DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 16, 2026 have been fully considered.
The applicant argues in section “A” that modification made to Huber based on the teachings of Jones does not teach the features of claim 1. The applicant finds that Jones does not disclose that the firs gearbox of Jones could not be suitably modified to drive rotation of the propulsor through the gear assembly as the loads are ancillary. This argument is against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The teachings of Jones are effectively only used to show that a motor/generator configuration and a gear assembly are substitutes to transfer power. The applicant’s arguments are only directed to if Jones by itself was used to reject the claims. The examiner finds that the combination of Huber and Jones does teach the limitations discussed by the applicant for the reasons described in the rejection below. The above discussion applies to section “3” of the arguments related to claims 12-14 and section “4” of the arguments related to claim 17.
The applicant in section “B” argues that the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmer, Wilson, and LaTulipe does not teach a controller connected in signal communication with the displacement control assembly, and the controller includes a processor in communication with a non-transitory memory storing instructions. The applicant reaches this conclusion based on a finding that the examiner relies too greatly on implicit disclosure without sufficient specific teachings to fill in the gap. The examiner finds that [0037] of Wilson teaches a controller (100) that controls the variable displacement pump along with a wide variety of other operations of the system. The examiner also discussed Huber’s teachings of valves and fuel control present in Huber. The examiner finds that a person of ordinary skill in the art understands and infers that controllers in complicated systems such as gas turbines and internal combustion engines have high levels of communication and sharing of signals due to the interconnectedness of the many components / properties of the system. It would be unreasonable for anyone of ordinary skill in the art to believe that the variable displacement pump used to control parameters of the power output would be completely separate so as to not be in communication with the larger system’s controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber (U.S Patent 8,141,360) hereinafter Huber in view of Jones et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20170036773) hereinafter Jones, Lemmers et al. (U.S Patent 10,850,860) hereinafter Lemmers, Wilson (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20210396121) hereinafter Wilson, and LaTulipe et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20200298988) hereinafter LaTulipe.
Regarding claim 1, Huber discloses:
An engine assembly for an aircraft propulsion system, the engine assembly comprising:
a propulsor {Figure 2, at the end of the drivetrain would be a propulsor in the application of aircraft propulsion; Column 2 lines 61-67. See MPEP 2112 for implicit disclosure};
an engine {Figure 2 (30)} including:
an air inlet {Figure 2, see “Engine Inlet Air” which sends air to (30)},
an exhaust outlet {Figure 2, see “Engine Exhaust” where air exits (30)}, and
an engine output shaft {Figure 2 (32)},
a gas turbine engine {Figure 2, the gas turbine engine is formed by (12), (13), (14), (16), (18), and (19)} including:
a first rotational assembly {Figure 2, (12), (13), and (14)}
a compressor section {Figure 2 (12)},
a turbine section {Figure 2 (14)}, and
a combustor {Figure 2 (16)},
the first rotational assembly is configured for rotation about a rotational axis {Figure 2, the rotational axis is essentially defined by the shaft (13)},
the first rotational assembly includes a bladed compressor rotor for the compressor section {Figure 2 (12) implicitly uses a bladed compressor rotor as this is almost ubiquitous as the design for a gas turbine engine especially for aircraft propulsion; see MPEP 2112},
a bladed first turbine rotor for the turbine section {Figure 2 (12) implicitly uses a bladed turbine rotor as this is almost ubiquitous as the design for a gas turbine engine especially for aircraft propulsion; see MPEP 2112}, and
a first shaft interconnecting the bladed compressor rotor and the bladed first turbine rotor {Figure 2 (13) interconnects (12) and (14)},
the compressor section is connected to the air inlet and configured to direct a compressed air to the air inlet {Figure 2, see arrows which show air flow exiting (12) and are directed to “Engine Inlet Air”},
the combustor is connected to the exhaust outlet and configured to receive an exhaust gas from the exhaust outlet {Figure 2, see arrows which show air flow exiting 930) as “Engine Exhaust” then entering the combustor (16)}, and
the combustor is configured to direct a combustion gas through the turbine section to drive rotation of the bladed first turbine rotor {Figure 2, see arrows from (16) to (14); Column 4 lines 20-34}.
