DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of claims
Claims 1, 3, 6, 10-11 are amended.
Claims 5, 8, 12 are cancelled.
Claims 1-4, 6-7,9-11 are pending.
Response to arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 01/20/2026; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Applicant remarks:
Takamura merely mentions that “if the target rotational speed falls below a predetermined threshold..”, “control the electric motor so that an output torque of the electric motor changes towheads zero for a predetermined time”.
Office Response:
Please see the new mapping for the independent and dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over JP 2017227235 A to Inoue (herein after “Inoue”) in view of US20150314769 A1 to Okuda et al. (herein after “Okuda”).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue discloses A hybrid vehicle control system (see Inoue Figure 1 FIG. 1 shows a vehicle control system 1 of a hybrid vehicle) configured to perform a control of a hybrid vehicle comprising an engine, an electric motor, a driving wheel (see Inoue drive wheel (wheel) 80), a clutch, and a continuously variable transmission (see Inoue at least para [0020] FIG. 1 shows a vehicle control system 1 of a hybrid vehicle. The vehicle control system 1 includes an engine 10, a first motor generator 20, and a second motor generator 24. The engine 10, the first motor generator 20, and the second motor generator 24 are used as drive sources It is a possible power unit. In the vehicle control system 1, the driving force of the vehicle is controlled while switching between the engine running mode, the single motor EV running mode, the twin motor EV running mode, and the hybrid running mode.), the hybrid vehicle control system comprising: a transmission control unit (see Inoue transmission control unit (transmission ECU) 300), continuously variable transmission (CVT) 31) comprising a processor configured to control the continuously variable transmission, the continuously variable transmission comprising a primary pulley(see Inoue primary pulley 33), a secondary pulley( see Inoue a secondary pulley 35),, and a driving force transmission member (see Inoue torque transmission member 37), the primary pulley being coupled to each of the engine and the electric motor to allow for torque transmission between the primary pulley and each of the engine and the electric motor(see Inoue at least para[[0045] In the vehicle control system 1 according to the present embodiment, the first motor generator 20 is connected to the primary pulley 33 of the CVT 31 via the first transmission clutch 44, and during traveling, the first The motor generator 20 can function as a drive motor. ), the secondary pulley being coupled to the driving wheel to allow for torque transmission between the secondary pulley and the driving wheel(see Inoue para[0028] a secondary pulley 35 is fixed to the secondary shaft 36,see Inoue para[0009] the second clutch is connected to a second output shaft that rotates the driving wheel,)
, the driving force transmission member being wrapped around between the primary pulley and the secondary pulley (see Inoue at least para[0028] A wrapping-type torque transmission member 37 composed of a belt or a chain is wound around the primary pulley 33 and the secondary pulley 35.);
a motor control unit comprising a processor configured to control the electric motor (see Inoue at least para[0033] The first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 24 are controlled by a motor control unit (motor ECU) 400. ) and coupled to a motor speed sensor, the motor speed sensor being configured to detect a rotational speed of the electric motor; (see Inoue figure 1) and an engine and hybrid vehicle integrated control unit (see Inoue a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 )comprising a processor communicably coupled to each of the transmission control unit and the motor control unit via a communication network(CAN(controller Area Network); para [0034] Each ECU is provided with various interfaces including a microcomputer, peripheral equipment and the like. Each ECU is connected so as to enable bidirectional communication via a communication line such as a CAN (Controller Area Network) or the like), and configured to comprehensively control the engine and the hybrid vehicle, wherein the processor of the transmission control unit is configured to; send sudden deceleration determination permission information when a predetermined permission condition is satisfied at a time of an electric vehicle traveling in which:
i)_the engine is stopped, (see Inoue at least para [0033] The engine 10 is controlled by an engine control unit (engine ECU (Electronic Control Unit)) 200. The automatic transmission 30 is controlled by a transmission control unit (transmission ECU) 300 as a power intermittent control system as a power interruption system. The first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 24 are controlled by a motor control unit (motor ECU) 400. The engine ECU 200, the transmission ECU 300, and the motor ECU 400 are connected to a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 that integrally controls the entire system. The hybrid ECU 100 performs travel control or deceleration control of the vehicle or charge control of the high voltage battery 50 using the engine ECU 200, the transmission ECU 300, the motor ECU 400, and the like.).
