DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a non-final office action on the merits in response to the arguments and/or amendments filed on 27 February 2026 and the request for continued examination filed on 27 February 2026.
Claim(s) 2, 15-17, and 22-24 is/are canceled. Claim(s) 1, 3, 14, 21, 25, and 26 is/are amended.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-9, 14, 18-21, 25, and 26 is/are currently pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites wherein the first trained machine learning model comprises a first model configured to receive as input the image data. However, Claim 1, which Claim 6 depends upon, is claimed as being provided the first video crop and the second video crop. It would be ambiguous to one of ordinary skill in the art whether the trained machine learning model of claim 6 receives the video crops and the image data, or whether the model only receives the portion of the image data corresponding to the video crops. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the scope of the claim, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-9, 14, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichler et al. (US 2022/0044821 A1) in view of Rao et al. (US 2019/0110754 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 14, and 21: Eichler discloses a method, comprising:
obtaining, by a processing device, first video data of a patient, comprising image data and audio data (Acquisition unit 106C.sub.1 of client device 101C.sub.1 captures clinical measurement data (e.g., video data that includes image data 130 and sound data 134) pertaining to subject 10. See at least [0066]).
separating the first video data of the patient into a first plurality of clips by performing temporal cropping; generating a first crop of a first clip of the plurality of clips by performing spatial cropping of the first clip, wherein images of the first crop include and focus on a first body part of the patient related to the first movement disorder; generating a second crop of the first clip by performing spatial cropping of the first clip, wherein images of the second crop include and focus on a second body part of the patient related to the first target movement disorder, and do not focus on the first body part of the patient (Images 130.sub.1, 130.sub.2, 130.sub.3 may be outputted … in the form of video. See at least [0044]. Also: FIG. 4 shows the extraction of potential stroke features from image data 130 (images 130.sub.1, 130.sub.2, 130.sub.3, . . . ) (as detailed in FIG. 3) … . Processors 104 and 104S are configured and operative to extract potential stroke features in image data 130, i.e., POI image 130.sub.4 in the time domain, denoted herein as time t.sub.1 (or simply “t.sub.1”), as well as spatial features within image 130.sub.4, namely, spatial ROIs 160.sub.2, 160.sub.3, 160.sub.4, 160.sub.5, 160.sub.6. See at least [ 0049]. Also: The process of extraction involves selection and isolation, and is operative in both the time domain, as well as in the spatial domain. Specifically, in the time domain, extraction involves selection and isolation of at least one image (frame) captured at a particular point in time, or a plurality of images captured at distinct points in time (or time range(s)). An extracted image is denoted herein as a point of interest (POI) in time, or “time POI” for brevity. A plurality of images captured at a particular time range is denoted herein as a region of interest (ROI) in time, or “time ROI” for brevity. Particularly for the spatial domain, extraction involves selection and isolation of at least one part in an image (i.e., a pixel having an associated spatial location (e.g., an (x, y) coordinate in the image), or group of pixels each having their respective spatial locations). Each extracted pixel from an extracted image is denoted herein as a POI in the spatial domain, or for brevity “spatial POI”. A plurality of extracted contiguous group of pixels is an image object denoted herein as a ROI in the spatial domain, or “spatial ROI” for brevity. In the example of FIG. 3, processors 104 and 104S extract a time POI, i.e., image 130.sub.4, with respect to images 130.sub.1, 130.sub.2, 130.sub.3, . . . , i.e., as well as a spatial ROI 160.sub.1 (i.e., the captured image of the head of subject 10). The process of spatial ROI extraction may involve image segmentation techniques. Spatial ROI 160.sub.1 may include at least one nested spatial ROI, which is a ROI within a ROI (i.e., a partial ROI within a master ROI). As diagrammatically shown in FIG. 3, spatial ROI 160.sub.1 includes nested spatial ROIs 160.sub.2 (a forehead wrinkle of subject 10), 160.sub.3 (right eye), 160.sub.4 (left eye), 160.sub.5 (a left side smile wrinkle), 160.sub.6 (a right side smile wrinkle), and 160.sub.7 (lips). See at least [0048] and Fig. 4. Also: The POIs and ROIs (in the time and spatial domains) are extracted. See at least [0051]).