Huber does not disclose:
a first gearbox including a first gear assembly coupled with the propulsor (note that (20) is coupled to the drivetrain, but is not coupled to the engine output shaft as required by the subsequent limitation below)
the engine output shaft is coupled with the first gear assembly and configured to drive rotation of the propulsor through the first gear assembly;
the first rotational assembly coupled with the first gear assembly to further drive rotation of the propulsor through the gear assembly,
a variable speed drive (VSD) coupling the first rotational assembly to the first gear assembly,
the VSD is configured to selectively apply a rotational force from the first rotational assembly to the first gear assembly to further drive rotation of the propulsor through the first gear assembly
a heat exchanger connected in fluid communication between the compressor section and the air inlet, and
the heat exchanger is configured to cool the compressed air directed from the compressor section to the air inlet.
the VSD including a variable displacement pump, a fixed displacement pump, and a conduit circuit connected the variable displacement pump and the fixed displacement pump in fluid communication
the variable displacement pump is coupled with the first rotational assembly, and the fixed pump is coupled with the first gear assembly
wherein the first pump includes a displacement control assembly configured to control a displacement of the first pump,
the engine assembly further comprises a controller connected in signal communication with the displacement control assembly, and
the controller includes a processor in communication with a non-transitory memory storing instructions, which instructions when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: control the displacement control assembly to change the displacement of the variable displacement pump to apply the rotational force from the first rotational assembly to the first gear assembly.
It is noted that Huber does disclose:
The engine output shaft is sends energy from an electric generator to drive the propulsor via electric motor {Figure 2, electric generator (34) sends power to electric motor (22) which drives the rotation of the drivetrain / propulsor}
Jones pertains to gas turbine engines and powertrain configurations. Jones teaches:
a first gearbox including a first gear assembly coupled with the load {Figure 3A, first gear assembly “Transmission” is coupled to the load / cooling fan}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a gear assembly to transfer energy as taught by Jones rather than the motor/generator configuration of Huber. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as both configurations are recognized as substitutes to transfer power from one shaft to another shaft {Jones [0020] and [0022]; see MPEP 2144.06 I}.
The combination of Huber and Jones therefore teaches:
the engine output shaft is coupled with the first gear assembly and configured to drive rotation of the propulsor through the first gear assembly {A first gear assembly based on the teachings of Jones in Figure 3A is coupled to the engine output shaft (32) which allows it the drive the propulsor which is on the shaft “To Drivetrain”. This first gear assembly replaces the electric motor and generator configuration (22)/(34) of Huber}
the first rotational assembly coupled with the first gear assembly to further drive rotation of the propulsor through the gear assembly {Huber Figure 2, at the end of the “To Drivetrain” would be a propulsor in the application of aircraft propulsion; Column 2 lines 61-67. See MPEP 2112 for implicit disclosure. Huber Figure 2 (22)/(34) are substituted for the first gear assembly based on the teachings of Jones as described above. This gear assembly is coupled with first rotational assembly. Gearbox (20) of Huber couples the first rotational assembly to the “To Drivetrain” portion. Gearbox (20) may be incorporated as part of the first gear assembly although does not necessarily have to be. Its presence is indicative of the power transfer that further drives rotation of the propulsor},
Lemmers pertains to internal combustion engines, turbines, compressors, and torque transfer configurations. Lemmers teaches:
A variable speed drive (VSD) coupling two shafts {Figure 2 (110) and (120) and connections (114)/(116)/(118) form a variable speed drive, (110) and (120) can operate at different rotational speeds making them a variable speed drive under the broadest reasonable interpretation}
the VSD is configured to selectively apply a rotational force from the first shaft to the second shaft {Figure 2 shows the situation where the VSD applies/transmits rotational force and Figure 3 shows the situation where the VSD (110)/(120) does not apply/transmit rotational force; Column 7 lines 21-58}.
wherein the VSD includes a first pump, a second pump, and a conduit circuit connected the first pump and the second pump in fluid communication {Lemmers Figure 2 the VSD comprises (122) as a first pump, (124) as a second pump, and a conduit circuit (126)}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a variable speed drive as taught by Lemmers for the system of the combination of Huber and Jones to couple the first rotational assembly to the first gear assembly. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to be able to extract the additional power and send it to the propulsor in situations where the power extracted by the first turbine exceeds what is required to operate the first compressor. It is noted that this configuration still prevents the flow of power from reversing {Lemmers Column 7 lines 21-58}.
