DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending and prosecuted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aporia - MagSafe Clear Case with Pearl Wristlet Strap | Compatible for MagSafe iPhone 13 Pro | Strap Lanyard for Strong Wireless Charging Luxury Design (iPhone 13 Pro) (Date First Available: Augusts 1st 2022, https://www.amazon.com/Aporia-Wristlet-Compatible-Wireless-Charging/dp/B0B8BT98HM?th=1 ), henceforth known as Aporia.
Regarding Claim 1, Aporia discloses a mobile device carrying device (Page 1; a Masafe Clear Case for iPhone 13 Pro), comprising
A first connecting point configured to engage with a carrying case for a mobile device (Page 1; as seen in the drawing below, there is a first connecting point that engages with the carry case),
The first connecting point having a connection interface (Page 1; as seen in the drawing below, the first connecting point has a connection interface)
A second connecting point configured to engage with a carrying case for a mobile device (Page 1; as seen in the drawing below, there is a second connecting point that engages with the carry case),
The second connecting point having a connection interface (Page 1; as seen in the drawing below, the second connecting point has a connection interface),
A strap, The strap having a first connecting end and a second connecting end located at opposing ends of the strap (Page 1; as seen in the drawing below, there is a strap having a first and second “connecting end” at opposite sides).
Regarding Claim 2, Aporia discloses wherein the first connecting end of the strap is configured to mate with the connection interface of the first connecting point, and the second connecting end of the strap is configured to mate with the connection interface of the second connecting point (Page 1; as seen in the drawing above, the strap has two connecting ends that are configured to “mate” with the connection interfaces ).
Regarding Claim 7, Aporia discloses where the strap comprises a chain structure (Page 1; the strap comprises a “chain structure”).
Regarding Claim 8, Aporia discloses where the strap comprises an aesthetic feature (Page 1; the examiner considers the strap as comprising an “aesthetic feature”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aporia - MagSafe Clear Case with Pearl Wristlet Strap | Compatible for MagSafe iPhone 13 Pro | Strap Lanyard for Strong Wireless Charging Luxury Design (iPhone 13 Pro)
(Date First Available: Augusts 1st 2022, https://www.amazon.com/Aporia-Wristlet-Compatible-Wireless-Charging/dp/B0B8BT98HM?th=1 ), in further view of 齋藤 駿, JP 3245781, and in further view of Camevali, US Patent Publication 2003/0180088.
Regarding Claim 3, Aporia doesn’t explicitly disclose further comprising at least one intermediary connector.
齋藤 駿, JP 3245781, discloses that a ball chain, a linear chain made by joining metal balls, can be attached to a mobile as a strap or a key chain, make it convenient for transportation (page 6). Furthermore it is depicted that the ball chain is conncted to itself via an interconnect as seen in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Aporia to further include the teachings of 齋藤 駿 such that the strap is a ball chain. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because 齋藤 駿 teaches that a ball chain can be attached to a mobile as a strap to make it convenient for transportation (齋藤 駿: page 6).
However, the combination of Aporia and 齋藤 駿 doesn’t explicitly teach further comprising at least one intermediary connector.
Camevali, US Patent Publication 2003/0180088, discloses the use of an adjustable ball and socket mounting device, where a male mounting base 300b is formed with a shaft 314 projected from base 316B, with a spherical rounded end portion 316 formed substantially identically to rounded tip 14 of link 10 (Figure 6B; [0054];). Camevali further discloses the use of a link 900 (at least one intermediary connector) formed of a substantially cylindrical body 602 with two cavities 604 preferably formed identical for engaging with the rounded tip or rounded projection. Thus one cavity of female-female link is interconnected with one male mounting base (Figure 9A; [0062];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Aporia and 齋藤 駿 to further include the teachings of Camevali such that the first and second connecting point, each with a connecting interface, is replaced with Camevali’s male mounting base and is mated with the ball-chain strap via the link 900 in order to provide further comprising at least one intermediary connector. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is to provide interconnecting to a columnar ball and socket elements (Camevali: Abstract).
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Aporia, 齋藤 駿, and Camevali teaches wherein the first connecting end of the strap is configured to mate with a first intermediary connector, and the first intermediary connector is configured to mate with the connection interface of the first connecting point (Aporia: page 1; 齋藤 駿: page 6; Camevali: Figure 6B and 9A; [0054]; [0062]; the ball-chain strap is configured to mate with a first link 600 on one end, where the opposite end of the link is configured to make with a first male mounting base (connection interface of the first connecting point)), and
the second connecting end of the strap is configured to mate with a second intermediary connector, and the second intermediary connector is configured to mate with the connection interface of the second connecting point (Aporia: page 1; 齋藤 駿: page 6; Camevali: Figure 6B and 9A; [0054]; [0062]; the ball-chain strap is configured to mate with a second link 600 on one end, where the opposite end of the link is configured to make with a second male mounting base (connection interface of the second connecting point)),.
