DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 line 1 recites: “A second connector” should be --A female connector--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, and 13 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2012/0045935).
As per claim 1: Zhang et al. discloses a male connector 300, comprising: a conductive shell 31 (a metallic shell) ; a first substrate 33a, accommodated in the conductive shell 31, wherein the first substrate 32a has a plurality of first signal pads arranged in a row (not label, see figs. 2-3); a second substrate 33b, accommodated in the conductive shell 31, wherein the second substrate 33b has a plurality of second signal pads (as shown in fig. 2) arranged in a row; and a shielding sheet 32, accommodated in the conductive shell 31 and located between the first substrate 33a and the second substrate 33b (as shown in fig. 3). However, Zhang et al. does not explicitly mention wherein the first signal pads are configured to transmit receiving signals; and the second signal pads are configured to transmit sending signals.
On the other hand, Zhang et al. mentioned the second electrical connector 300 is adapted to be coupled to the first connector 200 to forms an electrical connection with the respective terminals in order to transmit signal/receive signal between connectors. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the first signal pads are configured to transmit receiving signals; and the second signal pads are configured to transmit sending signals can only deal with art recognized equivalents, because such modification still would not change the main function of the connector after all but to further enhance a dual function of the connector by having to receiving the signals and sending the signals in a connector. Since, the examiner takes Official Notice of the equivalent of the transmit receiving signals and transmit sending signals for their use in the art of connector and the selection of any of these known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the male connector of Zhang et al. by having the first signal pads are configured to transmit receiving signals; and the second signal pads are configured to transmit sending signals as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a dual function of the connector by having to receiving the signals and sending the signals in a connector.
As per claim 2: Zhang et al. discloses the male connector 300, and the first substrate 33a, first signal pads (not label, see figs. 2-3), and the shielding sheet 32. However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the first substrate has a first outer edge, each of the first signal pads has a first inner edge, the shielding sheet has a second outer edge, and viewing a front-rear direction, the second outer edge is located between the first inner edge and the first outer edge.
On the other hand, Zhang et al. showed the structure of the male connector with the first substrate, the first signal pads and the shielding sheet (as shown in figs. 2-3). Although, Zhang et al. does not in detail structures as recited limitations above. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the structure as recited above can only deal with change in shape because such modification still would not change the function of the male connector after all. Further, since applicants have presented no explanation that having a detail structures above are significant or are anything more than one numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of shapes providing of the connector. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the male connector of Zhang et al. by having the first substrate has a first outer edge, each of the first signal pads has a first inner edge, the shielding sheet has a second outer edge, and viewing a front-rear direction, the second outer edge is located between the first inner edge and the first outer edge as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, reliable structure when inserted/connected/mated to the female connector and/or securely receiving/sending signals in between connectors.
As per claim 5: Zhang et al. discloses a female connector 200 comprising: a first conductive body, provided with a first insertion slot ; a second conductive body, provided with a second insertion slot (not label, see figs. 7-8, Para. [0025]) wherein the electrical connector 200’); an accommodating slot 225’, located between the first conductive body and the second conductive body and configured to accommodate a shielding sheet 32 of a male connector 300, wherein the first conductive body and the second conductive body are configured to be contacted to the shielding sheet 32 (as shown in figs. 7-8); a plurality of first signal terminals 23a’/23b’, accommodated in the first conductive body and protruding out of the first insertion slot (as shown in figs. 7-8); and a plurality of second signal terminals 23c’/23d’, accommodated in the second conductive body and protruding out of the second insertion slot (as shown in figs. 7-8). Zhang et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first signal terminals are configured to transmit receiving signals; and wherein the second signal terminals are configured to transmit sending signals.
On the other hand, Zhang et al. mentioned the second electrical connector 300 is adapted to be coupled to the first connector 200 to forms an electrical connection with the respective terminals in order to transmit signal/receive signal between connectors. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the first signal terminals are configured to transmit receiving signals; and wherein the second signal terminals are configured to transmit sending signals can only deal with art recognized equivalents, because such modification still would not change the main function of the connector after all but to further enhance a dual function of the connector by having to receiving the signals and sending the signals in a connector. Since, the examiner takes Official Notice of the equivalent of the transmit receiving signals and transmit sending signals for their use in the art of connector and the selection of any of these known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the male connector of Zhang et al. by having the first signal terminals are configured to transmit receiving signals; and wherein the second signal terminals are configured to transmit sending signals as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a dual function of the connector by having to receiving the signals and sending the signals in a connector.
As per claim 13: Zhang et al. discloses an electrical connector assembly (see fig. 1), comprising: a male connector 300, provided with a conductive shell 31; a first substrate 33a, accommodated in the conductive shell 31; a second substrate 33b, accommodated in the conductive shell 31; at least one shielding sheet 32, accommodated in the conductive shell 31 and located between the first substrate 33a and the second substrate 33b; a female connector 200, provided with a first conductive body, a second conductive body and an accommodating slot (see figs. 7-8) located between the first conductive body and the second conductive body (not label, see figs. 7-8, Para. [0025]) wherein the electrical connector 200’, wherein the first conductive body is provided with a first insertion slot, and the second conductive body is provided with a second insertion slot (not label, see figs. 7-8, Para. [0025]) wherein the electrical connector 200’); a plurality of first signal terminals 23a’/23b’, accommodated in the first conductive body and protruding out of the first insertion slot (as shown in figs. 7-8); and a plurality of second signal terminals 23c’/23d’, accommodated in the second conductive body and protruding out of the second insertion slot (as shown in figs. 7-8); wherein when the male connector 300 and the female connector 300 mate with each other (see fig. 8), the first insertion slot is configured to accommodate the first substrate 33a, the first signal terminals 23a’/23b’ and the first substrate 32a are electrically contacted to each other (see fig. 8), the second insertion slot is configured to accommodate the second substrate 33b, the second signal terminals 23c’/23d’ and the second substrate 33b are electrically contacted to each other (see fig. 8), the accommodating slot is configured to accommodate the shielding sheet 32, and the first conductive body and/or the second conductive body are configured to lap joint with the shielding sheet 32 (as shown in fig. 8). However, Zhang et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first substrate is configured to transmit receiving signals; and wherein the second substrate is configured to transmit sending signals; and wherein the first signal terminals are configured to transmit the receiving signals; and wherein the second signal terminals are configured to transmit the sending signals.
On the other hand, Zhang et al. mentioned the second electrical connector 300 is adapted to be coupled to the first connector 200 to forms an electrical connection with the respective terminals in order to transmit signal/receive signal between connectors. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the first substrate is configured to transmit receiving signals; and wherein the second substrate is configured to transmit sending signals; and wherein the first signal terminals are configured to transmit the receiving signals; and wherein the second signal terminals are configured to transmit the sending signals can only deal with art recognized equivalents, because such modification still would not change the main function of the connector after all but to further enhance a dual function of the connector by having to receiving the signals and sending the signals in a connector. Since, the examiner takes Official Notice of the equivalent of the transmit receiving signals and transmit sending signals for their use in the art of connector and the selection of any of these known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the male connector of Zhang et al. by having the first substrate is configured to transmit receiving signals; and wherein the second substrate is configured to transmit sending signals; and wherein the first signal terminals are configured to transmit the receiving signals; and wherein the second signal terminals are configured to transmit the sending signals as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a dual function of the connector by having to receiving the signals and sending the signals in a connector.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6-12, and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831