Response to Arguments
35 USC 101
In response to Applicant’s argument the combination of limitations is not directed to a mental process, the Examiner respectfully submits determining whether the user input targets the first internal space or the second internal space involve opinion judgment, or observation. The additional limitations of receiving a user input to the zone control panel and controlling a thermoset to display a first parameter represent insignificant extra solution activity. Applicant’s arguments construe the insignificant extra solution activity as the Examiner’s position these represent mental processes. The Examiner submits the mental process is the determining steps that are not meaningfully limited by the inclusion of general thermostat components and display functions. The general combination of limitations does not reflect the degree of improvement in light of Applicant’s specification, para. 0029. Moreover, the applied prior art teaches the well-understood functions of remotely displaying other thermostat parameters responsive to user selecting a target thermostat. The claim language generally recites the equivalent functions. It is the insignificant extra-solution activity of receiving user input; displaying target parameters; and including multiple thermostats that represent well-understood HVAC components. A display is controlled to display desired data, the prior art teaches the desired data as that corresponding to remote thermostats. The inclusion of a display is well known in thermostat and site controllers, see DYESS, 0006 e.g. “Local monitoring and control can be performed in several ways. In some systems, the site controller has a display that shows the status and other data associated with all of the energy management equipment. To make a change or to view status and data, an individual must be present at the location of the central site controller. However, it is often difficult to find a single location for the controller/display that allows convenient access by personnel from each zone. In the case of lighting control, many systems employ electromechanical switches and status indicators. To override a lighting group, a switch would be pressed or pushed and the state of the group would change. An indicator would reflect the changed status accordingly”)
35 USC 103
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The Examiner modified the site controller of DYESS to integrate the display functions of Nelson for enabling a user to remotely access second and/or thermostats for displaying and modifying the received thermostat parameters. While DYESS discusses site controller as “it does not need its own touch screen display, the site controller is simplified and its cost lowered,” this statement does not undermine why one of ordinary skill in the art would not modify the site controller display to integrate the remote access functions of Nelson. DYESS expressly teaches site controllers comprise a display but contemplates alternative, cost effective site controllers. The inventive concept of DYESS is not directed to simplified, cost effective site controllers but rather the control algorithms employed in cooperation with distributed thermostats. Moreover, a simplified site controller without a display may be considered less than optimal in terms of cost, but this statement alone does not vitiate the fact DYESS disclosed site controllers having displays or that one of ordinary skill in the art would identify the need for a display to facilitate the remote access function of Nelson, See also Depuy Spine, Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 567 F.3d 1314, 1326, 90 USPQ2d 1865, 1873 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“An inference of nonobviousness is especially strong where the prior art’s teachings undermine the very reason being proffered as to why a person of ordinary skill would have combined the known elements.”) and Allergan, Inc. v. Sandoz Inc., 796 F.3d 1293, 1305, 115 USPQ2d 2012, 2019 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (The prior art taught away from use of 200 ppm benzalkonium chloride (“BAK”), as claimed, teaching “that BAK should be minimized in ophthalmic formulations to avoid safety problems”.), see also “A reference is no less anticipatory if, after disclosing the invention, the reference then disparages it. The question whether a reference “teaches away” from the invention is inapplicable to an anticipation analysis. Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (The prior art was held to anticipate the claims even though it taught away from the claimed invention. “The fact that a modem with a single carrier data signal is shown to be less than optimal does not vitiate the fact that it is disclosed.”).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2,4-6,8,10-13, 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11754306.. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘306 teaches the equivalent limitations as described, infra table.
Claims 3, 7, 9, 14, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11754306 in view of USPN 9222693 .
‘306 teaches a display but not a touch screen display, fan, or set-point. ‘693 teaches a touch screen display, fan, and set-point. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of ‘693, a touch screen display, to the teachings of ‘306, a display interface, would achieve an expected and predictable result using known methods.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11754306 in view of Waddell (USPN 8564924)
‘306 does not teach a common heat exchanger.. Waddell teaches the common heat exchanger (Waddell Figure 1A, Col 3 lines 21-32 e.g. see shared heat exchange amongst multiple conduits)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Waddell for using a common heat exchanger for multiple conduit filtration to the teachings of’306 controlling zone conditions, would achieve an expected and predictable result of improving air treatment as described, summary of invention.
