DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Regarding the objection of claim(s) 12 and 18 because of the following informalities: The claims recite “instructions is”, instead of “instructions are”. Appropriate correction has been made; therefore, the objection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments (Summary of pages 8-9, Examiner emphasis – Bold)
…Applicant argued that the combination of Richardson and Boss fails to disclose, teach, and/or suggest the amended features of claims 1, 8, and 13. Specifically, the combination of Richardson and Boss fails to disclose, teach, and/or suggest: "in response to identifying that the second device has in accordance with a determination, based at least in part arrived within the geographic area: on the device information, that the second device does not align with the mode of operation for in accordance with a determination that the second device is a first type the geographic area: of device, transmitting second instructions to the second device, wherein the second instructions include setting instructions based at least in part on the mode of operation for the geographic area and the device information;" or "in response to identifying that the second device has arrived.
Response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
See updated rejection of amended claim 1.
Furthermore, Boss, fig. 1, [0019;0021;0030] discloses a first type of device identified as a cell phone entering a censored zone and provides device profile information to a controller 50. In response to detecting based on the received profile information that the device is a cell phone, the controller 40 processes the device's profile by comparing it to the profile setting/operational mode of similar devices in the censored zone. If the profile setting does not meet the authorization level for the mode of operation of the censored zone 50 of this type of device, the controller 40 then outputs a control signal S to the sensors 30 based on the processed settings. The output from the controller 40 is used to change the mode of operation of the cell phone 20 to comply with the mode of operation required in the censored zone 50 for that type of detected in the censored zone. The output from the controller 40 is used to change the mode of operation of this type of device/cell phone 20 such that, the phone operating mode is changed into a silent mode as determined by the controller while it is in the censored zone 50. Therefore, the combination of Boss discloses "in response to identifying that the second device has in accordance with a determination, based at least in part arrived within the geographic area: on the device information, that the second device does not align with the mode of operation for in accordance with a determination that the second device is a first type the geographic area: of device, transmitting second instructions to the second device, wherein the second instructions include setting instructions based at least in part on the mode of operation for the geographic area and the device information;" Therefore, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose all of the laminations of the amended independent claims.
The rest of applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,3-4 and 6 – 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-4, 6-16, 18-20 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson et al. (US 2018/0348718 A1), in view of Boss et al. (US 2008/0176578 A1), further in view Maeng et al. (US 2020/0120199 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Richardson discloses a method (Richardson [Abstract] discloses a method for establishing a user state for each of the plurality of users corresponding to their location), comprising:
receiving, by a first device (fig. 1 – controller 102 receives notification of a state change from accessories), mode information that identifies a mode of operation for a plurality of devices (Fig. 1, [0030], a door lock 104, garage door system 106, light fixture 108, security camera 110, and thermostat 112 – State change information (On/Off)) in a geographical area (Home),
wherein the plurality of devices are connected to a network (Fig. 1- accessories connected to a smart home network – 100) (Richardson, figs. 1-3, [0033-0034] a protocol is provided to enable a notification mechanisms that allow accessory 112 (or other accessories) to selectively notify controller 102 in the event of a state change, thus providing the controller information that identifies a mode of operation of the accessories (e.g. On/Off) within the home, where the home defines the geographical area of interest. Fig. 2, [0039] controller 202(1) can be a home LAN connecting the controller and accessories 204 and coordinator 210); and
wherein the mode information includes a triggering action (i.e., user leaves home (no one is home)) environment or returns (Home is occupied or not empty); [0049]) which causes the plurality of devices to enter the mode (off electronic device 250 or lighting) of operation for the geographical area (Home) (Richardson fig. 3D, [0026; 0046; 0055] discloses a geo-fence (“virtual boundary” or “boundary” – e.g. – Home/room) which can be a virtual fence that a user can configure on their GPS-enabled smart device to trigger an action when the smart device (or other participating device) crosses the geo-fence. In this instance, the home operates in two modes, that is, either the home is empty or occupied. Therefore, a user entering the home is a trigger event that informs the controller that the operation mode of the geo-fence/home has changed. In response to the change in the operational mode of the geo-fence/home, the controller sends control signal to change the operational mode (e.g., turn on/off, change operational setting, etc.) of the accessories (e.g., lights, door locks, thermostat) in the home);
