CTNF 18/367,723 CTNF 81008 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an Abstract Idea without significantly more. Step 1: Statutory Category Claim 1-11 are directed to a method, which falls within the statutory categories of invention. Claim 12 is directed to a system, which falls within the statutory categories of invention. Step 2A: Prong 1: Judicial Exception Claims 1 – 12 are directed to an Abstract Idea, specifically Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion). The claim recites the steps: obtaining a location, battery information (collecting information) predicting a charging demand (analyzing information) creating a charging plan (displaying information) These limitations recite mental processes because the steps can be practically performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. Additionally, these claims are directed to Certain Methods of organizing human activity, including managing and optimizing usage of charging resources and scheduling charging activity based on predicted demand. Step 2A, Prong 2: Integration into a Practical Application This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because although the claims include a traveling object, storage battery, charging facility, processor, and computer readable medium, are recited at a high level of generality and merely serve as tools for implementing the Abstract Idea. The claims do not recite any improvement to computer technology, battery technology, charging technology, autonomous vehicle technology or other technical field. The claims do not recite a particular machine integrate to the claim nor effect a transformation. Step 2B, Prong 2: Additional Elements The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements include an electric vehicle, a storage battery and a charging facility. Taken individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not add a specific limitation beyond the Abstract Idea that is not well understood, routine and conventional. Hence claims 1 and 12 are not patent eligible Dependent Claims 2-11 when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional elements, if any, in the dependent claims are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons as with Claim 1. For these reasons, claims 1 - 12 are not patent eligible. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 -3 and 8– 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Nishita (US 20140361745) . Regarding claim 1, Nishita teaches a charging management method (figure 2 shows a charging method. Paragraph [0031] discloses a charging management method, interpreted as an energy management system) comprising: obtaining location information, battery information, and history information, the location information being information on a location of a traveling object powered by electricity, the battery information being information on a remaining capacity of a storage battery mounted on the traveling object, the history information being information on a charging history of the storage battery (figure 1 item 102 and paragraph [0035] discloses a reservation control unit which obtains information from an electric vehicle, including battery information (battery residual quantity). Paragraphs [0094] and [0096] discloses wherein the reservation information may include the location of a traveling object, interpreted as a location of an Electric Vehicle (EV). Paragraphs [0083] and [0086] teaches wherein history information, interpreted as a histogram, is prepared providing the charging history of the electric vehicle) ; predicting a charging demand of at least one charging facility, based on the location information, the battery information, and the history information obtained in the obtaining (paragraph [0070] discloses the charging plan preparation unit 107 predicts a charging demand, interpreted as electric power demand from the information obtained from the reservation information) ; and creating a charging plan for charging the storage battery to keep the charging demand less than or equal to a predetermined value, based on the charging demand predicted in the predicting (defined in paragraphs [0044] and [0070] discloses wherein a charging plan is created based on the information received from the reservation information acquisition unit based on keeping the charging demand less than or equal to a predetermined value, interpreted as leveling electric power demand). PNG media_image1.png 457 791 media_image1.png Greyscale Nishita figure 1 shows an energy management system for predicting charging demand and creating charging plan within a vehicle charging system Regarding claim 2, Nishita teaches the charging management method according to claim 1, wherein in the creating, the charging plan is created to enable charging of the storage battery during a time period that includes a time period during which the charging demand is less than or equal to a lower limit (paragraphs [0072] and [0075]discloses a charging plan created during a time to avoid when the power rate is higher and minimize power costs of a charging facility) . Regarding claim 3, Nishita teaches the charging management method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining includes further obtaining reservation information including a charging schedule for charging the storage battery, the reservation information being input by a user of the traveling object, and in the creating, when a scheduled charging time period indicated by the reservation information includes a peak time period during which the charging demand exceeds the predetermined value, the charging plan that encourages changing of the scheduled charging time period is created, the scheduled charging