providing, by the processing device, the first crop and the second crop to a first trained machine learning model; obtaining first output from the first machine learning model based on the first crop and the second crop, wherein the first output comprises a first indication that the patient exhibits symptoms of the one or more target movement disorders in association with the first video data (a main comparator block 190, which in turn may include a plurality of individual comparators 190.sub.1, 190.sub.2, 190.sub.3, 190.sub.4, 190.sub.5, 190.sub.6, 190.sub.7, 190.sub.8, 190.sub.9 (collectively denoted herein as “comparators 190.sub.1-190.sub.9”). Main comparator block 190 may be implemented in at least one of hardware, software, firmware, and a combination thereof. Main comparator block 190 is configured and operative to compare subject-specific extracted potential stroke features 160.sub.1-7, 162.sub.1, 164.sub.1, and, 166.sub.1 with classified sampled data in positive stroke dataset 182. Specifically, comparator 190.sub.1 compares extracted potential stroke feature 160.sub.1 with positive stroke dataset 182 so as to produce a result that represents a quantitative measure that indicates how extracted potential stroke feature 160.sub.1 matches with corresponding entries 182.sub.i of the same type (i.e., image data). See at least [0055] and Fig. 5. Also: main comparator block 190 is implemented as a machine learning classifier (denoted herein “MLC”). See at least [0057]. Also: Another aspect of the disclosed technique involves using the infrastructure of systems 100.sub.1 and 100.sub.2 to estimate diseases, conditions, and neurological disorders other than stroke, such as Parkinson's disease, dementia, psychiatric and mental diseases, facial visual disorders, etc. See at least [0077]).
Eichler does not unambiguously disclose providing video to a trained machine learning model or wherein a temporal length of each clip of the first plurality of clips is associated with a duration of a symptomatic movement of a first target movement disorder of a set of one or more target movement disorders.
Rao teaches providing video to a trained machine learning model and wherein a temporal length of a clip is associated with a duration of a symptomatic movement of a first target movement disorder of a set of one or more target movement disorders (diagnostic model 1 may focus exclusively on the blink rate of a video of the patient's face, while diagnostic model 2 may focus on the frequency of a repetitive finger tapping test. Preferably such diagnostic models will be trained by comparing the data from subjects which have been classified as possessing a certain neurological disorder to the data from subjects which have been classified as “healthy.” See at least [0101]. Also: The purpose of the invention is to aid in the differentiation of ES and NBS using machine learning algorithms primarily analyzing digital video. See at least [0172]. Also: Consider a video sequence of a jaw recorded at 30 frames per second for 10 seconds. Assumed that the cropped region around the jaw has a dimension of 128×256 pixels (rows×columns). The data would then be a sequence of 300 sample images each of size 128×256 (these numbers are merely for illustration purposes and do not reflect the exact dimensions used in the model). For each patient, we have such a sequence and an associated UPDRS score for that patient. The goal of training a model is to learn to predict the UPDRS score from the input sequence derived from the data. See at least [0131]. Also: provide such a system, wherein said trained diagnostic system is trained to diagnose a movement disorder. See at least [0047]).
Eichler expressly provides a system which temporally crops a video and then spatially crops that data into individual frames focused on various body parts relevant to an analysis and then inputs those frame into a machine learning model, upon which the claimed invention’s use of a video based model can be seen as an improvement.. However, Rao demonstrates that the prior art already knew of using video based machine learning models to evaluate movement disorders. One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily applied Rao’s video based models to the system of Eichler and modified Eichler’s temporal/spatial cropping to produce video segments to feed into the model to support those video models. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such a modification of Eichler would have resulted in an improved system which could base movement disorder determinations based on the movement captured in multiple frames. As such, the application of Rao would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of the disclosures of Eichler and the teachings Rao.
Additionally, Eichler does not disclose providing a first alert to a user indicative of the first target movement disorder; and causing additional screenings of the patient to be performed based on the first output.
Rao teaches providing a first alert to a user indicative of the first target movement disorder; and causing additional screenings of the patient to be performed based on the first output (a system, wherein said trained diagnostic system is trained to diagnose a movement disorder. See at least [0047]. Also: The individual clinical results are then aggregated by a trained AI program (306) to produce a final clinical result (307) which is output to the user. See at least [0104]. Also: Once all of the diagnostic models have been run, their output would be passed to the final model to obtain the overall diagnostic prediction. … The system would output the final diagnostic prediction to the patient along with intermediate model predictions. The system may display such an output on the screen of the device used to collect the initial senor data, or may transmit it to the relevant parties via other means, such as SMS messaging to a mobile device or sending an email to a designated party. The system might present additional information relevant to the diagnostic prediction (e.g., confidence scores, assessment of recording quality, recommendations for follow up tests, etc.). The app may also log relevant information and data from the tests and could pass along information regarding the diagnosis to a selected medical professional. See at least [0138]).