(ii) the clutch is interposed between the engine and the continuously variable transmission and is disengaged, (see figure 1, a first transfer clutch 44 is in between Engine 10 and CVT)
and
(iii) the hybrid vehicle is driven by the electric motor and the processor of the motor control unit is configured to; when receiving the sudden deceleration determination permission information (see Inoue at least para[0033] the motor ECU 400 are connected to a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 that integrally controls the entire system. The hybrid ECU 100 performs travel control or deceleration control of the vehicle or charge control of the high voltage battery 50 using the engine ECU 200, the transmission ECU 300, the motor ECU 400, and the like.).
However, Inoue does not teach an oil pump coupled to the engine via a first one-way clutch to allow for torque transmission, and coupled to the electric motor via a second one-way clutch to allow for torque transmission, the oil pump being driven by one of the engine and the electric motor having a higher rotational speed, when the following conditions (i), (ii) and (iii) are satisfied:(i) an engine speed being lower than or equal to a predetermined engine speed(ii) a motor speed being lower than or equal to a predetermined motor speed, and(iii) a wheel speed being lower than or equal to a predetermined speed, upon determining that the decreasing rate of the rotational speed of the electric motor is greater than the predetermined decreasing rate value, control the electric motor, so that an output torque of the electric motor changes toward zero for a predetermined time from a time when the processor of the motor control unit determines that the decreasing rate of the rotational speed of the electric motor is greater than the predetermined decreasing rate value. Nevertheless, Okuda same field of endeavor teaches an oil pump coupled to the engine via a first one-way clutch to allow for torque transmission, and coupled to the electric motor via a second one-way clutch to allow for torque transmission, the oil pump being driven by one of the engine and the electric motor having a higher rotational speed (See Okuda para[0115] A reference example is described. A clutch device capable of switching between engagement and disengagement by control may be used in place of first and second one way clutches F1 and F2. For example, a wet frictional engaging clutch device which is engaged or disengaged by hydraulic pressure may be used in place of the one way clutches F1 and F2. FIG. 14 is a schematic configuration diagram regarding an oil pump of the reference example. FIG. 14 illustrates a configuration in which the first one-way clutch F1 is replaced with a first clutch Co1 and the second one-way clutch F2 is replaced with a second clutch Co2 in a vehicle 100 in the above-described first embodiment.);
determine whether that a decreasing rate of the rotational speed of the electric motor is greater than a predetermined decreasing rate value based on information received from the motor speed sensor[[;]]when the following conditions (i), (ii) and (iii) are satisfied:(i) an engine speed being lower than or equal to a predetermined engine speed(See Okuda para[0077] That is to say, the target motor rotational speed Nmt of this embodiment is set to be lower than the rotational speed corresponding to the engine speed Ne at which the ignition of the engine 1 is started. According to this, the motor rotational speed Nm when the pump drive motor 22 is rotated at the time of the engine 1 startup becomes lower than the rotational speed corresponding to the engine speed Ne at which the ignition of the engine 1 is started. Therefore, power consumption of the pump drive motor 22 is reduced.); (ii) a motor speed being lower than or equal to a predetermined motor speed (See Okuda para0069]At step S40, the HV_ECU 50 executes control of the pump rotational speed Np by the pump drive motor 22. The HV_ECU 50 controls the motor rotational speed Nm such that the pump rotational speed Np is set to a predetermined rotational speed N2. A target value of the motor rotational speed Nm (target motor rotational speed) Nmt at that time is the rotational speed lower than the rotational speed corresponding to the idling speed of the engine 1) and(iii) a wheel speed being lower than or equal to a predetermined speed, (See Okuda para[0067]At step S30, the HV_ECU 50 determines whether the pump rotational speed Np is higher than a threshold N1. At step S30, it is determined