USPN 11754306
Application 18/367357
1. A heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system comprising:
first equipment configured to facilitate supplying first temperature controlled air to a first internal space within a building serviced by the HVAC system, wherein the first equipment comprises a first zone thermostat having a first interface configured to display a first parameter of the first equipment or the first temperature controlled air;
second equipment separate from the first equipment and configured to facilitate supplying second temperature controlled air to a second internal space within the building serviced by the HVAC system, wherein the second equipment comprises a second zone thermostat separate from the first zone thermostat and having a second interface separate from the first interface, wherein the second interface is configured to display a second parameter of the second equipment or the second temperature controlled air; and
a zone control panel separate from the first zone thermostat and the second zone thermostat, wherein the zone control panel is communicatively coupled to the first equipment and the second equipment and programmed to control operational aspects of the first equipment and the second equipment, wherein the zone control panel comprises:
an electronic display separate from the first interface and the second interface; and
a microcontroller communicatively coupled to the electronic display, wherein the microcontroller is programmed to:
receive a user input entered to the zone control panel;
determine, based on the user input, a device targeted by the user input;
determine whether the device targeted by the user input belongs to the first equipment or the second equipment; and
in response to determining that the device targeted by the user input belongs to the first equipment, instruct the electronic display of the zone control panel to reproduce aspects of the first interface of the first zone thermostat by displaying on the electronic display a graphical user interface illustrating the first parameter.
2. The HVAC system of claim 1, wherein the microcontroller is programmed to:
receive an additional user input entered via the zone control panel;
determine, based on the additional user input, an additional device targeted by the additional user input;
determine whether the additional device belongs to the first equipment or the second equipment; and
in response to determining that the additional device belongs to the second equipment, instruct the electronic display of the zone control panel to reproduce aspects of the second interface of the second zone thermostat by displaying on the electronic display an additional graphical user interface illustrating the second parameter.
4. The HVAC system of claim 1, wherein:
the first zone thermostat is configured to:
determine first measured air conditions within the first internal space or a corresponding first zone of the building; and
output a first control signal requesting conditioning based at least in part on a first operational mode of the first zone thermostat and a difference between the first measured air conditions and first target air conditions associated with the first internal space or the corresponding first zone, wherein the microcontroller is programmed to instruct the electronic display to display a first zone settings screen that indicates the first measured air conditions within the first internal space or the corresponding first zone and the first operational mode of the first zone thermostat.
5. The HVAC system of claim 4, wherein:
the second zone thermostat is configured to:
determine second measured air conditions within the second internal space or a corresponding a second zone of the building; and
output a second control signal requesting conditioning based at least in part on a second operational mode of the second zone thermostat and difference between the second measured air conditions and second target air conditions associated with the second internal space or the corresponding second zone, wherein the microcontroller is programmed to instruct the electronic display to display a second zone settings screen that indicates the second measured air conditions within the second internal space or the corresponding second zone and the second operational mode of the second zone thermostat.
6. The HVAC system of claim 5, wherein:
the first equipment comprises a first fan;
the first parameter comprises a first fan mode implemented by the first fan;
the second equipment comprises a second fan; and
the second parameter comprises a second fan mode implemented by the second fan.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the first parameter comprises a temperature or pressure parameter of the first temperature controlled air.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the first parameter comprises an operational parameter of the first equipment, wherein the first interface of the first zone thermostat is configured to display the operational parameter and an airflow parameter of the first temperature controlled air, and wherein the microcontroller is programmed to instruct the electronic display of the zone control panel to reproduce aspects of the first interface of the first zone thermostat by displaying on the electronic display the graphical user interface illustrating the first operational parameter and the airflow parameter.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein:
the first zone thermostat is configured to output a first control signal requesting conditioning based at least in part on a first operational mode of the first zone thermostat and first target air conditions associated with the first internal space;
the second zone thermostat is configured to output a second control signal requesting conditioning based at least in part on a second operational mode of the second zone thermostat and second target air conditions associated with the second internal space; and
the microcontroller is configured to instruct the electronic display to display:
a first zone settings screen that indicates the first operational mode of the first zone thermostat; and
a second zone settings screen that indicates the second operational mode of the second zone thermostat.