Eichler and Rao suggest a system which analyzes patient video to determine whether the patient is afflicted with a movement disorder, upon which the claimed invention’s output of movement disorder notification to a user can be seen as an improvement. However, Rao demonstrates that the prior art already knew of outputting movement disorder notifications to a user and causing follow-on tests. One of ordinary skill in the art could have trivially applied the techniques of Rao to the system of Eichler and Rao. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized such an application of Rao as resulting in an improved system which would inform a user regarding movement disorders that are determined and induce additional diagnostics. As such the application of Rao, and the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of the disclosures of Eichler and the teachings of Rao.
Regarding Claim 3: Eichler in view of Rao makes obvious the above limitations. As previously noted in combination with Eichler, Rao teaches wherein each clip of the plurality of clips is between 0.1 seconds and 10 seconds in length (Consider a video sequence of a jaw recorded at 30 frames per second for 10 seconds. Assumed that the cropped region around the jaw has a dimension of 128×256 pixels (rows×columns). The data would then be a sequence of 300 sample images each of size 128×256 (these numbers are merely for illustration purposes and do not reflect the exact dimensions used in the model). For each patient, we have such a sequence and an associated UPDRS score for that patient. The goal of training a model is to learn to predict the UPDRS score from the input sequence derived from the data. See at least [0131]. Also: provide such a system, wherein said trained diagnostic system is trained to diagnose a movement disorder. See at least [0047]). The motivation to combine Eichler and Rao is the same as explained under claim 1 above, and is incorporated herein.
Regarding Claim 6: Eichler in view of Rao makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Eichler discloses wherein the first trained machine learning model comprises a first model configured to receive as input the image data and a second model configured to receive as input the audio data (Processor 104S includes a main comparator block 190, which in turn may include a plurality of individual comparators 190.sub.1, 190.sub.2, 190.sub.3, 190.sub.4, 190.sub.5, 190.sub.6, 190.sub.7, 190.sub.8, 190.sub.9 (collectively denoted herein as “comparators 190.sub.1-190.sub.9”). See at least [0055]).
Regarding Claim 7 and 18: Eichler in view of Rao makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Eichler discloses wherein the first trained machine learning model comprises:
a second trained machine learning model, wherein the second trained machine learning model is configured to generate as output a second indication of a likelihood that a first target movement disorder of the one or more target movement disorders was exhibited in the first video data of the patient; and a third trained machine learning model, wherein the third trained machine learning model is configured to receive as input one or more indications of a likelihood that the first target movement disorder was exhibited in one or more crops of the first video data of the patient, and generate as output a composite indication of a likelihood that the first target movement disorder was exhibited in the first video data of the patient (Each comparator (also herein MLC) 190.sub.1-190.sub.9 is configured and operative to receive as input the extracted and preprocessed potential stroke features (as detailed in conjunction with FIG. 5), which may be termed herein as a “feature vectors”, denoted respectively as v.sub.1, v.sub.2, v.sub.3, v.sub.4, v.sub.5, v.sub.6, v.sub.7, v.sub.8, and v.sub.9 in FIG. 6. Each MLC or comparator is then configured and operative to assess how each respective input feature vector compares with positive stroke dataset 182 and negative stroke dataset 184, and then further configured to output a result that optimally matches a sample space in data sets 182 and 184. The comparison result the can be represented as an interval in the sample space of positive stroke dataset 182 and/or as an interval in the sample space of negative stroke dataset 184. Processor 104S is then configured to compute a respective probability by integrating the PDF over that interval as denoted by 198.sub.1, 198.sub.2, 198.sub.3, 198.sub.4, 198.sub.5, 198.sub.6, 198.sub.7, 198.sub.8, and 198.sub.9 in FIG. 6. Particularly, comparator 190.sub.1 compares feature vector v.sub.1 with positive stroke dataset 182 (the plurality of entries 182.sub.i thereof) as well as negative stroke dataset 184 (the plurality of entries 182.sub.i thereof) and determines an optimal match of this comparison by outputting at least one interval [a.sub.1, a.sub.2] in the sample space (i.e., in datasets 182 and 184), where the optimal match occurs (i.e., in positive stroke dataset 182 or negative stroke dataset 184). In this particular example the optimal match occurs in positive stroke dataset 182, the corresponding model of which is PDF 194.sub.1. Processor 104S integrates PDF 194.sub.1 over the determined interval [a.sub.1, b.sub.1], represented by 198.sub.1, thereby yielding a probability p.sub.1. See at least [0059]. Also: In determining a probability for a type of a stroke condition, and a probability of a corresponding stroke location, processor 104S is configured and