DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been withdrawn as stated in the advisory action of 10/15/2026.
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant’s first several arguments are that Fujita does not teach certain limitations, especially newly claimed limitations. While the Examiner agrees that Fujita fails to teach many of the newly added limitations, these arguments are moot. Fujita is not relied on for any of the rejections in this action. The new grounds of rejection rely on Chu, a reference previously cited, but not relied on, in several previous actions.
Applicant also argues that Kasai does not teach the claimed components in the claimed arrangement. This argument is largely moot. The new grounds of rejection in the present action only rely on Kasai to teach the general optical technique of using a polarizing beam splitter to split an unpolarized input beam into two split beams that are reflected back to the polarizing beam splitter, passing each split beam through a quarter waveplate twice en route so that the split beams are recombined into the same output direction rather than returning along the input direction.
As these arguments are not persuasive, similar arguments are not persuasive regarding the other independent claims, and the dependent claims are not automatically allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-11, 13-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chu (US patent publication 20230094985) in view of Kasai (foreign patent document JP 2005164322 A, see the machine translation provided 2/5/2026).
An applied reference, Chu, has a common applicant and several common joint inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Each rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 1, Chu teaches a die bonding system comprising:
an optical device comprising:
a light source configured to emit light (FIG. 3, illuminator 110);
a prism, wherein the light is incident on a first surface of the prism in a horizontal direction that is orthogonal to the first surface (FIG. 3, beam splitter 210);
a first reflector and a second reflector, each of the first reflector and the second reflector being configured to reflect the light output from the prism (FIG. 3, first and second reflection portions 220a and 220b);
a first lens configured to condense the light reflected by the first reflector (FIG. 3, first lens 230a);
a second lens configured to condense the light reflected by the second reflector (FIG. 3, second lens 230b);
and
a folding mirror unit comprising a first right-angle prism joined to a second right-angle prism (FIG. 3, folding mirror portion 240, the folding mirror unit) having a first reflective surface configured to reflect the light from the first lens vertically downward to a first alignment mark, and a second reflective surface configured to reflect the light from the second lens vertically upward to a second alignment mark, the first alignment mark being spaced apart from and facing the second alignment mark in a vertical direction that is orthogonal to the horizontal direction (folding mirror portion 240 is shown unnumbered in FIG. 1 directing the light from the lenses to the alignment marks M1 and M2 below and above the folding mirror portion),
wherein the prism comprises:
a first prism (FIG. 3, first prism 210a), and
a second prism adjacent to the first prism (FIG. 3, second prism 210b),
wherein the first prism and the second prism provide a splitter surface configured to split the light into first light and second light (FIG. 3, between first and second prisms 210a and 210b),
wherein the first prism is configured such that the first light is reflected from the splitter surface and then undergoes total internal reflection inside the first prism at a surface of the first prism other than the splitter surface, and the totally reflected first light is then output from the first prism to the first reflector (described in paragraph 41),
wherein the second prism is configured such that the second light passes through the splitter surface and then undergoes total internal reflection inside the second prism at a surface of the second prism other than the splitter surface, and the totally reflected second light is then output from the second prism to the second reflector (described in paragraph 43),
wherein the prism, the first reflector, the second reflector, the first lens, the second lens, and the folding mirror unit are arranged in a symmetrical structure (FIG. 3, the components labeled 210, 220, 230, and 240 collectively have rotational 180° symmetry about an axis parallel to the x axis of the figure, as described in paragraph 37), and
wherein a length of a first optical path of the light from the prism through the first reflector, the first lens, and the folding mirror unit to the first alignment mark is equal to a length of a second optical path of the light from the prism through the second reflector, the second lens, and the folding mirror unit to the second alignment mark (paragraph 53).
Chu fails to teach the polarization-related aspects of the claimed invention, so does not teach that the prism is a polarizing prism configured to polarize the light or a first phase retarder provided between the first reflector and the first lens, and a second phase retarder provided between the second reflector and the second lens, each of the first phase retarder and the second phase retarder being configured to circularly polarize the light, so naturally cannot include the first and second phase retarders in the symmetric structure or the first and second optical paths.