time period being included in the charging schedule, the reservation information being information obtained in the obtaining (paragraphs [0034]- [0036] discloses wherein reservation information including charging schedules, time periods, etc are inputted by the user of the traveling object or Electric Vehicle) . Regarding claim 8, Nishita teaches the charging management method according to claim 1, further comprising: presenting the charging plan created in the creating to a user of the traveling object (paragraph [0126] discloses wherein information regarding the charging plan is displayed. Paragraph [0128] discloses wherein information on the charging plan, included with a reservation is presented or sent as a request to the user). Regarding claim 9, Nishita teaches the charging management method according to claim 8, wherein the presenting includes presenting, to the user, implication information that encourages charging of the storage battery during a time period other than a peak time period during which the charging demand exceeds the predetermined value (paragraphs [0128] – [0133] discloses wherein the user is presented with information such as incentives or cooperations to encourage charging during specific time periods or accepting a specific reservation). Regarding claim 10, Nishita teaches the charging management method according to claim 9, wherein the implication information includes information indicating that a unit price of charging the storage battery during the peak time period is higher than a unit price of charging the storage battery during the time period other than the peak time period (paragraphs [0128] – [0133] discloses wherein the user is presented with information such as incentives to encourage charging during specific time periods or accepting a specific reservation). Regarding claim 11, Nishita teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing at least one processor to perform the charging management method according to claim 1 (paragraph [0034] discloses various non-transitory computer readable recording mediums are used within the energy management system 101, defined as a reservation control unit 102, a connection and parallel off control unit 103, charging instruction acquisitions unit 104, a connection and parallel off acquisition unit 106, reservation information acquisition unit 106, charging controller 108 and charging plan preparation unit 107) . Regarding claim 1, Nishita teaches a charging management system (figure 2 shows a charging method. Paragraph [0031] discloses a charging management method, interpreted as an energy management system) comprising: an obtainer that obtains location information, battery information, and history information, the location information being information on a location of a traveling object powered by electricity, the battery information being information on a remaining capacity of a storage battery mounted on the traveling object, the history information being information on a charging history of the storage battery (figure 1 item 102 and paragraph [0035] discloses a reservation control unit which obtains information from an electric vehicle, including battery information (battery residual quantity). Paragraphs [0094] and [0096] discloses wherein the reservation information may include the location of a traveling object, interpreted as a location of an Electric Vehicle (EV). Paragraphs [0083] and [0086] teaches wherein history information, interpreted as a histogram, is prepared providing the charging history of the electric vehicle) ; a predictor that predicts a charging demand of at least one charging facility, based on the location information, the battery information, and the history information obtained by the obtainer (paragraph [0070] discloses the charging plan preparation unit 107 predicts a charging demand, interpreted as electric power demand from the information obtained from the reservation information) ; and a planner that creates a charging plan for charging the storage battery to keep the charging demand less than or equal to a predetermined value, based on the charging demand predicted by the predictor (defined in paragraphs [0044] and [0070] discloses wherein a charging plan is created based on the information received from the reservation information acquisition unit based on keeping the charging demand less than or equal to a predetermined value, interpreted as leveling electric power demand) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishita (US 20140361745) in view of Ferguson (US 20210291693) . Regarding claim 4, Nishita teaches the charging management method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the traveling object has an unmanned autonomous traveling function, the charging management method further comprising: causing the traveling object to autonomously travel to one of the at least one charging facility and the storage battery to be automatically charged, in accordance with the charging plan created in the creating. Ferguson teaches wherein the traveling object has an unmanned autonomous traveling function, the charging management method further comprising: causing the traveling object to autonomously travel to one of the at least one charging facility and the storage battery to be automatically charged, in accordance with the charging plan created in the creating (defined in paragraphs [0022] – [0023] discloses wherein the vehicles may be autonomous vehicles. Paragraphs [0029],m [0041] and [0046] discloses demand prediction and a charging manager to manage the autonomous vehicles travel routes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Nishita reference with the charging system of the Ferguson reference so that autonomous Electric Vehicles are recharged quickly and may return to service. