Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 7-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hino et al (US 11088601 B2) in view of Sakaue et al (US 20150162787 A1) in view of Kim (US 20120086300 A113).
With respect to claim 1, Hino teaches a stator assembly of a hairpin winding motor comprising: hairpin coils continuously connected along a circumferential direction to form a coil winding (fig. 2, armature winding 20); a stator core configured to fix the hairpin coils (fig. 2, core 11); and a support ring configured to surround an outer circumferential surface of the stator core (fig. 3, outer core 40), wherein: the hairpin coils and the stator core are inserted in a radial direction (fig. 13-14, col. 10 ln 59-62 “Next, in a core insertion step in step 3, as shown in FIG. 13 and FIG. 14, the inner core 30 is inserted from the radially outer side of the coil basket 121. The details of the core insertion step in step 3 will be described later.”); wherein the stator core includes a plurality of yokes formed of a magnetic material to form a magnetic path (fig. 4, back yoke portion 129), the yokes disposed along the circumferential direction and inserted into respective ones of the hairpin coils in the radial direction (col. 10 ln 59-61 “a core insertion step in step 3, as shown in FIG. 13 and FIG. 14, the inner core 30 is inserted from the radially outer side of the coil basket 121.”); teeth protruding in a radial direction from an inner circumferential surface of the yoke (fig. 4, inner core 130), a plurality of coil slots formed between the plurality of teeth and into which the hairpin coils are inserted (fig. 4, coil unit 21), and shoes configured to extend in a circumferential direction from both side surfaces of end portions of the teeth (fig. 4, insulation sheets 14) and wherein each of the yokes includes :a yoke body part forming a body (fig. 4, back yoke portion 129).
Hino does not teach “wherein the hairpin coils are moved outward from inside to fix the harpin coils to the yokes, a first protruding part protruding from one surface in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the yoke body part; a first recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the first protruding part: a second protruding part protruding from the other surface in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the yoke body part, and a second recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the second protruding part, and a side surface of each of the first protruding part and the first recessed part and a side surface of each of the second protruding part and the second recessed part are inclined to form a center angle of the yoke body part.”
Sakaue teaches wherein the hairpin coils are moved outward from inside to fix the harpin coils to the yokes (paragraph 112 “the diameter of the winding assembly 21 is enlarged by moving each of the winding bodies 22 of the winding assembly 21 slightly radially outward.”)
Sakaue does not teach “a first protruding part protruding from one surface in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the yoke body part; a first recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the first protruding part: a second protruding part protruding from the other surface in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the yoke body part, and a second recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the second protruding part, and a side surface of each of the first protruding part and the first recessed part and a side surface of each of the second protruding part and the second recessed part are inclined to form a center angle of the yoke body part.”
Kim teaches a first protruding part protruding from one surface in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the yoke body part, (fig. 3, lower accommodation unit (33)) a first recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the first protruding part (fig. 3, lower lug accept portion (35)), a second protruding part protruding from the other surface in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the yoke body part (fig. 3, lower lug 32), and a second recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the second protruding part (fig. 3, upper lug accept portion (36)); and a side surface of each of the first protruding part and the first recessed part and a side surface of each of the second protruding part and the second recessed part are inclined to form a center angle of the yoke body part (see figure 4, lugs and accept portions form the core 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hino with the radially pressing of windings of Sakaue with the lugs and receiving portions of Kim in order to better secure the teeth and wirings together increasing motor rigidity and thereby reducing vibrational damages.
With respect to claim 2, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches each of the hairpin coils includes a head portion exposed to the outside of the stator core in an axial direction (fig. 14, heads of armature windings 20 are exposed), and leg portions configured to extend from one end and the other end of the head portion to be inserted into a core slot of the stator core (figs 12-14, legs portions are in slots 13); and the leg portions are formed in a shape which is repeated in a circumferential direction by one pole pitch to be continuously connected (see at least fig. 12, leg portions are continuously repeated).
With respect to claim 3, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches a cross section of the leg portion is formed in a trapezoidal shape of which the outside is broad and the inside is narrow (fig. 5, coil unit 21), and thus a width decreases in a direction toward an inner diameter from an outer diameter of the stator core (fig. 6, coil unit 21).
With respect to claim 4, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches the hairpin coils are formed of a first coil which is a pair of hairpin coils disposed adjacent to each other in the radial direction (fig. 6, first slot layer s1), and a second coil which is a pair of hairpin coils disposed adjacent to each other in a radially outward direction from the first coil (fig. 6, second slot layer s2); and the first coil and the second coil are repeated in the radial direction (see figures 5-7, coils are repeated in the radial direction in order to make the full coils unit 21).
With respect to claim 7, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches each of the teeth is formed in a rectangular shape, and thus widths of one end and the other end thereof are the same (fig. 4, back yoke portion 129).