operative to use the results of the comparisons between the potential stroke features and the classified sampled data in the positive stroke dataset (as well as optionally with the negative stroke dataset). To further detail the particulars of this aspect of the disclosed technique, reference is further made to FIG. 7, which is a schematic diagram further showing procedures involved in producing an estimation to the likelihood of a stroke condition, according to the principles of the disclosed technique. FIG. 7 shows server processor 104S further including a comparator 200 that may be implemented for example by a MLC, an ANN, and the like. Comparator 200 receives probabilities p.sub.1, p.sub.2, p.sub.3, p.sub.4, p.sub.5, p.sub.6, p.sub.7, p.sub.8, and p.sub.9 and is configured and operative to determine probabilities P.sub.T and P.sub.L as outputs 202.sub.1 and 202.sub.2, respectively by use of database 102S. … Comparator 200 yields an output 202.sub.1 as a probability P.sub.T for a type of stroke condition of subject 10, and an output 202.sub.2 as a probability P.sub.L for a corresponding location of a stroke condition with respect to a brain location of subject 10. See at least [0060]).
Regarding Claim 8 and 19: Eichler in view of Rao makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Eichler discloses where the first trained machine learning model comprises:
a second trained machine learning model, wherein the second trained machine learning model is configured to generate as output a second indication of a likelihood that a first target movement disorder of the one or more target movement disorders was exhibited in the first video data of the patient; and a third trained machine learning model, wherein the third trained machine learning model is configured to receive as input the second indication of a likelihood that the first target movement disorder was exhibited in the first video data of the patient, and a plurality of indications of likelihood that the first target movement disorder was exhibited in a plurality of video data of the patient, and wherein the third trained learning model is configured to generate as output a third indication of a severity of symptoms of the patient in association with the first target movement disorder (Each comparator (also herein MLC) 190.sub.1-190.sub.9 is configured and operative to receive as input the extracted and preprocessed potential stroke features (as detailed in conjunction with FIG. 5), which may be termed herein as a “feature vectors”, denoted respectively as v.sub.1, v.sub.2, v.sub.3, v.sub.4, v.sub.5, v.sub.6, v.sub.7, v.sub.8, and v.sub.9 in FIG. 6. Each MLC or comparator is then configured and operative to assess how each respective input feature vector compares with positive stroke dataset 182 and negative stroke dataset 184, and then further configured to output a result that optimally matches a sample space in data sets 182 and 184. The comparison result the can be represented as an interval in the sample space of positive stroke dataset 182 and/or as an interval in the sample space of negative stroke dataset 184. Processor 104S is then configured to compute a respective probability by integrating the PDF over that interval as denoted by 198.sub.1, 198.sub.2, 198.sub.3, 198.sub.4, 198.sub.5, 198.sub.6, 198.sub.7, 198.sub.8, and 198.sub.9 in FIG. 6. Particularly, comparator 190.sub.1 compares feature vector v.sub.1 with positive stroke dataset 182 (the plurality of entries 182.sub.i thereof) as well as negative stroke dataset 184 (the plurality of entries 182.sub.i thereof) and determines an optimal match of this comparison by outputting at least one interval [a.sub.1, a.sub.2] in the sample space (i.e., in datasets 182 and 184), where the optimal match occurs (i.e., in positive stroke dataset 182 or negative stroke dataset 184). In this particular example the optimal match occurs in positive stroke dataset 182, the corresponding model of which is PDF 194.sub.1. Processor 104S integrates PDF 194.sub.1 over the determined interval [a.sub.1, b.sub.1], represented by 198.sub.1, thereby yielding a probability p.sub.1. See at least [0059]. Also: In determining a probability for a type of a stroke condition, and a probability of a corresponding stroke location, processor 104S is configured and operative to use the results of the comparisons between the potential stroke features and the classified sampled data in the positive stroke dataset (as well as optionally with the negative stroke dataset). To further detail the particulars of this aspect of the disclosed technique, reference is further made to FIG. 7, which is a schematic diagram further showing procedures involved in producing an estimation to the likelihood of a stroke condition, according to the principles of the disclosed technique. FIG. 7 shows server processor 104S further including a comparator 200 that may be implemented for example by a MLC, an ANN, and the like. Comparator 200 receives probabilities p.sub.1, p.sub.2, p.sub.3, p.sub.4, p.sub.5, p.sub.6, p.sub.7, p.sub.8, and p.sub.9 and is configured and operative to determine probabilities P.sub.T and P.sub.L as outputs 202.sub.1 and 202.sub.2, respectively by use of database 102S. … Comparator 200 yields an output 202.sub.1 as a probability P.sub.T for a type of stroke condition of subject 10, and an output 202.sub.2 as a probability P.sub.L for a corresponding location of a stroke condition with respect to a brain location of subject 10. See at least [0060]).
