DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on February 6, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN 108767085 A).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a light-emitting device with quantum dots, comprising: a light-emitting diode chip (1); a transparent barrier layer (3), disposed on the light-emitting diode chip; a quantum dot film (7), disposed on the transparent barrier layer, such that the light-emitting diode chip (1) is separated from the quantum dot film (7) by the transparent barrier layer (3); and a transparent protective layer (6), disposed on the quantum dot film (7), such that the quantum dot film (7) is encapsulated between the transparent barrier layer (3) and the transparent protective layer (6).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses a light-emitting device further comprising a base layer (2), configured to temporarily or permanently fix the light-emitting diode chip (1) on the base layer (2).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses a light-emitting device wherein a material of the transparent protective layer is a coating film made of an inorganic material (silicone glue, ¶[0019]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses a light-emitting device wherein the transparent protective layer has a multi-layer structure (5, 6; Fig. 2) formed by different materials.
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses a light-emitting device further comprising a bracket (2) comprising a bottom part and a side part encircling to an edge of the bottom part (Fig. 1), wherein an accommodating space is formed between the bottom part and the side part, and the light-emitting diode chip (1) is fixed at the bottom part; and the transparent barrier layer (3), the quantum dot film (7) and the transparent protective layer (6) are sequentially disposed on the light-emitting diode chip and located at the accommodating space (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses a light-emitting device further comprising a plurality of additional quantum dot films (4, Fig. 2) and a plurality of additional transparent protective layers (5, Fig. 2), disposed above the transparent barrier layer (3), wherein each of the additional quantum dot films (4) is encapsulated between two of the additional transparent protective layers (5, Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (WO 2018/099081 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a light-emitting device with quantum dots, comprising: a light-emitting diode chip (3); a transparent barrier layer (5), disposed on the light-emitting diode chip; a quantum dot film (8), disposed on the transparent barrier layer, such that the light-emitting diode chip (3) is separated from the quantum dot film (8) by the transparent barrier layer (5); and a transparent protective layer (9), disposed on the quantum dot film (8), such that the quantum dot film (8) is encapsulated between the transparent barrier layer (5) and the transparent protective layer (5).
Regarding claim 2, Gao discloses a light-emitting device further comprising a base layer (1), configured to temporarily or permanently fix the light-emitting diode chip (3) on the base layer (1).
Regarding claim 3, Gao discloses a light-emitting device wherein a material of each of the transparent barrier layer (Page 2, lines 10-11, 1st step), the quantum dot film (Page 2, lines 15-17, 4th step) and the transparent protective layer (Page 2, lines 23-24, 7th step) is a glue material. In regards to the limitation “capable of performing coating through dispensing and spray coating”, the limitation is directed to the method of manufacturing the layers, in view of an absent of a showing that the method imparts distinctive structural characteristics to the final product, the limitations directed to the method of manufacturing are not germane to the issue of patentability of the device.
Regarding claim 4, Gao discloses a light-emitting device wherein a material of the transparent protective layer is a coating film made of an inorganic material (silicone glue, Page 5, lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 6, Gao discloses a light-emitting device further comprising a bracket (1) comprising a bottom part and a side part encircling to an edge of the bottom part, wherein an accommodating space is formed between the bottom part and the side part, and the light-emitting diode chip (3) is fixed at the bottom part; and the transparent barrier layer (5), the quantum dot film (8) and the transparent protective layer (9) are sequentially disposed on the light-emitting diode chip and located at the accommodating space (Fig. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2010/0103648 A1) discloses a light emitting diode (LED) comprising a base including a cavity, an LED chip disposed on a bottom of the cavity and configured to generate a first light, and a light conversion layer, the light conversion layer including an upper substrate, a lower substrate and wavelength conversion particles.
Wang et al. (CN 112635640 A) discloses a quantum dot light emitting device, comprising: packaging substrate comprising a containing groove; a light emitting chip set within the containing groove; a luminous function layer set at the opening of the containing groove; wherein the luminous function layer comprises a transparent substrate and a quantum dot film layer combined with the transparent substrate, a transparent packaging layer, set on the outer surface of the light emitting function layer.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879