DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 15-18 and 21-36) in the reply filed on 08/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on 02/12/2025 and 10/06/2025, have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
[Claims 22-24 and 26] The claims all recite the limitation of “the leaflet.” There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Further, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claims, since it is unclear if these limitations refer to the previously recited “calcified leaflet,” or if a new structure is being introduced into the claim limitations. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that “the leaflet” refers to the previously recited “calcified leaflet.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 18, 21-23 and 25, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hartman et al. (PGPub 2023/0113185).
[Claim 15] Hartman teaches a method for advancing a primary guidewire (figure 5c, item 1500) past a calcified leaflet (figure 5c, item 12; paragraph [0063]), the method comprising:
advancing a catheter (figure 5a, item 1504) configured to surround (figure 1a) the primary guidewire (figure 5c, item 1500) and a secondary guidewire (figure 5c, item 1400; paragraph [0088]);
attaching a leaflet anchor (figure 5a, item 1402; paragraph [0073]) of the secondary guidewire (figure 5c, item 1400) to the calcified leaflet (figure 5c, item 12) of a valve (figure 5a, item 26) (figures 5a and 5b; paragraph [0095]);
retracting the secondary guidewire (figure 5c, item 1400) attached to the calcified leaflet (figure 5c, item 12) to open the valve (figure 5a, item 26) (figure 5b; paragraph [0095]); and
advancing the primary guidewire (figure 5c, item 1500) through the open valve (figure 5a, item 26) (figure 5c).
[Claim 18] Hartman teaches the limitations of claim 15, upon which claim 18 depends. In addition, Hartman discloses retracting the secondary guidewire (figure 5c, item 1400) comprises retracting the secondary guidewire (figure 5c, item 1400) through a first lumen (figure 1b, item 1702) of the catheter (figure 5a, item 1504) and advancing the primary guidewire (figure 5c, item 1500) comprises advancing the primary guidewire (figure 5c, item 1500) through a second lumen (figure 1b, item 1700) of the catheter (figure 5a, item 1504) (figure 1b; paragraph [0068]).
[Claim 21] Hartman teaches the limitations of claim 15, upon which claim 21 depends. Hartman further discloses the primary guidewire (figure 5c, item 1500) is independently actuatable from the secondary guidewire (figure 5c, item 1400) (figures 5a-5c; paragraph [0076]).
[Claims 22, 23, and 25] Hartman teaches the limitations of claims 15 and 21, upon which claims 22, 23, and 25, depend. Hartman also teaches the leaflet anchor (figure 5a, item 1402) comprises a needle (“projections”) (“sharp tip”) configured to pierce through a proximal surface of the leaflet (see 112b interpretation above) (figure 5c, item 12) (paragraph [0073]), a hook configured to attach to a distal surface of the leaflet (see 112b interpretation above) (figure 5c, item 12) (paragraph [0073]), or a screw (paragraph [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman et al. (PGPub 2023/0113185), in view of Cohen et al. (WO 2013/049734 A1).
[Claim 24] Hartman teaches the limitations of claim 15, upon which claim 24 depends. Although teaching multiple potential structures for the leaflet anchor, Hartman does not specifically disclose the leaflet anchor comprises a suction cup.
However, Cohen teaches a system and method comprising valve manipulation of the heart (paragraph [0002]) utilizing a leaflet anchor (“gripping arrangement”) comprising a suction cup configured to couple with a proximal surface of a leaflet (paragraph [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the leaflet anchor taught by Hartman, to have utilized a suction cup, as taught by Cohen, in order to provide increased functionality and versatility, by allowing for an alternative, yet equivalent means, of valve manipulation.
[Claim 28] Hartman teaches the limitations of claim 15, upon which claim 28 depends. Although teaching multiple potential structures for the leaflet anchor, including multiple prongs (paragraph [0073]), Hartman does not specifically disclose the leaflet anchor comprises a joint connecting first and second prongs.
However, Cohen teaches a system and method comprising valve manipulation of the heart (paragraph [0002]) utilizing a leaflet anchor (“gripping arrangement”) comprising
a first prong (figure 3, item 22) actuatable to a first configuration (figure 4) and a second configuration (figure 3);
a second prong (figure 3, item 24); and
a joint (figure 3; near item 64) joining the first prong (figure 3, item 22) and the second prong (figure 3, item 24) at a point away from distal ends (figure 4, item 66) of the first prong (figure 3, item 22) and the second prong (figure 3, item 24) (figure 3; paragraph [0036]);
wherein in the first configuration (figure 4), the first prong (figure 3, item 22) presses against the second prong (figure 3, item 24), and
in the second configuration (figure 3) the first prong (figure 3, item 22) is separated from the second prong (figure 3, item 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the leaflet anchor taught by Hartman, to have utilized a joint-connected first and second prong configuration, as taught by Cohen, in order to provide increased functionality and versatility, by allowing for an alternative, yet equivalent means, of valve manipulation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-36 are allowed.
Claims 16, 17, and 27, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 26 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The claims in this application have been allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the method recited in independent claims 29 and 33, as well as dependent claims 16, 17, 26, and 27.
The closest prior art of record is Hartman et al. (PGPub 2023/0113185); and Cohen et al. (WO 2013/049734 A1).
The claims in this application have been allowed because the closest prior art of record fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious a method comprising advancing a primary guidewire past a calcified leaflet, the method comprising:
advancing a catheter configured to surround the primary guidewire and a secondary guidewire;
attaching a leaflet anchor of the secondary guidewire to the calcified leaflet of a valve;
retracting the secondary guidewire attached to the calcified leaflet to open the valve; and
advancing the primary guidewire through the open valve.
Specifically, regarding independent claims 29 and 33, as well as dependent claims 16, 17, 26, and 27, the prior art to Hartman and Cohen, either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious the specific method, structural, and/or functional features as claimed;
wherein the method further includes:
detaching the secondary guidewire from the calcified leaflet; and
utilizing the primary guidewire to perform a medical procedure; or
wherein the leaflet anchor comprises a cone shape or pyramid shape having: a pointed end; and a base surface opposite the pointed end; wherein the pointed end is configured to pierce a proximal surface of the leaflet and the base surface is configured to abut against a distal surface of the leaflet; or
wherein the leaflet anchor comprises a first prong actuatable to a first configuration and a second configuration; and a second prong; wherein in the first configuration, the first prong is substantially parallel to the second prong, and in the second configuration the first prong is substantially perpendicular to the second prong.
Conclusion
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 10/05/2026