DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-9 and 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/28/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the sheet numbering is in the top margin of sheets 1-10. These numbers must be placed in the middle of the top of the sheet, but not in the margin. Each sheet must include a top margin of at least 1 inch, a left side margin of at least 1 inch, a right side margin of at least 5/8 inch, and a bottom margin of at least 3/8 inch. One of the shorter sides of the sheet is regarded as its top.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0007908 A1) (hereinafter Wei).
Regarding claim 1, Wei discloses a wireless communication method (Paragraph 0001 discloses the present disclosure relates to communications devices, infrastructure equipment and methods for the transmission of data in a wireless communications network using relay devices), comprising:
when a condition for releasing paging related configuration is satisfied, releasing, by a relay terminal, a paging related configuration of a remote terminal (Figure 6 and 7 and paragraphs 0089 and 0090 disclose the old base station 201 may transmit a Release PC5 indication 702 to the old (first) relay UE 406, in response to receiving (at step S564) the Retrieve UE Context Request 508. The Release PC5 indication 702 indicates that the first communications device (remote UE) 204 is no longer obtaining service via the old relay UE 406. In response to receiving the Release PC5 indication 702, the old relay 406 may release the sidelink (e.g. PC5) connection at step S756. A relay device providing a relay functionality to a remote device monitors paging opportunities in accordance with a schedule of paging opportunities associated with the remote device, whereby paging messages destined for the remote device may be transmitted by the serving base station in accordance with the schedule); and
stopping, by the relay terminal, monitoring a paging message for the remote terminal and/or stopping forwarding the paging message to the remote terminal (Figure 6 and 7 and paragraph 0090 discloses in response to receiving the Release PC5 indication 702, the old relay UE 406 may cease monitoring paging occasions according to the schedule associated with the remote communications device 204 in the first cell).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Wei further discloses wherein the condition for releasing paging related configuration comprises at least one of: the relay terminal has received an indication of releasing paging related configuration; or the remote terminal is in a connected state (Figure 6 and 7 and paragraph 008 disclose the old base station 201 may transmit a Release PC5 indication 702 to the old (first) relay UE 406, in response to receiving (at step S564) the Retrieve UE Context Request 508. The Release PC5 indication 702 indicates that the first communications device (remote UE) 204 is no longer obtaining service via the old relay UE 406. in response to receiving the Release PC5 indication 702, the old relay 406 may release the sidelink (e.g. PC5) connection at step S756).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Wei further discloses wherein the indication of releasing paging related configuration is from the remote device or the network device (Figure 6 and 7 and paragraph 008 disclose the old base station 201 may transmit a Release PC5 indication 702 to the old (first) relay UE 406, in response to receiving (at step S564) the Retrieve UE Context Request 508. The Release PC5 indication 702 indicates that the first communications device (remote UE) 204 is no longer obtaining service via the old relay UE 406. in response to receiving the Release PC5 indication 702, the old relay 406 may release the sidelink (e.g. PC5) connection at step S756).
Regarding claim 10, Wei discloses a relay terminal, comprising a processor and a memory configured to store a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to perform a wireless communication method (Figure 3 and paragraphs 0030 and 0034 disclose a second communications device 404. The controllers 280, 290 may be configured to carry out instructions which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory. The processing steps described herein may be carried out by, for example, a microprocessor in conjunction with a random-access memory, which may be non-volatile memory, operating according to instructions stored on a computer readable medium) comprising:
when a condition for releasing paging related configuration is satisfied, releasing a paging related configuration of a remote terminal (Figure 6 and 7 and paragraphs 0089 and 0090 disclose the old base station 201 may transmit a Release PC5 indication 702 to the old (first) relay UE 406, in response to receiving (at step S564) the Retrieve UE Context Request 508. The Release PC5 indication 702 indicates that the first communications device (remote UE) 204 is no longer obtaining service via the old relay UE 406. in response to receiving the Release PC5 indication 702, the old relay 406 may release the sidelink (e.g. PC5) connection at step S756. A relay device providing a relay functionality to a remote device monitors paging opportunities in accordance with a schedule of paging opportunities associated with the remote device, whereby paging messages destined for the remote device may be transmitted by the serving base station in accordance with the schedule); and
stopping monitoring a paging message for the remote terminal and/or stopping forwarding the paging message to the remote terminal (Figure 6 and 7 and paragraph 0090 discloses in response to receiving the Release PC5 indication 702, the old relay UE 406 may cease monitoring paging occasions according to the schedule associated with the remote communications device 204 in the first cell).