whether the pump drive motor 22 rotates the oil pump 20) and upon determining that the decreasing rate of the rotational speed of the electric motor is greater than the predetermined decreasing rate value, control the electric motor (see Okuda para[0051] The ECUs 50, 51, and 52 are electronic control units having a computer. The HV_ECU 50 has a function to integrally control an entire vehicle 100. The MG_ECU 51 and the engine ECU 52 are electrically connected to the HV_ECU 50. ) so that an output torque of the electric motor changes toward zero for a predetermined time from a time when the processor of the motor control unit determines that the decreasing rate of the rotational speed of the electric motor is greater than the predetermined decreasing rate value (see Okuda paras[0097]-[0101] the HV_ECU 50 applies slight torque to the first rotary machine MG1 to generate electric power and sets a rotational speed of the first rotary machine MG1 to 0.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue’s power intermittent control device with Okuda’s oil pump connected with engine and electric motor with different one-way clutch, control the motor based on the determining decreasing rate of the speed of motor in order to allow to the drive shaft of the oil pump with a first one-way clutch allowing only power transmission from the electric motor to the oil pump arranged in the first power transmission mechanism and a second one-way clutch allowing only power transmission from the engine to the oil pump arranged in the second power transmission mechanism (See para[0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Inoue discloses A hybrid vehicle control system (see Inoue Figure 1 FIG. 1 shows a vehicle control system 1 of a hybrid vehicle) configured to perform a control of a hybrid vehicle comprising an engine, an electric motor, a driving wheel (see Inoue drive wheel (wheel) 80), a clutch, and a continuously variable transmission (see Inoue at least para [0020] FIG. 1 shows a vehicle control system 1 of a hybrid vehicle. The vehicle control system 1 includes an engine 10, a first motor generator 20, and a second motor generator 24. The engine 10, the first motor generator 20, and the second motor generator 24 are used as drive sources It is a possible power unit. In the vehicle control system 1, the driving force of the vehicle is controlled while switching between the engine running mode, the single motor EV running mode, the twin motor EV running mode, and the hybrid running mode.), the hybrid vehicle control system comprising: a transmission control unit (see Inoue transmission control unit (transmission ECU) 300), continuously variable transmission (CVT) 31) comprising a processor configured to control the continuously variable transmission, the continuously variable transmission comprising a primary pulley(see Inoue primary pulley 33), a secondary pulley( see Inoue a secondary pulley 35),, and a driving force transmission member (see Inoue torque transmission member 37), the primary pulley being coupled to each of the engine and the electric motor to allow for torque transmission between the primary pulley and each of the engine and the electric motor(see Inoue at least para[[0045] In the vehicle control system 1 according to the present embodiment, the first motor generator 20 is connected to the primary pulley 33 of the CVT 31 via the first transmission clutch 44, and during traveling, the first The motor generator 20 can function as a drive motor. ), the secondary pulley being coupled to the driving wheel to allow for torque transmission between the secondary pulley and the driving wheel(see Inoue para[0028] a secondary pulley 35 is fixed to the secondary shaft 36,see Inoue para[0009] the second clutch is connected to a second output shaft that rotates the driving wheel,)
, the driving force transmission member being wrapped around between the primary pulley and the secondary pulley (see Inoue at least para[0028] A wrapping-type torque transmission member 37 composed of a belt or a chain is wound around the primary pulley 33 and the secondary pulley 35.);