determining, by the first device (control device -102), first instructions to transmit to the plurality of devices upon entering the mode of operation (Richardson, fig. 3A – [0049] a smart light (accessory device 204(1)) is configured to turn on and off when a mobile device (controller 202(1)) crosses a geo-fence trigger. For example, when a user (resident) 340(1) leaves home environment 206 330 (e.g., by vehicle) with controller 202(1) and crosses geo-fence 330 (i.e., user 340(1) leaves the bounded region), indicating “no one is home” or “the home is empty”, a boundary-crossing signal may be sent from controller 202(1) to coordinator 210 that causes accessory 204(1) to automatically switch from an “on” state to an “off” state (or remain in an “off” state if it was already turned off));
receiving, by the first device (102), an indication of an occurrence of the triggering action (crossing a geo-fence) (Richardson, fig. 3A – [0049] when a user (resident) 340(1) leaves home environment 206 330 (e.g., by vehicle) with controller 202(1) and crosses geo-fence 330 (i.e., user 340(1) leaves the bounded region), a boundary-crossing signal may be sent from controller 202(1) to coordinator 210 that causes accessory 204(1) to automatically switch from an “on” state to an “off” state (or remain in an “off” state if it was already turned off)));
transmitting, (sending control to switch the state of an accessary from “on” to “off”), by the first device (102) and in response to receiving the indication, the first instructions to the plurality of devices (Richardson, fig. 3A – [0049] when a user (resident) 340(1) leaves home environment 206 330 (e.g., by vehicle) with controller 202(1) and crosses geo-fence 330 (i.e., user 340(1) leaves the bounded region), a boundary-crossing signal may be sent from controller 202(1) to coordinator 210 that causes accessory 204(1) to automatically switch from an “on” state to an “off” state (or remain in an “off” state if it was already turned off))).
Richardson did not explicitly disclose identifying, by the first device, that a second device has arrived within the geographic area; in response to identifying that the second device has arrived within the geographic area: transmitting, by the first device to the second device, a request for device information; receiving, by the first device from the second device, the device information; in accordance with a determination, based at least in part on the device information, that the second device does not align with the mode of operation for the geographic area, in accordance with a determination that the second device is a first type of device, transmitting, by the first device, second instructions to the second device, wherein the second instructions include setting instructions based at least in part on the mode of operation for the geographic area and the device information; and in accordance with a determination that the second device is a second type of device, transmitting, by the first device, third instructions to the second device, wherein the third instructions are different from the second instructions, wherein the third instructions include setting instructions based at least in part on the mode of operation for the geographic area and the device information, and wherein the second type of device is different from the first type of device.
Boss discloses identifying (sensor 30 – transmit a signal to controller 40), by the first device (controller 40), that a second device (cell phone 20) has arrived within the geographic area (censored zone 50) (Boss, fig. 1, [0019;0021;0030] When a person(s) or user(s) 10 having a pervasive device(s) 20, such as a cellular phone, enters a censored zone 50, such as a conference room, sensor(s) 30 within the zone 50 detect the presence of the device 20 and transmit a signal S containing the device's profile to the controller 40);
in response to identifying (Signal S indicating presence of a cell phone in the censored zone 50) that the second device (cell phone) has arrived within the geographic area (cell phone enters censored zone 50; fig. 1):
transmitting, by the first device (controller 40) to the second device (cell phone 20), a request for device information (device profile) (Boss, fig. 1, [0019;0021;0030] in response to cell phone 20 being detected by sensor 30 within a censored zone 50, a signal S at the controller 40, where the signal S indicates the detection of the presence of the cell phone 20 in the censored zone 50, the controller 40 communicate with the cell phone 20 through the sensor 30 to request and obtain a profile for the cell phone 20 when cell phone 20 is new);
in accordance with a determination that the second device is a first type (cell phone) of device (cell phone/device profile) (Boss, fig. 1, [0019;0021;0030] in response determination that the type of device that just entered the censored zone 50 is a cell phone, the controller 40 receives the profile of the cell phone 20/device that just entered the censored zone 50, the controller 40 processes the device's profile by comparing it to the profile setting of the controller 40 as well as the profiles of other present devices),