10. A method for displaying information in a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system on an electronic display of a zone control panel, comprising:
determining, using at least one processor of the zone control panel, a first device targeted by a user based at least in part on a first user input received by the zone control panel;
determining, using the at least one processor, whether the first device belongs to first equipment configured to facilitate supply of first temperature controlled air to a first internal space of a building serviced by the HVAC system or second equipment separate from the first equipment and configured to facilitate supply of second temperature controlled air to a second internal space of the building separate from the first internal space, the first equipment comprising a first zone thermostat separate from the zone control panel, corresponding to the first internal space, and having a first interface separate from the electronic display and configured to display a first parameter of the first equipment or the first temperature controlled air, and the second equipment comprising a second zone thermostat separate from the zone control panel and the first zone thermostat, corresponding to the second internal space, and having a second interface separate from the electronic display and the first interface, wherein the second interface is configured to display a second parameter of the second equipment or the second temperature controlled air; and
in response to determining, via the at least one processor, that the first device targeted by the user belongs to the first equipment:
determining, using the at least one processor, first data indicative of the first parameter; and
instructing, using the at least one processor, the electronic display to reproduce aspects of the first interface by displaying a first graphical user interface based at least in part on the first data indicative of the first parameter.
11. The method of claim 10, comprising:
determining, using the at least one processor, a second device targeted by the user based at least in part on a second user input received by the zone control panel; and
in response to determining, via the at least one processor, that the second device targeted by the user belongs to the second equipment:
determining, using the at least one processor, second data indicative of the second parameter; and
instructing, using the at least one processor, the electronic display to reproduce aspects of the second interface by displaying a second graphical user interface based at least in part on the second data indicative of the second parameter.
12. The method of claim 11, comprising:
instructing, using the at least one processor, the electronic display to display a system overview screen comprising a first image of the first equipment and a second image of the second equipment;
instructing, using the at least one processor, the electronic display to display the first graphical user interface in response to the first user input selecting the first image of the first equipment in the system overview screen; and
instructing, using the at least one processor, the electronic display to display the second graphical user interface in response to the second user input selecting the second image of the second equipment in the system overview screen.
13. The method of claim 11, comprising, in response to the second user input being received while the electronic display displays the first graphical user interface:
instructing, using the at least one processor, the electronic display to display the first graphical user interface in a first portion of the electronic display; and
instructing the electronic display to display the second graphical user interface in a second portion of the electronic display such that the electronic display simultaneously displays the first graphical user interface associated with the first equipment and the second graphical user interface associated with the second equipment.
14. The method of claim 10, comprising:
determining, using the first zone thermostat, first measured air conditions within the first internal space or a corresponding first zone of the building;
outputting, using the first zone thermostat, a first control signal requesting conditioning of the first internal space based at least in part on a first operational mode of the first zone thermostat and a difference between the first measured air conditions and first target air conditions associated with the first internal space or the corresponding first zone; and
instructing, using the at least one processor, the electronic display to display a first zone settings screen that indicates the first measured air conditions within the first zone and the first operational mode of the first zone thermostat.
15. The method of claim 10, comprising:
outputting, via the first zone thermostat, a first control signal requesting conditioning based at least in part on a first operational mode of the first zone thermostat and first target air conditions associated with the first internal space;
outputting, via the second zone thermostat, a second control signal requesting conditioning based at least in part on a second operational mode of the second zone thermostat and second target air conditions associated with the second internal space;
instructing, via the at least one processor, the electronic display to display a first zone settings screen that indicates the first operational mode of the first zone thermostat; and
instructing, via the at least one processor, the electronic display to display a second zone settings screen that indicates the second operational mode of the second zone thermostat.