The combination of Huber, Jones, and Lemmers therefore teaches:
a variable speed drive (VSD) coupling the first rotational assembly to the first gear assembly {Lemmers Figure 2, the variable speed drive (114)/(116)/(118)/(110)/(120) couples the first rotational assembly of Huber Figure 2 to the first gear assembly. The first gear assembly is based on the teachings of Jones as discussed above. It is noted that this configuration allows excess power from the first turbine to be extract while preventing the system from being back driven},
the VSD is configured to selectively apply a rotational force from the first rotational assembly to the first gear assembly to further drive rotation of the propulsor through the first gear assembly {The VSD based on the teachings of Lemmers applies/transmits rotational force when it is positive torque in the scenario that the turbine extracts additional power exceeding what is required by the compressor, but does not transmit torque when the power extracted by the turbine is below what is required by the compressor preventing the flow of power from being reversed; Lemmers Column 7 lines 21-58. The VSD of Lemmers is applied to connect the first rotational assembly to the first gear assembly for the excess power of the turbine to be utilized by the propulsor of Huber}
wherein the VSD includes a first pump, a second pump, and a conduit circuit connected the first pump and the second pump in fluid communication {Lemmers Figure 2 the VSD comprises (122) as a first pump, (124) as a second pump, and a conduit circuit (126)}
the first pump is coupled with the first rotational assembly, and the second pump is coupled with the first gear assembly {Lemmers Figure 2 (122) is coupled with the first rotational assembly of Huber, and Lemmers Figure 2 (124) is coupled with the first gear assembly as described in the rejection of claim 1}.
The combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, and LaTulipe does not teach:
wherein the first pump is a variable displacement pump and the second pump is a fixed displacement pump.
Wilson is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention of power transmission and variable speed drives. Wilson is also reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of transferring power between shafts in a manner where the shaft speeds can be changed.
Wilson teaches:
wherein the first pump is a variable displacement pump and the second pump is a fixed displacement pump {Figure 5 (64) is variable displacement and (70) is fixed displacement}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reversed the positions of the first and second pumps of the combination of Huber, Jones, and Lemmers based on the teachings of Wilson. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as switching the positions of the fixed and variable pumps does not alter the fundamental operation of the system and both configurations are suitable and may be substituted {Wilson Figure 5 versus Figure 6; [0036]}. Also, a reversal of parts is an obvious modification when it is effectively operating in same manner, see MPEP 2144.04 VI A.
Wilson teaches:
wherein the variable displacement pump includes a displacement control assembly configured to control a displacement of the variable displacement pump {Figure 5 (64) is variable displacement that is controlled by control system (100), see Figure 2; [0037]},
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a displacement control assembly to control a displacement of the first (variable displacement) pump as taught by Wilson for the system of the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, LaTulipe, and Wilson. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as controlling the displacement allows for the control of the speed of the shafts {Wilson [0036]-[0037]}.
The combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmer, and Wilson therefore teaches:
the engine assembly further comprises a controller connected in signal communication with the displacement control assembly {The engine assembly of Huber implicitly has a controller that would be in communication with the displacement control assembly as taught by Wilson based on the numerous systems that are controlled including the fuel and control valves, see MPEP 2112 and 2144.01}
the controller includes a processor in communication with a non-transitory memory storing instructions, which instructions when executed by the processor, cause the processor to {Huber implicitly has a controller that uses memory and instructions to operate, see MPEP 2112 and 2144.01}:
control the displacement control assembly to change the displacement of the first pump to apply the rotational force from the first rotational assembly to the first gear assembly {Lemmers as part of the VSD has clutch (120) that selectively applies rotational force, Column 7 lines 21-58. Wilson also has clutches which selectively apply rotational force (65)/(71); [0036]-[0037]. The displacement of the pump may be adjusted as discussed in Wilson [0036]-[0037] and rotational force is applied from the first rotational assembly to the first gear assembly as discussed in the modifications above}
LaTulipe pertains to engines connected with compressors and turbines for driving fans. LaTulipe teaches:
a heat exchanger connected in fluid communication between the compressor section and the air inlet {Figure 2 (128) is in fluid communication between the compressors section (224) and the air inlet which is the inlet to (202)}, and
the heat exchanger is configured to cool the compressed air directed from the compressor section to the air inlet {Figure 2 (128) cools the compressed air; [0041]}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a heat exchanger in between the compressor section and the air inlet as taught by LaTulipe for the configuration of the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, and Wilson. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as cooled air is desired for the air being introduced into the engine {LaTulipe [0041]}.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, Wilson, and LaTulipe further teaches:
