DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 and 4-24 are currently pending. Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 10-13 and 15-24 are currently under examination.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 04/07/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 12,594,365 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Withdrawn Rejections
The prior rejection of the double patenting rejection over 18/367,133, now patent 12,594,365, is withdrawn in light of the Terminal Disclaimer that is approved 04/07/2026, which the Examiner finds persuasive.
The prior rejection of claim 24 under 112(b) is withdrawn based on Applicant amended claim 24 to remove the phrase “and the like”.
Examiner’s Note
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 04/07/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 04/07/2026, it is noted that claim 1 has been amended and no new matter or claims have been added.
Modified Rejection:
The following rejections are modified based on Applicant’s claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8, 11-13, 15-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,525,348 (IDS dated 01/05/2024).
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of a medical device comprising an ionic compound ionically bonded to an active agent, the ionic compound comprising an ionic additive incorporated into a base polymer is met by the ‘348 publication teaching anti-microbial pharmaceutical ingredients or other pharmaceutical agents which may be reacted with quaternary ammonium components or other ionic surfactants, wherein the pharmaceutical ingredient is taught to be ionic (abstract). The drug-quaternary ammonium compound is mixed in solution with a water insoluble polymer (column 2, lines 10-20, lines 27-67, column 3, line 31-67, claims 1-2, 5-12, 14, 21-26 and 30).
The limitation of wherein the base polymer is selected from a nonionic base polymer is met by the ‘348 publication teaching cellulose esters and polyurethane polymer (column 2, lines 34-40, claim 3).
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of the ionic additive is selected from an anionic additive, cationic additive and zwitterionic additive is met by the ‘348 publication teaching quaternary ammonium compounds (abstract) and may be anionic surfactants (claim 26-29).
Regarding claim 4, the limitation of wherein the anionic additive comprises functional groups selected form a group including carboxylate and organosulfate is met by the ‘348 publication teaching sodium lauryl sulfate, diacetyl phosphate and sodium striate (claim 11, 26-27).
Regarding claim 8, the limitation of wherein the nonionic base polymer comprises one or more of polyurethane and cellulose acetate is met by the ‘348 publication teaching cellulose acetate (claim 3).
Regarding claim 11, the limitation of wherein the active agent comprises one or more of an anionic active and cationic active agent is met by the ‘348 publication teaching an anionic active agent or cationic active agent (abstract, claim 7-10, 17-19 and 21).
Regarding claims 12-13, the limitation of wherein the active agent is selected from the group consisting of an antimicrobial agent such as benzalkonium chloride is met by the ‘348 publication teaching benzalkonium chloride (column 4, lines 25-30, example 1), per the instant specification [0018].
Regarding claims 15-18, the limitation of wherein the active agent is released over a span of at least 24 hours, 3 days, 7 days or 30 days is met by the ‘348 publication teaching the present invention provides release over a relatively long period of time (over one month) with desired longer time period release (column 1, lines 40-60, claim 37). Additionally, the ‘348 patent teaches the claimed structure of the devices and thus would necessarily have the functional limitation of release rate absent factual evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 19-20, the limitation of wherein the ionic compound and the active agent on a body of the medical device is met by the ‘348 patent teaching the drug-quaternary ammonium compound maybe mixed in a solution with the water-insoluble polymer or it may be coated on top of the coating of the water insoluble polymer which is applied to the surface beforehand (column 2, lines 5-25, column 10, lines 4-67))
Regarding claim 22, the limitation of the medical device in the form of a catheter is met by the ‘348 patent teaching a catheter (claim 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,525,348 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weaver et al. (WO2013/090808, IDS dated 11/19/2025).
Regarding claim 21, the ‘348 patent. does not teach wherein a body of the medical device comprises the ionic compound, and ionically bonding the comprises imbibing the body of the medical device with the active agent. However, Weaver et al. teaches that the additive may be incorporated into and/or onto the substrate by various techniques. In one such method, the substrate is imbibed with the additive; that is, the additive is absorbed into the substrate (see para 233-244). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Whitbourne et al. with the teaching of Weaver et al. since Weaver et al. teaches and alternative process of ionically bonding the active agent to the ionic compound.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8, 10-13, 15-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/3048015 (IDS dated 01/05/2024).