16. The method of claim 10, comprising:
determining, via the first zone thermostat, first measured air conditions within the first internal space;
outputting, via the first zone thermostat, a first control signal requesting conditioning based at least in part on a first operational mode of the first zone thermostat and a first difference between the first measured air conditions and first target air conditions associated with the first internal space;
determining, via the second zone thermostat, second measured air conditions within the second internal space;
outputting, via the second zone thermostat, a second control signal requesting conditioning based at least in part on a second operational mode of the second zone thermostat and a second difference between the second measured air conditions and second target air conditions associated with the second internal space;
instructing, via the at least one processor, the electronic display to:
display a first zone settings screen that indicates the first measured air conditions within the first internal space and the first operational mode of the first zone thermostat; and
display a second zone settings screen that indicates the second measured air conditions within the second internal space and the second operational mode of the second zone thermostat.
17. A tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium, comprising instructions executable by at least one processor of a zone control panel in a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
determine a first device targeted by a first user input received by the zone control panel;
determine whether the first device belongs to first HVAC equipment configured to facilitate delivery of first temperature controlled air to a first internal space or second HVAC equipment separate from the first equipment and configured to facilitate delivery of second temperature controlled air to a second internal space, the first equipment comprising a first zone thermostat separate from the zone control panel and having a first interface configured to display a first parameter of the first equipment or the first temperature controlled air, and the second HVAC equipment comprising a second zone thermostat separate from the zone control panel, separate from the first zone thermostat, and having a second interface separate from the first interface, wherein the second interface is configured to display a second parameter of the second HVAC equipment or the second temperature controlled air; and
in response to determining that the first device targeted by the first user input belongs to the first HVAC equipment:
determine first data indicative of the first parameter; and
instruct an electronic display of the zone control panel to display a graphical user interface illustrating the first parameter based at least in part on the first data, wherein the electronic display is separate from the first interface and the second interface.
18. The computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
determine a second device targeted by a second user input received by the zone control panel;
determine whether the second device belongs to the first HVAC equipment or the second HVAC equipment; and
in response to determining that the second device targeted by the second user input belongs to the second HVAC equipment:
determine second data indicative of the second parameter; and
instruct the electronic display to display an additional graphical user interface illustrating the second parameter based at least in part on the second data.
19. The computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
instruct the electronic display to display a first zone settings screen that indicates a first operational mode corresponding to a first control signal of the first zone thermostat; and
instruct the electronic display to display a second zone settings screen that indicates a second operational mode corresponding to a second control signal of the second zone thermostat.
20. The computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
instruct the electronic display to display a first zone settings screen that indicates first measured air conditions corresponding to the first internal space and a first operational mode corresponding to a first control signal of the first zone thermostat; and
instruct the electronic display to display a second zone settings screen that indicates second measured air conditions corresponding to the second internal space and a second operational mode corresponding to a second control signal of the second zone thermostat.
1. A heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
a first thermostat corresponding to a first internal space within a building, wherein the first thermostat comprises a first display configured to display a first parameter associated with the first internal space or a first air flow delivered to the first internal space;
a second thermostat corresponding to a second internal space within the building, wherein the second thermostat comprises a second display configured to display a second parameter associated with the second internal space or a second air flow delivered to the second internal space; and
a zone control panel comprising processing circuitry and a third display separate from the first display and the second display, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive a user input to the zone control panel;
determine whether the user input targets the first internal space or the second internal space; and
in response to determining that the user input targets the first internal space, control the third display to display the first parameter.
2. The HVAC system of claim 1, wherein the zone control panel comprises an interface configured to receive the user input.
3. The HVAC system of claim 2, wherein the zone control panel comprises a touch screen having the display and the interface.
4. The HVAC system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive an additional user input to the zone control panel;
determine whether the additional user input targets the first internal space or the second internal space; and
in response to determining that the additional user input targets the second internal space, control the third display to display the second parameter.
5. The HVAC system of claim 1, wherein the first parameter comprises a first air flow measurement of the first air flow, and the second parameter comprises a second air flow measurement of the second air flow.
6. The HVAC system of claim 1, wherein the first parameter comprises a first operational parameter of first HVAC componentry corresponding to the first internal space, and the second parameter comprises a second operational parameter of second HVAC componentry corresponding to the second internal space.