wherein the gas turbine engine further includes a second rotational assembly {Huber Figure 2 (18)/(19)},
the second rotational assembly includes a bladed second turbine rotor for the turbine section and a second shaft {Huber Figure 2 (18) is a second bladed turbine rotor and (19) is a second shaft},
the second shaft interconnects the bladed second turbine rotor and the first gear assembly to further drive rotation of the propulsor through the first gear assembly {Huber Figure 2 (19) interconnects (18) with the first gear assembly. The first gear assembly is based on teachings in Figure 3A of Jones which is connected to the “To Drivetrain” shaft of Huber}, and
the combustor is configured to direct the combustion gas through the turbine section to drive rotation of the bladed first turbine rotor and the bladed second turbine rotor {Huber Figure 2, the combustor (16) directs combustion gas as shown by the arrows through both the bladed first turbine rotor (14) and the bladed second turbine rotor (18)}.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, Wilson, and LaTulipe further teaches:
wherein the first shaft and the second shaft are concentric shafts {Huber Figure 2 (13) and (19) are concentric. Note that concentric is not the same requirement as “sleeved”. Two shafts may be concentric but are axial adjacent or separated.}.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, Wilson, and LaTulipe further teaches:
wherein the bladed second turbine rotor is downstream of the first bladed turbine rotor with respect to the combustion gas {Huber Figure 2 (18) is downstream of (14), see arrows showing the direction of gas flow}.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, Wilson, and LaTulipe, further teaches:
Wherein instructions when executed by the processor, cause the processor to {Huber implicitly has a controller that uses memory and instructions to operate, see MPEP 2112 and 2144.01}:
control the displacement control assembly to change the displacement of the first pump to change a rotation speed of the bladed compressor rotor {Wilson, changing the displacement of the variable displacement pump changes the rotation speed of the shafts [0036]-[0037]. This change of speed impacts the rotation speed of the bladed compressor rotor of Huber}.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, Wilson, and LaTulipe further teaches:
wherein the engine is an intermittent internal combustion engine {Huber Figure 2 (30) is an internal combustion engine which is implicitly intermittent rather than continuous like a gas turbine engine, see MPEP 2112}.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, and LaTulipe further teaches:
further comprising a second gearbox and a drive shaft {Huber Figure 2 (20) is a second gearbox and the “To Drivetrain” is a drive shaft; Column 4 lines 20-34},
the second gearbox includes a second gear assembly {Huber Figure 2 (20) has a gear assembly inside to reduce the rotational speed; Column 4 lines 20-34},
the drive shaft couples the first gear assembly with the second gear assembly {The electric motor and generator (22)/(34) of Huber is replaced by the first gearbox as taught by Jones. Therefore the second gearbox (20) of Huber is coupled by the drive shaft “To Drivetrain” with the first gearbox}.
The combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, and LaTulipe does not teach:
the second gear assembly couples the drive shaft with the propulsor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reversed the positions of the first and second gearboxes of the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, and LaTulipe. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as switching the positions of the gearboxes does not alter the fundamental operation of the system. It is noted that both the internal combustion engine and turbine shaft speeds would both need to be reduced. Therefore, reversing the positions of the gearboxes and putting the second gearbox between the propulsor and the first gearbox would allow the associated speed of both to be reduced. A reversal of parts is an obvious modification when the system is effectively operating in same manner, see MPEP 2144.04 VI A.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber, Jones, Lemmers, Wilson, and LaTulipe as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Pekovic (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20200307813) hereinafter Pekovic.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, Wilson, and LaTulipe teaches the engine assembly of claim 10, but does not teach:
an electric control assembly including an electric motor and a battery,
the electric motor is coupled to the second gear assembly, and
the electric motor is electrically connected to the battery
Pekovic pertains to aircraft hybrid propulsion systems using electric and combustion energy. Pekovic teaches:
an electric control assembly including an electric motor and a battery {Figure 2 electric motor (30) and battery (40); also Figure 3 (43) is a controller},
the electric motor is coupled to the second gear assembly {Figure 2 (30) is coupled to gear assembly (12)}, and
the electric motor is electrically connected to the battery {Figure 2 (30) is connected to (40); [0034]}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an electric motor (with associated battery) coupled to the second gear assembly as taught by Pekovic for the configuration of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, Wilson and LaTulipe. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as hybrid systems that utilize combustion engines and electric powered motors to drive propulsors are a developing technology over older systems which only utilize combustion power {Pekovic [0003]/[0039]}.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber (U.S Patent 8,141,360) hereinafter Huber in view of Jones et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20170036773) hereinafter Jones, Lemmers et al. (U.S Patent 10,850,860) hereinafter Lemmers and Norris (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20120272656) hereinafter Norris.
