Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 9, 2026 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1, 5, and 17-18. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 17, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-10, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo et al. (CN 111146584 A), hereinafter known as Luo.
Regarding claim 1, Luo discloses (Fig. 1-2) An antenna (Fig. 1-2), comprising: a substrate (1) having a flat first surface (Fig. 1); a first radiation portion (2) disposed on the first surface of the substrate (middle 2), the first radiation portion (middle 2) comprising: a first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2) and a second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) facing in opposite directions along a common longitudinal axis of the substrate (1) such that openings of the first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) extend away from each other; and a second radiation portion (top 2) disposed on the first surface of the substrate (1), the second radiation portion comprising: a third radiator (top 2); wherein the third radiator (top 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) are disposed next to each other along a same direction with a spacing in-between (7), the third radiator (top 2) is disposed along the common longitudinal axis with an opening facing toward a same direction as an opening of the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2), and the third radiator (top 2) is at least partially disposed within the opening of the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2), and the third radiator (top 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) have frequencies and radiator arm effective lengths so that the third radiator (top 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) are coupled with each other (7); wherein the first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2), the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2), and the third radiator (top 2) are respectively connected to form a feed line (51).
Regarding claim 2, Luo further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2), the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2), and the third radiator (top 2) are axial-symmetrically distributed.
Regarding claim 3, Luo further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein both the first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) have a first radiator shape; and the first radiator shape comprises a radiator body provided with bending portions at two tail ends (left and right ends of middle 2) and one pair of radiator arms (left and right arms of 2) formed by the bending portions extending by a predetermined length.
Regarding claim 4, Luo further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a ratio of radiator arm effective lengths of the first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) is within a preset first numerical value range; and the first numerical value range is formed by floating a preset numerical value up and down based on 5.
Regarding claim 5, Luo further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) is a front radiator having the opening facing a direction opposite to a direction in which the feed line (51) extends, and the first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2) is a rear radiator having an opening facing a same direction in which the feed line (51) extends.
Regarding claim 9, Luo further discloses (Fig. 1-2) further comprising: a third radiation portion (3, 4) symmetrically distributed over the first surface (Fig. 1) and a second surface (Fig. 2); wherein the second surface (Fig. 2) is a reverse side of the first surface (Fig. 1); wherein the third radiation portion (3, 4) comprises: a fourth radiator (top radiator of bottom 31), a fifth radiator (bottom radiator of bottom 31), a sixth radiator (top radiator of top 41), and a seventh radiator (bottom radiator of top 41); and wherein the fourth radiator (top radiator of bottom 31) and the fifth radiator (bottom radiator of bottom 31) facing oppositely are symmetrically arranged on the first surface; and the sixth radiator (top radiator of top 41) and the seventh radiator (bottom radiator of top 41) facing oppositely are symmetrically arranged on the second surface.
Regarding claim 10, Luo further discloses (Fig. 1-2) wherein the fourth radiator (top radiator of bottom 31), the fifth radiator (bottom radiator of bottom 31), the sixth radiator (top radiator of top 41), and the seventh radiator (bottom radiator of top 41) all have a first radiator shape; and the first radiator shape comprises a radiator body (middle of radiator) provided with bending portions at two tail ends and one pair of radiator arms (side arms of radiator) formed by the bending portions extending by a predetermined length.
Regarding claim 13, Luo further discloses (Fig. 1-2) wherein the fifth radiator (bottom radiator of bottom 31) and the seventh radiator (bottom radiator of top 41) are front radiators having openings facing a direction opposite to a direction in which the feed line (51) extends, and the fourth radiator (top radiator of bottom 31) and the sixth radiator (top radiator of top 41) are rear radiators having openings facing a same direction in which the feed line (51) extends.
Regarding claim 17, Luo discloses (Fig. 1-2) A wireless signal processing device ([0007] of machine translation), comprising: an antenna for transmitting or receiving a wireless signal (Fig. 1-2); and a transmitting path (51, 52, 53) for loading information content into a radio frequency carrier signal to form the wireless signal and send the wireless signal via the antenna (Fig. 1-2; [0008]-[0009], [0012] of machine translation); wherein the antenna comprises: a substrate (1) having a flat first surface (Fig. 1); a first radiation portion (2) disposed on the first surface of the substrate (middle 2), the first radiation portion (middle 2) comprising: a first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2) and a second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) facing in opposite directions along a common longitudinal axis of the substrate (1) such that openings of the first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) extend away from each other; and a second radiation portion (top 2) disposed on the first surface of the substrate (1), the second radiation portion comprising: a third radiator (top 2); wherein the third radiator (top 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) are disposed next to each other along a same direction with a spacing in-between (7), the third radiator (top 2) is disposed along the common longitudinal axis with an opening facing toward a same direction as an opening of the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2), and the third radiator (top 2) is at least partially disposed within the opening of the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2), and the third radiator (top 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) have frequencies and radiator arm effective lengths so that the third radiator (top 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) are coupled with each other (7); wherein the first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2), the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2), and the third radiator (top 2) are respectively connected to form a feed line (51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Wang (CN 207124288 U).