7. The HVAC system of claim 6, wherein the first HVAC componentry comprises a first fan or first heat exchanger, and the second HVAC componentry comprises a second fan or second heat exchanger.
8. The HVAC system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive an additional input; and
control an aspect of the HVAC system based on the additional input.
9. The HVAC system of claim 8, wherein the aspect of the HVAC system comprises a setpoint of the first thermostat or a fan setting of a fan.
10. The HVAC system of claim 1, comprising a common heat exchanger employed for conditioning the first internal space and the second internal space.
11. A method of operating a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
determining, via a first thermostat, a first HVAC parameter corresponding to a first internal space of a building;
determining, via a second thermostat, a second HVAC parameter corresponding to a second internal space of the building;
receiving a user input via an interface of a zone control panel, wherein the zone control panel is separate from the first thermostat and the second thermostat;
determining, via processing circuitry of the zone control panel, whether the user input targets the first thermostat and the first internal space or the second thermostat and the second internal space; and
controlling, via the processing circuitry and based on determining that the user input targets the first thermostat and the first internal space, a display of the zone control panel to display the first HVAC parameter.
12. The method of claim 11, comprising:
receiving an additional user input via the interface;
determining, via the processing circuitry, whether the additional user input targets the first thermostat and the first internal space or the second thermostat and the second internal space; and
controlling, via the processing circuitry and based on determining that the additional user input targets the second thermostat and the second internal space, the display to display the second HVAC parameter.
13. The method of claim 11, comprising:
receiving an additional input via the interface; and
controlling, via the processing circuitry or via the first thermostat, an aspect of the HVAC system based on the additional input.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the aspect includes a setpoint of the first thermostat or a fan setting of a fan.
15. The method of claim 11, wherein:
the first HVAC parameter corresponds to a first measured air flow parameter associated with the first internal space; and
the second HVAC parameter corresponds to a second measured air flow parameter associated with the second internal space.
16. At least one tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium, comprising instructions thereon that, when executed by processing circuitry of a zone control panel in a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, are configured to cause the processing circuitry to:
receive a user input via an interface of a zone control panel;
determine whether the user input targets a first thermostat corresponding to a first internal space of a building or a second thermostat corresponding to a second internal space of the building, wherein the first thermostat is separate from the second thermostat, and the first thermostat and the second thermostat are separate from the zone control panel; and
control, based on determining that the user input targets the first thermostat, a zone control panel display of the zone control panel to reproduce an aspect of a thermostat display of the first thermostat.
17. The at least one tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, are configured to cause the processing circuitry to:
receive an additional user input via the interface of the zone control panel;
determine whether the additional user input targets the first thermostat or the second thermostat; and
control, based on determining that the additional user input targets the second thermostat, the zone control panel display to reproduce an additional aspect of an additional thermostat display of the second thermostat.
18. The at least one tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, are configured to cause the processing circuitry to:
receive an additional user input via the interface of the zone control panel; and
control an aspect of the HVAC system based on the additional user input.
19. The HVAC system of claim 18, wherein the aspect of the HVAC system comprises a setpoint of the first thermostat or a fan setting of a fan.
20. The at least one tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the aspect includes a setpoint, an air flow parameter, or an operating condition of HVAC componentry associated with the first internal space.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a mental process directed to determine whether the user input targets the first internal space or the second internal space (claims 1, 4, 11, 12, 16, 17).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional limitations of an HVAC, thermostat, touch screen display, zone control panel internal space, set-points, fan, circuitry, and medium are generally recited so as to generically link the abstract idea to the field of HVAC, MPEP 2106.05(h), claims 1-20. The additional user input and control limitations represent insignificant extra solution activity, claims 1-2, 4, 11-12, 16-18, MPEP 2106.05(g). The memory and circuitry represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because circuitry and memory represent mere instructions to apply the abstract idea while the insignificant extra solution activity is well understood, conventional, or routine, MPEP 2106.05(d), infra applied prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DYESS (PG/PUB 20160054027) in view over Nelson (PG/PUB 20130087628).
Claim 1.