Regarding claims 1-2, the limitation of a medical device comprising an ionic compound ionically bonded to an active agent, the ionic compound comprising an ionic additive incorporated into a base polymer, the ionic additive is anionic is met by the ‘015 publication teaching a biologically active ion-exchange polymer salt made by exchanging biologically active ionic agents onto ion exchange polymer (abstract). The agents may be incorporated into polymeric biomaterial or coatings ([0009], [0011]). Catheters and wound dressings are taught [0105].
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 10, the limitation of wherein the base polymer is selected from nonionic base polymer, such as polyurethane is met by the ‘015 publication teaching thermoplastic polymer selected from a group including polyurethane polymers ([0113], claim 11).
Regarding claim 4, the limitation of the anionic additive contains carboxylate or sulfonate is met by the ‘815 publication teaching chlorhexidine ion exchange with polystyrene sulfonate [0247] and may comprise carboxylate weak ion exchanges such as Amberlite IRP64 [0253].
Regarding claim 11-13, the limitation of wherein the active agent is cationic, selected from a group including antimicrobial agent and is chlorhexidine acetate is met by the ‘815 publication teaching chlorhexidine diacetate [0044].
Regarding claims 15-18, the limitation of wherein the active agent is released over a span of 24 hours, 3 days, 7 days at least 30 days is met by the ‘815 publication teaching release of 1-3 days or weeks or 1-3 months or longer [0082]. Further the ‘815 publication teaches the claimed structure of the device, see claim 1, and thus would necessarily have the functional features of release rate absent factual evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 19, the limitation of comprising a coating of the ionic compound and the active agent on a body of the medical device is met by the ‘815 publication teaching coatings ([0001], [0009], [0013]).
Regarding claim 20, the limitation of comprising a compounded mixture of the ionic compound and the active agent is met by the ‘815 publication teaching chlorhexidine is bound to PSS wherein mixtures of biologically active ion exchange polymer salt comprise mixture is taught ([0247], claim 150).
Regarding claim 21, the limitation of comprising body including the ionic compound imbibed with the active agent is met by the ‘815 publication teaching the activated resin material incorporated in solid polymer composite molded ([0016], [0036]) into medical devices ([0102], [0105]). The structure of the device comprising the ionic compound and active agent is taught, wherein the imbibing is a product by process limitation. MPEP 2113 - “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 22, the medical device is taught to be catheter ([0012], [0105]).
Regarding claims 23-24, the limitation of further comprising at least one excipient selected form a group including thermal stabilizer, light stabilizer, antioxidants is met by the ‘815 publication teaching additional stabilizing materials such as antioxidants, UV stabilizer, fillers, colorants and the like [0153] wherein the desire to prevent thermal degradation is taught ([0151], [0247]).
It must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of disclosed ingredients (for example, chlorhexidine acetate with carboxylate weak ion exchanges such as Amberlite IRP64 and polyurethane to form a catheter) from within the prior art disclosure of the ‘815 publication, to arrive at the instantly claimed medical device “yielding no more than one would have expected from such an arrangement”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 11-13 and 15-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 and 18-22 of copending Application No. 17/991,937 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘937 application teaches a medical device comprising ionic additive containing a COO group and an active agent including chlorhexidine gluconate incorporated into a nonionic base polymer through coating or compounded with the active agent and formed into the medical device. The ‘937 application teaches a release rate over 30 days. The ‘937 application teaches additive such as thermal stabilizers and antioxidants. The ‘937 application teaches coating the ionically bonded ionic compound and active agent on the body of a medical device. The instant claims are directed to a structure of the medical device, therefor the method of forming the device, such as imbibing is a product by process limitation. The ‘937 patent teaching a compounded mixture of the ionic compound and the active agent extruded into the body meet the structural limitations of the body including the ionic compound and active agent. Thus the instant claims are anticipated.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4, 11-13 and 15-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 17/991,938 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘937 application teaches a medical device comprising ionic additive containing a COO group and an active agent including chlorhexidine gluconate incorporated into a nonionic base polymer through coating, imbibing or compounded with the active agent and formed into the medical device. The ‘937 application teaches a release rate over 30 days. The ‘937 application teaches additive such as thermal stabilizers and antioxidants. The ‘937 application teaches coating the ionically bonded ionic compound and active agent on the body of a medical device. Thus the instant claims are anticipated.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are not deemed to be persuasive.