a motor control unit comprising a processor configured to control the electric motor (see Inoue at least para[0033] The first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 24 are controlled by a motor control unit (motor ECU) 400. ) and coupled to a motor speed sensor, the motor speed sensor being configured to detect a rotational speed of the electric motor; (see Inoue figure 1) and an engine and hybrid vehicle integrated control unit (see Inoue a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 )comprising a processor communicably coupled to each of the transmission control unit and the motor control unit via a communication network(CAN(controller Area Network); para [0034] Each ECU is provided with various interfaces including a microcomputer, peripheral equipment and the like. Each ECU is connected so as to enable bidirectional communication via a communication line such as a CAN (Controller Area Network) or the like), and configured to comprehensively control the engine and the hybrid vehicle, wherein the processor of the transmission control unit is configured to; send sudden deceleration determination permission information when a predetermined permission condition is satisfied at a time of an electric vehicle traveling in which:
i)_the engine is stopped, (see Inoue at least para [0033] The engine 10 is controlled by an engine control unit (engine ECU (Electronic Control Unit)) 200. The automatic transmission 30 is controlled by a transmission control unit (transmission ECU) 300 as a power intermittent control system as a power interruption system. The first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 24 are controlled by a motor control unit (motor ECU) 400. The engine ECU 200, the transmission ECU 300, and the motor ECU 400 are connected to a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 that integrally controls the entire system. The hybrid ECU 100 performs travel control or deceleration control of the vehicle or charge control of the high voltage battery 50 using the engine ECU 200, the transmission ECU 300, the motor ECU 400, and the like.)
(ii) the clutch is interposed between the engine and the continuously variable transmission and is disengaged, (see figure 1, a first transfer clutch 44 is in between Engine 10 and CVT), and
(iii) the hybrid vehicle is driven by the electric motor and the processor of the motor control unit is configured to; when receiving the sudden deceleration determination permission information (see Inoue at least para[0033] the motor ECU 400 are connected to a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 that integrally controls the entire system. The hybrid ECU 100 performs travel control or deceleration control of the vehicle or charge control of the high voltage battery 50 using the engine ECU 200, the transmission ECU 300, the motor ECU 400, and the like.).
However, Inoue does not teach an oil pump coupled to the engine via a first one-way clutch to allow for torque transmission, and coupled to the electric motor via a second one-way clutch to allow for torque transmission, the oil pump being driven by one of the engine and the electric motor having a higher rotational speed, when the following conditions (i), (ii) and (iii) are satisfied:(i) an engine speed being lower than or equal to a predetermined engine speed(ii) a motor speed being lower than or equal to a predetermined motor speed, and(iii) a wheel speed being lower than or equal to a predetermined speed, upon determining that the decreasing rate of the rotational speed of the electric motor is greater than the predetermined decreasing rate value, control the electric motor, so that an output torque of the electric motor changes toward zero for a predetermined time from a time when the processor of the motor control unit determines that the decreasing rate of the rotational speed of the electric motor is greater than the predetermined decreasing rate value. Nevertheless, Okuda same field of endeavor teaches an oil pump coupled to the engine via a first one-way clutch to allow for torque transmission, and coupled to the electric motor via a second one-way clutch to allow for torque transmission, the oil pump being driven by one of the engine and the electric motor having a higher rotational speed (See Okuda para[0115] A reference example is described. A clutch device capable of switching between engagement and disengagement by control may be used in place of first and second one way clutches F1 and F2. For example, a wet frictional engaging clutch device which is engaged or disengaged by hydraulic pressure may be used in place of the one way clutches F1 and F2. FIG. 14 is a schematic configuration diagram regarding an oil pump of the reference example. FIG. 14 illustrates a configuration in which the first one-way clutch F1 is replaced with a first clutch Co1 and the second one-way clutch F2 is replaced with a second clutch Co2 in a vehicle 100 in the above-described first embodiment.);