DYESS et al. teaches a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system but does not expressly teach n response to determining that the user input targets the first internal space, control the third display to display the first parameter. Nelson teaches in response to determining that the user input targets the first internal space, control the third display to display the first parameter described below, comprising:
a first thermostat corresponding to a first internal space within a building, wherein the first thermostat comprises a first display configured to display a first parameter associated with the first internal space or a first air flow delivered to the first internal space (DYESS, claim 1, 0007, Figure 5A)
a second thermostat corresponding to a second internal space within the building, wherein the second thermostat comprises a second display configured to display a second parameter associated with the second internal space or a second air flow delivered to the second internal space (DYESS, claim 1, 0007, Figure 5A)
a zone control panel (DYESS, Figure 2, 0024-0028 e.g. “site controller”) comprising processing circuitry and a third display separate from the first display and the second display, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive a user input to the zone control panel (DYESS, 0024-28, Figure 2); determine whether the user input targets the first internal space or the second internal space (DYESS, 0024-28 e.g. see remotely controlling target thermostats via implementing at least set-points); and in response to determining that the user input targets the first internal space, control the third display to display the first parameter (DYESS, 0028-30, 0036-41, Figure 5A- S4, S5, S6, S7 e.g. see general RTU set-point implementations, and see Nelson for displaying thermostat parameters responsive to thermostat selection\, ABSTRACT, Figure 1, Figure 6)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Nelson, namely displaying thermostat parameters responsive to thermostat selection, to the teachings of DYESS, namely employing a site controller for selectively implementing set-points for desired thermostats, would achieve an expected and predictable result of adapting the site controller to integrate the pertinent display functions of Nelson for providing user feedback of zone thermostat conditions and settings. Nelson is in the same field of endeavor and provides a benefit of facilitating remote access and control, ABSTRACT, summary of invention.
Claim 2. The HVAC system of claim 1, wherein the zone control panel comprises an interface configured to receive the user input. (DYESS, Figure 2, supra claim 1)
Claim 3. The HVAC system of claim 2, wherein the zone control panel comprises a touch screen having the display and the interface (DYESS, as modified , supra claim 1 for Nelson, Figure 1, Figure 6)
Claim 4. The HVAC system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive an additional user input to the zone control panel (DYESS, 0031, supra claim 1 for application of Nelson for receiving additional inputs, Figure 1, Figure 6); determine whether the additional user input targets the first internal space or the second internal space (0031; and in response to determining that the additional user input targets the second internal space, control the third display to display the second parameter (supra claim 1 for displaying selected, nth thermostat parameters on the site controller )
Claim 5. The HVAC system of claim 1, wherein the first parameter comprises a first air flow measurement of the first air flow, and the second parameter comprises a second air flow measurement of the second air flow (e.g. see air flow parameter as temperature, supra claim 1, Nelson. Figure 1, Figure 6)
Claim 6. The HVAC system of claim 1, wherein the first parameter comprises a first operational parameter of first HVAC componentry corresponding to the first internal space, and the second parameter comprises a second operational parameter of second HVAC componentry corresponding to the second internal space (supra claim 1, Nelson, Figure 1, Figure 6 e.g. see temperature and humidity)
Claim 7. The HVAC system of claim 6, wherein the first HVAC componentry comprises a first fan or first heat exchanger, and the second HVAC componentry comprises a second fan or second heat exchanger (Nelson, 0042, 0068, see also DYESS)
Claim 8. The HVAC system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive an additional input; and control an aspect of the HVAC system based on the additional input (supra claim 1, see Nelson, Figure 1, Figure 6)
Claim 9. The HVAC system of claim 8, wherein the aspect of the HVAC system comprises a setpoint of the first thermostat or a fan setting of a fan (supra claim 1, Nelson, Figure 1, Figure 6)
Claim 11. DYESS, as modified by Nelson, teaches a method of operating a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
determining, via a first thermostat, a first HVAC parameter corresponding to a first internal space of a building; supra claim 1, determining, via a second thermostat, a second HVAC parameter corresponding to a second internal space of the building; supra claim 1, receiving a user input via an interface of a zone control panel, wherein the zone control panel is separate from the first thermostat and the second thermostat; supra claim 1 determining, via processing circuitry of the zone control panel, whether the user input targets the first thermostat and the first internal space or the second thermostat and the second internal space; supra claim 1 and controlling, via the processing circuitry and based on determining that the user input targets the first thermostat and the first internal space, a display of the zone control panel to display the first HVAC parameter, supra claim 4