transmitting, by the first device, second instructions to the second device, wherein the second instructions include setting instructions based at least in part on the mode of operation for the geographic area and the device information (Boss, fig. 1, [0019;0021;0030] in response to receiving the profile of the cell phone 20/device that just entered the censored zone 50, the controller 40 processes the device's profile by comparing it to the profile setting of the controller 40 as well as the profiles of other present devices. If the profile setting does not meet the authorization level for the mode of operation of the censored zone 50, the controller 40 then outputs a control signal S to the sensors 30 based on the processed settings. The output from the controller 40 is used to change the mode of operation of the cell phone 20 to comply with the mode of operation required in the censored zone 50. The output from the controller 40 is used to change the mode of operation of the cell phone 20 such that, the phone operating mode is changed into a silent mode as determined by the controller while it is in the censored zone 50); and
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Richardson and Boss because these teachings are from the same field of endeavor with respect to disclosing techniques for implementing and controlling the operation mode of mobile devices in a controlled environment/geo-fence.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the strategies by Boss into the invention of Richardson. The motivation would have been to enable the use of a device audio profile to control the mode of operation of the mobile device to comply with a predefined authorized operating level/mode based on the device profile, Boss, [0021].
Boss generally discloses the concept/ability to modify the operational mode of a device in a censored zone based on the type of the device by modifying an audio profile of different types of pervasive devices.
However, Richardson and Boss did not explicitly disclose “determination that the second device is a second type of device”, in accordance with a determination that the second device is a second type of device, transmitting, by the first device, third instructions to the second device, wherein the third instructions are different from the second instructions, wherein the third instructions include setting instructions based at least in part on the mode of operation for the geographic area and the device information, and wherein the second type of device is different from the first type of device.
Maeng discloses “determination that the second device is a second type of device” (Maeng [0123] determines that the second device may be a wearable device such as a smartwatch, a smart glass and a head mounted display (HMD)), etc.).
Maeng further discloses in accordance with a determination that the second device (Smartwatch) is a second type of device (wearable smart device), (Maeng [0312] when a surrounding situation of a current position of the wearable device such as a smartwatch is recognized as in a library, the operational/notification mode of the smartwatch can be set to vibration),
transmitting, by the first device (AI server 20 – Controller), third instructions (control command to AI device/smartwatch) to the second device (wearable device/smartwatch) (Maeng, fig. 1 [0065-0066;0123] an AI server 20 receives input data including positional data from AI devices including a wearable device (smartwatch, a smart glass and a head mounted display (HMD)). Based on inferred positional data received as input from a wearable device such as a wearable smartwatch, the AI server 20 may generate and transmit a response such as a control command to change the operational mode of the AI device/smart wearable watch),
wherein the third instructions (setting the operational mode of the wearable smartwatch to vibration) are different from the second instructions (silent mode of operation for a cell phone), wherein the third instructions include setting instructions based at least in part on the mode of operation for the geographic area and the device information (Maeng, fig. 1, table 1, [0065-0066; 0123; 0312] an AI server 20 receives input data including positional data from AI devices including a wearable device (smartwatch, a smart glass and a head mounted display (HMD)). Based on inferred positional data received as input from a wearable device such as a wearable smartwatch indicating that the wearable device is in a library, the AI server 20 may generate and transmit a response such as a control command to change the operational mode of the AI device/smart wearable watch to vibration. That is, all notification from the wearable smartwatch while the watch is in the library, will come in form of a vibration on the watch), and
wherein the second type (wearable device/smartwatch) of device is different from the first type (mobile/cell phone) of device (Maeng, [0312] when a surrounding situation of a current position of the smartphone is recognized as a library, a sound can be set to silence, a vibration may not be set, and screen brightness may not be adjusted and a screen may not be also adjusted. In this case, similarly, when the user of the smartphone is using a wearable device, a vibration setting can be set only to the wearable device).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Richardson, Boss and Maeng, because these teachings are from the same field of endeavor with respect to disclosing techniques for implementing and controlling the operation mode of mobile devices in a controlled environment/geo-fence).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the strategies by Maeng into the invention of Richardson and Boss. The motivation would have been to enable customization of notification mode of mobile devices in a controlled environment based on the type of the mobile device, Maeng, [0312].