Regarding claim 12, Huber discloses:
An engine assembly for an aircraft propulsion system, the engine assembly comprising:
a propulsor {Figure 2, at the end of the drivetrain would be a propulsor in the application of aircraft propulsion; Column 2 lines 61-67. See MPEP 2112 for implicit disclosure};
an engine {Figure 2 (30)} including:
an air inlet {Figure 2, see “Engine Inlet Air” which sends air to (30)},
an exhaust outlet {Figure 2, see “Engine Exhaust” where air exits (30)}, and
an engine output shaft {Figure 2 (32)},
a gas turbine engine {Figure 2, the gas turbine engine is formed by (12), (13), (14), (16), (18), and (19)} including:
a first rotational assembly {Figure 2, (12), (13), and (14)}
a second rotational assembly {Figure 2 (18) and (19)}
a compressor section {Figure 2 (12)},
a turbine section {Figure 2 (14)}, and
a combustor {Figure 2 (16)},
the first rotational assembly and second rotational assembly is configured for rotation about a rotational axis {Figure 2, the rotational axis is essentially defined by the shaft (13) and (19)},
the first rotational assembly includes a bladed compressor rotor for the compressor section {Figure 2 (12) implicitly uses a bladed compressor rotor as this is almost ubiquitous as the design for a gas turbine engine especially for aircraft propulsion; see MPEP 2112},
a bladed first turbine rotor for the turbine section {Figure 2 (12) implicitly uses a bladed turbine rotor as this is almost ubiquitous as the design for a gas turbine engine especially for aircraft propulsion; see MPEP 2112}, and
a first shaft interconnecting the bladed compressor rotor and the bladed first turbine rotor {Figure 2 (13) interconnects (12) and (14)},
the second rotational assembly includes a bladed second turbine rotor and a second shaft {Figure 2 (18) is a bladed second turbine rotor and (19) is a second shaft},
the second shaft drives rotation of the propulsor {Figure 2 (19) is coupled with the “To Drivetrain” shaft that rotates the propulsor}
the compressor section is connected to the air inlet and configured to direct a compressed air to the air inlet {Figure 2, see arrows which show air flow exiting (12) and are directed to “Engine Inlet Air”},
the combustor is connected to the exhaust outlet and configured to receive an exhaust gas from the exhaust outlet {Figure 2, see arrows which show air flow exiting 930) as “Engine Exhaust” then entering the combustor (16)}, and
the combustor is configured to direct a combustion gas through the turbine section to drive rotation of the bladed first turbine rotor {Figure 2, see arrows from (16) to (14); Column 4 lines 20-34}.
Huber does not disclose:
a first gearbox including a first gear assembly coupled with the propulsor (note that (20) is coupled to the drivetrain, but is not coupled to the engine output shaft as required by the subsequent limitation below)
the engine output shaft is coupled with the first gear assembly and configured to drive rotation of the propulsor through the first gear assembly;
the first shaft and second shaft are coupled with the gear assembly to drive rotation of the propulsor through the gear assembly
wherein the turbine section is disposed between the combustor and the compressor section.
It is noted that Huber does disclose:
The engine output shaft is sends energy from an electric generator to drive the propulsor via electric motor {Figure 2, electric generator (34) sends power to electric motor (22) which drives the rotation of the drivetrain / propulsor}
Jones pertains to gas turbine engines and powertrain configurations. Jones teaches:
a first gearbox including a first gear assembly coupled with the load {Figure 3A, first gear assembly “Transmission” is coupled to the load / cooling fan}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a gear assembly to transfer energy as taught by Jones rather than the motor/generator configuration of Huber. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as both configurations are recognized as substitutes to transfer power from one shaft to another shaft {Jones [0020] and [0022]; see MPEP 2144.06 I}.