102: the ‘348 patent (Whitbourne)
Applicant argues the ‘348 patent teaches an antimicrobial pharmaceutical ingredients or other pharmaceutical agent which may be reacted with quaternary ammonium component or other ionic surfactant, wherein the pharmaceutical ingredient is taught to be ionic. It relates to anti-thrombogenic/polymer/heparin compound compositions or mixtures which prevent blood clothing for over one moth. Benzalkonium chloride solution produce a heparin-quaternary ammonium compound and NaCl. Alternately other pharmaceutical agents maybe react with a surfactant which is the mixed with a water insoluble polymer. The ions of the ‘348 patent are compounded with the pharmaceutical agent and are not incorporated into a base polymer. The ‘348 patent does not disclose an ionic compound comprising an ionic additive incorporated into a base polymer. Sodium lauryl surface not as an additive incorporated with a base polymer but as a surfactant reacted with a pharmaceutical agent.
In response, the ‘348 patent teaches pharmaceutical agents reacted with ionic surfactants which are mixed with a water-soluble polymer. The ionic compound comprising an ionic additive is the ionic surfactant, bonding to an active agent, wherein the ionic compound/active agent is mixed with a nonionic base polymer, thus reading on the instant claims. The ionic compound which is ionic surfactant taught by the ‘348 patent contains a sulfate group, e.g. sodium laurate sulfate, thus teaching the ionic additive. Thus the ionic compound comprising the ionic additive group is bonded with the active agent and mixed into (incorporated) into a nonionic base polymer.
103: the ‘348 patent (Whitbourne) in view of the ‘808 publication (Weaver)
Applicant argues the ‘348 patent does not teach wherein an ionic additive incorporated into a base polymer.
In response, Applicant’s arguments regarding the ‘348 patent are addressed above as first presented.
Applicant argues the ‘808 publication relates to contact lenses, a surface modification that creates a structure such that the surface modification polymer is covalently integrated to the surface of the bulk substrate material. The ‘808 publication fails to disclose teach or suggest an ionic compound ionically bonded to an active agent where the ionic compound comprises an ionic additive incorporated into the base polymer.
In response, Applicant’s argument regarding the ionic compound comprises an ionic additive incorporated into the base polymer is addressed above in regards to the ‘348 patent. Weaver et al. teaches that the additive may be incorporated into and/or onto the substrate by various techniques. In one such method, the substrate is imbibed with the additive; that is, the additive is absorbed into the substrate (see para 233-244). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Whitbourne et al. with the teaching of Weaver et al. since Weaver et al. teaches and alternative process of ionically bonding the active agent to the ionic compound.
103: The ‘015 publication (Vachon)
Applicant argues it is alleged that an anionic additive comprising a COO- or sulfonate group is disclosed by the ‘015 publication teaching chlorhexidine diacetate with ion-exchange material IRP64 and PSS, however are polymers that are ionic in themselves. Thus at most the ‘015 publication discloses an active agent binding to an ionic base polymer and does not disclose or suggest an ionic compound comprising a base polymer with an ionic additive incorporated therein.
In response, it appears Applicant is providing a specific definition wherein the instant specification provides no such definition. The ‘015 publication teaches active agent ion exchange on a polymer salt (abstract) wherein the activated resin material is incorporated in solid polymer composite [0011] wherein the thermoplastic polymer is polyurethane [0026]. Thus the ionic compound bonded to the active agent is chlorhexidine ion exchange with polystyrene sulfonate [0247] and may comprise carboxylate weak ion exchanges such as Amberlite IRP64 [0253], which is incorporated a thermoplastic polyurethane.
Applicant argues the ‘015 publication teaches that a thermoset or thermoplastic polymer can be fixed with a fine particulate activated ion-exchange polymer salt material to form a polymer composite mixture, which does not read on an ionic additive incorporated into a nonionic base polymer, let alone said composite ionically bonded to an active agent according to the claimed.
In response, the ‘015 publication teaches active agent ion exchange on a polymer salt (abstract) wherein the activated resin material is incorporated in solid polymer composite [0011] wherein the thermoplastic polymer is polyurethane [0026]. Thus, the ionic compound bonded to the active agent is chlorhexidine ion exchange with polystyrene sulfonate [0247] and may comprise carboxylate weak ion exchanges such as Amberlite IRP64 [0253], which is incorporated a thermoplastic polyurethane.
Double Patenting:
Applicant states the rejection is provisional and will consider filing a terminal disclaimer when appropriate.
In response, Applicant has presented no substantive arguments, thus the rejections are maintained for reasons of record.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner Contact Information
/LYNDSEY M BECKHARDT/Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/BRIAN-YONG S KWON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1613