Regarding claim 3, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first device (102) is a resident device (Richardson, fig. 2, [0036; 0049] discloses each controller 202 can be an electronic device (e.g., smart phone, smart wearable, etc.) owned and/or operated by a user who frequents environment 206 (e.g., a resident of the home or a regular visitor to the home). Controllers 202 can each be similar to controller 102 of FIG. 1, and accessories 204 can be similar to various accessories shown in FIG. 1. ).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the second device is a mobile device (cell phone 20) (Boss, fig. 1, [0019;0021;0030] When a person(s) or user(s) 10 having a pervasive device(s) 20, such as a cellular phone, enters a censored zone 50, such as a conference room, sensor(s) 30 within the zone 50 detect the presence of the device 20 and transmit a signal S containing the device's profile to the controller 40).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of devices comprises at least one of an accessory or a controller (Richardson [0030] discloses accessory devices to include, but are not limited to, a door lock 104, garage door system 106, light fixture 108, security camera 110, and thermostat 112. The controller 102 can communicate directly with an accessory; for instance, controller 102 is shown communicating directly with door lock 104 and garage door system 106. In other instances, controller 102 can communicate through an intermediary device).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the geographic area comprises a home (Richardson, fig. 3E, [0049, 0058] illustrates a geo-fence-triggered home automation system 300(5) configured for multiple users with different notification settings. Home automation system 300(5) can include home environment 206, coordinator 210 stationed within home environment 206, user 340(1) and corresponding controller 202(1) entering geo-fenced area 330, user 340(2) and corresponding controller 202(2) entering geo-fenced area 330 (corresponding to user 340(2)), and various accessory devices. Setting different levels of notification access for different users can be useful for managing privacy).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Richardson discloses a controller device (Richardson, fig. 1 discloses each controller 202 can be an electronic device (e.g., smart phone, smart wearable, etc.) owned and/or operated by a user who frequents environment 206 (e.g., a resident of the home or a regular visitor to the home). Controllers 202 can each be similar to controller 102 of FIG. 1, and accessories 204 can be similar to various accessories shown in FIG. 1), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors in communication with the one or more memories and configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to cause the controller device to (Richardson, [0114] Processing subsystem 930 can include, e.g., one or more single-core or multi-core microprocessors and/or microcontrollers executing program code to perform various functions associated with accessory 900. For example, processing subsystem 930 can implement various processes (or portions thereof) described above as being implemented by an accessory, e.g., by executing program code stored in storage device 928):
The rest of the limitations of claim 8 are rejected with rational similar to that of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the controller device of claim 8, disclose wherein the geographic area comprises a room within a home (Richardson [0090] discloses a user state within a location can simply indicate whether a user is “home” (at the specified location) or “away” (not at the specified location). The specified location can be a home, a portion of a home (e.g., a room, backyard, kitchen, etc.), an area defined by one or more geo-fenced areas (e.g., geo-fence 330), or the like).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the controller device of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine third setting information that identifies at least one setting for a third device, the third device being outside the geographic area (Controllers 202(2) and 202(3)), the third device connected to the network (connected to network 208)(McLaughlin, [0039]; fig. 2, Controllers 202(2) and 202(3) are currently located outside local environment 206 but are to controlled accessories connected to a communication network 208 (e.g., the Internet); such controllers are said to be “remote” from accessories 204 and coordinator 210 and are used to determine settings of accessories outside of their geographic area. It is to be understood that controllers 202 can be mobile devices that are sometimes within local environment 206 and sometimes outside local environment 206).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the controller device of claim 8, wherein the geographic area is defined by a geofence (Richardson, fig. 4, [0061] A “geofence” can be defined relative to the location of local environment 206, e.g., within half a mile, within 100 feet, etc. Controllers 202 (or other user devices) that have the ability to determine their location (e.g., using Global Positioning Service (GPS) receivers or the like) can detect when they enter or leave the geo-fence. Controller 202 can test for a triggering condition in response to detecting that it has entered or left the geofence).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the controller device of claim 8, wherein the first instructions are based at least in part on one or more respective states (on/off, high or low temperatures) for one or more device characteristics of the plurality of devices (door lock 104, garage door system 106, light fixture 108, security camera 110, and thermostat 112) (Richardson [0033; 0055] discloses a protocol defined for message formats for controller 102 to send command-and-control messages (“requests” or “control signals”) to accessory 112 (or other accessories) and for accessory 112 to send response messages to controller 102. The command-and-control messages can allow controller 102 to interrogate the current state of accessory characteristics and in some instances to modify the characteristics (e.g., modifying the power characteristic can turn an accessory off or on. User 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like))).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Richardson discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first controller device, cause the first controller device to perform operations (Richardson [0125] discloses non-transitory readable media encoded with the program code may be packaged with a compatible electronic device, or the program code may be provided separately from electronic devices (e.g., via Internet download or as a separately packaged computer-readable storage medium).) comprising:
The rest of the limitations of claim 13 are rejected with rational similar to that of claim 8.