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Aporia, 齋藤 駿, and Camevali teaches where the connection interfaces comprise ball mounts, the first and second connecting end of the strap comprise ball mounts, and the intermediary connectors comprise a ball chain connector (齋藤 駿: page 6; Camevali: Figure 6B and 9A; [0054]; [0062]; the first and second male mounting base comprising of spherical rounded end portion 316 is considered to “ball mounts” where the strap comprises of “ball mounts” and the link 600 is a “ball chain connector”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aporia - MagSafe Clear Case with Pearl Wristlet Strap | Compatible for MagSafe iPhone 13 Pro | Strap Lanyard for Strong Wireless Charging Luxury Design (iPhone 13 Pro)
(Date First Available: Augusts 1st 2022, https://www.amazon.com/Aporia-Wristlet-Compatible-Wireless-Charging/dp/B0B8BT98HM?th=1 ), in further view of Glass Jr. US Patent 10211875.
Regarding Claim 6, Aporia doesn’t explicitly disclose where at least one connecting point comprises a shaft configured to pass through the mobile device case, a shoulder configured to engage the mobile device case at a first end of the shaft, and a connection interface at a second end of the shaft.
However, Glass Jr. US Patent 10211875 discloses the use of a loop shape mount faster 101 that is positioned within a single-entry hole 103 of a mobile phone carry case 102, that is secured using nuts 104 (shoulder). The loop shape mount faster 101 is depicted as having a “shaft” that passed through to connect with the nut (a shaft configured to pass through the mobile device case, a shoulder configured to engage the mobile device case at a first end of the shaft) (Figures 9, 10, 15, and 16; col. 4, ll. 12-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Aporia to further include the teachings of Glass Jr in order to provide where at least one connecting point comprises a shaft configured to pass through the mobile device case, a shoulder configured to engage the mobile device case at a first end of the shaft, and a connection interface at a second end of the shaft. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is to provide attachment of the fastener mounts to the mobile device holder (Glass Jr: col. 2, ll. 32-39)
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aporia - MagSafe Clear Case with Pearl Wristlet Strap | Compatible for MagSafe iPhone 13 Pro | Strap Lanyard for Strong Wireless Charging Luxury Design (iPhone 13 Pro)
(Date First Available: Augusts 1st 2022, https://www.amazon.com/Aporia-Wristlet-Compatible-Wireless-Charging/dp/B0B8BT98HM?th=1 ), in further view of in further view of Glass Jr. US Patent 10211875, in further view of 齋藤 駿, JP 3245781, and in further view of Camevali, US Patent Publication 2003/0180088.
Regarding Claim 9, Aporia discloses a mobile device carrying device (Page 1; a Masafe Clear Case for iPhone 13 Pro), comprising
A first connecting point, the first connecting point comprising (Page 1; as seen in the drawing below, there is a first connecting point that engages with the carry case)
A connection interface (Page 1; as seen in the drawing below, the first connecting point has a connection interface)
A second connecting point, the second connecting point comprising device (Page 1; as seen in the drawing below, there is a second connecting point that engages with the carry case),
A connection interface (Page 1; as seen in the drawing below, the second connecting point has a connection interface),
A strap, the strap comprising A first connecting end and a second connecting end (Page 1; as seen in the drawing below, there is a strap having a first and second “connecting end” at opposite sides).
However, Aporia does not explicitly disclose the first connecting point comprising
A shaft configured to pass from the interior to exterior of a mobile device case
A shoulder located at a first end of the shaft, the shoulder configured to engage with an interior surface of a mobile device case
A connection interface located at a second end of the shaft, the connection interface configured to mate with an external structure
the second connecting point comprising
A shaft configured to pass from the interior to exterior of a mobile device case
A shoulder located at a first end of the shaft, the shoulder configured to engage with an interior surface of a mobile device case
A connection interface located at a second end of the shaft, the connection interface configured to mate with an external structure
where the first and second connecting ends are configured to mate with an external structure.
Glass Jr. US Patent 10211875 discloses the use of a loop shape mount faster 101 that is positioned within a single-entry hole 103 of a mobile phone carry case 102, that is secured using nuts 104 (shoulder). The loop shape mount faster 101 is depicted as having a “shaft” that passed through to connect with the nut (A shaft configured to pass from the interior to exterior of a mobile device case; A shoulder located at a first end of the shaft, the shoulder configured to engage with an interior surface of a mobile device case), where on the opposite side of shaft, that is connected to the nut, is the loop (connection interface) (Figures 9, 10, 15, and 16; col. 4, ll. 12-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Aporia to further include the teachings of Glass Jr in order to provide the first connecting point comprising: A shaft configured to pass from the interior to exterior of a mobile device case, A shoulder located at a first end of the shaft, the shoulder configured to engage with an interior surface of a mobile device case, A connection interface located at a second end of the shaft, the second connecting point comprising: A shaft configured to pass from the interior to exterior of a mobile device case, A shoulder located at a first end of the shaft, the shoulder configured to engage with an interior surface of a mobile device case, A connection interface located at a second end of the shaft. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is to provide attachment of the fastener mounts to the mobile device holder (Glass Jr: col. 2, ll. 32-39).