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ferguson reference in [0011] wherein the autonomous vehicles are recharged quickly. PNG media_image2.png 385 532 media_image2.png Greyscale Ferguson figure 1 shows a fleet management system Regarding claim 5, Nishita teaches the charging management method according to claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein in the creating, the charging plan is created to enable charging of the storage battery at a charging facility located in an area within which the traveling object is able to travel within a predetermined time period, the charging facility being one of the at least one charging facility. Ferguson teaches wherein in the creating, the charging plan is created to enable charging of the storage battery at a charging facility located in an area within which the traveling object is able to travel within a predetermined time period, the charging facility being one of the at least one charging facility creating (defined in paragraphs [0022] – [0023] discloses wherein the vehicles may be autonomous vehicles. Paragraphs [0029],m [0041] and [0046] discloses demand prediction and a charging manager to manage the autonomous vehicles travel routes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Nishita reference with the charging system of the Ferguson reference so that autonomous Electric Vehicles are recharged quickly and may return to service. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ferguson reference in [0011] wherein the autonomous vehicles are recharged quickly. Regarding claim 6, Nishita teaches the charging management method according to claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein in the creating, the charging plan is created to enable charging of the storage battery at a charging facility located in an area within which the traveling object is able to travel within a predetermined distance, the charging facility being one of the at least one charging facility. Ferguson teaches wherein in the creating, the charging plan is created to enable charging of the storage battery at a charging facility located in an area within which the traveling object is able to travel within a predetermined distance, the charging facility being one of the at least one charging facility (defined in paragraphs [0022] – [0023] discloses wherein the vehicles may be autonomous vehicles. Paragraphs [0029],m [0041] and [0046] discloses demand prediction and a charging manager to manage the autonomous vehicles travel routes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Nishita reference with the charging system of the Ferguson reference so that autonomous Electric Vehicles are recharged quickly and may return to service. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ferguson reference in [0011] wherein the autonomous vehicles are recharged quickly. Regarding claim 7, Nishita teaches the charging management method according to claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein in the creating, the charging plan is created to enable charging of the storage battery during a time period based on a schedule of a user of the traveling object. Ferguson teaches wherein in the creating, the charging plan is created to enable charging of the storage battery during a time period based on a schedule of a user of the traveling object (defined in paragraphs [0022] – [0023] discloses wherein the vehicles may be autonomous vehicles. Paragraphs [0029],m [0041] and [0046] discloses demand prediction and a charging manager to manage the autonomous vehicles travel routes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Nishita reference with the charging system of the Ferguson reference so that autonomous Electric Vehicles are recharged quickly and may return to service. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Ferguson reference in [0011] wherein the autonomous vehicles are recharged quickly . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Us 20160205238 A1 Mobile Device Context Aware Determinations Abramson; Dan Us 20170043674 A1 Automatically Selecting Charging Routine Deboer, Iii; John R. Us 9766671 B2 Electric Vehicle Distributed Intelligence Dorn; John Z. Et Al. Us 20250033517 A1 Electric Vehicle Fleet Charging Hancock; Jordan Frances Et Al. Us 20150239365 A1 Predictive Control Of An Energy Storage Hyde; Roderick A. Us 20150039391 A1 Estimation And Management Hershkovitz; Barak Et Al. Us 20230104789 A1 Charging And Discharging Control Device Inui; Shinya Et Al. Us 20230143398 A1 E-Fleet Aggregator Ito; Tomoki Et Al. Us 20190193573 A1 Traveling Energy Distribution System Iwai; Satoshi Et Al. Us 20150298565 A1 Charging Support Iwamura; Kazuaki Et Al. Us 20180238698 A1 Systems Using AI For Routing EVs Pedersen; Robert D. Us 20150291047 A1 Monitoring Usage Of A Charging Station Saito; Daisuke Et Al. Us 20150294329 A1 Predicting Usage Of A Charging Station Saito; Daisuke Et Al. Us 20180204274 A1 Information Processing System Shimokawa; Tsukasa Et Al. Us 20210380012 A1 Charging Assistance System Tsuda; Hiroyuki Et Al. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEXIS B PACHECO whose telephone number is (571)272-5979. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00 - 5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julian Huffman can be reached at 571-272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO Primary Examiner Art Unit 2859 /ALEXIS B PACHECO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 12 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 13 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/367,723 Page 14 Art Unit: 2859