Regarding claim 14, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein the setting instructions are further based at least in part on a type (Thermostat) of the second device (Accessory – Thermostat) (Richardson [0093] discloses a first temperature setting on a thermostat if no one is home (e.g., a first presence value), setting a second temperature if at least one user is home (e.g., the second or third presence value), turning off certain lights if no one is home, switching a security system to an “away” mode when no one is home, switching the security system to “home” mode when one or more users are determined to be at home and it is evening time, etc.).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein the second device is a tablet (Richardson, fig. 1, [0029] discloses a base station that communicates with accessories and that can be installed in a fixed location in environment 100, and one or more mobile remote control stations (e.g., a handheld or wearable device such as a mobile phone, tablet computer, smart watch, eyeglasses, etc.) that provide a user interface and communicate with the base station to effect control over accessories).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein the setting instructions are further based at least in part on a category of the second device (Richardson [0028;0059] where an accessory network can be a group of accessories that are commonly controlled by the same controller (or set of controllers such as a controller network. “Service groups” can be implemented in home environment 206 as a lookup table or other suitable database for controlling multiple accessories in response to a single trigger event (e.g., controller 202(1) entering/leaving geo-fenced area 330).
The motivation is similar to that of claim 13.
Regarding claim 18, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein the second instructions are based at least in part on a duration parameter that identifies a time after which the setting information will lapse (Richardson, [0056;0096;100] access to accessory 204(5) may be further limited to a specific day (e.g., only on every other Monday) and/or a specific time of day (e.g., between the hours of 1 PM to 5 PM). Thus, the gardener is granted automatic access to the backyard, but cannot edit the access and control other parameters of home automation system 300(4)).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 13.
Regarding claim 19, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein the second instructions (Controller 40 output sent to control operational mode of the cell phone 20) are based at least in part on a location parameter (conference room) that identifies locations where the second device (cell phone 20) is to implement the setting information (silent mode) (Boss, fig. 1, [0019;0021;0030] in response to receiving the profile of the cell phone 20/device that just entered the censored zone 50 such as a conference room, the controller 40 processes the device's profile by comparing it to the profile setting of the controller 40 as well as the profiles of other present devices. If the profile setting does not meet the authorization level for the mode of operation of the censored zone 50, the controller 40 then outputs a control signal S to the sensors 30 that is used to control the operating mode of the cell phone based on the processed settings. The output from the controller 40 is used to change the mode of operation of the cell phone 20 such that, the phone operating mode is changed into a silent mode as determined by the controller while it is in the censored zone 50).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 13.