With respect to claim 9, Hino discloses method of manufacturing a stator assembly of a hairpin winding motor, in which hairpin coils are wound around a stator core having a plurality of coil slots (fig. 4, coil unit 21 between cire 11), the method comprising: providing the hairpin coils continuously connected to form a coil winding (fig. 9. Steps 1-2); coupling a plurality of yokes forming the stator core and the hairpin coils (fig. 9, step 3); and inserting a support ring configured to surround the stator core into an outer circumferential surface of the stator core (fig. 9, step 4), wherein a plurality of yokes are disposed along a circumferential direction (fig. 4, back yoke portion 129) a yoke body part forming a body (fig. 4, back yoke portion 129).
Hino does not teach “moving the hairpin coils outward from inside to fix the harpin coils to the yokes, wherein each of the yokes includes: a first protruding part protruding from one surface in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the yoke body part; a first recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the first protruding part; a second protruding part protruding from the other surface in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the yoke body part, and a second recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the second protruding part, and a side surface of each of the first protruding part and the first recessed part and a side surface of each of the second protruding part and the second recessed part are inclined to form a center angle of the yoke body part.”
Sakaue teaches moving the hairpin coils outward from inside to fix the harpin coils to the yokes (paragraph 112 “the diameter of the winding assembly 21 is enlarged by moving each of the winding bodies 22 of the winding assembly 21 slightly radially outward.”)
Sakaue does not teach “a first protruding part protruding from one surface in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the yoke body part; a first recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the first protruding part: a second protruding part protruding from the other surface in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the yoke body part, and a second recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the second protruding part, and a side surface of each of the first protruding part and the first recessed part and a side surface of each of the second protruding part and the second recessed part are inclined to form a center angle of the yoke body part.”
Kim teaches a first protruding part protruding from one surface in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the yoke body part, (fig. 3, lower accommodation unit (33)) a first recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the first protruding part (fig. 3, lower lug accept portion (35)), a second protruding part protruding from the other surface in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the yoke body part (fig. 3, lower lug 32), and a second recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the second protruding part (fig. 3, upper lug accept portion (36)); and a side surface of each of the first protruding part and the first recessed part and a side surface of each of the second protruding part and the second recessed part are inclined to form a center angle of the yoke body part (see figure 4, lugs and accept portions form the core 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hino with the radially pressing of windings of Sakaue with the lugs and receiving portions of Kim in order to better secure the teeth and wirings together increasing motor rigidity and thereby reducing vibrational damages.
With respect to claim 10, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches the yokes are moved inward from the outside to be coupled to the hairpin coils in coupling the yokes forming the stator core and the hairpin coils (figs 13-14 and col. 10 ln 59-62 “Next, in a core insertion step in step 3, as shown in FIG. 13 and FIG. 14, the inner core 30 is inserted from the radially outer side of the coil basket 121. The details of the core insertion step in step 3 will be described later.”).
With respect to claim 11, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches the hairpin coils are moved outward from the inside to be coupled between the plurality of yokes in coupling the yokes forming the stator core and the hairpin coils (col. 16 ln 6-11 “The armature producing device in FIG. 27 is provided with a coil inner-side regulating member 311 and a coil outer-side regulating member 312 that regulate the radially inner side and the radially outer side of the turn portions of the coil units 21, in order to regulate the radial-direction position of the coil basket 121.” The Examiner is interpreting regulation of the radial position as moving the coils outward as to fix their position. ).
With respect to claim 12, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches the yokes are inserted into the hairpin coils in a 2 radially inward direction from the outside of the hairpin coils in inserting the yokes into the 3 hairpin coils (figs 13-14 and col. 10 ln 59-62 “Next, in a core insertion step in step 3, as shown in FIG. 13 and FIG. 14, the inner core 30 is inserted from the radially outer side of the coil basket 121. The details of the core insertion step in step 3 will be described later.”).
With respect to claim 13, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches an outer diameter of the hairpin coil is formed 2smaller than an outer diameter of the stator core in inserting the yokes into the hairpin coils (see at least figures 13-14, the diameter of the coil basket 121 is smaller than that of the core).
With respect to claim 14, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches in fixing the hairpin coils by the yokes, the 2 outer diameter of the hairpin coil is formed smaller than the outer diameter of the hairpin coil in inserting the yokes into the hairpin coils by pressurization of the yokes (figs 13-14 and col. 10 ln 59-62 “Next, in a core insertion step in step 3, as shown in FIG. 13 and FIG. 14, the inner core 30 is inserted from the radially outer side of the coil basket 121. The details of the core insertion step in step 3 will be described later.” The Examiner is interpreting inserting as encompassing pressurization of yokes).
With respect to claim 15, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches teeth protrude in a radial direction from inner circumferential surfaces of the plurality of yokes (fig. 4, tooth portions 130 protrude slightly inward); and shoes extend in the circumferential direction from both side surfaces of end portions of the teeth (fig. 4, insulation sheets 14).