In the same field of endeavor of measuring pairs of surfaces and reasonably pertinent to the problem of splitting an unpolarized beam of light into two optical paths and reuniting the split beams toward a detector rather than toward the source, Kasai does teach that the prism is a polarizing prism configured to polarize the light (FIG. 9, polarization beam splitter 17) and a first phase retarder (FIG. 9, first quarter waveplate 19. Note that a quarter waveplate is a type of phase retarder.) provided between the first reflector and the first lens (as Chu is relied on to teach the first reflector and first lens, this limitation would be met by placing the first quarter waveplate of Kasai between first reflection portion 220a and first lens 230a shown in FIG. 3 of Chu), and a second phase retarder (FIG. 9, second quarter waveplate 21) provided between the second reflector and the second lens (as Chu is relied on to teach the second reflector and second lens, this limitation would be met by placing the second quarter waveplate of Kasai between second reflection portion 220a and second lens 230a shown in FIG. 3 of Chu), each of the first phase retarder and the second phase retarder being configured to circularly polarize the light (as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, a quarter waveplate is used to turn linearly polarized light into circularly polarized light or the other way around). By placing the quarter waveplates of Kasai into the device of Chu as described, the symmetry and equal path lengths of Chu would also be preserved. By using a polarizing prism and two phase retarders, Kasai is able to split the two linear polarizations present in the input beam, reflect them from reflective surfaces (FIG. 9, reference surface 20 and stylus reflector 18) and direct output of both beams toward a detector (FIG. 9, light receiving unit 11 via mirrors 22) rather than back toward the light source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the die bonding system of Chu with the polarization manipulation of Kasai as a way of directing more of the light to the detector rather than back toward the light source with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, Chu, as modified by Kasai, teaches the die bonding system of claim 1 (as described above).
Chu does not explicitly teach that the polarizing prism is further configured to linearly polarize the light incident on the polarizing prism in the horizontal direction.
In the same field of endeavor of measuring pairs of surfaces and reasonably pertinent to the problem of splitting an unpolarized beam of light into two optical paths and reuniting the split beams toward a detector rather than toward the source, Kasai does teach that the polarizing prism is further configured to linearly polarize the light incident on the polarizing prism in the horizontal direction (page 3, sixth full paragraph describes the polarization states emerging from polarization beam splitter 17 as p-polarized and s-polarized, which are linear polarization states). By using linear polarizations, Kasai is able to manipulate each beam in the conventional ways of manipulating polarized light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the die bonding system of Chu, as modified by Kasai, with the linear polarizations of Kasai as particular choice of how to use polarization.
Regarding claim 5, Chu, as modified by Kasai, teaches the die bonding system of claim 1 (as described above).
Chu does not explicitly teach that the polarizing prism is further configured to allow p-polarization to pass through the splitter surface of the polarizing prism and s-polarization to be reflected by the splitter surface.
In the same field of endeavor of measuring pairs of surfaces and reasonably pertinent to the problem of splitting an unpolarized beam of light into two optical paths and reuniting the split beams toward a detector rather than toward the source, Kasai does teach that the polarizing prism is further configured to allow p-polarization to pass through the splitter surface of the polarizing prism and s-polarization to be reflected by the splitter surface (page 3, sixth full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the die bonding system of Chu, as modified by Kasai, with the specific linear polarizations of Kasai as particular choice of how to use polarization.
Regarding claim 9, Chu, as modified by Kasai, teaches the die bonding system of claim 1 (as described above).
Chu further teaches that the first reflective surface is further configured to reflect first reflected light reflected from the first alignment mark (FIG. 1, first alignment mark M1), and
the second reflective surface is further configured to reflect second reflected light reflected from the second alignment mark (FIG. 1, second alignment mark M2), and
wherein the first reflected light and the second reflected light are output in opposite horizontal directions orthogonal to the vertical direction (FIG. 1, the folding mirror portion (numbered 240 elsewhere) outputs the first reflected light in the -Y direction and the second reflected light in the +Y direction).
Regarding claim 10, Chu, as modified by Kasai, teaches the die bonding system of claim 9 (as described above).
