Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Frank et al (US-8434520).
Regarding claim 1, Frank et al. discloses a trailer brake module (col. 1, lines 14-20), comprising: a brake supply pressure input (fig 3, 12, at least one of the left side ducts 12); a brake control pressure input (fig 3, 12, at least one of the left side ducts 12); a brake pressure output (fig 3, 12, at least another of the ducts 12) configured to supply a brake pressure to braking devices on a trailer (col. 1, lines 14-20 and col. 2, line 31-36 wherein the pneumatic interface can include ports for a connection to a plurality of lines, including, for example, a pressure reservoir and various outputs); a valve arrangement comprising a relay valve (18) configured to apply and release the brake pressure to the braking devices (col. 1, lines 14-15); a load solenoid (at least air admission valve 4, col. 4, line 17) an exhaust solenoid (vent valve 6, col. 4, line 18); and a backup solenoid (redundancy 5, col. 4, line 12) wherein the solenoids are configured to control pressure supply to a pilot port of the relay valve (18, col. 4, lines 10-35 at least during EBS control), the brake pressure configured to be modulated (fig 5, modulator 24 and at least col. 4, lines 10-48), and outputs (see indicated output portion in annotated fig 3 below) of each the solenoids (at least at 14 and/or 4/5/6) are arranged substantially transversely to a direction of motion of the relay valve (see annotated fig 3 below and fig 5, 18, wherein the motion of the relay valve has been interpreted as along an axis in an up/down direction with respect to 18 and fig 5 and pneumatic interface 14 has been interpreted as transverse or perpendicular to the axis of 18). Frank et al. also discloses wherein the valve cartridges 4a, 5a, and 6a run in transverse direction through pilot control housing 2 (col. 3, line 50-55), and the valve arrangement is arranged in a monoblock housing (2 and/or 2/24, wherein the monoblock housing has been interpreted as modulator 24, wherein fig 5 shows pilot control unit 1 together with its pneumatic interface 14 forming a sealing labyrinth with air-flow-boosting relay valve 18, col. 4, lines 3-6 and 44-46). The arrangement as disclosed in Frank et al. has been interpreted as a monoblock housing structure in that in its fully assembled state, it provides a single sealed outer housing environment for the relay and solenoid valve assembly.
Regarding claim 3, Frank et al. discloses wherein the outputs of each of the solenoids (4, 5, and 6) are arranged substantially perpendicularly to a direction of motion of a piston of the relay valve (fig 5, 18, wherein the motion of the relay valve has been interpreted as along an axis in an up/down direction with respect to 18 and fig 5 and pneumatic interface 14 has been interpreted as transverse or perpendicular to the axis of 18). Frank et al. also discloses wherein the valve cartridges 4a, 5a, and 6a run in transverse direction through pilot control housing 2 (col. 3, line 50-55).
Regarding claim 4, Frank et al. discloses a pressure transducer (at least 10) located on an output side of the relay valve (at least figs 3 and 5), wherein an output of the pressure transducer is capable of modulating an output pressure of the relay valve (col. 3, line 64-col. 4, line 9).
Regarding claim 5, Frank et al. discloses at least one solenoid (at least 4 or 5) configured to modulate an output pressure of the relay valve (at least col. 4, lines 10-15, during EBS control).
Regarding claim 6, Frank et al. discloses wherein the brake supply pressure input, the brake control pressure input, and the brake pressure output (at least internal ducts 12) are disposed such that the relay valve (18) is insertable and removable from a first side of the arrangement without removing the solenoids (at least col. 2, lines 31-55 wherein 18 is attached at the bottom of 2 and the solenoids are insertable from a top side).
Regarding claim 7, Frank et al. discloses wherein the brake supply pressure input, the brake control pressure input, and the brake pressure output (at least internal ducts 12) are disposed such that the relay valve (18) is insertable and removable from a first side of the arrangement without removing the solenoids (at least col. 2, lines 31-55 wherein 18 is attached at the bottom of 2 and the solenoids are insertable from a top side).
Regarding claim 8, Frank et al. discloses wherein the brake supply pressure input, the brake control pressure input, and the brake pressure output (at least internal ducts 12) are disposed such that the relay valve (18) is insertable and removable from a first side of the arrangement without removing the solenoids (at least col. 2, lines 31-55 wherein 18 is attached at the bottom of 2 and the solenoids are insertable from a top side).
Regarding claim 9, Frank et al. discloses wherein the brake control pressure input (12 and/or 12/14) is arranged substantially perpendicularly to the direction of motion of the relay valve (fig 5, 18, col. 2, lines 31-36 and wherein the motion of the relay valve has been interpreted as along an axis in an up/down direction with respect to 18 and fig 5 and pneumatic interface 14 has been interpreted as transverse or perpendicular to the axis of 18). Frank et al. also discloses wherein the valve cartridges 4a, 5a, and 6a run in transverse direction through pilot control housing 2 (col. 3, line 50-55).
Regarding claim 10, Frank et al. discloses wherein the brake control pressure input (12 and/or 12/14) is arranged substantially perpendicularly to the direction of motion of the relay valve (fig 5, 18, col. 2, lines 31-36 and wherein the motion of the relay valve has been interpreted as along an axis in an up/down direction with respect to 18 and fig 5 and pneumatic interface 14 has been interpreted as transverse or perpendicular to the axis of 18). Frank et al. also discloses wherein the valve cartridges 4a, 5a, and 6a run in transverse direction through pilot control housing 2 (col. 3, line 50-55).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the prior art of record lacks wherein the outputs of each of the solenoids are arranged substantially transversely to a direction of motion of the relay valve, and the valve arrangement is arranged in a monoblock housing, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth above, the outputs of the valves 4, 5, and 6 have been interpreted to be transverse to a direction of motion of the relay valve at least at the output portion indicated in annotated figure 3. With regards to the monoblock housing, it has been interpreted that Frank et al. shows a housing structure in its fully assembled state, that provides a single sealed outer housing environment for the relay and solenoid valve assembly. The claim does not require any structural feature or relationship which would preclude said interpretation. Would a welded connection of housing parts be considered monoblock, or does the housing have to be molded or cast as one piece? The limitation “the valve arrangement is arranged in a monoblock housing” is broad in the sense that since the prior art shows a single sealed and enclosed outer structure, it has been interpreted as a monoblock structure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.K.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616