With respect to claim 16, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches a distance between the shoes which are adjacent to each other is greater than a thickness of the hairpin coil in inserting the yokes forming the stator core into the hairpin coils (see at least figure 4, insulation sheet 14 covers the tooth portion 130 which are wider than the coils 21).
With respect to claim 17, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches a distance between the shoes which are adjacent to each other is smaller than a thickness of the hairpin coil in gathering the yokes in the radial direction to fix the hairpin coils (see figure 4, distance between the end of the tooth portions 130 is smaller than that of the coils 21).
With respect to claim 18, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Hino further teaches the support ring is inserted downward in an axial direction in inserting the support ring configured to surround the stator core into the outer circumferential surface of the stator core (col. 10, ln 63-67 “Next, in a fixation member insertion step in step 4, as shown in FIG. 15, the outer core 40 is inserted in the axial direction, to obtain the armature 10. The details of the fixation member insertion step in step 4 will be described later.”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim in view of Ito et al (US 20160056696 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Hino in view of Sakaue et al in view of Kim teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “a length of the first coil in the radial direction is greater than a length of the second coil in the radial direction; and a width of the first coil in the circumferential direction is smaller than a width of the second coil in the circumferential direction”
Ito teaches a length of the first coil in the radial direction is greater than a length of the second coil in the radial direction (fig. 6, slot accommodating portion 12a); and a width of the first coil in the circumferential direction is smaller than a width of the second coil in the circumferential direction (fig. 6, slot accommodating portion 12b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hino with the radially pressing of windings of Sakaue with the lugs and receiving portions of Kim with the differing length and width coils of Ito in order to better secure the coils to the core, as the larger coils will better be fixed within the radial outside portion of core as their larger shape will only allow for their placement in the outside portion. Due to the better fixing, the motor will require less maintenance from issues stemming from the coil windings thereby increasing the motor lifespan due to the reduction of coil related problems.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hino et al in view of Kim in view of Sakaue et al.
With respect to claim 8, Hino teaches a stator assembly of a hairpin winding motor comprising: hairpin coils continuously connected along a circumferential direction to form a coil winding (fig. 2, armature winding 20); a plurality of stator cores disposed along the circumferential direction and configured to fix the hairpin coils (fig. 2, core 11); and a support ring configured to surround an outer circumferential surface of the stator core (fig. 3, outer core 40), wherein: each of the stator cores includes a yoke formed of a magnetic material to form a magnetic path (fig. 4, back yoke portion 129);
Hino does not teach “and the yoke includes a protrusion part protruding in a circumferential direction from one surface thereof, and a protrusion groove formed in a shape corresponding to the protrusion part in the other surface thereof, and into which the protrusion part adjacent thereto is inserted wherein the hairpin coils are moved outward from inside to fix the harpin coils to the yokes, and wherein each of the yokes includes: a yoke body fart forming a body; a first protruding part protruding from one surface in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the yoke body part; a first recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the first protruding part; a second protruding part protruding from the other surface in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the yoke body part, and a second recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the second protruding part, and a side surface of each of the first protruding part and the first recessed part and a side surface of each of the second protruding part and the second recessed part are inclined to form a center angle of the yoke body part.”
Kim teaches the yoke includes a protrusion part protruding in a circumferential direction from one surface thereof (fig 2, lug unit 6), and a protrusion groove formed in a shape corresponding to the protrusion part in the other surface thereof, and into which the protrusion part adjacent thereto is inserted (fig. 2, groove unit 5); a yoke body part forming a body (fig. 4, back yoke portion 129) a first protruding part protruding from one surface in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the yoke body part, (fig. 3, lower accommodation unit (33)) a first recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the first protruding part (fig. 3, lower lug accept portion (35)), a second protruding part protruding from the other surface in the circumferential direction at a radially inner side of the yoke body part (fig. 3, lower lug 32), and a second recessed part recessed in the circumferential direction at a radially outer side of the second protruding part (fig. 3, upper lug accept portion (36)); and a side surface of each of the first protruding part and the first recessed part and a side surface of each of the second protruding part and the second recessed part are inclined to form a center angle of the yoke body part (see figure 4, lugs and accept portions form the core 10).
Kim does not teach “wherein the hairpin coils are moved outward from inside to fix the harpin coils to the yokes.”
Sakaue teaches wherein the hairpin coils are moved outward from inside to fix the harpin coils to the yokes (paragraph 112 “the diameter of the winding assembly 21 is enlarged by moving each of the winding bodies 22 of the winding assembly 21 slightly radially outward.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hino with the lugs and receiving portions of Kim with the radial pressing of Sakaue in order to better secure the teeth together increasing motor rigidity and thereby reducing vibrational damages.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.O.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834