DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, following claimed subject matter must be shown of the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
“at least two clamp plates”, “a fitment”, and “the spout is mechanically coupled to the fitment” in claims 1 and 7;
“a pass-through tube” in claim 5;
“a fitment” and “the spout is mechanically coupled to the fitment” in claim 13;
“multiple form factor” in claim 17;
“clamp plates” in claim 18;
“a pass-through director” in claim 19; and
“an opening hold” in claim 20.
Applicant argued that no new drawings are required since label 107 shoes two clamp plates as part of extrusion mechanism 106 and that a person of ordinary skill in the art should know the general structure of the extrusion device. However, such arguments do not overcome the drawings objection since the drawings merely show schematics of the extrusion process without showing actual claimed structures. Therefore, the drawings are still objected and applicant is advised to either provided amended drawing sheets or canceled the claimed limitations in question.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 recites “the spout of the first container comprises a pass-through tube”. It is not clear from the drawings and the specifications what is a pass-through tube. The specification repeats the same language and the drawings do not show any details of the pass-through tube. Such disclosure does not reasonably convey the subject matter to a person of ordinary skill in the art. For the purposes of examination, the limitations of the claim will be interpreted as “the spout of the first container comprises a tube”.
Claim 17 recites “the extruder apparatus comprises multiple form factors’. It is not clear what this means and such recitation does not reasonably convey the subject matter to a person of ordinary skill in the art. The specification also does not provide sufficient support for such limitation besides repeating the same language that is present in the claims. For the purposes of examination, the limitations of the claim will be interpreted as “the extruder apparatus comprises different sized components”.
Claim 19 recites “the fitment includes a pass-through director for evacuating contents of the first container”. It is not clear from the drawings and the specifications what is a pass-through director. The specification repeats the same language and the drawings do not show any details of the pass-through tube. Such disclosure does not reasonably convey the subject matter to a person of ordinary skill in the art. For the purposes of examination, the limitations of the claim will be interpreted as “the fitment includes a tube for evacuating contents of the first container”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krcma et al. (“Krcma” hereinafter) (US PG PUB 2012/0294667).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 13, 18, and 20, Krcma discloses an extruder apparatus (item 30, figure 5) comprising:
at least two clamp plates (plates 30 and 32, figures 5-8), the at least two clamp plates being configured to accept a first container (item 60, figure 11);
the first container for holding a viscous material (dispensable foodstuffs, paragraphs [0012], [0031]), the viscous material is to be extruded through a spout (item 10, figure 11) of the first container by compressing the first container with the at least two clamp plates (see figure 12);
the spout of the first container passing portions of the viscous material to a specific location exterior to the first container when compressed by the at least two clamp plates (paragraph [0039]);
a fitment (opening 48 of flange 46, figure 5) for coupling to the first container via the spout of the first container; and
wherein the spout is mechanically coupled to the fitment such that the portions of the viscous material may pass through the fitment to the specific location by means of an extrusion process (see figure 11, the spout 10 of tube 60 passes through opening 48 of flange 46 to dispense foodstuffs to a desired location, paragraphs [0039-0043]).
Regarding claims 2-4 and 8-12, Krcma discloses that the extruder apparatus is capable of dispensing material from first container which can hold any viscous and flowable material (paragraphs [0004], [0012], [0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Krcma discloses that the spout of the first container comprises a pass-through tube (figures 4, 10, 11, and 12).
Regarding claims 14-16, Krcma’s device is handheld and is capable of dispensing the viscous material to any precise location as mentioned in the claims or any other suitable location (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 17, Krcma discloses that the extruder apparatus comprises multiple components (figures 5-12).
Regarding claim 19, Krcma discloses that the fitment includes a pass-through director (opening 48, figure 11) for evacuating contents of the first container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krcma.
Regarding claim 6, Krcma teaches that the first container is a conventional icing bag comprising a spout nozzle (paragraphs [0006-0007], [0031-0033]) but is silent to such nozzle being metallic.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the pass-through nozzle of the first container of Krcma metallic since it is old and well-known in the art that frosting or icing tips for bags are either made of plastic or metal materials. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. (See MPEP § 2144.07).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/31/2025 regarding rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under Krcma have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, applicant argued that 112(a) rejections of claims 5, 17, and 19 should be withdrawn because the specification provides sufficient support and a person of ordinary skill in the art is familiar with known extrusion techniques and terms. Examiner disagrees and would like to reiterate that the specification merely recites the same language that is present in the claims without providing any additional support. Furthermore, regardless of the knowledge of the person of ordinary skill in the art regarding form factors, the claims still should have sufficient support in the specification that regarding the structure and point out its novelty in the claim language. none of these are present in the disclosure nor the claims. Therefore, claims 5, 17, and 19 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as discussed in detail above.
Applicant further argued, regarding claims 1, 7, and 13, that Krcma does not teach clamp plates as recited in the independent claims and that the clap plates are configured to accept a first container. Applicant asserted that for these reasons, the prior arts does not anticipate the claimed invention.
Examiner disagrees and would like to direct applicant’s attention to figures 5-12, where plate-like structures 34 and 32 of the decorating pent 30 are clearly shown to accept a container 2 or container 50 which is squeezed between the two plates to extrude a decorating material such as food icing. Thus, the prior art clearly teaches all of the limitations of the claims as recited. Therefore, claims 1-20 remain rejected under Krcma as discussed in detail above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Vishal Pancholi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754