The combination of Huber and Jones therefore teaches:
the engine output shaft is coupled with the first gear assembly and configured to drive rotation of the propulsor through the first gear assembly {A first gear assembly based on the teachings of Jones in Figure 3A is coupled to the engine output shaft (32) which allows it the drive the propulsor which is on the shaft “To Drivetrain”. This first gear assembly replaces the electric motor and generator configuration (22)/(34) of Huber};
the second shaft is coupled with the gear assembly to drive rotation of the propulsor through the gear assembly {A first gear assembly based on the teachings of Jones in Figure 3A is coupled to the “To Drivetrain” shaft in Huber which allows it the drive the propulsor and means the second shaft is coupled with the gear assembly. This gear assembly replaces the electric motor and generator configuration (22)/(34) of Huber}
Lemmers pertains to internal combustion engines, turbines, compressors, and torque transfer configurations. Lemmers teaches:
A variable speed drive (VSD) coupling two shafts where rotational force can selectively be applied {Figure 2 (110) and (120) and connections (114)/(116)/(118) form a variable speed drive, (110) and (120); Column 7 lines 21-58}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a variable speed drive as taught by Lemmers for the system of the combination of Huber and Jones to couple the first rotational assembly to the first gear assembly. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to be able to extract the additional power and send it to the propulsor in situations where the power extracted by the first turbine exceeds what is required to operate the first compressor. This configuration allows the first rotational assembly to sometimes be not connected to the propulsor as is the case in Huber, but also allows it to sometimes be connected to the propulsor when there is additional power that may be utilized. It is noted that this configuration still prevents the flow of power from reversing {Lemmers Column 7 lines 21-58}.
The combination of Huber, Jones, and Lemmers therefore teaches:
the first shaft is coupled with the gear assembly to drive rotation of the propulsor through the gear assembly {Huber’s first shaft is connected to the propulsor via the VSD as taught by Lemmers, there is a gear assembly as taught by Jones rather than the electric motor / generator (22)(34) of Huber in this drivetrain that the first shaft is connected to}.
Norris pertains to gas turbine engines. Norris teaches:
wherein the turbine section is disposed between the combustor and the compressor section {Figure 1 turbine (42) is disposed between the combustor (38) and the compressor (14)}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used reverse flow engine architecture as taught by Norris for the gas turbine engine architecture of the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, and LaTulipe. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as even though typical gas turbine engines have a flow path which general extends purely rearward, reverse-flow engines (with combustors between the compressor and turbine) are also well known alternative configurations of a gas turbine engine {Norris [0002]}.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, and Norris further teaches:
wherein the bladed second turbine rotor is downstream of the first bladed turbine rotor with respect to the combustion gas {Huber Figure 2 (18) is downstream of (14), see arrows showing the direction of gas flow}.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, and Norris further teaches:
wherein the first shaft is coupled with the gear assembly by a variable speed drive (VSD) {see rejection of claim 12 above; the teachings of Lemmers are applied to add a VSD that couples the first shaft of Huber to the gear assembly}
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber (U.S Patent 8,141,360) hereinafter Huber in view of Jones et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20170036773) hereinafter Jones and Norris (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20120272656) hereinafter Norris.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is almost identical to claim 12 except for the it is not a limitation that:
The first shaft is coupled with the gear assembly to further drive rotation of the propulsor through the gear assembly.
Therefore, the following rejection is identical to the rejection of claim 12 except for applying the teachings of Lemmers.