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, Wei further discloses wherein the condition for releasing paging related configuration comprises at least one of: the relay terminal has received an indication of releasing paging related configuration; or the remote terminal is in a connected state (Figure 6 and 7 and paragraph 008 disclose the old base station 201 may transmit a Release PC5 indication 702 to the old (first) relay UE 406, in response to receiving (at step S564) the Retrieve UE Context Request 508. The Release PC5 indication 702 indicates that the first communications device (remote UE) 204 is no longer obtaining service via the old relay UE 406. in response to receiving the Release PC5 indication 702, the old relay 406 may release the sidelink (e.g. PC5) connection at step S756).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 11 above, Wei further discloses wherein the indication of releasing paging related configuration is from the remote device or the network device (Figure 6 and 7 and paragraph 008 disclose the old base station 201 may transmit a Release PC5 indication 702 to the old (first) relay UE 406, in response to receiving (at step S564) the Retrieve UE Context Request 508. The Release PC5 indication 702 indicates that the first communications device (remote UE) 204 is no longer obtaining service via the old relay UE 406. in response to receiving the Release PC5 indication 702, the old relay 406 may release the sidelink (e.g. PC5) connection at step S756).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0057203 A1) (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, Wei discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the indication of releasing paging related configuration is carried in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.
In analogous art, Wu discloses wherein the indication of releasing paging related configuration is carried in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Figure 3 and paragraphs 0037, 0046, and 0050 disclose UE 301B may function as a relay such that an RRC connection can be established between UE 301A and BS 302. In operation 323, BS 302 may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message (another RRC reconfiguration message) to UE 301B. The another RRC reconfiguration message may indicate a release of a remote UE (e.g., UE 301A) which accesses BS 302 via UE 301B, the corresponding configuration associated with UE 301A (e.g., bearer mapping configuration), or both. In response to the another RRC reconfiguration message, UE 301B may release the PC5 RRC connection (e.g., including the corresponding PC5 configuration associated with UE 301A) between UE 301A and UE 301B).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate an RRC configuration message indicating a release of a remote UE, as described in Wu, with in response to receiving a Release PC5 indication, a relay releasing a sidelink (e.g. PC5) connection , as described in Wei, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining an RRC configuration message indicating a release of a remote UE of Wu with in response to receiving a Release PC5 indication, a relay releasing a sidelink (e.g. PC5) connection of Wei was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Wei and Wu to obtain the invention as specified in claims 4 and 13.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, Wei discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the indication of releasing paging related configuration is carried in a RRC reconfiguration signaling (Figure 3 and paragraphs 0037, 0046, and 0050 disclose UE 301B may function as a relay such that an RRC connection can be established between UE 301A and BS 302. In operation 323, BS 302 may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message (another RRC reconfiguration message) to UE 301B. The another RRC reconfiguration message may indicate a release of a remote UE (e.g., UE 301A) which accesses BS 302 via UE 301B, the corresponding configuration associated with UE 301A (e.g., bearer mapping configuration), or both. In response to the another RRC reconfiguration message, UE 301B may release the PC5 RRC connection (e.g., including the corresponding PC5 configuration associated with UE 301A) between UE 301A and UE 301B).
In analogous art, Wu discloses wherein the indication of releasing paging related configuration is carried in a RRC reconfiguration signaling (Figure 3 and paragraphs 0037, 0046, and 0050 disclose UE 301B may function as a relay such that an RRC connection can be established between UE 301A and BS 302. In operation 323, BS 302 may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message (another RRC reconfiguration message) to UE 301B. The another RRC reconfiguration message may indicate a release of a remote UE (e.g., UE 301A) which accesses BS 302 via UE 301B, the corresponding configuration associated with UE 301A (e.g., bearer mapping configuration), or both. In response to the another RRC reconfiguration message, UE 301B may release the PC5 RRC connection (e.g., including the corresponding PC5 configuration associated with UE 301A) between UE 301A and UE 301B).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate an RRC configuration message indicating a release of a remote UE, as described in Wu, with in response to receiving a Release PC5 indication, a relay releasing a sidelink (e.g. PC5) connection , as described in Wei, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining an RRC configuration message indicating a release of a remote UE of Wu with in response to receiving a Release PC5 indication, a relay releasing a sidelink (e.g. PC5) connection of Wei was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Wei and Wu to obtain the invention as specified in claims 5 and 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0314569 A1) discloses relay node interface related layer 2 measurements and relay node handling in network load balancing;
Tamaki et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0183971 A1) discloses systems and/or methods for providing relay mobility;
Baek et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0315057 A1) discloses a method for discovering and selecting relay user equipment in communication system;
Agiwal et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0132464 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving a signal in the wireless communication system;
Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0159776 A1) discloses a communication method, SLRB establishment method, and communications apparatus;
Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0287114 A1) discloses messaging for unmanned aerial vehicle sidelink communications;
Tseng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0346180 A1) discloses methods and apparatus for partial sensing under sidelink discontinuous reception mechanisms;
Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0093649 A1) discloses a communication method and apparatus;
Back et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0073989 A1) discloses a method and device for processing state transition in wireless communication system;
Freda et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0098815 A1) discloses determining whether an inactive relay WTRU may indeed serve a network-initiated connection at a remote served WTRU;
Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0187963 A1) discloses dynamic user plane management;
Kang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0214848 A1) discloses a method and device for managing connection mode mobility of remote terminal through relay terminal in wireless communication system; and
Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0244509 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for system information acquisition.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642