Claim 12. The method of claim 11, comprising: receiving an additional user input via the interface; determining, via the processing circuitry, whether the additional user input targets the first thermostat and the first internal space or the second thermostat and the second internal space; and controlling, via the processing circuitry and based on determining that the additional user input targets the second thermostat and the second internal space, the display to display the second HVAC parameter, supra claim 4
Claim 13. The method of claim 11, comprising: receiving an additional input via the interface; and controlling, via the processing circuitry or via the first thermostat, an aspect of the HVAC system based on the additional input (supra claim 8)
Claim 14. The method of claim 13, wherein the aspect includes a setpoint of the first thermostat or a fan setting of a fan, supra claim 9
Claim 15. The method of claim 11, wherein: the first HVAC parameter corresponds to a first measured air flow parameter associated with the first internal space; and the second HVAC parameter corresponds to a second measured air flow parameter associated with the second internal space (supra claim 6)
Claim 16. DYESS as modified by Nelson teaches at least one tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium, comprising instructions thereon that, when executed by processing circuitry of a zone control panel in a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, supra claim 1 are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: receive a user input via an interface of a zone control panel; supra claim 1determine whether the user input targets a first thermostat corresponding to a first internal space of a building or a second thermostat corresponding to a second internal space of the building, supra claim 1 wherein the first thermostat is separate from the second thermostat, supra claim 1 and the first thermostat and the second thermostat are separate from the zone control panel; and control, based on determining that the user input targets the first thermostat, a zone control panel display of the zone control panel to reproduce an aspect of a thermostat display of the first thermostat, supra claim 1
Claim 16 us rejected under the same prior art and rationale set forth in claim 1
Claim 17. The at least one tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: receive an additional user input via the interface of the zone control panel; determine whether the additional user input targets the first thermostat or the second thermostat; and control, based on determining that the additional user input targets the second thermostat, the zone control panel display to reproduce an additional aspect of an additional thermostat display of the second thermostat, supra claim 1, supra claim 12)
Claim 18. The at least one tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, are configured to cause the processing circuitry to: receive an additional user input via the interface of the zone control panel; and control an aspect of the HVAC system based on the additional user input (supra claim 1, supra claim 4, supra claim 6)
Claim 19. The HVAC system of claim 18, wherein the aspect of the HVAC system comprises a setpoint of the first thermostat or a fan setting of a fan (supra claim 14)
Claim 20. The at least one tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the aspect includes a setpoint, an air flow parameter, or an operating condition of HVAC componentry associated with the first internal space (supra claim 6)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DYESS (PG/PUB 20160054027) in view over Nelson (PG/PUB 20130087628) in view over Waddell (USPN 8564924)
Claim 10. The HVAC system of claim 1 but does not teach the common heat exchanger limitations described below. Waddell teaches the common heat exchanger limitations described below, comprising a common heat exchanger employed for conditioning the first internal space and the second internal space (Waddell Figure 1A, Col 3 lines 21-32 e.g. see shared heat exchange amongst multiple conduits)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Waddell for using a common heat exchanger for multiple conduit filtration to the teachings of DYESS, as modified, for controlling zone conditions, would achieve an expected and predictable result of improving air treatment as described, summary of invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Claim 1 relevancy
20140207291 e.g. “A controller for a zoned HVAC system and interface screens for controlling a zoned HVAC system are disclosed herein. In one embodiment, the controller includes: (1) a processor configured to direct operation of the HVAC system according to operating data for zones thereof and (2) a display configured to provide a zone dashboard screen including a zone information area for each of the zones, wherein each the zone information area has a defined shape and is configured to provide operating data for a single one of the zones and receive a user input that selects the single one of the zones for the processor to control.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117