However, the combination of Aporia and Glass Jr doesn’t explicitly teach the first connecting point comprising
the connection interface configured to mate with an external structure
the second connecting point comprising
the connection interface configured to mate with an external structure
where the first and second connecting ends are configured to mate with an external structure.
齋藤 駿, JP 3245781, discloses that a ball chain, a linear chain made by joining metal balls, can be attached to a mobile as a strap or a key chain, make it convenient for transportation (page 6). Furthermore it is depicted that the ball chain is connected to itself via an interconnect as seen in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Aporia and Glass Jr to further include the teachings of 齋藤 駿 such that the strap is a ball chain. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because 齋藤 駿 teaches that a ball chain can be attached to a mobile as a strap to make it convenient for transportation (齋藤 駿: page 6).
However, the combination of Aporia, Glass Jr, and 齋藤 駿 doesn’t explicitly teach the first connecting point comprising
the connection interface configured to mate with an external structure
the second connecting point comprising
the connection interface configured to mate with an external structure
where the first and second connecting ends are configured to mate with an external structure.
Camevali, US Patent Publication 2003/0180088, discloses the use of an adjustable ball and socket mounting device, where a male mounting base 300b is formed with a shaft 314 projected from base 316B, with a spherical rounded end portion 316 formed substantially identically to rounded tip 14 of link 10 (Figure 6B; [0054];). Camevali further discloses the use of a link 900 (an external structure) formed of a substantially cylindrical body 602 with two cavities 604 preferably formed identical for engaging with the rounded tip or rounded projection. Thus one cavity of female-female link is interconnected with one male mounting base (Figure 9A; [0062];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Aporia, Glass Jr, and 齋藤 駿 to further include the teachings of Camevali such that the first and second connecting point, each with a connecting interface, is replaced with Camevali’s male mounting base and is mated with the ball-chain strap via the link 900 in order to provide the first connecting point comprising the connection interface configured to mate with an external structure, the second connecting point comprising the connection interface configured to mate with an external structure, and where the first and second connecting ends are configured to mate with an external structure. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is to provide interconnecting to a columnar ball and socket elements (Camevali: Abstract).
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Aporia, Glass Jr, 齋藤 駿 and Camevali teaches where the first connecting end of the strap is configured to mate with the connection interface of the first connecting point (Aporia: page 1; 齋藤 駿: page 6; Camevali: Figure 6B and 9A; [0054]; [0062]; the ball-chain strap is configured to mate with a first link 600 on one end, where the opposite end of the link is configured to make with a first male mounting base (connection interface of the first connecting point)), and
the second connecting end of the strap is configured to mate with the connection interface of the second connecting point (Aporia: page 1; 齋藤 駿: page 6; Camevali: Figure 6B and 9A; [0054]; [0062]; the ball-chain strap is configured to mate with a second link 600 on one end, where the opposite end of the link is configured to make with a second male mounting base (connection interface of the second connecting point)),
Regarding Claim 11, The combination of Aporia, Glass Jr, 齋藤 駿 and Camevali teaches further comprising intermediary connectors, where the first connecting end of the strap is configured to mate with a first intermediary connector, and the first intermediary connector is further configured to mate with the connection interface of the first connecting point (Aporia: page 1; 齋藤 駿: page 6; Camevali: Figure 6B and 9A; [0054]; [0062]; the ball-chain strap is configured to mate with a first link 600 on one end, where the opposite end of the link is configured to make with a first male mounting base (connection interface of the first connecting point)),, and
the second connecting end of the strap is configured to mate to mate with a second intermediary connector, and the second intermediary connector is further configured to mate with the connection interface of the second connecting point (Aporia: page 1; 齋藤 駿: page 6; Camevali: Figure 6B and 9A; [0054]; [0062]; the ball-chain strap is configured to mate with a second link 600 on one end, where the opposite end of the link is configured to make with a second male mounting base (connection interface of the second connecting point)),
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Aporia, Glass Jr, 齋藤 駿 and Camevali teaches where the connection interfaces comprise ball mounts, the first and second connecting end of the strap comprise ball mounts, and the intermediary connectors comprise a ball chain connector (齋藤 駿: page 6; Camevali: Figure 6B and 9A; [0054]; [0062]; the first and second male mounting base comprising of spherical rounded end portion 316 is considered to “ball mounts” where the strap comprises of “ball mounts” and the link 600 is a “ball chain connector”).
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Aporia, Glass Jr, 齋藤 駿 and Camevali teaches where the strap comprises an aesthetic feature (Aporia: Page 1; 齋藤 駿: page 6; the examiner considers the strap as comprising an “aesthetic feature”).
Conclusion
/PATRICK F MARINELLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699