep chips/debris from escaping the cart, and/or for easier removal and distribution of the cart/cart chips purposes as taught by SUN and Rasa Industries,Ltd.
Regarding claims 2, 4, and 6, ANDERSON et al. discloses the chip cart bay (access opening 56 in the front panel 42/connection housing section 50) is arranged below the working space of the machine tool so that a free, gravity-assisted chip transfer towards the chip cart (particle container 20) along a chip removal path is enabled, wherein the chip removal path extends substantially vertically between the working space and the chip basket ([0023-0035], fig. 1).
As discussed ANDERSON et al. fails to disclose having a chip basket.
ORT also teaches a chip removal device having a chip cart (7) with chip basket (5/6/13), wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart ([0026-0035], claim 1, figs. 1-2) and teaches a manufacturing system (lathe 1) for machining workpieces, comprising: - at least one machine tool (spindle 4/chuck 3), which is configured for multi-axis machining (sled 2) and which has a tool holder (chuck 3) and a workpiece holder (bed 1) which can be moved relative to one another in at least three axes in a working space of the machine tool (bed 1 tilts and chuck 3 slides via sled 2) and wherein the chip removal device is arranged at least substantially below the working space of the machine tool and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool ([0026-0035], claim 1, figs. 1-2).
Rasa Industries,Ltd. also teaches a chip cart (3) having a chip basket (4/5) wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart (pages 1-5, claim 1, figs. 1-2).
Given the teachings of Koike et al. to have a removable chip cart in an enclosure/bay area, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the chip cart to include a chip basket to have a basket filtering basket/filtering system (filtering chips- separate chips from coolant), provide a sealing connector to keep chips/debris from escaping the cart, and/or for easier removal and distribution of the cart/cart chips purposes as taught by SUN and Rasa Industries,Ltd.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, ANDERSON et al. discloses the chip cart (particle container 20) comprises a columnar body (plates 72), and wherein the connector piece (84) is disposed above the chip cart and below the working space, wherein the chip transfer between the chip removal opening and the chip cart (particle container 20) is performed without drive (84 – “seal 84 may be attached in any suitable manner, such as fasteners or adhesives, [0026-0035], claim 1, figs. 1-2).
As discussed ANDERSON et al. fails to disclose having a chip basket.
ORT also teaches a chip removal device having a chip cart (7) with chip basket (5/6/13), wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart ([0026-0035], claim 1, figs. 1-2) and teaches a manufacturing system (lathe 1) for machining workpieces, comprising: - at least one machine tool (spindle 4/chuck 3), which is configured for multi-axis machining (sled 2) and which has a tool holder (chuck 3) and a workpiece holder (bed 1) which can be moved relative to one another in at least three axes in a working space of the machine tool (bed 1 tilts and chuck 3 slides via sled 2) and wherein the chip removal device is arranged at least substantially below the working space of the machine tool and the chip cart has in a top view a cross-section that lies within a projection of an outline of the working space of the machine tool ([0026-0035], claim 1, figs. 1-2).
Rasa Industries,Ltd. also teaches a chip cart (3) having a chip basket (4/5) wherein the chip basket is removable from the chip cart (pages 1-5, claim 1, figs. 1-2).
Given the teachings of Koike et al. to have a removable chip cart in an enclosure/bay area, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the chip cart to include a chip basket to have a basket filtering basket/filtering system (filtering chips- separate chips from coolant), provide a sealing connector to keep chips/debris from escaping the cart, and/or for easier removal and distribution of the cart/cart chips purposes as taught by SUN and Rasa Industries,Ltd.
Regarding claim 20, ANDERSON et al. discloses a cabinet-like enclosure surrounding an upper part (upper housing section 52) and a lower part (lower housing portion 54), wherein the machine tool (cutting tool 28) is disposed with its working space in the upper part, and wherein the chip cart is disposed in the lower part below the working space of the machine tool, wherein the chassis of the chip cart comprises at least three rollers (82), whose connection points with the chassis span a first surface, wherein the cutting fluid pan has a chassis with at least three rollers, whose connection points with the chassis span a second surface, and wherein the first surface and the second surface at least partially overlap in a top view. ([0023-0035], fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10-16, and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious a chip removal device for a machine tool comprising all the structural and functional limitations and further comprising, amongst other limitations/features, a housing having the machine tool and a removable chip cart with a chip basket in a portion/bay of the housing, the connector piece between an opening of the chip basket and a chip re-moval opening of a working space of the machine tool for removing chips from the working space, the connector piece is vertically movable, and wherein a latching element is provided that is configured to secure the connector piece in the release position. Though prior art such as ANDERSON et al. teaches a a housing having the machine tool and a removable chip cart with a chip basket in a portion/bay of the housing, the connector piece between an opening of the chip basket and a chip re-moval opening of a working space of the machine tool for removing chips from the working space there is no teaching for a - connector piece is vertically movable, and wherein a latching element is provided that is configured to secure the connector piece in the release position and one of ordinary skill would recognize that a connector piece that is vertically movable, and wherein a latching element is provided that is configured to secure the connector piece in the release position cannot be added to without modify the housing, chip cart, chip basket to function with connector piece that is vertically movable with a latching element that secures the connector in an open position. Having the sealing, efficiency and speed of the connector piece to be vertically movable, and wherein a latching element is provided that is configured to secure the connector piece in the release position provides an effective chip re-moval opening of a working space with removable chip cart with a chip basket.
While various features of the claimed subject matter are found individually in the prior art, a skilled artisan would have to include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed subject matter, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: see form 892.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731