Regarding claim 6, Luo does not specifically teach wherein the second radiation portion further comprises: a microstrip line; wherein the third radiator has a first radiator shape, and the microstrip line is a linear conductor, is arranged on an axis of symmetry of the third radiator, and forms a second radiator shape with the third radiator.
However, Wang teaches (Fig. 1) wherein the second radiation portion further comprises: a microstrip line (6); wherein the third radiator (7) has a first radiator shape (7), and the microstrip line (6) is a linear conductor, is arranged on an axis of symmetry of the third radiator (7), and forms a second radiator shape with the third radiator (7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Luo with Wang to include “wherein the second radiation portion further comprises: a microstrip line; wherein the third radiator has a first radiator shape, and the microstrip line is a linear conductor, is arranged on an axis of symmetry of the third radiator, and forms a second radiator shape with the third radiator,” as taught by Wang, for the purpose of reducing size and cost (see also [0009]).
Regarding claim 7, Luo does not specifically teach wherein a length ratio of the microstrip line to the third radiator is within a preset second numerical value range; and the second numerical range is formed by floating a preset numerical value up and down based on 4.
However, Wang teaches (Fig. 1) wherein a length ratio of the microstrip line (6) to the third radiator (7) is within a preset second numerical value range (within a numerical range of 4 or more); and the second numerical range is formed by floating a preset numerical value up and down based on 4.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Luo with Wang to include “wherein the second radiation portion further comprises: a microstrip line; wherein the third radiator has a first radiator shape, and the microstrip line is a linear conductor, is arranged on an axis of symmetry of the third radiator, and forms a second radiator shape with the third radiator,” as taught by Wang, for the purpose of reducing size and cost (see also [0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Luo does not specifically teach wherein a total length of a radiator body and a radiator arm of the first radiator is between 1/8 and 3/4 of a low-frequency resonance wavelength; and a total length of a radiator body and a radiator arm of the third radiator is between 1/8 and 3/4 of a medium frequency resonance wavelength.
However, Wang teaches (Fig. 1) wherein a total length of a radiator body and a radiator arm of the first radiator is between 1/8 and 3/4 of a low-frequency resonance wavelength ([0018] of machine translation); and a total length of a radiator body and a radiator arm of the third radiator is between 1/8 and 3/4 of a medium frequency resonance wavelength ([0018] of machine translation).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Luo with Wang to include “wherein a total length of a radiator body and a radiator arm of the first radiator is between 1/8 and 3/4 of a low-frequency resonance wavelength; and a total length of a radiator body and a radiator arm of the third radiator is between 1/8 and 3/4 of a medium frequency resonance wavelength,” as taught by Wang, for the purpose of enabling desired frequency bands and achieving high isolation (see also [0009]).
Regarding claim 14, Luo further teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein the feed line comprises a first feed line (51) arranged on the first surface (Fig. 1) and a second feed line (53) arranged on a second surface (Fig. 2) but does not specifically teach and three grounding points are disposed on the second feed line.
However, Wang teaches (Fig. 1) three grounding points (4) are disposed on the second feed line.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Luo with Wang to include “three grounding points are disposed on the second feed line,” as taught by Wang, for the purpose of reducing size and cost (see also [0009]).
Regarding claim 15, Luo does not specifically teach wherein the first feed line and the second feed line are coaxial lines; and the front radiator is connected to an inner conductor of the coaxial lines, and the rear radiator is connected to an outer conductor of the coaxial lines, forming one feeding point and three grounding points.
However, Wang teaches (Fig. 1) wherein the first feed line (3) and the second feed line (2) are coaxial lines ([0017]); and the front radiator (left radiator of 8) is connected to an inner conductor of the coaxial lines (3), and the rear radiator (right radiator of 8) is connected to an outer conductor of the coaxial lines (3), forming one feeding point (31) and three grounding points (4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Luo with Wang to include “wherein the first feed line and the second feed line are coaxial lines; and the front radiator is connected to an inner conductor of the coaxial lines, and the rear radiator is connected to an outer conductor of the coaxial lines, forming one feeding point and three grounding points,” as taught by Wang, for the purpose of reducing size and cost (see also [0009]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Mohammadian (US PGPUB 2004/0217912 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Luo does not specifically teach wherein the antenna further comprises: one pair of clearance grooves disposed on the substrate; wherein the one pair of the clearance grooves are arranged symmetrically, and are located between radiator arms of the fourth radiator.
However, Mohammadian teaches (Fig. 3A) wherein the antenna further comprises: one pair of clearance grooves (312, 314) disposed on the substrate (306); wherein the one pair of the clearance grooves (312, 314) are arranged symmetrically, and are located between radiator arms of the fourth radiator (304).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Luo with Mohammadian to include “wherein the antenna further comprises: one pair of clearance grooves disposed on the substrate; wherein the one pair of the clearance grooves are arranged symmetrically, and are located between radiator arms of the fourth radiator,” as taught by Mohammadian, for the purpose of balancing the feed of the fourth radiator (see also [0040]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Chen (US Patent No. 6906678 B2).