Chu further teaches a photodetector configured to detect the first reflected light and the second reflected light, each of the first reflected light and the second reflected light being output from a second surface of the polarizing prism (FIG. 3, light detector 300, which light travels to via fourth side surface 212b, as labeled in FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Chu, as modified by Kasai, teaches a die bonding system comprising:
a first stage having a first adsorbing surface, the first stage being configured to adsorb a wafer on the first adsorbing surface (FIG. 1, first stage 22 with first suction surface 23, described in paragraph 20);
a second stage having a second adsorbing surface facing the first adsorbing surface in a vertical direction, the second stage being configured to adsorb a die on the second adsorbing surface (FIG. 1, second stage 32 with second suction surface 33, described in paragraph 21);
a first driver configured to move at least one of the first stage and the second stage (FIG. 1, at least one of first stage driver 24 or bonding head driver 34); and
an optical device (FIG. 3, alignment inspection optical apparatus 100) configured to:
simultaneously capture a first alignment mark of the wafer and a second alignment mark of the die (paragraph 27), and
detect information about a relative position between the first alignment mark and the second alignment mark (paragraph 27),
wherein the optical device comprises:
a light source configured to emit light (FIG. 3, illuminator 110);
a photodetector configured to detect reflected light generated when the light is reflected from the wafer and the die (FIG. 3, light detector 300, which light travels to via fourth side surface 212b, as labeled in FIG. 4); and
wherein the optical device is configured to be movable between the first stage and the second stage in a horizontal direction that is orthogonal to the vertical direction (paragraph 29),
wherein the optical device further comprises an optical head having a symmetrical structure (FIG. 3, the components labeled 210, 220, 230, and 240 collectively have rotational 180° symmetry about an axis parallel to the x axis of the figure, as described in paragraph 37), the optical head comprising:
a prism comprising a first prism and a second prism adjacent to the first prism, the first prism and the second prism providing a splitter surface configured to split the light into first light and second light (FIG. 3, beam splitter 210, with first and second prisms 210a and 210b with a splitting surface therebetween);
a first reflector configured to reflect the first light output from the prism, and a second reflector configured to reflect the second light output from the prism (FIG. 3, first and second reflection portions 220a and 220b);
a first lens configured to condense the first light reflected by the first reflector, and a second lens configured to condense the second light reflected by the second reflector (FIG. 3, first and second lenses 230a and 230b); and
a folding mirror unit comprising a first right-angle prism joined to a second right-angle prism (FIG. 3, folding mirror portion 240, the folding mirror unit), the folding mirror unit having a first reflective surface configured to reflect the first light from the first lens vertically downward to the first alignment mark, and a second reflective surface configured to reflect the second light from the second lens vertically upward to the second alignment mark (folding mirror portion 240 is shown unnumbered in FIG. 1 directing the light from the lenses to the alignment marks M1 and M2 below and above the folding mirror portion),
wherein the first light is reflected from the splitter surface and then undergoes total internal reflection inside the first prism at a surface of the first prism other than the splitter surface, and is then output from the first prism to the first reflector (described in paragraph 41),
wherein the second light passes through the splitter surface and then undergoes total internal reflection inside the second prism at a surface of the second prism other than the splitter surface, and is then output from the second prism to the second reflector (described in paragraph 43),
wherein first reflected light reflected from the first alignment mark propagates along a first optical path of the optical head (shown in more detail in FIG. 4),
wherein second reflected light reflected from the second alignment mark propagates along a second optical path of the optical head (shown in more detail in FIG. 4), and
wherein a length of the first optical path is equal to a length of the second optical path (paragraph 61).
Chu fails to teach the polarization-related aspects of the claimed invention, so does not teach a polarizer configured to polarize the light and the reflected light; that the prism is a polarizing prism; or a first phase retarder provided between the first reflector and the first lens, and a second phase retarder provided between the second reflector and the second lens, each of the first phase retarder and the second phase retarder being configured to circularly polarize the light.
In the same field of endeavor of measuring pairs of surfaces and reasonably pertinent to the problem of splitting an unpolarized beam of light into two optical paths and reuniting the split beams toward a detector rather than toward the source, Kasai does teach a polarizer configured to polarize the light and the reflected light (FIG. 9, polarization beam splitter 17); that the prism is a polarizing prism (FIG. 9, polarization beam splitter 17); or a first phase retarder (FIG. 9, first quarter waveplate 19. Note that a quarter waveplate is a type of phase retarder.) provided between the first reflector and the first lens (as Chu is relied on to teach the first reflector and first lens, this limitation would be met by placing the first quarter waveplate of Kasai between first reflection portion 220a and first lens 230a shown in FIG. 3 of Chu), and a second phase retarder (FIG. 9, second quarter waveplate 21) provided between the second reflector and the second lens (as Chu is relied on to teach the second reflector and second lens, this limitation would be met by placing the second quarter waveplate of Kasai between second reflection portion 220a and second lens 230a shown in FIG. 3 of Chu), each of the first phase retarder and the second phase retarder being configured to circularly polarize the light (as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, a quarter waveplate is used to turn linearly polarized light into circularly polarized light or the other way around). By using a polarizing prism and two phase retarders, Kasai is able to split the two linear polarizations present in the input beam, reflect them from reflective surfaces (FIG. 9, reference surface 20 and stylus reflector 18) and direct output of both beams toward a detector (FIG. 9, light receiving unit 11 via mirrors 22) rather than back toward the light source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the die bonding system of Chu with the polarization manipulation of Kasai as a way of directing more of the light to the detector rather than back toward the light source with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, Chu, as modified by Kasai, teaches the die bonding system of claim 11 (as described above).