Huber discloses:
An engine assembly for an aircraft propulsion system, the engine assembly comprising:
a propulsor {Figure 2, at the end of the drivetrain would be a propulsor in the application of aircraft propulsion; Column 2 lines 61-67. See MPEP 2112 for implicit disclosure};
an engine {Figure 2 (30)} including:
an air inlet {Figure 2, see “Engine Inlet Air” which sends air to (30)},
an exhaust outlet {Figure 2, see “Engine Exhaust” where air exits (30)}, and
an engine output shaft {Figure 2 (32)},
a gas turbine engine {Figure 2, the gas turbine engine is formed by (12), (13), (14), (16), (18), and (19)} including:
a first rotational assembly {Figure 2, (12), (13), and (14)}
a second rotational assembly {Figure 2 (18) and (19)}
a compressor section {Figure 2 (12)},
a turbine section {Figure 2 (14)}, and
a combustor {Figure 2 (16)},
the first rotational assembly and second rotational assembly is configured for rotation about a rotational axis {Figure 2, the rotational axis is essentially defined by the shaft (13) and (19)},
the first rotational assembly includes a bladed compressor rotor for the compressor section {Figure 2 (12) implicitly uses a bladed compressor rotor as this is almost ubiquitous as the design for a gas turbine engine especially for aircraft propulsion; see MPEP 2112},
a bladed first turbine rotor for the turbine section {Figure 2 (12) implicitly uses a bladed turbine rotor as this is almost ubiquitous as the design for a gas turbine engine especially for aircraft propulsion; see MPEP 2112}, and
a first shaft interconnecting the bladed compressor rotor and the bladed first turbine rotor {Figure 2 (13) interconnects (12) and (14)},
the second rotational assembly includes a bladed second turbine rotor and a second shaft {Figure 2 (18) is a bladed second turbine rotor and (19) is a second shaft},
the second shaft drives rotation of the propulsor {Figure 2 (19) is coupled with the “To Drivetrain” shaft that rotates the propulsor}
the compressor section is connected to the air inlet and configured to direct a compressed air to the air inlet {Figure 2, see arrows which show air flow exiting (12) and are directed to “Engine Inlet Air”},
the combustor is connected to the exhaust outlet and configured to receive an exhaust gas from the exhaust outlet {Figure 2, see arrows which show air flow exiting 930) as “Engine Exhaust” then entering the combustor (16)}, and
the combustor is configured to direct a combustion gas through the turbine section to drive rotation of the bladed first turbine rotor {Figure 2, see arrows from (16) to (14); Column 4 lines 20-34}.
Huber does not disclose:
a first gearbox including a first gear assembly coupled with the propulsor (note that (20) is coupled to the drivetrain, but is not coupled to the engine output shaft as required by the subsequent limitation below)
the engine output shaft is coupled with the first gear assembly and configured to drive rotation of the propulsor through the first gear assembly;
the first shaft and second shaft are coupled with the gear assembly to drive rotation of the propulsor through the gear assembly
wherein the turbine section is disposed between the combustor and the compressor section
It is noted that Huber does disclose:
The engine output shaft is sends energy from an electric generator to drive the propulsor via electric motor {Figure 2, electric generator (34) sends power to electric motor (22) which drives the rotation of the drivetrain / propulsor}
Jones pertains to gas turbine engines and powertrain configurations. Jones teaches:
a first gearbox including a first gear assembly coupled with the load {Figure 3A, first gear assembly “Transmission” is coupled to the load / cooling fan}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a gear assembly to transfer energy as taught by Jones rather than the motor/generator configuration of Huber. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as both configurations are recognized as substitutes to transfer power from one shaft to another shaft {Jones [0020] and [0022]; see MPEP 2144.06 I}.
The combination of Huber and Jones therefore teaches:
the engine output shaft is coupled with the first gear assembly and configured to drive rotation of the propulsor through the first gear assembly {A first gear assembly based on the teachings of Jones in Figure 3A is coupled to the engine output shaft (32) which allows it the drive the propulsor which is on the shaft “To Drivetrain”. This first gear assembly replaces the electric motor and generator configuration (22)/(34) of Huber};
the second shaft is coupled with the gear assembly to drive rotation of the propulsor through the gear assembly {A first gear assembly based on the teachings of Jones in Figure 3A is coupled to the “To Drivetrain” shaft in Huber which allows it the drive the propulsor and means the second shaft is coupled with the gear assembly. This gear assembly replaces the electric motor and generator configuration (22)/(34) of Huber}.