Regarding Claim 9 and 20: Eichler in view of Rao makes obvious the above limitations. Additionally, Eichler discloses wherein a first target movement disorder of the one or more target movement disorders comprises one of: tardive dyskinesia; Huntington’s chorea; or Parkinson’s disease (Another aspect of the disclosed technique involves using the infrastructure of systems 100.sub.1 and 100.sub.2 to estimate diseases, conditions, and neurological disorders other than stroke, such as Parkinson's disease, dementia, psychiatric and mental diseases, facial visual disorders, etc. Estimation to a likelihood of a variety of medical conditions can be covered by a modified version of a stroke scale described herein and/or can be covered by other medical scales, e.g., Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (UPDRS) for Parkinson's disease). For example, some symptoms of Parkinson's disease can be detected during diagnostic tests for stroke (such as the NIHSS test). See at least [0077]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of novel and non-obvious subject matter:
The prior art does not reasonably suggest or make obvious the limitations of claims 25 or 26.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of eligible subject matter:
At Step 2B the additional element of separating the first video data of the patient into a first plurality of clips by performing temporal cropping, wherein a temporal length of each clip of the first plurality of clips is associated with a duration of a symptomatic movement of a first target movement disorder of a set of one or more target movement disorders; generating a first vide crop of a first clip of the first plurality of clips by performing spatial cropping of the first clip, wherein images of the first video crop include and focus on a first body part of the patient related to the first target movement disorder amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. This additional element cannot be reasonably said to be an improvement to technology given the lack of technical disclosure regarding how the additional element is implemented. Further, this additional element plainly does not qualify as either a particular machine or a transformation of an article. However, at Step 2B, examiner concluded that of the three factors of MPEP 2106.05(g) only factor two indicates that the limitation was insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus it appears inappropriate to find the additional element to be insignificant extra-solution activity. As no other consideration of MPEP 2106.05(A) provides guidance for this additional element, the claims appears to be at least “a close call.” Therefore, under the 4 August 2025 eligibility memo, the Examiner concludes that the claims recite eligible subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Argument Regarding 112(a) Rejections of claims 1-3, 6-9, and 14-26: Independent claims 1, 14, and 21 have been amended to include “do not focus on the first body part of the patient.”
Examiner’s Response: Applicant's amendments filed 27 February 2026 have been fully considered and they resolve the identified issue.
Applicant’s Arguments Regarding 103 Rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 and 14-24: Eichler does not remedy the shortcomings of Desai with respect to claim 1, as amended. … As agreed in the Examiner interview, Eichler does not teach or imply “separating the first video data of the patient into a first plurality of clips… associated with a duration of a symptomatic movement of a first target movement disorder” as recited in amended claim 1.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant's arguments filed 27 February 2026 have been fully considered. The limitation identified by Applicant is not taught by either Desai or Eichler but is made obvious by Eichler in combination with Rao. The rejection has been substantially rewritten in view of applicant’s amendments.
Additional Considerations
The prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure can be found in the PTO-892 of the prior office action dated 30 June 2025.
Conclusion
/Bion A Shelden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3685 2026-05-06