Chu does not explicitly teach that the first phase retarder is configured to p-polarize the first reflected light reflected from the first alignment mark as p-polarized first reflected light, and
wherein the second phase retarder is configured to s-polarize the second reflected light reflected from the second alignment mark as s-polarized second reflected light.
In the same field of endeavor of measuring pairs of surfaces and reasonably pertinent to the problem of splitting an unpolarized beam of light into two optical paths and reuniting the split beams toward a detector rather than toward the source, Kasai does teach that the first phase retarder is configured to p-polarize the first reflected light reflected from the first alignment mark as p-polarized first reflected light (page 3, sixth full paragraph. Note that the first reflected light of the combination corresponds to light returning from the reference surface 20 of Kasai that is about to be transmitted by polarization beam splitter 17), and
wherein the second phase retarder is configured to s-polarize the second reflected light reflected from the second alignment mark as s-polarized second reflected light (page 3, sixth full paragraph. Note that the second reflected light of the combination corresponds to light returning from the stylus reflector 18 of Kasai that is about to be reflected by polarization beam splitter 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the die bonding system of Chu, as modified by Kasai, with the specific linear polarizations of Kasai as particular choice of how to use polarization.
Regarding claim 14, Chu, as modified by Kasai, teaches the die bonding system of claim 13 (as described above).
Chu does not explicitly teach that the polarizing prism is further configured to transmit the p-polarized first reflected light and reflect the s-polarized second reflected light.
In the same field of endeavor of measuring pairs of surfaces and reasonably pertinent to the problem of splitting an unpolarized beam of light into two optical paths and reuniting the split beams toward a detector rather than toward the source, Kasai does teach that the polarizing prism is further configured to transmit the p-polarized first reflected light and reflect the s-polarized second reflected light (page 3, sixth full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the die bonding system of Chu, as modified by Kasai, with the specific linear polarizations of Kasai as particular choice of how to use polarization.
Regarding claim 16, Chu, as modified by Kasai, teaches the die bonding system of claim 11 (as described above).
Chu further teaches that the photodetector is further configured to obtain a first image of the first alignment mark from the first reflected light reflected and a second image of the second alignment mark from the second reflected light reflected (paragraph 62, when multiple images are obtained. Also note that references to simultaneous imaging of the two marks appear to be presented as optional in Chu).
Regarding claim 17, Chu, as modified by Kasai, teaches the die bonding system of claim 11 (as described above).
Chu further teaches that the optical device further comprises a second driver configured to move the optical device to a measurement position between the first stage and the second stage or a standby position outside the first stage and the second stage (paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 18, Chu, as modified by Kasai, teaches a die bonding system comprising:
a first stage having a first adsorbing surface, the first stage being configured to adsorb a wafer on the first adsorbing surface (FIG. 1, first stage 22 with first suction surface 23, described in paragraph 20);
a second stage having a second adsorbing surface facing the first adsorbing surface in a vertical direction, the second stage being configured to adsorb a die on the second adsorbing surface (FIG. 1, second stage 32 with second suction surface 33, described in paragraph 21);
a first driver configured to move at least one of the first stage and the second stage (FIG. 1, at least one of first stage driver 24 or bonding head driver 34); and
an optical device (FIG. 3, alignment inspection optical apparatus 100) configured to:
simultaneously capture a first alignment mark of the wafer and a second alignment mark of the die (paragraph 27), and
detect information about a relative position between the first alignment mark and the second alignment mark (paragraph 27),
wherein the optical device comprises:
a prism the light being incident on a first surface of the polarizing prism in a horizontal direction that is orthogonal to the vertical direction (FIG. 3, beam splitter 210); and
wherein the optical device is configured to be movable between the first stage and the second stage in the horizontal direction that is orthogonal to the vertical direction (paragraph 29),
wherein the optical device further comprises an optical head including the polarizing prism, a first reflector, a second reflector, a first lens, a second lens, and a folding mirror unit arranged in a symmetrical structure (FIG. 3, the components labeled 210, 220, 230, and 240 collectively have rotational 180° symmetry about an axis parallel to the x axis of the figure, as described in paragraph 37),
wherein the prism comprises a first prism and a second prism adjacent to the first prism, the first prism and the second prism providing a splitter surface configured to split the light into the first light and the second light (FIG. 3, beam splitter 210, with first and second prisms 210a and 210b with a splitting surface therebetween),
wherein the first light is reflected from the splitter surface and then undergoes total internal reflection inside the first prism at a surface of the first prism other than the splitter surface, and is then output from the first prism to the first reflector (described in paragraph 41),