Regarding claim 20, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from the second device (cell phone 20), acceptance information indicating that the second device has adjusted one or more settings (cell operation mode is changed to silent or vibration) of the second device according to the setting information (Boss, fig. 1, [0019;0021;0030] in response to receiving the profile of the cell phone 20/device that just entered the censored zone 50 such as a conference room, the controller 40 processes the device's profile by comparing it to the profile setting of the controller 40 as well as the profiles of other present devices. If the profile setting does not meet the authorization level for the mode of operation of the censored zone 50, the controller 40 then outputs a control signal S to the sensors 30 that is used to control the operating mode of the cell phone based on the processed settings. The output from the controller 40 is used to change the mode of operation of the cell phone 20 such that, the phone operating mode is changed into a silent or vibration mode as determined by the controller while it is in the censored zone 50. The actual changing of the operating mode of the cell phone to silent or vibration indicates the acceptance of the control information from the controller 40 by the cell phone 20).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 19.
Regarding claim 23, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the setting instructions include instructions to adjust settings of the second device to align the second device (cell phone 20) with the mode of operation (silent or vibration) for the geographic area (censored zone 50) (Boss, fig. 1, [0019;0021;0030] in response to receiving the profile of the cell phone 20/device that just entered the censored zone 50 such as a conference room, the controller 40 processes the device's profile by comparing it to the profile setting of the controller 40 as well as the profiles of other present devices. If the profile setting does not meet the authorization level for the mode of operation of the censored zone 50, the controller 40 then outputs a control signal S to the sensors 30 that is used to control the operating mode of the cell phone based on the processed settings. The output from the controller 40 is used to change the mode of operation of the cell phone 20 such that, the phone operating mode is changed into a silent or vibration mode as determined by the controller while it is in the censored zone 50).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 1.
Claim(s) 21 and 22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson et al. (US 2018/0348718 A1), in view of Boss et al. (US 2008/0176578 A1), Maeng et al. (US 2020/0120199 A1), further in view of Malhotra (US 9,396,599 B1).
Regarding claim 21, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the method of claim 1, but did not explicitly disclose wherein the second instructions are configured to cause the second device to display a prompt that suggests that at least one setting of the second device be changed to correspond to the mode of operation.
Malhotra discloses wherein the second instructions (1300) are configured to cause the second device (client device 504) to display a prompt that suggests that at least one setting (1302-1302-1,2 &3, 1310-1312- &1312-2) of the second device be changed to correspond to the mode of operation (unlock or lock) (Malhotra, figs. 5 & 13A-B, col. 17, 34-42, discloses a smart home environment 100 which includes client devices 504, with a GUI and notification display 1300 used to display prompt indicating a change the current state of a premises. A current premises mode, including an armed state and a disarmed state. A current state of the lock device is determined, and if the current state and the target state of the lock device are not the same, instructions are provided to the lock device based on the target state as displayed on the client device 504 – 1302-1302-2 & 3).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Richardson, Boss, Maeng and Malhotra because these teachings are from the same field of endeavor with respect to disclosing techniques for implementing and controlling IOT devices.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the strategies by Malhotra into the invention of Richardson, Boss and Maeng . The motivation among many other factors would have been to change the mode of operation of a client/second device based on the number of users within a premises where it operates, Malhotra, [Abstract].
Regarding claim 22, Richardson, Boss and Maeng disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, but did not explicitly disclose wherein the second instructions are configured to cause the second device to display a prompt that suggests that at least one setting of the second device be changed to correspond to the mode of operation.
Malhotra discloses wherein the second instructions (1300) are configured to cause the second device (client device 504) to display a prompt that suggests that at least one setting (1302-1302-1,2 &3, 1310-1312- &1312-2) of the second device be changed to correspond to the mode of operation (unlock or lock) (Malhotra, figs. 5 & 13A-B, col. 17, 34-42, discloses a smart home environment 100 which includes client devices 504, with a GUI and notification display 1300 used to display prompt indicating a change the current state of a premises. A current premises mode, including an armed state and a disarmed state. A current state of the lock device is determined, and if the current state and the target state of the lock device are not the same, instructions are provided to the lock device based on the target state as displayed on the client device 504 – 1302-1302-2 & 3).
The motivation to combine is similar to that of claim 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The following publications show the state of the art related to management of clients in a smart home.
Tanaka et al. (US 2017/0010664 A1)
Usher et al. (US 2015/0131814 A1)
/D.F.D/ Examiner, Art Unit 2451
/Chris Parry/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2451