determine whether that a decreasing rate of the rotational speed of the electric motor is greater than a predetermined decreasing rate value based on information received from the motor speed sensor[[;]]when the following conditions (i), (ii) and (iii) are satisfied:(i) an engine speed being lower than or equal to a predetermined engine speed(See Okuda para[0077] That is to say, the target motor rotational speed Nmt of this embodiment is set to be lower than the rotational speed corresponding to the engine speed Ne at which the ignition of the engine 1 is started. According to this, the motor rotational speed Nm when the pump drive motor 22 is rotated at the time of the engine 1 startup becomes lower than the rotational speed corresponding to the engine speed Ne at which the ignition of the engine 1 is started. Therefore, power consumption of the pump drive motor 22 is reduced.); (ii) a motor speed being lower than or equal to a predetermined motor speed (See Okuda para0069]At step S40, the HV_ECU 50 executes control of the pump rotational speed Np by the pump drive motor 22. The HV_ECU 50 controls the motor rotational speed Nm such that the pump rotational speed Np is set to a predetermined rotational speed N2. A target value of the motor rotational speed Nm (target motor rotational speed) Nmt at that time is the rotational speed lower than the rotational speed corresponding to the idling speed of the engine 1) and(iii) a wheel speed being lower than or equal to a predetermined speed, (See Okuda para[0067]At step S30, the HV_ECU 50 determines whether the pump rotational speed Np is higher than a threshold N1. At step S30, it is determined whether the pump drive motor 22 rotates the oil pump 20) and upon determining that the decreasing rate of the rotational speed of the electric motor is greater than the predetermined decreasing rate value, control the electric motor (see Okuda para[0051] The ECUs 50, 51, and 52 are electronic control units having a computer. The HV_ECU 50 has a function to integrally control an entire vehicle 100. The MG_ECU 51 and the engine ECU 52 are electrically connected to the HV_ECU 50. ) so that an output torque of the electric motor changes toward zero for a predetermined time from a time when the processor of the motor control unit determines that the decreasing rate of the rotational speed of the electric motor is greater than the predetermined decreasing rate value (see Okuda paras[0097]-[0101] the HV_ECU 50 applies slight torque to the first rotary machine MG1 to generate electric power and sets a rotational speed of the first rotary machine MG1 to 0.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue’s power intermittent control device with Okuda’s oil pump connected with engine and electric motor with different one-way clutch, control the motor based on the determining decreasing rate of the speed of motor in order to allow to the drive shaft of the oil pump with a first one-way clutch allowing only power transmission from the electric motor to the oil pump arranged in the first power transmission mechanism and a second one-way clutch allowing only power transmission from the engine to the oil pump arranged in the second power transmission mechanism (See para[0002]).
Claims 2-4, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Inoue in view of Okuda and US20200132192 A1 to Oh et al. (herein after “Oh”).
Regarding claim 2, Inoue and Okuda remain as applied claim 1. However, Inoue does not expressly teach or otherwise teach wherein the motor control unit has a processing cycle shorter than a processing cycle of the transmission control unit. Nevertheless, Oh same field of endeavor teaches wherein the motor control unit has a processing cycle shorter than a processing cycle of the transmission control unit (see Oh para [0079] In other words, when the driver performs a manipulation of changing the gear stage to the reverse gear during forward rotation of a driving motor, a control process of rotating the motor reverse after motor speed deceleration in a short period of time at a point in time at which the gear change to the reverse gear is completed (“reverse input point” in FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue’s power intermittent control device with Oh’s shorter motor unit cycle than transmission control, higher resolution motor control in order to allow to control and operate a variety of related devices of the vehicle or to provide or display information (see para[0003]).