wherein the second light passes through the splitter surface and then undergoes total internal reflection inside the second prism at a surface of the second prism other than the splitter surface, and is then output from the second prism to the second reflector (described in paragraph 43),
wherein the first lens is configured to condense the first light reflected by the first reflector, and the second lens is configured to condense the second light reflected by the second reflector (FIG. 3, first and second lenses 230a and 230b),
wherein the folding mirror unit comprises a first right-angle prism joined to a second right-angle prism (FIG. 3, folding mirror portion 240, the folding mirror unit), and has a first reflective surface configured to reflect the first light from the first lens vertically downward to the first alignment mark, and a second reflective surface configured to reflect the second light from the second lens vertically upward to the second alignment mark (folding mirror portion 240 is shown unnumbered in FIG. 1 directing the light from the lenses to the alignment marks M1 and M2 below and above the folding mirror portion),
wherein first reflected light reflected from the first alignment mark propagates along a first optical path of the optical head (shown in more detail in FIG. 4),
wherein second reflected light reflected from the second alignment mark propagates along a second optical path of the optical head (shown in more detail in FIG. 4), and
wherein a length of the first optical path is equal to a length of the second optical path (paragraph 61).
Chu fails to teach the polarization-related aspects of the claimed invention, so does not teach that the prism is a polarizing prism configured to split light into first light with s-polarization and second light with p-polarization,
a first phase retarder and a second phase retarder, each configured to polarize and retard the light or reflected light reflected from one of the first alignment mark and the second alignment mark, and
wherein the first phase retarder is provided between the first reflector and the first lens, and the second phase retarder is provided between the second reflector and the second lens, so naturally cannot include the first and second phase retarders in the symmetric structure.
In the same field of endeavor of measuring pairs of surfaces and reasonably pertinent to the problem of splitting an unpolarized beam of light into two optical paths and reuniting the split beams toward a detector rather than toward the source, Kasai does teach that the prism is a polarizing prism configured to split light into first light with s-polarization and second light with p-polarization (FIG. 9, polarization beam splitter 17 and described on page 3, sixth full paragraph),
a first phase retarder (FIG. 9, first quarter waveplate 19. Note that a quarter waveplate is a type of phase retarder.) and a second phase retarder (FIG. 9, second quarter waveplate), each configured to polarize and retard the light or reflected light reflected from one of the first alignment mark and the second alignment mark (as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, a quarter waveplate is used to polarize and retard light passing through it. The alignment marks are found in Chu, but may be considered to most closely correspond to the reference surface 20 and stylus reflector 18), and
wherein the first phase retarder is provided between the first reflector and the first lens, and the second phase retarder is provided between the second reflector and the second lens (as Chu is relied on to teach the first and second reflectors and first and second lenses, this limitation would be met by placing the first and second quarter waveplates of Kasai between first reflection portion 220a and first lens 230a and between second reflection portion 220b and second lens 230b, respectively, as shown in FIG. 3 of Chu. By placing the quarter waveplates of Kasai into the device of Chu as described, the symmetry and equal path lengths of Chu would also be preserved. By using a polarizing prism and two phase retarders, Kasai is able to split the two linear polarizations present in the input beam, reflect them from reflective surfaces (FIG. 9, reference surface 20 and stylus reflector 18) and direct output of both beams toward a detector (FIG. 9, light receiving unit 11 via mirrors 22) rather than back toward the light source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the die bonding system of Chu with the polarization manipulation of Kasai as a way of directing more of the light to the detector rather than back toward the light source with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19, Chu, as modified by Kasai, teaches the die bonding system of claim 18 (as described above).
Chu further teaches that the first driver is further configured to rotate or move at least one of the first stage and the second stage based on the information about the relative position (paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 20, Chu, as modified by Kasai, teaches the die bonding system of claim 18 (as described above).
Chu further teaches that a second driver configured to move the optical device to a measurement position between the first stage and the second stage or a standby position outside the first stage and the second stage (paragraph 29),
wherein, after the at least one of the first stage and the second stage is moved by the first driver, the second driver is further configured to move the optical device from the measurement position to the standby position (paragraph 29).
Conclusion
/PAUL SCHNASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877