Norris pertains to gas turbine engines. Norris teaches:
wherein the turbine section is disposed between the combustor and the compressor section {Figure 1 turbine (42) is disposed between the combustor (38) and the compressor (14)}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used reverse flow engine architecture as taught by Norris for the gas turbine engine architecture of the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, and LaTulipe. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as even though typical gas turbine engines have a flow path which general extends purely rearward, reverse-flow engines (with combustors between the compressor and turbine) are also well known alternative configurations of a gas turbine engine {Norris [0002]}.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber, Jones, and Norris as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Lemmers et al. (U.S Patent 10,850,860) hereinafter Lemmers.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Huber, Jones, and Norris teaches the engine assembly for an aircraft propulsion system of claim 17, but does not teach:
a variable speed drive (VSD) coupling the first rotational assembly to the gear assembly,
the VSD is configured to selectively apply a rotational force from the first rotational assembly to the gear assembly.
Lemmers pertains to internal combustion engines, turbines, compressors, and torque transfer configurations. Lemmers teaches:
A variable speed drive (VSD) coupling two shafts where rotational force can selectively be applied {Figure 2 (110) and (120) and connections (114)/(116)/(118) form a variable speed drive, (110) and (120); Column 7 lines 21-58}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a variable speed drive as taught by Lemmers for the system of the combination of Huber, Jones, and Norris to couple the first rotational assembly to the first gear assembly. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to be able to extract the additional power and send it to the propulsor in situations where the power extracted by the first turbine exceeds what is required to operate the first compressor. This configuration allows the first rotational assembly to sometimes be not connected to the propulsor as is the case in Huber, but also allows it to sometimes be connected to the propulsor when there is additional power that may be utilized. It is noted that this configuration still prevents the flow of power from reversing {Lemmers Column 7 lines 21-58}.
The combination of Huber, Jones, Norris, and Lemmers therefore teaches:
a variable speed drive (VSD) coupling the first rotational assembly to the gear assembly {The VSD as taught by Lemmers couples the first rotational assembly of Huber to the gear assembly as taught by Jones rather than the electric motor / generator (22)(34) of Huber in this drivetrain that the first shaft is connected to},
the VSD is configured to selectively apply a rotational force from the first rotational assembly to the gear assembly {Lemmers Figure 2 shows the situation where the VSD applies/transmits rotational force and Figure 3 shows the situation where the VSD (110)/(120) does not apply/transmit rotational force; Column 7 lines 21-58. The VSD connects the first rotational assembly to the gear assembly as described directly above}
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Huber, Jones, Norris, and Lemmers further teaches:
wherein the VSD includes a first pump, a second pump, and a conduit circuit connected the first pump and the second pump in fluid communication {Lemmers Figure 2 the VSD comprises (122) as a first pump, (124) as a second pump, and a conduit circuit (126)},
the first pump is coupled with the first rotational assembly, and the second pump is coupled with the gear assembly {Lemmers Figure 2 (122) is coupled with the first rotational assembly of Huber and Lemmers Figure 2 (124) is coupled with the first gear assembly as described in the rejection of claim 18}
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Huber, Jones, Norris, and Lemmers further teaches:
wherein one of the first pump or the second pump is a variable displacement pump and another of the first pump or the second pump is a fixed displacement pump {Figure 2 (122) is fixed displacement pump and (124) is a variable displacement pump.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber (U.S Patent 8,141,360) hereinafter Huber in view of Jones, Lemmers and Norris as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of LaTulipe et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20200298988) hereinafter LaTulipe
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, and Norris teaches the engine assembly of claim 12, but does not teach:
a heat exchanger connected in fluid communication between the compressor section and the air inlet {Figure 2 (128) is in fluid communication between the compressors section (224) and the air inlet which is the inlet to (202)}, and
the heat exchanger is configured to cool the compressed air directed from the compressor section to the air inlet {Figure 2 (128) cools the compressed air; [0041]}.
LaTulipe pertains to engines connected with compressors and turbines for driving fans. LaTulipe teaches:
a heat exchanger connected in fluid communication between the compressor section and the air inlet {Figure 2 (128) is in fluid communication between the compressors section (224) and the air inlet which is the inlet to (202)}, and
the heat exchanger is configured to cool the compressed air directed from the compressor section to the air inlet {Figure 2 (128) cools the compressed air; [0041]}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a heat exchanger in between the compressor section and the air inlet as taught by LaTulipe for the configuration of the combination of Huber, Jones, Lemmers, and Norris. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as cooled air is desired for the air being introduced into the engine {LaTulipe [0041]}.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745