Regarding claim 12, Luo does not specifically teach wherein a total length of a radiator body and a radiator arm of the fourth radiator is between 1/8 and 3/4 of a high-frequency resonance wavelength.
However, Chen teaches (Fig. 3) wherein a total length of a radiator body and a radiator arm of the fourth radiator is between 1/8 and 3/4 of a high-frequency resonance wavelength (col. 4, lines 4-12).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Luo with Chen to include “wherein a total length of a radiator body and a radiator arm of the fourth radiator is between 1/8 and 3/4 of a high-frequency resonance wavelength,” as taught by Chen, for the purpose of enabling multiple frequency capabilities and radiation patterns (see also col. 4, lines 12-14).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Yong et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0190489 A1), hereinafter known as Yong.
Regarding claim 16, Luo does not specifically teach wherein a first frequency band corresponding to the first radiation portion is 978MHz, a second frequency band corresponding to the second radiation portion is 1.09GHz, and a third frequency band corresponding to the third radiation portion is 5.8GHz.
However, Yong teaches (Fig. 12) wherein a first frequency band corresponding to the first radiation portion is 978MHz ([0080]), a second frequency band corresponding to the second radiation portion is 1.09GHz ([0080]), and a third frequency band corresponding to the third radiation portion is 5.8GHz ([0080]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Luo with Yong to include “wherein a first frequency band corresponding to the first radiation portion is 978MHz, a second frequency band corresponding to the second radiation portion is 1.09GHz, and a third frequency band corresponding to the third radiation portion is 5.8GHz,” as taught by Yong, for the purpose of enabling operation at desired frequencies (see also [0080]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (CN 110931965 A) in view of Luo.
Regarding claim 18, Tan teaches (Fig. 1-3 and 6) An unmanned aerial vehicle (20), comprising: a fuselage (21) having a landing gear (24) thereon; a motor (23) mounted on the fuselage (21) for providing flight power for the unmanned aerial vehicle (21); and an antenna (10) mounted on the landing gear (24)
but does not specifically teach wherein the antenna comprises: a substrate having a flat first surface; a first radiation portion disposed on the first surface of the substrate, the first radiation portion comprising: a first radiator and a second radiator facing in opposite directions along a common longitudinal axis of the substrate such that openings of the first radiator and the second radiator extend away from each other; and a second radiation portion disposed on the first surface of the substrate, the second radiation portion comprising: a third radiator; wherein the third radiator and the second radiator are disposed next to each other along a same direction with a spacing in-between, the third radiator is disposed along the common longitudinal axis with an opening facing toward a same direction as an opening of the second radiator, and the third radiator is at least partially disposed within the opening of the second radiator, and the third radiator and the second radiator have frequencies and radiator arm effective lengths so that the third radiator and the second radiator are coupled with each other; wherein the first radiator, the second radiator, and the third radiator are respectively connected to form a feed line.
However, Luo teaches (Fig. 1-2) wherein the antenna (Fig. 1-2) comprises: a substrate (1) having a flat first surface (Fig. 1); a first radiation portion (2) disposed on the first surface of the substrate (middle 2), the first radiation portion (middle 2) comprising: a first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2) and a second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) facing in opposite directions along a common longitudinal axis of the substrate (1) such that openings of the first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) extend away from each other; and a second radiation portion (top 2) disposed on the first surface of the substrate (1), the second radiation portion comprising: a third radiator (top 2); wherein the third radiator (top 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) are disposed next to each other along a same direction with a spacing in-between (7), the third radiator (top 2) is disposed along the common longitudinal axis with an opening facing toward a same direction as an opening of the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2), and the third radiator (top 2) is at least partially disposed within the opening of the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2), and the third radiator (top 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) have frequencies and radiator arm effective lengths so that the third radiator (top 2) and the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2) are coupled with each other (7); wherein the first radiator (bottom radiator of middle 2), the second radiator (top radiator of middle 2), and the third radiator (top 2) are respectively connected to form a feed line (51).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle of Tan with Luo to include “wherein the antenna comprises: a substrate having a flat first surface; a first radiation portion disposed on the first surface of the substrate, the first radiation portion comprising: a first radiator and a second radiator facing in opposite directions along a common longitudinal axis of the substrate such that openings of the first radiator and the second radiator extend away from each other; and a second radiation portion disposed on the first surface of the substrate, the second radiation portion comprising: a third radiator; wherein the third radiator and the second radiator are disposed next to each other along a same direction with a spacing in-between, the third radiator is disposed along the common longitudinal axis with an opening facing toward a same direction as an opening of the second radiator, and the third radiator is at least partially disposed within the opening of the second radiator, and the third radiator and the second radiator have frequencies and radiator arm effective lengths so that the third radiator and the second radiator are coupled with each other; wherein the first radiator, the second radiator, and the third radiator are respectively connected to form a feed line,” as taught by Luo, for the purpose of enabling multiple frequencies with improved isolation (see also [0028] of machine translation).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845