DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mercurio (US 10,059,273).
Regarding claim 1, Mercurio discloses a vehicle rooftop sliding carrier 16 comprising: a fixed frame 18 configured to attach to a vehicle roof, the fixed frame including longitudinal members 26/27; a sliding frame 20 installed atop the fixed frame and configured to slide rearwardly relative to the vehicle, the sliding frame including longitudinal members 34/35 parallel to the fixed frame longitudinal members; a plurality of casters 38/39/41/42/44/45/47/48 located on the sliding frame longitudinal members for sliding the sliding frame rearwardly relative to the fixed frame; a stopper 80/82 and pin 65/66 for limiting rearward sliding of the sliding frame relative to the fixed frame when the sliding frame is fully extended (Figure 8); a locking mechanism 77/78 separate from the stopper 80/82 and pin 65/66, the locking mechanism comprising at least one locking pin 77 and corresponding holes 78 for releasably locking the sliding frame in a fixed position relative to the fixed frame; and, cargo attachments 24a/24b located on the sliding frame for securing cargo to the sliding frame.
Regarding claim 2, the sliding frame 20 is extendable from a rear of the fixed frame 18 and the vehicle to provide loading and unloading of cargo onto and from the sliding frame – see Figure 9.
Regarding claim 4, Mercurio discloses a telescopic pull handle 22 on a rear of the sliding frame for extending the sliding frame rearwardly.
Regarding claim 5, see clamps 30/31/32/33/70/73/74 for attaching the fixed frame to the vehicle roof.
Regarding claim 8, Mercurio discloses a securing attachment 94/95/96/97 for preventing cargo from sliding during loading and unloading.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercurio (US 10,059,273) in view of Stapleton et al. (US 6,827,244).
Regarding claim 6, Mercurio discloses the carrier substantially as claimed but does not disclose the sliding frame including hinges for pivoting a front portion relative to a rear portion of the sliding frame. Stapleton teaches a similar sliding carrier 10 having fixed frame members 12 and a sliding frame 16, the sliding frame including a plurality of sections 18a/18b/18c which are hinged together (see hinges 32) such that a front portion can pivot relative to a rear portion (Figure 4 and 5) such that the front portion can remain within the fixed frame while the rear portion pivots downward (Figures 6a and 6B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the sliding carrier with sections that are hinged together to allow only a portion of the frame to be lowered as needed to load and unload the carrier.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercurio (US 10,059,273) in view of Christensen (US 5,904,463).
Regarding claim 7, Mercurio discloses the carrier being mounted to the vehicle via clamps that secure to an existing roof rack on the vehicle. Mercurio does not disclose padded footings for supporting the fixed frame on the vehicle roof. Christensen discloses a roof rack carrier for loading and unloading items wherein the carrier has a fixed frame 50/60 that is provided with padded footings 200/90 and mounting members 210/225. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the carrier with padded footings in place of the clamp members in order to enable the carrier to be mounted to a vehicle without a pre-existing roof rack.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Mercurio does not disclose a locking mechanism that is separate from the stopper and pin as now recited in claim 1. However, as applied above, Mercurio discloses a stopper 80/82 and pin 65/66 for limiting rearward sliding of the sliding frame relative to the fixed frame when the sliding frame is fully extended (Figure 8) and a locking mechanism 77/78 separate from the stopper 80/82 and pin 65/66, the locking mechanism comprising at least one locking pin 77 and corresponding holes 78 for releasably locking the sliding frame in a fixed position relative to the fixed frame.
Regarding claim 6, a new rejection has been made in view of the new/updated rejection of claim 1 and therefore the arguments are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COREY N SKURDAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734