Regarding claim 3, Inoue and Okuda remain as applied claim 1. However, Inoue does not expressly teach or otherwise teach wherein the motor speed sensor having has higher resolution than a vehicle speed sensor, and having has a shorter sensing cycle than the vehicle speed sensor, the vehicle speed sensor being configured to detect a speed of the hybrid vehicle. Nevertheless, Oh same field of endeavor teaches wherein the motor speed sensor having has higher resolution than a vehicle speed sensor (See Oh para [0058] Accordingly, the portion of the motor speed (i.e. the portion of the gear ratio conversion speed) in the wheel speed estimation value calculated by the weighted summation method is increased in the low-speed range, whereas the portion of the wheel speed measured by the sensors 11 to 14 (i.e. the measurements of the wheel speed sensors) may be increased in a higher-speed range in which the resolution of the wheel speed sensors 11 to 14 is sufficiently high. )and having has a shorter sensing cycle than the vehicle speed sensor (see Oh para [0079] In other words, when the driver performs a manipulation of changing the gear stage to the reverse gear during forward rotation of a driving motor, a control process of rotating the motor reverse after motor speed deceleration in a short period of time at a point in time at which the gear change to the reverse gear is completed (“reverse input point” in FIG. 3)
, the vehicle speed sensor being configured to detect a speed of the hybrid vehicle. (See Oh para[0008] a vehicle is generally operated based on wheel speed information (not including information regarding the direction of rotation in a forward/reverse direction) detected by the wheel speed sensor or based on a vehicle speed calculated based on the wheel speed information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue’s power intermittent control device with Okuda’s oil pump connected with engine and electric motor with different one-way clutch, control the motor based on the determining decreasing rate of the speed of motor in order to allow to the drive shaft of the oil pump with a first one-way clutch allowing only power transmission from the electric motor to the oil pump arranged in the first power transmission mechanism and a second one-way clutch allowing only power transmission from the engine to the oil pump arranged in the second power transmission mechanism (See para[0002]).
Regarding claim 4, Inoue and Okuda remain as applied claim 1. However, Inoue does not expressly teach or otherwise teach wherein the processor of the engine and hybrid vehicle integrated control unit is configured to, when the sudden deceleration determination permission information is sent, relay the sudden deceleration determination permission information to the motor control unit. Nevertheless, Oh same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor of the engine and hybrid vehicle integrated control unit is configured to, when the sudden deceleration determination permission information is sent, relay the sudden deceleration determination permission information to the motor control unit (see Oh abstract A controller receives a signal of the wheel speed sensor, a signal of the motor speed sensor, para[0020] by the controller, motor speed information obtained from the signal of the motor speed sensor by the direction determining module and the direction information indicating a direction of wheel rotation from the information regarding the gear stage; and estimating).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue’s power intermittent control device with Okuda’s oil pump connected with engine and electric motor with different one-way clutch, control the motor based on the determining decreasing rate of the speed of motor in order to allow to the drive shaft of the oil pump with a first one-way clutch allowing only power transmission from the electric motor to the oil pump arranged in the first power transmission mechanism and a second one-way clutch allowing only power transmission from the engine to the oil pump arranged in the second power transmission mechanism (See para[0002]).
Regarding claim 9, Inoue and Okuda remain as applied claim 1. However, Inoue does not expressly teach or otherwise teach wherein the control of the electric motor has a processing cycle shorter than a processing cycle of the control of the continuously variable transmission. Nevertheless, Oh same field of endeavor teaches wherein the motor control unit has a processing cycle shorter than a processing cycle of the transmission control unit (see Oh para [0079] In other words, when the driver performs a manipulation of changing the gear stage to the reverse gear during forward rotation of a driving motor, a control process of rotating the motor reverse after motor speed deceleration in a short period of time at a point in time at which the gear change to the reverse gear is completed (“reverse input point” in FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue’s power intermittent control device with Oh’s shorter motor unit cycle than transmission control, higher resolution motor control in order to allow to control and operate a variety of related devices of the vehicle or to provide or display information (see para[0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Inoue and Okuda remain as applied claim 1. However, Inoue does not expressly teach or otherwise teach wherein the motor speed sensor having has higher resolution than a vehicle speed sensor, and having has a shorter sensing cycle than the vehicle speed sensor, the vehicle speed sensor being configured to detect a speed of the hybrid vehicle. Nevertheless, Oh same field of endeavor teaches wherein the motor speed sensor having has higher resolution than a vehicle speed sensor (See Oh para [0058] Accordingly, the portion of the motor speed (i.e. the portion of the gear ratio conversion speed) in the wheel speed estimation value calculated by the weighted summation method is increased in the low-speed range, whereas the portion of the wheel speed measured by the sensors 11 to 14 (i.e. the measurements of the wheel speed sensors) may be increased in a higher-speed range in which the resolution of the wheel speed sensors 11 to 14 is sufficiently high. )and having has a shorter sensing cycle than the vehicle speed sensor (see Oh para [0079] In other words, when the driver performs a manipulation of changing the gear stage to the reverse gear during forward rotation of a driving motor, a control process of rotating the motor reverse after motor speed deceleration in a short period of time at a point in time at which the gear change to the reverse gear is completed (“reverse input point” in FIG. 3)
, the vehicle speed sensor being configured to detect a speed of the hybrid vehicle. (See Oh para[0008] a vehicle is generally operated based on wheel speed information (not including information regarding the direction of rotation in a forward/reverse direction) detected by the wheel speed sensor or based on a vehicle speed calculated based on the wheel speed information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue’s power intermittent control device with Okuda’s oil pump connected with engine and electric motor with different one-way clutch, control the motor based on the determining decreasing rate of the speed of motor in order to allow to the drive shaft of the oil pump with a first one-way clutch allowing only power transmission from the electric motor to the oil pump arranged in the first power transmission mechanism and a second one-way clutch allowing only power transmission from the engine to the oil pump arranged in the second power transmission mechanism (See para[0002]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Inoue in view of Okuda and US 20170066437 A1 to Yamamoto et al. (herein after “Yamamoto”).
Regarding claim 7, Inoue and Okuda remain applied as claim 1. However, Inoue does not teach wherein the predetermined permission condition comprises: a speed of the hybrid vehicle being lower than or equal to a predetermined speed, and a rotational speed of the primary pulley being lower than or equal to a predetermined rotational speed. Nevertheless, Yamamoto teaches wherein the predetermined permission condition comprises: a speed of the hybrid vehicle being lower than or equal to a predetermined speed (See Yamamoto para[0048] if the vehicle speed is less than or equal to a predetermined vehicle speed Vc); and a rotational speed of the primary pulley being lower than or equal to a predetermined rotational speed (See Yamamoto para[0023] The primary pulley 6 is coupled to a crankshaft of the engine 1 via a torque converter T/C, ; para [0078] the motor torque is greater than or equal to a predetermined torque).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue’s power intermittent control device with Yamamoto’s rotational speed of the primary pulley lower than predetermined rotational speed in order to allow to increase the energy efficiency and to provide a hybrid vehicle control device that is capable of climbing over a level difference, even when there is a level difference on the road surface when starting in EV mode (see Yamamoto paras[0007] and [0009])
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Inoue in view of Okuda and JP2012091543A to Takamura (herein after “Takamura”).
Regarding claim 11, Inoue and Okuda remain applied as claim 6. Inoue does not teach wherein the circuitry is configured to, when a predetermined period of time elapses after the reduction of the output torque of the electric motor is started, stop the reduction of the output torque of the electric motor. Nevertheless, Takamura same field of endeavor teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to, when a predetermined period of time elapses after the reduction of the output torque of the electric motor is started, stop the reduction of the output torque of the electric motor (see Takamura para[0055] At time t4, when the input side rotational speed becomes zero and a predetermined time elapses, it can be determined that the vehicle is stopped.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Inoue’s power intermittent control device with Takamura’s decreasing rate of motor greater than predetermined decrease rate in order to allow to ensure drivability during engagement control and to provide a vehicle control device capable of stably controlling a clutch between a drive source and a drive wheel (see paras[0004], [0005]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666